什么是对流?

     化工   什么是对流? 

流体整体运动引起质量传递

对流是流体整体运动引起的质量传递。例如,液态水的流动会输送水中溶解的分子或离子;同样,空气流动会输送空气中的分子,包括高浓度物质(如氧和氮)以及低浓度物质(如二氧化碳)。请注意,“对流”这一术语在传热中通常是指热传导和热对流同时发生的现象;其中,“热对流”是指本体流体运动引起的传热。在传递现象领域(以及本文中),“对流”和“热对流”是同义词。

下面的动画演示了流体中某个区域的对流,其中一种化学物质具有较高的浓度(以红色表示):

 

在从左向右流动的流体中,某种化学物质(以红色表示)的对流过程。

对流描述

发生质量传递的分子的速度同时包含对流分量和扩散分量。我们通常认为“对流”是由所有分子的平均速度引起的质量传递,而“扩散”是由单个分子随时间变化的随机速度引起的质量传递(与整个流体的平均速度不同)。

因此,只要选择合适的参考速度,我们便能确定扩散通量和对流通量。在稀物质传递中,当某种组分(如溶剂或载气)对系统动量起主导作用时,常规的做法是将参考速度作为该主导组分的速度。

正因如此,除扩散产生的通量外,流体整体运动也会对稀物质产生通量贡献。这种通量可以写为以下形式:

(1)

其中,ci 是物质浓度(mol m-3),u 是流体速度(m s-1)。

对流通量矢量与流体速度 u 成正比,因此其方向与速度方向相同;根本原因在于,对流是流体整体运动引起的质量传递。对于稀物质来说,这一速度是溶剂或载气的速度。对于高浓度物质传递,则需要对流体整体速度进行更详细的定义。

某个点上由对流引起的浓度变化,可以通过将上式代入质量连续性方程求得:

(2)

对于不可压缩的流体流动,由于整个流体的质量守恒,因此第一项(包括 ∇⋅u)等于零。由此可知,仅当存在浓度梯度时,某一点的浓度才会因对流而发生改变:

(3)

这是对流方程,一个瞬态的一阶偏微分方程。

对流引起浓度剖面位移

在给出随空间变化的特定初始浓度分布 c0(r) 和均匀速度 u 的情况下,注意观察对流方程的确定解,便能很好地理解对流带来的影响。

(4)

在此,我们假设在对流传质过程中,物质不会碰到任何壁。当然,在实际工作中,我们很少遇到完全均匀的流动,但我们常常可以将其作为局部均匀的情况来处理。

这个简单的方程说明了对流的结果:根据某种浓度分布规律在空间中分布的物质,其质量基于速度 u 发生位移。如果不是,则浓度分布保持不变。因此,与扩散不同,高浓度和低浓度区域之间不存在不可逆的质量传递。从这个角度而言,由于流动方向可以逆转,因此对流可以引起质量传递。

通过以下图像,我们可以看到发生的对流。在对流发生 2 秒后,根据矢量 r = u Δt 可知,浓度剖面已发生位移。由于 x 方向的 u 为 1 m s-1,相当于从左到右的位移为 2 米。

对流模型:某种化学物质在对流发生一秒后的浓度剖面。 t = 1 s 时的浓度剖面。 t = 1 s 时的浓度剖面。
对流模型:三秒后的浓度剖面。 t = 3 s 时的浓度剖面。在流体流动中,对流使初始浓度剖面向右移动了 2 m。 t = 3 s 时的浓度剖面。在流体流动中,对流使初始浓度剖面向右移动了 2 m。

对流和扩散

由于实际上化学物质的扩散系数不为零,因此,常规的做法是求解对流-扩散方程,其中同时包含对质量传递的扩散和对流贡献:

(5)

对流-扩散方程一文讨论了两种传质模式的组合情况,并分析了相关的长度和时间尺度。

自然对流

只要存在温度梯度,即使没有强制流动,也可能由于密度变化和重力作用,出现浮力驱动的流动。在正常环境条件下,对于体积大于几毫升的流体,对流通常保持动态,不会出现完全静止不动的现象。这意味着,即使没有强制对流作用,对流实际上也会引起质量传递。在温度变化引起密度变化的情况下,这一效应称为自然对流自由对流,也可以简称浮力对流

当我们在茶或咖啡中加糖时,就能看到这一效应,这是因为温度和成分的变化会产生密度梯度。尽管用勺子搅拌是产生强制对流的最好方法,但即使不这样做,整个流体中的糖浓度也会达到均匀,并且速度要比仅依靠扩散理论预测的速度快得多。另一个显著的现象是海洋中盐度梯度引起的对流,这种现象通常称为重力对流

综述

对流是流体整体运动引起的质量传递。除微流体设备以外,要实现有效的质量传递,必须存在对流,因为从实用的角度来看,扩散是一个非常缓慢的过程。大多数化学反应器都涉及某种形式的流动;在湍流情况下,对流传质对于混合及整体传递特别有效。

虽然对流方程的建立非常简单,但其求解过程却相当复杂(最简单的几何体除外)。在研究对流与扩散在实际系统中的相互作用时,数值建模是一个至关重要的环节。

发布日期:2015 年 1 月 15 日
上次修改日期:2018 年 3 月 21 日

Convection

What Is Convection?

     Chemical   What Is Convection? 

Mass Transfer Due to the Bulk Motion of a Fluid

Convection is mass transfer due to the bulk motion of a fluid. For example, the flow of liquid water transports molecules or ions that are dissolved in the water. Similarly, the flow of air transports molecules present in air, including both concentrated species (e.g., oxygen and nitrogen) and dilute species (e.g., carbon dioxide). Note that the term convection in heat transfer usually refers to the combination of heat transfer by conduction and advection, where advection refers to heat transfer due to bulk fluid motion. In the field of transport phenomena, and also in this text, convection is synonymous with advection.

