焦耳-汤姆逊效应

焦耳-汤姆逊效应

     力学   焦耳-汤姆逊效应 

什么是焦耳-汤姆逊效应?

英国物理学家詹姆斯·普雷斯科特·焦耳与威廉·汤姆逊有着多年的合作,他们做了许多实验进行热力学分析,并致力于推动这一学科的发展。1852 年,这两位研究者在探索过程中取得了突破性进展。他们发现,在气体通过节流阀的过程中,会产生压力突变,继而引起温度发生改变。这种现象被称为焦耳-汤姆逊效应(有时也称汤姆逊-焦耳效应 ),事实证明,这一现象对制冷系统以及液化器、空调和热泵的发展起到了非常重要的作用。例如,这一效应可以用来解释为什么当我们从自行车轮胎中释放空气时,轮胎气门会变冷。

当流动的气体通过调压器时(此时调压器起到的作用类似于节流装置、阀门或多孔塞),就会发生焦耳-汤姆逊效应所描述的温度变化。然而,这种温度变化并不总是我们想要的。为了平衡与焦耳-汤姆逊效应相关的温度变化,我们往往会用到加热或冷却元件。

用于描述焦耳-汤姆逊效应的符号定义

在对焦耳-汤姆逊效应进行数学分析之前,我们需要先熟悉用来描述这一效应的专用术语。下表对相关术语进行了概述:

符号 物理量 SI 单位
比焓
热容
温度
压力
比熵
比容
密度
焦耳-汤姆逊系数

了解焦耳-汤姆逊效应

下图描述气流通过一个渗透性多孔塞(带有绝热壁)发生膨胀的过程,其压力状态发生了由高到低的变化。

通过多孔塞的节流。 通过多孔塞的节流示意图。 通过多孔塞的节流示意图。

这是一个绝热节流 过程,与环境之间没有热量交换,也没有机械功交换。对于气体进出多孔部分的流动过程,我们可以使用基本的热力学概念来建立能量平衡方程;1 表示入口,2 表示出口:

(1)

其中, 是焓, 是速度(m/s)。在这里,可以忽略任何与磁能、电能和核能相关的能量贡献。对于中等速度的气流来说,动能的变化(与焓的变化相比)也可以忽略不计:

(2)

由此可见,这一过程是在焓恒定不变的条件下发生的;也就是说,这是一个等焓 过程。按照教科书的说法,我们可以根据热容 这一材料性质来计算焓的变化,即

(3)

此时,从上面的方程很容易得出以下结论:假设 始终不为 0,如果 为 0,则 也必须为 0。这一结论与汤姆逊和焦耳的实验结果相矛盾,因为这两位物理学家发现,某些气体在节流过程中,温度实际上会发生变化。应该如何解释这一现象呢?这就需要从热力学推论以及理想实际 气体的概念来寻找原因了。不幸的是,方程(3)并非绝对成立,它描述的是理想气体(和液体)这种特殊情况。

在更普遍的意义上, 是一个热力学状态函数。根据吉布斯相律,对于在特定相态下具有固定成分的物质来说,该函数必须有两个自由度。这意味着,在已知其他两个状态函数的值的前提下,可以完全确定气体的状态。一旦确定其他任意两个状态函数,即可确定焓。可以选择的状态函数包括:温度()、压力()、熵()、比容()或内能(),等等。唯一的要求是,必须确定其中两个 函数。

下面是一个使用温度和压力的例子:

根据链式法则,焓的一个小变化 列式如下:

表示 相对于 的偏导数,其中 是选定的第二个自由度,该值保持恒定。积分,然后使用 的定义进行替换:

(4)

方程右端第一项是理想气体的焓变,第二项是由气体的非理想性带来的附加贡献,可以解释为要克服分子间作用力而必须施加的功。根据定义,理想气体没有分子间作用力。对于等焓过程,方程(4)还有助于对任何细微的温度变化作出解释,这是因为它能够提供克服分子间作用力所需的精确热能转换量。

重新审视汤姆逊和焦耳进行的实验,这两位物理学家当时发现,他们观察到的等焓过程中的温度变化能够与某些可测量的物理量关联起来:在焓保持不变的条件下,当压力发生微小变化时,温度究竟会改变多少?他们将其称为焦耳-汤姆逊系数

(5)

描述节流路径的温度压力图。

在温度-压力图中显示的节流路径。其中的等焓线表示为 h = 常数。节流过程的路径始于点 ,并沿一条等焓线向左移动,经过 ,还可能经过 。在不同的起始压力和温度以及最终压力下,某一特定气体的温度既可能升高,也可能降低。温度由上升变为下降的界限线称为转变线。

