纳维-斯托克斯方程

纳维-斯托克斯方程

     流体   纳维-斯托克斯方程 

什么是纳维-斯托克斯方程?

纳维-斯托克斯方程是用于描述流体运动的方程,可以看作是流体运动的牛顿第二定律。对于可压缩的牛顿流体,可以得到

其中,u 是流体速度,p 是流体压力,ρ 是流体密度,μ 是流体动力粘度。式中各项分别对应于惯性力(1)、压力(2)、粘性力(3),以及作用在流体上的外力(4)。纳维-斯托克斯方程是由纳维、泊松、圣维南和斯托克斯于 1827 年到 1845 年之间推导出来的。

这些方程总是要与连续性方程同时进行求解:

纳维-斯托克斯方程表示动量守恒,而连续性方程则表示质量守恒。

纳维-斯托克斯方程在建模仿真中的应用

纳维-斯托克斯方程是流体流动建模的核心。在特定的边界条件(如入口、出口和壁)下求解这些方程,可以预测给定几何体中的流体速度和压力。由于这些方程本身的复杂性,我们只能得到非常有限的解析解。例如,对于两个平行板之间的流动或圆管内的流动,方程的求解会相对容易一些;但对于更为复杂的几何结构,求解方程会非常困难。

示例:流经后台阶的层流

在下面的例子中,我们对一个计算域中的纳维-斯托克斯方程(以下简称“NS 方程”)和质量守恒方程进行数值求解,为此需要一组边界条件:

模型中,在入口指定了流体速度,在出口指定了压力,并指定了无滑移壁面边界条件(即,速度为零)。在层流流态和恒定边界条件下,稳态 NS((1)中的时间相关导数设为零)和连续性方程的数值解如下:

图像显示计算域的流线和速度大小分布图。 速度大小分布和流线图。 速度大小分布和流线图。
图形显示在求解纳维-斯托克斯方程之后,计算域中的压力场。 压力场。 压力场。

纳维-斯托克斯方程的各种形式

根据研究的流态,我们通常可以将这些方程进行简化。在某些情况下,可能还需要附加方程。在流体动力学领域,人们常使用无因次数(例如雷诺数和马赫数)对不同的流态进行分类。

关于雷诺数和马赫数

雷诺数 Re=ρUL/μ 是惯性力(1)与粘性力(3)的比值,用于测量流体的湍流程度。低雷诺数的流动是层流,高雷诺数的流动为湍流。

马赫数 M=U/c 是流体速度 U 与该流体中声速 c 的比值,用于测量流体的压缩性。

在后台阶流动示例中,Re = 100 且 M = 0.001,表明这是一个层流,并且几乎不可压缩。对于不可压缩流,由连续性方程可得:

对于不可压缩流的情况,由于速度散度等于零,我们可以将

这一项从 NS 方程的粘性力项中去除。

在下一节,我们将研究一些特殊的流态。

低雷诺数/蠕动流

当雷诺数非常小(Re1)时,与粘性力(3)相比,惯性力(1)会很小,在求解 NS 方程时可以将这些力忽略。为了对这一流态进行说明,我们来看一看美国加州大学圣塔芭芭拉分校的 Arturo Keller、Maria Auset 和 Sanya Sirivithayapakorn 进行的孔隙尺度流动实验。

图形显示孔隙尺度的流动实验中的边界条件。 图形显示孔隙尺度的流动实验中的边界条件。 图形显示孔隙尺度的流动实验中的边界条件。
关于该实验

实验研究的区域大小为 640 μm x 320 μm。水从右向左流动,穿过整个几何体。孔隙中的水流不会渗透固体部分(上图中的灰色区域)。入口和出口的流体压力为已知条件。由于通道的最大宽度为 0.1 毫米,并且最大速度小于 10-4 m/s,因此最大雷诺数小于 0.01。因为没有外力作用(重力忽略不计),所以力项(4)也等于零。

由此可以将 NS 方程简化为:

实验建模

下图显示仿真得到的等流速线和压力场(高度)。

由于入口的压力比出口高,这就产生了压力驱动的流体流动。这些结果表明,NS 方程中的压力(2)和粘性力(3)之间存在平衡。在沿较小通道的位置,其粘性扩散的影响更加明显,从而导致压降也更大。

