提高非线性瞬态模型的收敛性

解决方法编号: 1127
标题: 提高非线性瞬态模型的收敛性
平台: 所有平台
适用于: 所有产品
版本: 所有版本
类别: 求解器
关键字:

问题描述

当我查看瞬态模型的“求解器日志”时,看到 NLFail 列包含非零条目:

Step TimeStepsize Res JacSolOrderTfailNLfailLinErrLinRes
0 0-out 23208e-14 3.5e-15
1 0.10.1115111012.6e-162.4e-16
... ..............................

这是什么意思?

我在求解瞬态模型时,收到类似如下的错误消息:

非线性求解器不收敛。
达到最大牛顿迭代次数。
时间:0.15582918651998362
最后一个时间步不收敛。

我可以对求解器设置做哪些更改来解决这个问题?

解决方法

瞬态求解器通过一组基于牛顿法的迭代技术在每个时间步对可能呈非线性的方程组进行求解。如果这些迭代技术在任意时间步失败,则 NLFail 列中的数值将递增。这些用于求解非线性方程组的牛顿法技术在每个时间步计算函数及其导数。此导数也称为雅可比矩阵,其计算量相对较大。因此,默认情况下,软件会尽量减少重新计算雅可比矩阵的次数。如果非线性求解器难以收敛,它将减小所请求的时间步并尝试计算解。当时间步减小时,Tfail 列中的数值会递增。如果解场随时间快速变化,那么这是一种很好的方法。

但是,如果模型具有很强的非线性,那么这可能会是一种次优方法,或者可能根本不起作用。之所以产生这种非线性,可能是因为材料属性随解发生变化,也可能是反馈方程引起的,例如,在使用电流物理场接口中的电流功率类型的终端条件时会涉及这类方程。

为了求解强非线性模型,一个可行的解决办法是,在非线性求解器尝试在每个时间步计算解的每次迭代中更新雅可比矩阵。为此,您可以展开研究设置并转到瞬态求解器分支下的全耦合子特征,然后定位到方法和终止栏。将雅可比矩阵更新:改为在每次迭代中,以替代最小,如下所示。完成此更改通常就足够了。

全耦合设置

“全耦合”特征中已修改的设置。

但有时,每个时间步的非线性问题具有强非线性,即使采用牛顿法(更新雅可比矩阵)仍然无法收敛。下一个要更改的设置是最大迭代次数,其默认值为 4。将该值增加到 25 或更大的值。接下来,调整容差因子:设置。其默认值 1 表示使用相对容差设置,如瞬态研究步骤中指定的那样。相对容差的默认值为 0.01,其实际值为容差因子:乘以此数值,即:在本例中,将容差因子:设为 0.1 可以得到这个非线性问题在每个时间步的相对容差为 0.001。这意味着,当您收紧瞬态求解器的相对容差设置时,通常可以放宽容差因子。

如果模型仍未收敛,您可以将非线性方法:设置从恒定(牛顿)改为自动(牛顿),后者可以实现阻尼牛顿法。此方法会自动更新雅可比矩阵并使用动态阻尼项,因此需要更多的计算资源。自动高度非线性(牛顿)与此类似,但开始时具有更多阻尼,因而求解速度更慢,但更可能收敛。

默认情况下,模型可能使用分离法。在求解多物理场问题时常常是这样,由于强非线性往往只会影响模型中的一个物理场,所以使用这种方法通常是合理的。在分离式求解器中,每个分离步表示不同物理场的解,并单独进行求解,求解时会使用牛顿法的一些变体。您可以按如上所述进行类似修改,因为这是由存在的非线性所驱动的,所以只能对一个分离步进行修改。也就是说,如果只有一个物理场存在材料或反馈非线性,您可能只需修改该物理场的设置,如下面的屏幕截图所示。

“分离步”特征中已修改的设置。

如果您正在求解多物理场问题并怀疑物理场之间存在很强的非线性,则可以从分离法切换到全耦合方法,如知识库 1258:理解“全耦合”与“分离”求解方法之间的区别中所述。您可能仍需要按之前所述调整设置。

如果您在求解器日志中观察到的主要是 Tfail 列的数值经常递增,可以在时间步进设置中启用非线性控制器,如下面的屏幕截图所示。此设置将在向后差分公式法中实现更有效的时间步控制,尤其适用于高度非线性模型。请注意,即使对于不含非线性的模型,Tfail 列中的数值也会递增,在这种情况下,最好收紧求解器的相对容差。

启用非线性控制器。

最后请记住,为了验证模型的精度,您总是需要执行相对容差细化研究和网格细化研究,分别如知识库 1254:控制瞬态求解器的时间步长知识库 1261:执行网格细化研究中所述。


免责声明

COMSOL 尽一切合理的努力验证您在此页面上查看的信息。本页面提供的资源和文档仅供参考,COMSOL 对其有效性不作任何明示或暗示的声明。COMSOL 对所披露数据的准确性不承担任何法律责任。本文档中引用的任何商标均为其各自所有者的财产。有关完整的商标详细信息,请参阅产品手册。

Improving convergence in nonlinear time dependent models

Solution Number: 1127
Title: Improving convergence in nonlinear time dependent models
Platform: All Platforms
Applies to: All Products
Versions: All versions
Categories: Solver
Keywords:

Problem Description

When I look at the Solver Log of a time dependent model, I see that the NLFail column has non-zero entries:

Step TimeStepsize Res JacSolOrderTfailNLfailLinErrLinRes
0 0-out 23208e-14 3.5e-15
1 0.10.1115111012.6e-162.4e-16
... ..............................

