Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simple Reflectivity/Transmission calculation for RF Air/Glass boundary

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello.

I am an absolute beginner to COMSOL and am hoping to eventually use it to simulate some nanoparticle scattering effects for solar cell applications.

I have built a very simple model consisting of an Air - Glass - Air geometry and have excited a wave at a port on one of the Air sides. I've included PML and a suitable mesh. I see that the wave propogates through the air, into the glass (wavelength reduces by a half as n = 2.05 in glass) and back out into the air.

I would like to know a good method of proving the well known Fresnel equations for Reflectivity (n1-n2)/(n1+n2) mod all squared.

So far I have done line integrations at each boundary looking at Power Averages, and Ez, but I am not getting data that arrives at my calculated answers. Can anyone recommend a strategy for proving that the intensity of the wave obeys the Reflection/Transmission values calculated by hand?

Many thanks.

2 Replies Last Post Nov 22, 2012, 6:33 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 22, 2012, 1:40 a.m. EST
Hi

What about taking a look at the model library, i.e. "Fresnel equations" that should be a good starter. You have also many models on the model gallery on the main COMSOL web site

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi What about taking a look at the model library, i.e. "Fresnel equations" that should be a good starter. You have also many models on the model gallery on the main COMSOL web site -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 22, 2012, 6:33 a.m. EST
Hi