理解“全耦合”与“分离”求解方法,及直接与迭代线性求解器之间的区别

解决方法编号: 1258
标题: 理解“全耦合”与“分离”求解方法,及直接与迭代线性求解器之间的区别
平台:
版本: 所有版本
类别: 求解器
关键字:

问题描述

在求解多物理场模型时,应该选择全耦合还是分步求解?为什么?

应当选择直接求解器还是迭代线性求解器?为什么?

解决方法

全耦合与分离求解方法

在求解多物理场模型时,您可以使用软件中提供的两种方法来求解用于描述解的方程(通常是非线性)组。

全耦合方法会形成一个大型方程组,用于求解所有未知量(场),并在单次迭代中一次包含未知量(多物理场效应)之间的所有耦合。

另一方面,分离方法不会一次求解所有未知量。相反,该方法将问题细分为两个或更多分离步骤。每个步骤通常表示一个物理场,但有时,即使是一个物理场也可以细分为多个步骤,有时一个步骤可以包含多个物理场。这些单独的分离步骤小于通过“全耦合”方法形成的完整方程组。“分离”步骤在单次迭代中按顺序进行求解,因此需要较少的内存。

在许多情况下,软件会自动选择分离方法,在求解三维模型时尤其如此。另一方面,对于大多数二维模型,软件默认使用全耦合方法。选择这些默认设置可以实现一般稳定性。

无论采用哪种方法求解非线性问题,都是通过迭代方式进行求解。也就是说,系统会反复调用“全耦合”或“分离”方法,然后逐渐收敛到非线性问题的解。由于“全耦合”方法包含未知量之间的所有耦合项,因此与“分离”方法相比,其收敛性通常更好,且迭代次数更少。但是,每次迭代求解都需要相对更多的内存和时间,因此采用“分离”方法时,总体求解速度会更快。有关求解非线性模型的一般性指导,请参见:知识库 103:提高非线性稳态模型的收敛性。有关如何减少内存需求的指导信息,请参见知识库 1030:“内存不足”

设置全耦合或分离方法

要在当前使用“分离”方法的模型中使用“全耦合”方法,可以展开研究 > 求解器配置设置,并查找稳态求解器瞬态求解器特征。右键单击此特征并选择全耦合,求解器序列中会出现一个新的“全耦合”特征,而分离式求解器将变灰。

*“全耦合”特征。

要设置“分离”方法,右键单击稳态求解器瞬态求解器特征,并选择分离以添加新的“分离”特征。接着,右键单击分离特征并添加至少两个分离步骤,然后选择您要在该步骤中求解的物理场对应的变量。

“分离”特征和“分离步骤”子特征。

直接与迭代线性方程组求解器

无论采用全耦合方法还是分离方法,每次迭代中都会求解线性方程组。软件为求解线性方程组提供两类算法:直接迭代求解器。

直接求解器具有最稳健、最通用的优点。其缺点是需要相对大量的内存和时间,并且随着问题规模的增加,内存需求和求解时间都会迅速增加。迭代求解器需要的内存和时间都更少,并且随着模型大小的增加,内存需求和时间的增加速度比较缓慢。但是,迭代求解器的鲁棒性较差,对于所谓的病态问题,其收敛速度较慢。例如,当材料属性的反差非常明显或者几何宽高比非常大时,就会出现病态问题。近似病态的问题示例包括一根非常细长的梁的结构弯曲,或者材料电导率相差几个数量级的电流模型。

COMSOL Multiphysics 提供的“直接”求解器包括 PARDISO、MUMPS 和 SPOOLES,以及“密集矩阵求解器”。PARDISO 或 MUMPS 的求解速度可能最快,而 SPOOLES 使用的内存可能最少。它们都应收敛到同一个解。“密集矩阵求解器”仅适用于“边界元法”模型。

软件中提供许多不同类型的“迭代”求解器,每个求解器都包含多个较低级别的设置。通常建议您不要手动选择迭代求解器并调整这些设置。当已知某个特定问题适用的迭代求解器时,软件会自动将这一组合作为选项提供。

选择直接或迭代求解器

要在“直接”或“迭代”线性方程组求解器之间进行切换,可以转到全耦合特征(如果使用“全耦合”方法)或其中一个分离步骤特征(如果使用“分离”方法),并在常规栏中,将线性求解器改为其中一个可用选项。

“全耦合”特征中使用的迭代求解器。

“分离步骤”特征中使用的直接求解器。


免责声明

COMSOL 尽一切合理的努力验证您在此页面上查看的信息。本页面提供的资源和文档仅供参考,COMSOL 对其有效性不作任何明示或暗示的声明。COMSOL 对所披露数据的准确性不承担任何法律责任。本文档中引用的任何商标均为其各自所有者的财产。有关完整的商标详细信息,请参阅产品手册。

Understanding the Fully Coupled vs. Segregated approach and Direct vs. Linear solvers

Solution Number: 1258
Title: Understanding the Fully Coupled vs. Segregated approach and Direct vs. Linear solvers
Platform:
Versions: All versions
Categories: Solver
Keywords:

Problem Description

How, and why, switch between a fully coupled and a segregated approach to solving a multiphysics model?