高雷诺数/湍流

在雷诺数非常高的工程应用中,惯性力(1)远大于粘性力(3)。这种湍流问题在本质上是瞬态的;需要使用足够精细的网格,才能求解最小涡流的大小。

使用 NS 方程计算此类问题,往往会超出当今大多数计算机和超级计算机的计算能力。因此,我们可以改用纳维-斯托克斯方程的雷诺平均纳维-斯托克斯(RANS)公式,对速度和压力场取时间平均值。

如此一来,我们便能够基于相对粗糙的网格以静态方式计算这些时均方程,从而大大降低此类仿真对计算能力的要求,并显著缩短计算时间(通常,二维流动需要几分钟,三维流动则需要几分钟到几天不等)。

雷诺平均纳维-斯托克斯(RANS)公式如下:

其中,UP 分别是时均速度和压力。μT 项表示湍流粘度,即小尺度的瞬态速度波动的影响,RANS 方程不会求解这种波动。

湍流粘度 μT 通过湍流模型进行计算,最常用的是 k-ε 湍流模型(众多 RANS 湍流模型之一)。由于这个模型不仅具有较好的稳定性,还能有效节省计算资源,因此常被用于工业应用领域。该模型还求解两个附加方程:湍流动能 k 的传递和湍流耗散 ϵ

为了进一步说明这一流态,我们来看看在一个比孔隙尺度流动大得多的几何体中的流动情况:一个典型的臭氧净化反应器。这个反应器长约 40 米,看起来像一个迷宫,其中使用部分墙壁或挡板将空间分成房间大小的多个隔间。根据入口速度和直径(本例中分别为 0.1 m/s 和 0.4 m),相应的雷诺数为 400,000。通过该模型可以求解时均速度 U、压力 P、湍流动能 k 以及湍流耗散 ϵ

该示意图显示臭氧净化反应器中的流速、流型和湍流速度。 仿真结果显示了流型、流速和湍流粘度 μT 仿真结果显示了流型、流速和湍流粘度 μT

流体压缩性

流体压缩性可以通过马赫数进行测量。前面的所有例子都是弱可压缩流体,也就是说马赫数小于 0.3。

不可压缩流

当马赫数很低时,我们可以假设流体是不可压缩的。对于压缩性比气体小得多的液体来说,这通常是一个良好的近似。在这种情况下,假设密度恒定,连续性方程可以简化为 ∇⋅u=0。在蠕动流例子中,水以低速流经多孔介质,这就是一个很好的不可压缩流示例。

可压缩流

在某些情况下,流速非常大,并引起流体的密度和温度发生显著变化。当 M<0.3 时,这些变化可以忽略不计。然而,当 M>0.3 时,速度、压力和温度场之间的耦合会变得非常强,此时需要同时求解纳维-斯托克斯方程、连续性方程以及能量方程(流体传热方程)。通过能量方程,我们可以预测流体中的温度,这是计算温度相关的材料属性所需的参数。

可压缩流既可以是层流,也可以是湍流。在下一个示例中,我们来看看扩散器(一个收缩和扩散的喷嘴)中的高速湍流气流。

扩散器是一个跨音速流动环境,从这个意义上来说,尽管入口的气体是亚音速流动,但由于收缩和较低的出口压力,流动会加速并在喷嘴喉部变为音速流动(M = 1)。

以上三个绘图的结果表现出很强的相似性,证实了速度、压力和温度场之间的强耦合关系。在一小段区域的超音速流动(M > 1)之后,气流通过正激波,流速再次变回亚音速。M. Sajben 及其同事已通过大量的实验和数值仿真对这一体系进行了研究 [1-6]。

纳维-斯托克斯方程无法求解的流态

仅当系统的特征物理长度尺度远大于流体分子的平均自由程时,纳维-斯托克斯方程才成立。这种情况下的流体称为连续介质。平均自由程 λ 与特征长度尺度 L 的比值称为克努森数 Kn=λ/L

Kn<0.01 时,NS 方程成立。当 0.01<Kn<0.1 时,这些方程仍然适用,但需要施加特殊的边界条件。当 Kn>0.1 时,方程不成立。例如,在环境压力为 1 atm 的情况下,空气分子的平均自由程是 68 纳米。因此,模型的特征长度应大于 6.8 μm,NS 方程才能成立。