在温度-压力图中显示的节流路径。其中的等焓线表示为 h = 常数。节流过程的路径始于点 ,并沿一条等焓线向左移动,经过 ,还可能经过 。在不同的起始压力和温度以及最终压力下,某一特定气体的温度既可能升高,也可能降低。温度由上升变为下降的界限线称为转变线。

汤姆逊和焦耳进行了大量的工作来测量和收集常见气体的 数据。为了使方程(4)具备实用价值,需要将其与可测量的物理量关联起来。数学中的循环定理指出

经过重排后可变为:

(6)

将方程(6)插入方程(4),得出下式:

(7)

由于积分量能够被测量,因此可以通过计算机程序或人工方式来计算这个公式。

另一个重要发现是,可以通过测量的 数据提炼出热容 与压力的关系。通过研究方程(6)我们发现,左边的 项可以被解析出来。结合热力学第一定律和焓的定义 ,可以得到能量微分方程:

在方程两边对常数 导数,得到

(8)

麦克斯韦关系(用于准确性测试)加入著名的吉布斯自由能微分式 ,可得

(9)

将方程(9)插入方程(8),得到

(10)

最后,将方程(10)插入方程(6),即可得到

(11)

当我们可以使用非理想状态方程 时,就可以通过计算工具来计算这个表达式。

焦耳-汤姆逊效应的总结和建议

常温下的大多数气体在节流过程中都会稍微发生冷却,但氢气和氦气除外。气体内部发生冷却的原因在于,热量转化为功,以克服分子间作用力。理想气体的关系式忽略了任何分子间作用力,因此无法反映焦耳-汤姆逊效应。由此可见,在使用计算工具进行流量计算时,仅仅依靠理想气体定律的各种假设得出的计算结果可能并不准确。

  • 许多工程方面的教科书和工具书都包含介绍焦耳-汤姆逊效应的相关章节,并列出了一些常见气体的 数据表。这些信息可以用于方程(7)的公式,也可以用于计算机仿真程序和人工计算。

  • 为了实现更精确的计算,您需要了解压力对 可能存在的依赖关系,另一种方法是使用非理想状态方程 并计算 ,如方程(11)所示。

发布日期:2015 年 12 月 14 日
上次修改日期:2018 年 3 月 1 日

参考文献

  • Kenneth Wark, Jr., Advanced Thermodynamics for Engineers (McGraw-Hill, Inc., 1995)

The Joule-Thomson Effect

The Joule-Thomson Effect

     Mechanical   The Joule-Thomson Effect 

What Is the Joule-Thomson Effect?

For several years, James Prescott Joule and William Thomson – both British physicists – worked in collaboration, conducting experiments designed to analyze and advance thermodynamics. In 1852, the researchers made a particularly notable discovery. They found that a temperature change can occur in a gas as a result of a sudden pressure change over a valve. Known as the Joule-Thomson effect (or sometimes the Thomson-Joule effect), this phenomenon has proven to be important in the advancement of refrigeration systems as well as liquefiers, air conditioners, and heat pumps. It is also the effect that is responsible for a tire valve getting cold when you let out the air from a bicycle tire.

The temperature change pertaining to the Joule-Thomson effect can occur when a flowing gas passes through a pressure regulator, which acts as a throttling device, valve, or porous plug. Here, a temperature change is not necessarily desirable. To balance out any Joule-Thomson related temperature changes, a heating or cooling element can be used.

Definitions of Symbols Used to Describe the Joule-Thomson Effect

Before analyzing the Joule-Thomson effect mathematically, you need to be familiar with the nomenclature that is used to describe the effect. The table below provides an overview of the relevant nomenclature:

Symbol Quantity SI Unit
Specific enthalpy
Heat capacity
Temperature
Pressure
Specific entropy
Specific volume
Density
Joule-Thomson coefficient

Understanding the Joule-Thomson Effect

Consider the image below, describing a gas flow that expands through a porous, permeable plug from a higher to a lower pressure state, with thermally insulated walls.

Throttling through a porous plug. Throttling through a porous plug. Schematic of throttling through a porous plug.