The animation below illustrates the convection of a region of a fluid, where a certain chemical species is concentrated (indicated by the red color):

Animation illustrating the convection of a chemical species. Animation illustrating the convection of a chemical species. Convection of a chemical species (indicated by red coloration) in a flow moving from left to right.

As the fluid flows through the pipe, the dissolved chemical is transported along the pipe by convection.

Describing Convection

The velocity of a molecule undergoing mass transfer incorporates both a convective and diffusive component. We understand convection as mass transport due to the average velocity of all molecules, and diffusion as mass transport due to the instantaneously varying, randomized velocity of individual molecules, compared to the average velocity of the fluid as a whole.

Hence, by a suitable choice of reference velocity, we can identify a diffusive flux and a convective flux. For dilute species transport, where one component, such as a solvent or carrier gas, dominates the momentum of the system, it is normal to take the reference velocity as that of the dominant component.

The motion of a bulk fluid therefore contributes a flux of dilute species, in addition to the flux due to diffusion. This flux can be written as follows:

\mathbf{N}_{i,\mathrm{conv}}=c_i\mathbf{u}
(1)

where ci is the species concentration (mol m-3) and u is the fluid velocity (m s-1).

The convective flux vector is proportional to the fluid velocity, u, so it acts in the same direction as this velocity. This is because convection is the transport of mass due to bulk fluid motion. For a dilute species, this velocity is the velocity of the solvent or carrier gas. For concentrated species transport, a more careful definition of bulk fluid velocity is required.

The change in concentration at a point, due to convection, follows by substituting the above into the mass continuity equation:

\left(\frac{\partial c_i}{\partial t}\right)_\mathrm{conv} = -\nabla\cdot\mathbf{N}_{i,\mathrm{conv}} = -c_i\nabla\cdot\mathbf{u} - \mathbf{u}\cdot\nabla c_i
(2)

The first term (including ∇⋅u) equals zero for an incompressible fluid flow as a result of the conservation of mass of the fluid as a whole. As a consequence, we see that only in the presence of concentration gradients will the concentration at a point be changed by convection:

\left(\frac{\partial c_i}{\partial t}\right)_\mathrm{conv} = - \mathbf{u}\cdot\nabla c_i
(3)

This is the convection equation, a time-dependent, first-order partial differential equation.

Convection as Displacement of a Concentration Profile

A good understanding of the consequences of convection are gained by noting the presence of an exact solution to the convection equation, given a certain initial space-dependent concentration profile, c0(r), and a uniform velocity, u:

c(\mathbf{r},t) = c_0(\mathbf{r}-\mathbf{u}t)
(4)

Here, we assume that no walls are encountered by the convecting mass. Of course, we do not often encounter exactly uniform flows in reality, but we can often treat flows as locally uniform.

This simple equation illuminates the consequence of convection: The mass of a species, distributed in space according to some concentration profile, is displaced according to the velocity, u. If not, the concentration profile remains unaltered. Thus, in contrast to diffusion, there is no irreversible transport of mass between regions of high and low concentration. In the sense that the flow can be reversed to go in the opposite direction, so can mass transport by convection.

In the images below, we can see convection in action. After 2 seconds of convection, the concentration profile has been displaced by a vector r = u Δt. Since u is 1 m s-1 in the x-direction, this corresponds to a left-to-right displacement of 2 meters.

Convection model: Concentration profile of a chemical species after one second. Convection model: Concentration profile of a chemical species after one second. Concentration profile at t = 1 s.
Convection model: Concentration profile after three seconds. Convection model: Concentration profile after three seconds. Concentration profile at t = 3 s. The initial concentration profile is displaced 2 m to the right by convection in the flow.

Convection and Diffusion

Since chemical species have a non-zero diffusivity in reality, it is normal to solve the convection-diffusion equation, where both the diffusive and convective contributions to the mass transport are included:

\frac{\partial c_i}{\partial t} = \nabla\cdot\left(D_ic_i\right)- \mathbf{u}\cdot\nabla c_i
(5)

A discussion of the combination of the two modes of mass transport, considering the relevant length and time scales, can be found at Convection-Diffusion Equation.

Natural Convection

Even in the absence of a forced flow, a buoyancy-driven flow may still arise in the presence of temperature gradients because of density variations and the force of gravity. For volumes of fluid larger than a few milliliters under ambient conditions, convection currents normally persist dynamically, without a steady state being attained. This means that convection will, in practice, contribute to mass transport even when no forced convection applies. In the case where density variations are caused by temperature variations, this effect is referred to as natural convection, free convection, or simply buoyant convection.

We encounter this effect when putting sugar into our tea or coffee, where variations in both temperature and composition cause density gradients. Although it is best to induce forced convection by stirring with a spoon, the sugar will still reach a uniform concentration throughout the fluid much more quickly than would be predicted by diffusion theory alone. Another pronounced effect is the convection caused by gradients in salinity in oceans, which is usually referred to as gravitational convection.

Summary

Convection is mass transport due to bulk fluid motion. Except for microfluidic devices, convection is necessary to achieve effective mass transport because diffusion over human length scales is a very slow process. Most chemical reactors involve some sort of flow and in the case of turbulent flow, mass transport by convection is especially efficient for mixing as well as bulk transport.

While the equations for convection are simple to write down, they cannot be solved by hand, except for the simplest geometries. Numerical modeling is vital to understand the interplay of convection and diffusion in real systems.