发布日期:2015 年 1 月 15 日
上次修改日期:2017 年 2 月 22 日

参考文献

  1. M. Sajben, J.C. Kroutil, and C.P. Chen, “A High-Speed Schlieren Investigation of Diffuser Flows with Dynamic Distortion”, AIAA Paper 77-875, 1977.
  2. T.J. Bogar, M. Sajben, and J.C. Kroutil, “Characteristic Frequencies of Transonic Diffuser Flow Oscillations,” AIAA Journal, vol. 21, no. 9, pp. 1232–1240, 1983.
  3. J.T. Salmon, T.J. Bogar, and M. Sajben, “Laser Doppler Velocimetry in Unsteady, Separated, Transonic Flow”, AIAA Journal, vol. 21, no. 12, pp. 1690–1697, 1983.
  4. T. Hsieh, A.B. Wardlaw Jr., T.J. Bogar, P. Collins, and T. Coakley, “Numerical Investigation of Unsteady Inlet Flowfields,” AIAA Journal, vol. 25, no. 1, pp. 75–81, 1987.
  5. http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/wind/valid/transdif/transdif01/transdif01.html
  6. http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/wind/valid/transdif/transdif02/transdif02.html

Navier-Stokes Equations

Navier-Stokes Equations

     Fluid   Navier-Stokes Equations 

What Are the Navier-Stokes Equations?

The Navier-Stokes equations govern the motion of fluids and can be seen as Newton's second law of motion for fluids. In the case of a compressible Newtonian fluid, this yields

\underbrace{ \rho \left( \frac{\partial \mathbf{u}}{\partial t} + \mathbf{u} \cdot \nabla \mathbf{u} \right) }_\text{1} = \underbrace{ - \nabla p}_\text{2} + \underbrace{ \nabla \cdot ( \mu (\nabla \mathbf{u} + (\nabla \mathbf{u})^{T}) - \frac{2}{3} \mu (\nabla \cdot \mathbf{u})\mathbf{I})}_\text{3} + \underbrace{ \mathbf{F}}_\text{4}

where u is the fluid velocity, p is the fluid pressure, ρ is the fluid density, and μ is the fluid dynamic viscosity. The different terms correspond to the inertial forces (1), pressure forces (2), viscous forces (3), and the external forces applied to the fluid (4). The Navier-Stokes equations were derived by Navier, Poisson, Saint-Venant, and Stokes between 1827 and 1845.

These equations are always solved together with the continuity equation:

\frac{\partial \rho}{\partial t} + \nabla \cdot (\rho \mathbf{u} ) = 0

The Navier-Stokes equations represent the conservation of momentum, while the continuity equation represents the conservation of mass.

How Do They Apply to Simulation and Modeling?

These equations are at the heart of fluid flow modeling. Solving them, for a particular set of boundary conditions (such as inlets, outlets, and walls), predicts the fluid velocity and its pressure in a given geometry. Because of their complexity, these equations only admit a limited number of analytical solutions. It is relatively easy, for instance, to solve these equations for a flow between two parallel plates or for the flow in a circular pipe. For more complex geometries, however, the equations need to be solved numerically.

Example: Laminar Flow Past a Backstep

In the following example, we numerically solve the Navier-Stokes equations (hereon also referred to as "NS equations") and the mass conservation equation in a computational domain. These equations need to be solved with a set of boundary conditions:

Image showing the computational domain where the Navier-Stokes equations will be solved. Image showing the computational domain where the Navier-Stokes equations will be solved.

The fluid velocity is specified at the inlet and pressure prescribed at the outlet. A no-slip boundary condition (i.e., the velocity is set to zero) is specified at the walls. The numerical solution of the steady-state NS (the time-dependent derivative in (1) is set to zero) and continuity equations in the laminar regime and for constant boundary conditions is as follows:

Image showing streamlines and the velocity magnitude profile of the computational domain. Image showing streamlines and the velocity magnitude profile of the computational domain. Velocity magnitude profile and streamlines.
Graphic showing the pressure field in the computational domain after solving the Navier-Stokes equations. Graphic showing the pressure field in the computational domain after solving the Navier-Stokes equations. Pressure field.

Different Flavors of the Navier-Stokes Equations

Depending on the flow regime of interest, it is often possible to simplify these equations. In other cases, additional equations may be required. In the field of fluid dynamics, the different flow regimes are categorized using a non-dimensional number, such as the Reynolds number and the Mach number.

About the Reynolds and Mach Numbers

The Reynolds number, Re=ρUL/μ, corresponds to the ratio of inertial forces (1) to viscous forces (3). It measures how turbulent the flow is. Low Reynolds number flows are laminar, while higher Reynolds number flows are turbulent.