What does this mean?

When solving a time dependent model, I get an error message similar to:

Nonlinear solver did not converge.
Maximum number of Newton iterations reached.
Time : 0.15582918651998362
Last time step is not converged.

What changes can I make to the solver settings to fix this?

Solution

The time dependent solver is computing the solution to a possibly nonlinear system of equations at each timestep via a set of iterative techniques based upon Newton's method. If these iterative techniques fail at any timestep, the NLFail column will get incremented. These Newton's method techniques for solving a nonlinear system of equations evaluate a function, as well as its derivative, at every timestep. This derivative is also known as the Jacobian and is relatively expensive to compute. Therefore the software will try to minimize reevaluating the Jacobian, by default. If the nonlinear solver has difficulty converging, it will reduce the requested timestep size and try to compute the solution. When the timestep is reduced, the Tfail column is incremented. This is a good approach if the solution fields vary rapidly in time.

However this can be a suboptimal approach, or may not work at all, if the model has strong nonlinearities. Such nonlinearities can arise as a consequence of material properties being a function of the solution, or due to feedback equations such as, for example, when using the Current- or Power-type Terminal conditions in the Electric Currents physics interface.

The resolution can be to update the Jacobian on every iteration that the nonlinear solver takes as it tries to compute the solution at each timestep. To do so, expand out the Study settings and go to the Time-Dependent Solver branch, Fully Coupled subfeature, Method and Termination section. Modify the Jacobian update: to be On every iteration rather than Minimal, as shown below. This change can often be enough.

Fully Coupled Settings

Modified settings in the Fully Coupled feature.

However, sometimes the nonlinear problem at every timestep is so strongly nonlinear that the Newton's method is still not able to converge, even with an updated Jacobian. The next setting to change is the Maximum number of iterations, which has a default value of 4 . Increase this to 25, or higher. Next, adjust the Tolerance factor: setting. Its default value of 1 means that the relative tolerance setting is being used, as specified in the Time Dependent Study Step. The default value of the relative tolerance in 0.01 and the Tolerance Factor: multiplies this number, so setting the Tolerance factor: to 0.1 in this case would result in a relative tolerance of 0.001 used for the nonlinear problem at each timestep. Thus, as you tighten the time-dependent solver relative tolerance setting, you can usually relax the tolerance factor.

If your model is still not converging, change the Nonlinear method: setting from Constant (Newton) to Automatic (Newton) which implements a damped Newton's method approach. This automatically updates the Jacobian and uses a dynamic damping term, it is therefore more computationally expensive. The Automatic highly nonlinear (Newton) is similar, but starts with more damping, and will be slower but more likely to converge.

Your model may, by default, be using a segregated approach. This is often the case when solving multiphysics problems and is usually reasonable since the strong nonlinearities often affect just one of the physics in the model. Within the segregated solver each segregated step represents the solution to a different physics and is being solved separately, again using some variation of Newton's method. You can make similar modifications as described above, but just to one segregated step, as motivated by the nonlinearities present. That is, if a material or feedback nonlinearity is present in only one physics, you probably only need to modify the settings for that physics, as shown in the screenshot below.

Modified settings in the Segregated Step feature.

If you are solving a multiphysics problem and suspect that there are strong nonlinearities between the physics, then switch from the segregated to fully coupled approach, as described in Knowledgevase 1258: Understanding the Fully Coupled vs. Segregated approach. You may still need to adjust the settings as described earlier.

If you are primarily observing that the Tfail column in the solver log is being incremented often, enable the Nonlinear controller within the Time Stepping settings as shown in the screenshot below. This will enable more efficient time-step control in the BDF method, especially for highly nonlinear models. Note that the Tfail column can get incremented even for a model without nonlinearities, in which case it is better to tighten the solver relative tolerance.

Enabling the nonlinear controller.

Lastly, keep in mind that you will always need to perform both a relative tolerance refinement study, as described here: Knowledge Base 1254: Controlling the Time-Dependent Solver Timesteps, and a mesh refinement study, as described here: Knowledge Base 1261: Performing a Mesh Refinement Study, to verify the accuracy of your model.


Disclaimer

COMSOL makes every reasonable effort to verify the information you view on this page. Resources and documents are provided for your information only, and COMSOL makes no explicit or implied claims to their validity. COMSOL does not assume any legal liability for the accuracy of the data disclosed. Any trademarks referenced in this document are the property of their respective owners. Consult your product manuals for complete trademark details.