平台: 所有平台 版本: 所有版本

问题描述

使用“瞬态求解器”时可以使用哪些数值方法?它们各自的优势是什么?我应该何时使用它们?

解决方法

瞬态求解器提供三种不同的时间步进方法:隐式向后差分公式广义 α 方法以及显式龙格-库塔系列方法。

“向后差分公式”(BDF) 求解器是一种使用向后差分公式的隐式求解器,其精度在一阶(也称为向后欧拉法)到五阶之间变化。向后差分公式法的使用已经有很长的历史,并以其稳定性而著称。然而,这些方法会产生严重的阻尼效应,低阶方法尤其如此。“向后欧拉法”会严重衰减任何高频。即使您期望得到具有陡峭梯度的解,但由于该方法的阻尼效应,您可能会得到在时间上非常平滑的解。在 COMSOL 中,向后差分公式的实现具有阶数可变的性质。也就是说,在可能的情况下会使用高阶,但在必要时将自动采用低阶以获得稳定性。向后差分公式法也是一种“微分代数方程”(DAE) 求解器。

“广义 α”的属性与二阶向后差分公式类似,但底层技术不同。该方法包含一个参数(文献中称为 α),用于控制高频阻尼的程度。与向后差分公式(最高二阶)相比,“广义 α”具有更小的阻尼,因此更准确。出于相同的原因,其稳定性也较差。在 COMSOL 中,“广义 α”的实现表现为检测哪些变量在时间上是一阶,哪些是二阶,然后对这些变量应用正确的公式。即使“广义 α”常用于求解微分代数方程,但该方法并不是正式的微分代数方程求解器。“广义 α”于 1993 年被首次提出用于结构力学二阶系统,即具有二阶时间导数的系统(参考文献 1)。结构力学领域是该方法应用最为广泛的领域。人们于 2000 年提出了一个用于一阶系统(纳维-斯托克斯方程)的公式(参考文献 2)。

向后差分公式比“广义 α”更稳定、更通用,但同时会引入更多的阻尼。因此,对于结构力学、声学和瞬态电磁波等对过度耗散敏感的应用,“广义 α”是默认的瞬态求解器。在传递等其他应用中,通常需要较高的稳定性,因此默认使用向后差分公式。

显式“龙格-库塔”系列方法最适用于“常微分方程组”,但对于涉及“偏微分方程”的问题,往往不是很有效。

所有这些方法都提供以下选项:自由、中级、精确手动时间步进,其中,自由通常为默认设置。“自由”时间步进支持求解器根据需要采用较大或较小的时间步,以满足指定的容差。求解器将尝试采用尽可能大的时间步,但如果解开始在时间上快速变化,则会在必要时减小时间步长。中级选项将强制求解器在瞬态研究设置时间步栏中的每个间隔内至少采用一个时间步。此外,精确选项将强制求解器采用时间步栏中指定的时间步。手动时间步支持您指定求解器要采用的时间步,这对于提前知道解随时间变化有多快的波型问题非常有用。有关在一般情况下控制时间步的说明,请参见知识库 1254:控制瞬态求解器的时间步长。 有关对波型问题使用手动时间步的说明,请参见知识库 1118:解析瞬态波

参考文献

  1. J. Chung, G.M. Hulbert, *A time integration algorithm for structural dynamics with improved numerical dissipation: The generalized-alpha method, *. Appl. Mech. 60 (1993), 371-375.
  2. K.E. Jansen, C.H. Whiting, G.M. Hulbert, A generalized-alpha method for integrating the filtered Navier-Stokes equations with a stabilized finite element method, Comput. Methods Appl. Engrg. 190 (2000) 305-319.

另请参见

有关更多信息,您可以搜索“帮助”(在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中按 F1),或打开电子文档(在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中按 Ctrl+F1),然后浏览到 COMSOL Multiphysics Reference Manual > Studies and Solvers > Solution Operation Nodes and Solvers > About the Time-Dependent Solver 一节。

BDF, Generalized Alpha, and Runge-Kutta Methods

Solution Number: 1062
Title: BDF, Generalized Alpha, and Runge-Kutta Methods
Platform: All Platforms
Applies to: All Products
Versions: All versions
Categories: Solver
Keywords:

Problem Description

What numerical methods are available when using a Time-Dependent Solver? What are their relative benefits and when should I use them?