The Mach number, M=U/c, corresponds to the ratio of the fluid velocity, U, to the speed of sound in that fluid, c. The Mach number measures the flow compressibility.

In the flow past a backstep example, Re = 100 and M = 0.001, which means that the flow is laminar and nearly incompressible. For incompressible flows the continuity equation yields:

\nabla \cdot \mathbf{u} = 0

Because the divergence of the velocity is equal to zero, we can remove the term:

- \frac{2}{3} \mu (\nabla \cdot \mathbf{u})\mathbf{I}

from the viscous force term in the NS equations in the case of incompressible flows.

In the following section, we examine some particular flow regimes.

Low Reynolds Number/Creeping Flow

When the Reynolds number is very small (Re1) , the inertial forces (1) are very small compared to the viscous forces (3) and they can be neglected when solving the NS equations. To illustrate this flow regime, we will look at pore-scale flow experiments conducted by Arturo Keller, Maria Auset, and Sanya Sirivithayapakorn of the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Graphic showing the boundary conditions in the pore-scale flow experiment. Graphic showing the boundary conditions in the pore-scale flow experiment.
About the Experiment

The domain of interest covers 640 μm by 320 μm. Water moves from right to left across the geometry. The flow in the pores does not penetrate the solid part (gray area in the figure above). The inlet and outlet fluid pressures are known. Since the channels are at most 0.1 millimeters in width and the maximum velocity is lower than 10-4 m/s, the maximum Reynolds number is less than 0.01. Because there are no external forces (gravity is neglected), the force term (4) is also equal to zero.

Therefore, the NS equations reduce to:

0 = \underbrace{ - \nabla p}_\text{2} + \underbrace{ \nabla \cdot ( \mu (\nabla \mathbf{u} + (\nabla \mathbf{u})^{T}) )}_\text{3}
Modeling the Experiment

The below plot shows the resulting velocity contours and pressure field (height).

Plot showing the resulting velocity contours and pressure field in the pore-scale flow experiment. Plot showing the resulting velocity contours and pressure field in the pore-scale flow experiment.

The flow is driven by a higher pressure at the inlet than at the outlet. These results show the balance between the pressure force (2) and the viscous forces (3) in the NS equations. Along the thinner channels, the impact of viscous diffusion is larger, which leads to higher pressure drops.

High Reynolds Number/Turbulent Flow

In engineering applications where the Reynolds number is very high, the inertial forces (1) are much larger than the viscous forces (3). Such turbulent flow problems are transient in nature; a mesh that is fine enough to resolve the size of the smallest eddies in the flow needs to be used.

Running such simulations using the NS equations is often beyond the computational power of most of today's computers and supercomputers. Instead, we can use a Reynolds-Averaged Navier-Stokes (RANS) formulation of the Navier-Stokes equations, which averages the velocity and pressure fields in time.

These time-averaged equations can then be computed in a stationary way on a relatively coarse mesh, thus drastically reducing the computing power and time required for such simulations (typically a few minutes for two-dimensional flow and a few minutes to a few days for three-dimensional flow).

The Reynolds-Averaged Navier-Stokes (RANS) formulation is as follows:

\underbrace{ \rho \left( \mathbf{U} \cdot \nabla \mathbf{U} \right) +\nabla \cdot ( \mu_{T} (\nabla \mathbf{U} + (\nabla \mathbf{U})^{T}) - \frac{2}{3} \mu_{T} (\nabla \cdot \mathbf{U})\mathbf{I})}_\text{1} = \underbrace{ - \nabla P}_\text{2} + \underbrace{ \nabla \cdot ( \mu (\nabla \mathbf{U} + (\nabla \mathbf{U})^{T}) - \frac{2}{3} \mu (\nabla \cdot \mathbf{U})\mathbf{I})}_\text{3} + \underbrace{ \mathbf{F}}_\text{4}
\nabla \cdot (\rho \mathbf{U} ) = 0

Here, U and P are the time-averaged velocity and pressure, respectively. The term μT represents the turbulent viscosity, i.e., the effects of the small-scale time-dependent velocity fluctuations that are not solved for by the RANS equations.

The turbulent viscosity, μT, is evaluated using turbulence models. The most common one is the k-ε turbulence model (one of many RANS turbulence models). This model is often used in industrial applications because it is both robust and computationally inexpensive. It consists of solving two additional equations for the transport of turbulent kinetic energy k and turbulent dissipation ϵ.

