什么是离子迁移?

     化工   什么是质量传递?   什么是离子迁移? 

理解离子迁移

在电化学系统和离子迁移的研究中,人们广泛采用数学建模和数值仿真来帮助加深理解。描述电解质中的离子迁移的模型方程可以通过相对简单的原理推导出来。

模型突出显示了电解质的电位分布及其与船体腐蚀的关系。

在船体、螺旋桨、保护船体免受腐蚀的牺牲阳极的表面上的电解质电位分布。该仿真采用海水中的离子迁移模型,通过建模可以确保阳极的各个位置都能得到保护。

在船体、螺旋桨、保护船体免受腐蚀的牺牲阳极的表面上的电解质电位分布。该仿真采用海水中的离子迁移模型,通过建模可以确保阳极的各个位置都能得到保护。

在不受外力作用时,电解质中的离子将永不停息地做随机运动。这种条件下的离子传输可以通过扩散来描述。

(1)

在这一本构关系中,vd 表示漂移速度(m s-1),mabs 是绝对迁移率(N s m-1),F 是作用力(N)。离子因其漂移速度而获得的总迁移通量,由其浓度和漂移速度的乘积给出。同时存在浓度梯度和作用力的情况下,离子的总通量(Ni,单位是 mol m-2 s-1)为扩散贡献和迁移贡献的总和:

(2)

其中,Di 是扩散系数或扩散率,ci 表示浓度(mol m-3)。如果力被调整为使净通量为零,并且扩散和迁移的大小相等但方向相反,则必须使:

(3)

然而,在各个方向的净通量均为零的情况下,可以假设达到离子平衡,此时浓度分布可通过玻尔兹曼方程 [1] 进行描述:

(4)

其中,ci,0 表示势能为零时的浓度,U 表示分子的势能(J)。然后,由该浓度场的梯度可得:

(5)

其中 k 是玻尔兹曼常数。

根据定义,力是势能的负梯度:

(6)

将浓度梯度的方程 3 和 5 组合在一起,得到:

(7)

通过消元,可以得到迁移率的爱因斯坦关系式 [2]

(8)

这一表达式非常重要,因为它直接将受任何外力作用的离子的迁移率与其扩散系数相关联。迁移率可用于估计离子迁移的通量以及电解质的电导率。

图形分析了离子的通量分布和电解质的电导率。

电渗析槽中,沿电场主分量方向的通量分布。在阴离子选择性膜的位置,钠离子的迁移通量通过其扩散通量达到完全平衡,使得膜边界(膜的两个界面)上的总通量为零。因此,钠离子在阳离子选择性膜上的主要通量朝向左侧。氯离子的情况恰好相反,其通过阴离子选择性膜的通量朝向右侧。电场方向为从右向左。

电渗析槽中,沿电场主分量方向的通量分布。在阴离子选择性膜的位置,钠离子的迁移通量通过其扩散通量达到完全平衡,使得膜边界(膜的两个界面)上的总通量为零。因此,钠离子在阳离子选择性膜上的主要通量朝向左侧。氯离子的情况恰好相反,其通过阴离子选择性膜的通量朝向右侧。电场方向为从右向左。

根据以下方程,当电场作用于电解质中的离子时,上面介绍的定向力的大小与该电场的强度成正比:

(9)

其中,zi 表示离子的电荷数,e0 是电子的基本电荷,φ 是电势(V),−∇φ 表示电场。此时,漂移速度可由下式求得:

(10)

我们将一种离子 i 的电化学迁移率(表示为 ui,单位是 m2 s-1 V-1)定义为其漂移速度大小与外加电场强度的比值:

(11)

使用 mabs 的爱因斯坦关系式,我们现在可以写出能斯特-爱因斯坦关系式,其中,电化学迁移率与扩散系数有关:

(11a)

在上式中,F 是法拉第常数,R 是气体常数。由此得到的离子 i 的迁移通量是漂移速度和离子浓度 ci 的乘积,此通量的贡献称为离子迁移电迁移

(12)

电解质中的电流密度 i 可以通过该电解质中所有离子的贡献之和求得:

(13)

车门电泳涂漆模型中的切面图。

电泳涂装过程中的车门表面上的油漆沉积厚度。水平切面图显示在假设电泳槽呈电中性且组成恒定情况下的电位。此类仿真可用于设计和控制这一过程。

电泳涂装过程中的车门表面上的油漆沉积厚度。水平切面图显示在假设电泳槽呈电中性且组成恒定情况下的电位。此类仿真可用于设计和控制这一过程。

在一般的稀释电解质中,通量贡献可能有以下三种来源:扩散、迁移和对流

(14)

其中,Di 表示扩散系数,u 是电解质速度。将这一通量表达式代入电流密度方程 13,得到下式:

(15)

在大多数电化学电池中,除双电层外,都可以假设电解质呈电中性:

(16)

如此一来,可以消除方程 15 中的最后一项,这是对流项对电解质中的电流传输可能产生的贡献。然而,对流使得浓度保持均匀的分布,因此,除了靠近电极的区域(其中的电活性物质可能被快速消耗)外,电解槽中的任何位置都具有恒定的电导率。对于呈电中性、组成恒定(浓度梯度为零)的电解质来说,电流密度表达式变为:

(17)

其中,Κ 定义为电解质的电导率。这个方程表明,组成恒定的电解质中的电流完全由迁移产生。电流遵循欧姆定律,电导率由电解质中每个组成离子的贡献总和给出。

这一关系常用于电化学工程领域,用于描述一次和二次电流密度分布应用。不仅如此,在一般的电化学和电分析化学研究中,它还广泛用于电解质电流建模。

发布日期:2015 年 1 月 14 日
上次修改日期:2017 年 2 月 22 日

参考文献

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boltzmann_distribution
  2. J. O’M. Bockris and A. K. N. Reddy, “Modern Electrochemistry”, Plenum Press, NY, 1970.