Solution

The Time-Dependent Solver offers three different time stepping methods: The implicit BDF and Generalized alpha methods and the explicit Runge-Kutta family of methods.

The Backward Differentiation Formula (BDF) solver is an implicit solver that uses backward differentiation formulas with order of accuracy varying from one (also know as the backward Euler method) to five. BDF methods have been used for a long time and they are known for their stability. However, they can have severe damping effects, especially the lower order methods. Backward Euler severely damps any high frequencies. Even if you are expecting a solution with sharp gradients, you may thus get a very smooth solution in time due to the damping in backward Euler. The BDF implementation in COMSOL is of variable order. That is, a high order will be used when possible, and a lower order will automatically be employed when necessary to obtain stability. The BDF method is also a Differential-Algebraic system of Equations (DAE) solver.

Generalized alpha has properties similar to second-order BDF, but the underlying technology is different. It contains a parameter, called alpha in the literature, to control the degree of damping of high frequencies. Compared to BDF (with maximum order two), Generalized alpha has much less damping and is thereby more accurate. For the same reason, it is also less stable. The implementation of Generalized alpha in COMSOL detects which variables are first order in time and which variables are second order in time and applies the correct formulas to the variables. Generalized alpha is not formally a DAE solver even though it frequently is used to solve DAE's anyhow. Generalized alpha was first suggested in 1993 for second order systems of structural mechanics, meaning systems with second-order derivatives in time (Ref. 1). The area of structural mechanics is where the method has been most widely used. In 2000, a formulation for first order systems (the Navier-Stokes equations) was suggested (Ref. 2).

BDF is both more stable and versatile than Generalized alpha but at the same time introduces more damping. Generalized alpha is therefore the default transient solver for applications which are sensitive to excessive dissipation, such as Structural Mechanics, Acoustics, and Transient Electromagnetic Waves. In other applications, such as transport applications, extra robustness is often required and BDF is therefore the default.

The explicit Runge-Kutta family of methods are most appropriate for systems of Ordinary Differential Equations and are usually not as efficient for problems involving Partial Differential Equations.

All of these methods offer the choice between Free, Intermediate, Strict, and Manual timestepping, with Free usually being the default. Free timestepping allows the solver to take larger or smaller timesteps as required to satisfy the specified tolerances. The solvers will try to take as large a timestep as possible, but will reduce the timestep size when necessary if the solution starts to vary rapidly in time. The Intermediate option will force the solver to take at least one timestep within each interval in the Times section of the Time Dependent Study Settings. The Strict option will, in addition, force the solver to take timesteps at the times specified in the Times section. Manual timestepping allows you to specify the timestep taken by the solver which is useful for wave-type problems where you know ahead of time how quickly the solution will change over time. For directions on controlling the timesteps in general, see: Knowledge Base 1254: Controlling the Time Dependent solver timesteps. For directions on using manual timestepping for wave-type problems, see Knowledge Base 1118: Resolving time-dependent waves.

References

  1. J. Chung, G.M. Hulbert, *A time integration algorithm for structural dynamics with improved numerical dissipation: The generalized-alpha method, *. Appl. Mech. 60 (1993), 371-375.
  2. K.E. Jansen, C.H. Whiting, G.M. Hulbert, A generalized-alpha method for integrating the filtered Navier-Stokes equations with a stabilized finite element method, Comput. Methods Appl. Engrg. 190 (2000) 305-319.

See Also

For more information, you can search the Help (press F1 in COMSOL Multiphysics), or open the electronic Documentation (press Ctrl F1 in COMSOL Multiphysics) and then browse to the COMSOL Multiphysics Reference Manual > Studies and Solvers > Solution Operation Nodes and Solvers > About the Time-Dependent Solver section.


Disclaimer

COMSOL makes every reasonable effort to verify the information you view on this page. Resources and documents are provided for your information only, and COMSOL makes no explicit or implied claims to their validity. COMSOL does not assume any legal liability for the accuracy of the data disclosed. Any trademarks referenced in this document are the property of their respective owners. Consult your product manuals for complete trademark details.