This is an adiabatic throttling process. No heat or mechanical work is exchanged with the environment. Fundamental thermodynamic definitions can be used to develop an energy balance for the flow process into and out of the porous section, with 1 representing the inlet and 2 representing the outlet:

(1)

where is the enthalpy and is the velocity (m/s). Here, any magnetic, electric, and nuclear energy contributions are neglected. For gas flows at moderate velocities, it is safe to disregard the kinetic energy change in comparison to any enthalpy changes:

(2)

Therefore, it is evident that the process happens at constant enthalpy – in other words, it is isenthalpic. Most engineers remember from their textbooks that an enthalpy change can be calculated from the material property heat capacity, , as

(3)

At this point, from the equation above, one might jump to the conclusion that if is 0, then must also be 0, assuming that is never 0. Such a conclusion contradicts the experimental findings from Thomson and Joule. The two physicists found that some gases actually change in temperature at throttling. But how can this be explained? The answer lies in some thermodynamic reasoning and the concept of ideal versus real gases. Unfortunately, Eq. (3) is not entirely true; it is a special case for ideal gases (and liquids).

Looking at a more general situation, is a thermodynamic state function. According to the so-called Gibbs' phase rule, the function must have two degrees of freedom for a substance with a fixed composition in one phase. This means that the state of a gas can be exactly determined, provided that the values of exactly two other state functions are known. Determining the enthalpy can be accomplished by determining two other arbitrary state functions. The options include: temperature (), pressure (), entropy (), specific volume (), or internal energy () and more. The only requirement is that two of them are determined.

Here's an example that uses temperature and pressure:

A small change, , in the enthalpy will, by the chain rule, be:

The indication represents a partial derivative of with respect to , where is the second degree of freedom selected and is held constant. This can be integrated and replaced with the definition of :

(4)

The first term on the right-hand side is the enthalpy change of an ideal gas, and the second term is the additional contribution due to the nonideality of the gas. This can be interpreted as the work that must be exerted to overcome intermolecular forces. An ideal gas, by definition, has no intermolecular forces. For an isenthalpic process, Eq. (4) also helps in the interpretation of any slight temperature change, as it is able to provide the exact amount of thermal energy conversion needed to overcome intermolecular forces.

Revisiting the experiments of Thomson and Joule, the two men found it practical to relate their observations of temperature change at constant enthalpy to something measurable: How much does the temperature change for a small change in pressure, holding the enthalpy fixed? They referred to it as the Joule-Thomson coefficient, :

(5)

Temperature-pressure diagram depicting the throttling path. Temperature-pressure diagram depicting the throttling path.

A plot showing the throttling path in a temperature-pressure diagram. The isenthalps are indicated by h = constant. The path of a throttling process goes from a point, , and moves left along an isenthalp, passing through , as well as possibly and . Depending on the start pressure and temperature and the final pressure, the temperature can either increase or decrease for a specific gas. The limiting line where a temperature increase changes to a decrease is called the inversion line.

Thomson and Joule performed extensive work to measure and collect data for common gases. To make Eq. (4) useful in practice, it needs to be related to measurable quantities. The cyclic theorem from mathematics states that

When rearranged, the equation becomes:

(6)

Inserting Eq. (6) in Eq. (4) gives the following:

(7)

This formula lends itself to evaluation via computer programs or by hand, since the integrated quantities are measurable.

Another useful observation is that a pressure-dependent relation for heat capacity, , can be distilled from the measured data. Reviewing Eq. (6), the term on the left can be dissected. Combining the first law of thermodynamics with the definition of enthalpy, , provides the energy differential:

Taking the -derivative at the constant, , on both sides, gives

(8)

The well-known Gibbs free energy differential, , with the so-called Maxwell relations (test for exactness), results in

(9)

Inserting Eq. (9) in Eq. (8) produces

(10)

Finally, inserting Eq. (10) in Eq. (6) breaks out as

(11)

When we have access to a nonideal equation of state, , it is possible to evaluate this expression using a computational tool.

Summary of the Joule-Thomson Effect and Recommendations

Most gases at normal temperatures are slightly cooled at throttling, with the exception of hydrogen and helium. The internal cooling happens because heat is converted to work that is exerted to overcome intermolecular forces. Ideal gas relations disregard any intermolecular forces and thus miss out on the Joule-Thomson effect. As such, relying only on ideal gas law assumptions when doing flow calculations with computational tools can be risky.

  • Many engineering textbooks and handbooks include a section on the Joule-Thomson effect as well as tabulated } data for common gases. This information can be applied to the formula of Eq. (7) and used in both computer simulation programs as well as for calculations by hand.

  • For more accurate calculations where you need to capture a possible pressure dependency of , an alternative route is to use a nonideal equation of state, , and evaluate , as in Eq. (11).

References

  • Kenneth Wark, Jr., Advanced Thermodynamics for Engineers (McGraw-Hill, Inc., 1995)