How, and why, switch between the direct and iterative linear system solver?

Solution

Fully Coupled versus Segregated solution approach

When solving a multiphysics model, there are two approaches that can be taken to solving the (usually nonlinear) system of equations that describe the solution.

The Fully Coupled approach forms a single large system of equations that solve for all of the unknowns (the fields) and includes all of the couplings between the unknowns (the multiphysics effects) at once, within a single iteration.

On the other hand, the Segregated approach will not solve for all of the unknowns at one time. Instead, it subdivides the problem up into two or more Segregated Steps. Each step will usually represent a single physics, but sometimes even a single physics can be subdivided into steps, and sometimes one step can contain multiple physics. These individual segregated steps are smaller than the full system of equations that are formed with the Fully Coupled approach. The Segregated steps are solved sequentially within a single iteration, and thus less memory is required.

The software will automatically select the segregated approach in many cases, especially 3D models. On the other hand, the fully coupled approach is used by default for most 2D models. These default settings are chosen for general robustness.

Regardless of the approach to solving nonlinear problems, the solution is approached by iteration. That is, the Fully Coupled or Segregated approach is called repeatedly, and gradually converges to the solution of the nonlinear problem. Since the Fully Coupled approach includes all coupling terms between the unknowns, it often converges more robustly and in less iterations as compared to the Segregated approach. However, each iteration will require relatively more memory and time to solve, so the Segregated approach can be faster overall. For general guidance in solving nonlinear models, see: Knowledge Base 103: Improving Convergence of Nonlinear Stationary Models . For guidance on how to reduce memory requirements, see Knowledge Base 1030: Error: "Out of memory".

Setting up the Fully Coupled or Segregated approach

To use the Fully Coupled approach in a model that is currently using the Segregated approach, expand out the Study > Solver Configurations settings and look for either the Stationary Solver or the Time-Dependent Solver feature. Right-click on this feature and select Fully Coupled and a new Fully Coupled feature will appear in the solver sequence, and the Segregated Solver will become greyed out.

The Fully Coupled feature.

To set up the Fully Coupled approach, right-click on the Stationary Solver or the Time-Dependent Solver feature and select Segregated to add a new Segregated feature. Then, right-click on the Segregated feature and add at least two Segregated Steps and select the variables that correspond to the physics that you want to solve within that step.

The Segregated feature and the Segregated Step subfeature.

Direct versus Iterative Linear System Solvers

Regardless of the full coupled or segregated approach, within each iteration a linearized system of equations is solved. There are two classes of algorithms available for solving linear systems of equations, the Direct and the Iterative solvers.

Direct solvers have the advantage of being the most robust and general. They have the drawback of requiring relatively a lot of memory and time, and memory requirements and solution time go up rapidly with increasing problem size. Iterative solvers require less memory and time, and these scale more slowly with increasing model size. However, iterative solvers are less robust, their convergence will be slower for so-called ill-conditioned problems. Ill-conditioned problems can arise when, for example, there is a very high contrast in material properties, or the geometric aspect ratio is very high. Examples of problems that are nearly ill-conditioned include the structural bending of a very long slender beam or an electric currents model where the material electric conductivity is different by several orders of magnitude.

The Direct solvers available within COMSOL Multiphysics are PARDISO, MUMPS, and SPOOLES, as well as a Dense Matrix Solver. Either PARDISO or MUMPS are likely the fastest, and SPOOLES will likely use the least memory. All should converge to the same answer. The Dense Matrix Solver should only be used for Boundary Element Method models.

There are many different types of Iterative solvers available and each contains several lower-level settings. Manually choosing an iterative solver and adjusting these settings is not usually advised. When an appropriate iterative solver is known for a particular problem, the software will automatically present that combination as an option.

Selecting a Direct or Iterative Solver

To switch between the Direct or Iterative linear system solver, go to either the Fully Coupled feature (if a Fully Coupled approach is being used) or one of the Segregated Step features (if the Segregated approach is being used) and, within the General section, change the Linear Solver to one of the available options.

The iterative solver being used within the Fully Coupled feature.

The direct solver being used within a Segregated Step feature.


Disclaimer

COMSOL makes every reasonable effort to verify the information you view on this page. Resources and documents are provided for your information only, and COMSOL makes no explicit or implied claims to their validity. COMSOL does not assume any legal liability for the accuracy of the data disclosed. Any trademarks referenced in this document are the property of their respective owners. Consult your product manuals for complete trademark details.