解决方法编号: 1172
标题: 求解初始值不一致的瞬态模型
平台: 所有平台
适用于: 所有产品
版本: 所有版本
类别: 错误消息, 物理场, 物理场
关键字: failed to find consistent initial values, boundary conditions, CFD

问题描述

在设置瞬态模型时,一个常见的错误是初始条件与载荷和边界条件不一致。在运行瞬态流体流动研究时最容易出现这种问题,但在任意瞬态模型中也可能出现同类问题。

可以观察到在仿真开始时,求解器采用非常小的时间步长,或者求解器将报告类似如下的错误消息:

找不到一致的初始值。
最后一个时间步不收敛。

解决方法

背景

我们以一个简单的流体流动模型为例来说明这个问题及其解决办法,如下图所示。该模型求解二维通道(尺寸为 3m x 1m)中流体的层流 (),通道左侧有一个入口,右侧有一个出口。入口处指定的速度为 1 m/s,出口处指定了零压力边界条件。通道中的初始值保留其默认值,即 (u,v)=(0,0) 和 p=0。您可以在此下载相应的模型文件。

这些边界条件导致在仿真开始时,入口的速度值 u=1 m/s 与通道内的速度值 u=0 m/s 不匹配,瞬态求解器会基于这些初始值开始计算解。这就是初始值不一致

默认情况下,COMSOL 将尝试通过使用“向后欧拉法”来采用较小的时间步(这是初始时间步的一小部分),从而协调不一致的初始值。软件默认会根据总仿真时间跨度自动确定初始时间步,但您也可以手动设置,还可以更改“向后欧拉法”为实现一致初始化所使用的初始时间步部分。这些设置将影响一致初始化过程的结果。如果“向后欧拉法”的步长太大或边界条件确实不一致,则一致初始化可能会失败。更常见的是,结果可能与我们的预期相差甚远,求解器可能需要在仿真开始时采用非常小的时间步才能基于当前解进行演化计算。这样做会延长求解时间,因此不可取。

初始时间步长和一致初始化的默认设置。

在许多情况下,并不需要严格执行一致初始化,因此最好将其关闭,并确保模型基于一致的初始值平滑增加所有载荷和边界条件。本知识库条目提供了两种方式来实现这一操作。

但请注意,如果您的边界条件确实相互不一致,并且物理场也不一致,则本知识库条目中的解决办法将不适用。请始终仔细检查外加载荷和边界条件,确保其一致性。本知识库条目中的建议适用于适定问题。

方法 1:使用稳态研究来初始化瞬态研究

单个研究可以包含多个步骤,且默认情况下,每个步骤的结果都会作为初始值传递到下一个步骤。因此,在瞬态研究步骤之前添加一个稳态步骤,可以首先求解稳态假设下的场,从而为瞬态步骤提供一致的初始值,也就是替代物理场接口的初始值特征中指定的初始值。只要这两个步骤在同一研究中,如下面的屏幕截图所示,就不需要更改其他设置。软件完成对该研究的求解后,将重新计算这两个步骤。

使用稳态步骤计算瞬态研究步骤的初始值。

除此之外,您也可以将稳态步骤和瞬态步骤拆分成两个不同的研究。这需要手动设置瞬态研究中的因变量值,使其引用稳态研究的结果,如下面的屏幕截图所示。您可以在此下载相应的模型文件。

调整瞬态研究的设置,以使用稳态研究计算得到的初始值。

然而,这种策略也有一些缺点。首先,稳态解可能根本不存在。这对于湍流发生时的流体流动模型尤其常见,其中稳态边界条件会产生非定常(时变)流场。另一种可能是,从数值上得到稳态解非常困难,请参见知识库 103:提高非线性稳态模型的收敛性,了解如何解决此类情况。其次,由于系统是从静止状态开始演化的,瞬态模型的目标可能是研究启动特性。在以上任一情况下,请使用下面描述的第二种方法。

方法 2:逐渐增加边界条件

您可以基于与初始值一致的值逐渐增加瞬态模型上的载荷和边界条件。处于平衡状态的系统是最常见的一种情况,其中各个位置的初始值均为零。您可以使用具有平滑功能的内置阶跃函数,如下面的屏幕截图所示。其他一些内置函数也包含平滑处理选项,如知识库 905:阶跃过渡建模中所述。默认情况下,所有这些函数在平滑处理区域开始处的时间导数均为零,这一点非常有用。