What Is Ionic Migration?

     Chemical   What Is Mass Transfer?   What Is Ionic Migration? 

Understanding the Migration of Ions

Mathematical modeling and numerical simulations are used extensively to understand electrochemical systems and the migration of ions. The model equations that describe the migration of ions in electrolytes may be derived from relatively simple principles.

A model highlighting an electrolyte's potential distribution and its relation to the corrosion of a ship's hull. A model highlighting an electrolyte's potential distribution and its relation to the corrosion of a ship's hull.

Potential distribution in the electrolyte at the surface of a boat's hull, propellers, and the sacrificial anodes that protect the hull from corrosion. This simulation uses a model for the migration of ions in seawater. Modeling can be used to ensure that protection is obtained for different positions of the anodes.

In the absence of an external force, ions in an electrolyte are under endless random motion. The transport of ions under such conditions may be described by diffusion.

(1)

In this constitutive relation, vd denotes the drift velocity (m s-1); mabs, the absolute mobility (N s m-1); and F, the applied force (N). The total migration flux of an ion, due to its drift velocity, is given by the product of its concentration and drift velocity. The total flux (mol m-2 s-1) of an ion, Ni, in the presence of both a concentration gradient and an applied force is the sum of the contributions from diffusion and migration:

(2)

where Di is the diffusion coefficient or diffusivity, and ci denotes concentration (mol m-3). If the force is adjusted to achieve a zero net flux, with equal and opposite diffusion and migration, we must have:

(3)

However, under the condition of zero net flux in all directions, equilibrium may be assumed and the concentration distribution can be described by the Boltzmann equation [1]:

(4)

where ci,0 denotes the concentration at zero potential energy and U represents the potential energy (J) of a molecule. The gradient of this concentration field then yields:

(5)

where k is the Boltzmann constant.

Per definition, the force is the negative gradient of the potential energy:

(6)

The combination of equations 3 and 5 for the concentration gradient gives:

(7)

which, by elimination, results in the Einstein relation for mobility [2]:

(8)

This expression is extremely important, since it directly relates the mobility of an ion, subject to any force, to its diffusivity. This mobility can be used to estimate the flux of ions through migration and also the electrical conductivity of an electrolyte.

Graphs analyzing the flux distribution of ions and an electrolyte's electrical conductivity. Graphs analyzing the flux distribution of ions and an electrolyte's electrical conductivity.

Flux distribution in the direction along the main component of the electric field in an electrodialysis unit cell. At the position of the anion selective membrane, the migrative flux of sodium ions is perfectly balanced by its diffusive flux, so that the total flux over the membrane boundaries – on both interfaces of the membrane – is zero. The main flux of sodium ions is, therefore, to the left – over the cation-selective membrane. The opposite takes place for chloride, which fluxes to the right – across the anion-selective membrane. The electric field goes from right to left.

According to the following equation, when an electric field is applied to the ions in an electrolyte, the directed force, introduced above, is proportional to the electric field:

(9)

where zi denotes the charge number of the ion, e0 is the elementary charge on an electron, ∅ is the electric potential (V), and −∇∅ represents the electric field. The drift velocity is, therefore, given by:

(10)

We will define the electrochemical mobility of an ion i (m2 s-1 V-1), denoted ui, as the ratio of the magnitude of its drift velocity to that of the applied electric field:

(11)

Using the Einstein relation for mabs, we can now write out the Nernst-Einstein relation in which the electrochemical mobility is related to the diffusivity:

(11a)

Here, F is the Faraday constant and R is the gas constant. The resulting migration flux of an ion, i, is the product of the drift velocity with the ion’s concentration, ci. The contribution of this flux is referred to as migration of ions or electromigration:

(12)

The current density, i, in an electrolyte may be obtained from the sum of the contributions from all ions in the electrolyte:

(13)

Slice plots in the model of an electrocoating of a car door. Slice plots in the model of an electrocoating of a car door.

Deposition thickness of paint on the surface of a car door during electrophoretic painting. The horizontal slice plot shows the potential assuming electroneutrality and constant composition in the cell. These types of simulations may be used to design and control the process.

In a general dilute electrolyte, the flux may have three contributions from diffusion, migration, and convection:

(14)

where Di denotes the diffusivity and u is the velocity of the electrolyte. Substituting this flux expression into equation 13 for the current density gives the following:

(15)

In most electrochemical cells, with the exception of the charged double layer, electroneutrality can be assumed in the electrolyte:

(16)

This eliminates the last term in equation 15, which is the possible contribution of the convective term to the transport of current in an electrolyte. However, convection contributes by maintaining a uniform concentration distribution, and hence constant conductivity, everywhere in the cell except close to the electrodes, where electroactive species may be consumed at a high rate. For an electroneutral electrolyte at constant composition (zero concentration gradient), the expression for current density becomes:

(17)

where Κ is defined as the conductivity of the electrolyte. This equation shows that the electric current in electrolytes with constant composition is due solely to migration. The current obeys Ohm's law with a conductivity given by the sum of the contributions of each component ion in the electrolyte.

This relation is used in electrochemical engineering for describing primary and secondary current density distribution applications. It is also widely used for modeling electrolyte currents in general electrochemistry and electroanalytic chemistry.

References

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boltzmann_distribution
  2. J. O’M. Bockris and A. K. N. Reddy, “Modern Electrochemistry”, Plenum Press, NY, 1970.