To illustrate this flow regime, let us look at the flow in a much larger geometry than the pore scale flow: a typical ozone purification reactor. The reactor is about 40 meters long and looks like a maze with partial walls or baffles that divide the space into room-sized compartments. Based on the inlet velocity and diameter, which in this case correspond to 0.1 m/s and 0.4 meters respectively, the Reynolds number is 400,000. This model is solved for the time-averaged velocity, U; pressure, P; turbulent kinetic energy, k; and turbulent dissipation, ϵ:

Schematic depicting flow velocity, flow patterns, and turbulent velocity in a ozone purification reactor. Schematic depicting flow velocity, flow patterns, and turbulent velocity in a ozone purification reactor. The results show the flow patterns, flow velocity, and turbulent viscosity μT.

Flow Compressibility

The flow compressibility is measured by the Mach number. All the previous examples are weakly compressible, meaning that the Mach number is lower than 0.3.

Incompressible Flow

When the Mach number is very low, it is OK to assume that the flow is incompressible. This is often a good approximation for liquids, which are much less compressible than gases. In that case, the density is assumed to be constant and the continuity equation reduces to ∇⋅u=0. The creeping flow example showing water flowing at a low speed through the porous media is a good example of incompressible flow.

Compressible Flow

In some cases, the flow velocity is large enough to introduce significant changes in the density and temperature of the fluid. These changes can be neglected for M<0.3. For M>0.3, however, the coupling between the velocity, pressure, and temperature field becomes so strong that the NS and continuity equations need to be solved together with the energy equation (the equation for heat transfer in fluids). The energy equation predicts the temperature in the fluid, which is needed to compute its temperature-dependent material properties.

Compressible flow can be laminar or turbulent. In the next example, we look at a high-speed turbulent gas flow in a diffuser (a converging and diverging nozzle).

Model of a diffuser where high-speed turbulent gas flow occurs. Model of a diffuser where high-speed turbulent gas flow occurs.

The diffuser is transonic in the sense that the flow at the inlet is subsonic, but due to the contraction and the low outlet pressure, the flow accelerates and becomes sonic (M = 1) in the throat of the nozzle.

The Mach number and streamlines of the flow in the diffuser. The Mach number and streamlines of the flow in the diffuser.
The temperature profile of the flow in the diffuser. The temperature profile of the flow in the diffuser.
The pressure profile of the flow in the diffuser. The pressure profile of the flow in the diffuser.

The results in these three plots show strong similarities, which confirms the strong coupling between the velocity, pressure, and temperature fields. After a short region of supersonic flow (M > 1), a normal shock wave brings the flow back to subsonic flow. This set-up has been studied in a number of experiments and numerical simulations by M. Sajben et. al. [1-6].

What Flow Regimes Cannot Be Solved by the Navier-Stokes Equations?

The Navier-Stokes equations are only valid as long as the representative physical length scale of the system is much larger than the mean free path of the molecules that make up the fluid. In that case, the fluid is referred to as a continuum. The ratio of the mean free path, λ, and the representative length scale, L, is called the Knudsen number, Kn=λ/L

The NS equations are valid for Kn<0.01. For 0.01<Kn<0.1, these equations can still be used, but they require special boundary conditions. For Kn>0.1, they are not valid. At the ambient pressure of 1 atm – for instance, the mean free path of air molecules – is 68 nanometers. The characteristic length of your model should therefore be larger than 6.8 μm for the NS equations to be valid.

References

  1. M. Sajben, J.C. Kroutil, and C.P. Chen, “A High-Speed Schlieren Investigation of Diffuser Flows with Dynamic Distortion”, AIAA Paper 77-875, 1977.
  2. T.J. Bogar, M. Sajben, and J.C. Kroutil, “Characteristic Frequencies of Transonic Diffuser Flow Oscillations,” AIAA Journal, vol. 21, no. 9, pp. 1232–1240, 1983.
  3. J.T. Salmon, T.J. Bogar, and M. Sajben, “Laser Doppler Velocimetry in Unsteady, Separated, Transonic Flow”, AIAA Journal, vol. 21, no. 12, pp. 1690–1697, 1983.
  4. T. Hsieh, A.B. Wardlaw Jr., T.J. Bogar, P. Collins, and T. Coakley, “Numerical Investigation of Unsteady Inlet Flowfields,” AIAA Journal, vol. 25, no. 1, pp. 75–81, 1987.
  5. http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/wind/valid/transdif/transdif01/transdif01.html
  6. http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/wind/valid/transdif/transdif02/transdif02.html