具有平滑功能的“阶跃”函数的设置。

平滑后的阶跃函数可用于修改载荷和边界条件,如下面的屏幕截图所示。您可以在此下载相应的模型文件。

您可以使用平滑后的阶跃函数逐渐增加边界条件。

在进行平滑处理时,您需要选择一个时间跨度,对于求解的问题来说,这在物理上是一种现实需要。例如,在层流流动情况下,您不应为了引入超音速激波而过快地提高速度。此外,对于电磁波问题,也不要使提速速度超过光速。另请参见知识库 1244:求解载荷呈阶跃变化的波型问题。根据您需要的模型输出引入一个非常缓慢的速度提升也是合理的。

请注意,并非所有问题都需要执行这种平滑处理。有些问题(尤其是不涉及对流的传热问题)可以通过载荷的阶跃变化进行求解。如果这些阶跃变化发生在仿真时间跨度内,您应该使用事件来准确模拟这些情况,如知识库 1245:求解包含时变脉冲载荷的模型中所述。

总结

采用上述任一技术应该能够解决一致初始化问题,您不必更改研究设置。

如果模型仍然存在收敛问题,可能是因为网格划分不够细化,在这种情况下,您应该执行网格细化研究,如知识库 1261:执行网格细化研究中所述。也可能是因为模型呈高度非线性,如果是这种情况,请参见知识库 1127:提高非线性瞬态模型的收敛性

相关文件

example_with_default_settings.mph 1.4 MB
example_with_smoothing.mph 2.2 MB
example_with_stationary_initialization.mph 4.0 MB

免责声明

COMSOL 尽一切合理的努力验证您在此页面上查看的信息。本页面提供的资源和文档仅供参考,COMSOL 对其有效性不作任何明示或暗示的声明。COMSOL 对所披露数据的准确性不承担任何法律责任。本文档中引用的任何商标均为其各自所有者的财产。有关完整的商标详细信息,请参阅产品手册。

Solving time dependent models with inconsistent initial values

Solution Number: 1172
Title: Solving time dependent models with inconsistent initial values
Platform: All Platforms
Applies to: All Products
Versions: All versions
Categories: Error Messages, Physics, Solver
Keywords: failed to find consistent initial values, boundary conditions, CFD

Problem Description

A common mistake when setting up transient models is to have initial conditions that are inconsistent with the loads and boundary conditions. This occurs most often when running transient fluid flow studies, but the same type of issue can occur in any time-dependent model.

You may observe the solver taking very small timesteps at the beginning of the simulation, or the solver will report an error message similar to:

Failed to find consistent initial values.
Last time step is not converged.

Solution

Background

To illustrate this issue and its resolutions, consider a simple fluid flow model as diagrammed below. Solve for Laminar Flow of a fluid ( ) in a two-dimensional channel (dimensions 3m x 1m) with an inlet on the left and an outlet on the right. Specify a velocity of 1 m/s at the inlet and a zero-pressure boundary condition at the outlet. The initial values in the channel are left to their default values, i.e., (u,v)=(0,0) and p=0. The corresponding model file can be downloaded here.

These boundary conditions lead to a mismatch between the value of the velocity at the inlet u=1m/s and the value of the velocity inside the channel u=0 m/s at the beginning of the simulation, at the initial values from which the transient solver starts to compute the solution. This is referred to as Inconsistent Initial Values.

COMSOL will, by default, attempt to reconcile inconsistent initial values by taking a small timestep that is a fraction of the initial timestep using a Backward Euler method. By default, the initial timestep is automatically determined based upon the total simulation timespan, but it is possible to manually set the initial timestep and also to change the fraction of that initial step used by the Backward Euler method for the consistent initialization. These settings will affect the results of the consistent initialization procedure. The consistent initialization may fail if the Backward Euler step is too large or the boundary conditions truly are inconsistent. More commonly the results may be very far from what is expected, and the solver will likely need to take very small timesteps at the beginning of the simulation to evolve from this solution. This is undesirable as it leads to relatively long solution times.

The default settings for the initial timestep size and consistent initialization.

In many cases this consistent initialization is not strictly needed and it might be better to turn it off and to ensure that your model smoothly ramps all loads and boundary conditions from consistent initial values. This Knowledgebase presents two ways to do so.

Note, however, that if your boundary conditions truly are inconsistent with each other and the physics, then the resolutions in this Knowledgebase will not apply. Always check carefully the applied loads and boundary conditions for consistency. The recommendations in this Knowledgebase apply to well-posed problems.

Method 1: Initialize the time dependent study with a stationary study

A single Study can include multiple Steps, and by default the results of each step are passed on to the following step as initial values. Adding a stationary step before a transient study step will thus solve first for the fields under the steady-state assumption, and these provide a consistent initial value for the transient step, overriding the initial values specified within the Initial Values feature in the physics interface. As long as the two steps are within the same study, as shown in the screenshot below, no other settings changes are needed. When the study is solved, both steps will be re-computed.

Using a stationary step step to compute initial values for the transient study step.

It is also possible to split the stationary step and the transient step into two different studies. This requires that the Values of Dependent Variables in the transient study are manually set to refer to the results of the stationary study, as shown in the screenshot below. The corresponding model file can be downloaded here.

Adjusting the settings of a time dependent study to use the initial values computed from a stationary study.

This strategy has a few drawbacks, however. First, a stationary solution might not exist at all. This is particularly common for fluid flow models near the onset of turbulence, where steady boundary conditions result in an unsteady (time-varying) flow field. It can also be that a steady state solution is quite numerically difficult to find, see Knowledgebase 103: Improving Convergence of Nonlinear Stationary Models for how to address such cases. Second, the objective of the transient model may be to investigate the startup behavior, as the system evolves from the at-rest state. In either case, use the second method, described below.

Method 2: Ramp up the boundary conditions over time

The loads and boundary conditions on a transient model can be ramped up from values that are consistent with the initial values. The most common case would be an at-equilibrium system, where the initial values are zero everywhere. Use the built-in Step function with smoothing, as shown in the screenshot below. There several other built-in functions that also include a Smoothing option, as described in Knowledgebase 905: Modeling of step transitions. These all, by default, will have a time-derivative equal to zero at the start of the smoothing zone, which is helpful.

The settings of the Step function with smoothing.

Use this smoothed step function to modify the loads and boundary conditions, as shown in the screenshot below. The corresponding model file can be downloaded here.

The smoothed step function is used to ramp the boundary condition.

You will need to choose a timespan for the smoothing that is physically realistic for the the problem at hand. For example, in the case of laminar fluid flow, you should not ramp the velocity so quickly as to introduce a supersonic shock. Or, for an electromagnetic wave problem, do not introduce a ramping that is faster than the speed of light. See also Knowledgebase 1244: Solving Wave-Type Problems with Step Changes in the Loads. It can also instead be reasonable to introduce a very gradual ramping, depending upon your desired model outputs.

Note that not all problems will require this type of smoothing. Some problems, particularly heat transfer problems that do not involve convection, can be solved with step changes in the loads. If these step changes happen during the simulation time-span you should use Events to accurately model these cases, as described in Knowledgebase 1245: Solving Models with Pulsed Loads in Time.

General Remarks

Once either of the above techniques is implemented, the issue of consistent initialization should be resolved, and you should not have to alter the study settings.

If you do continue to have issues with convergence, it can be that your model is not meshed finely enough, in which case you should perform a mesh refinement study as described in Knowledgebase 1261: Performing a Mesh Refinement Study. It can also be that your model is highly nonlinear, in which case see Knowledgebase 1127: Improving convergence in nonlinear time dependent models.

Related Files

example_with_default_settings.mph 1.4 MB
example_with_smoothing.mph 2.2 MB
example_with_stationary_initialization.mph 4.0 MB

Disclaimer

COMSOL makes every reasonable effort to verify the information you view on this page. Resources and documents are provided for your information only, and COMSOL makes no explicit or implied claims to their validity. COMSOL does not assume any legal liability for the accuracy of the data disclosed. Any trademarks referenced in this document are the property of their respective owners. Consult your product manuals for complete trademark details.