化学反应工程模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.0 版本为“化学反应工程模块”的用户引入了为非等温反应流建模的接口,改进了对多孔材料的处理,并新增了多孔催化剂特征。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解这些更新及其他新增功能。

非等温反应流

新版本引入了非等温反应流 多物理场接口,可以自动建立非等温反应流模型。反应流 多物理场耦合使非等温反应流建模更容易。使用化学 接口和传热 接口中的反应时,新增的公式可以给出一致的能量平衡(之前版本需要手动定义)。通过化学 接口,您还可以使用“化学反应工程模块”内置数据库中的热力学属性。您可以在现有的管式反应器中的解离反应教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

大幅改进多孔材料的处理

多孔材料现已在多孔材料 节点的相特定的属性 表格中定义。此外,您可以为固体和流体特征添加子节点,从中可以为每个相定义多个子节点。这样就可以将一种相同的多孔材料用于流体流动、化学物质传递和传热,而无需复制材料属性和设置。您可以在整体式反应器中氧化氮还原反应教学案例中查看这一更新功能的应用演示。

用于非均相反应和吸附的多孔催化剂特征

稀物质传递浓物质传递 接口的填充床 特征现在新增了多孔催化剂 特征,用于定义仅由大孔组成的网络或填充床,这意味着形成大孔基质的基体、骨架或颗粒本身并不是多孔的。这大大简化了模型定义,涵盖了多孔膜、过滤器等系统,以及化工和材料科学中的其他常见设备。通过这个新功能,您可以定义非均相反应以及吸附和解吸过程。

蒸汽重整器模型,以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度。 蒸汽重整器模型的温度。

稀物质湍流反应流

反应流,稀物质 耦合特征得到了扩展,现在可以处理稀溶液和湍流。有了这个新功能,现在只需要定义溶剂-溶质的相互作用,大大简化了模型方程的定义和求解,从而降低了计算成本。您可以在搅拌釜中的湍流混合教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

板式反应器模型,以 Rainbow 颜色表显示浓度。 板式反应器模型的浓度。

Brinkman 方程接口的多孔滑移

多孔介质流动的边界层可能非常薄,在 Brinkman 方程模型中求解不切实际。通过新的多孔滑移 壁处理特征,您可以在不解析边界层中的全流动剖面的情况下对壁进行分析。而应力条件应用于表面,通过利用边界层速度剖面的渐近解,获得相当高的本体流动精度。该功能在 Brinkman 方程 接口的设置 窗口中激活,然后用于默认的壁条件。您可以在涉及由 Brinkman 方程描述的地下水流以及模型域较大的大多数问题中使用这一新特征。

多孔反应器模型,以 Rainbow 颜色表显示流场和浓度。 多孔反应器模型的流场和浓度场。

多孔介质传热

多孔介质传热功能已经过改进,现在更方便用户使用。“传热”分支下现在提供新的多孔介质 物理领域,包括多孔介质传热局部热非平衡填充床传热 接口。所有这些接口在功能上都是相似的,不同之处在于这些接口内的默认多孔介质 节点分别选中以下选项:局部热平衡局部热非平衡填充床。上文已经描述了后一个选项,局部热非平衡 接口取代了多物理场耦合,并且对应于一个双温度模型:一个用于液相,一个用于固相。由于液相中的强对流和固相中的高传导(如金属泡沫),典型应用可能涉及多孔介质的快速加热或冷却。选择局部热平衡 接口后,新的平均选项可用于根据多孔介质配置定义有效导热系数。

此外,后处理变量可统一用于三种类型多孔介质的均质量。您可以在以下现有教学案例中查看新增的多孔介质:

多孔介质中的非等温流动

新增的非等温流动,Brinkman 方程 多物理场接口自动添加了多孔介质中传热与流体流动的耦合特征,将多孔介质传热Brinkman 方程 接口耦合起来。您可以在现有的多孔介质中的自然对流教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度的多孔结构。 “多孔介质中的自然对流”教学案例采用了新增的非等温流动功能,图中显示受温度梯度影响的多孔结构中的温度 (K) 和随后的自然对流。

新增黏度计算方法:Davidson 黏度模型

新增的 Davidson 模型可以基于不同组分对系统中气体动量的贡献来计算多组分混合物的黏度。在 Davidson 模型中,只需要纯组分在给定温度和压力下的分子量和黏度数据,即可计算黏度。该模型不仅具有较高的计算效率,而且与用于计算二元气体混合物黏度的最佳可用模型一样准确。

整体式反应器模型,其中以 Rainbow 颜色表显示温度转换。 等值面图显示一氧化氮在整体式反应器中的转化。

颗粒床中的多尺度传热

新版本添加了新的填充床传热 接口,用于模拟颗粒床中的传热。颗粒床由流体和颗粒组成的多孔介质表示。颗粒被模拟为球形均质多孔颗粒,其中温度呈径向变化。模型中计算了填充床内所有位置颗粒中的温度分布,并通过颗粒表面和流体之间的间隙热通量与周围流体中的温度耦合。

新功能与化学物质传递的相应特征相耦合,可用于模拟填充床热能存储系统中的热量或填充床中的化学反应。您可以在新的填充床热能存储系统教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度分布的单颗粒床模型。 位于几何形状中间的固体颗粒内部的温度分布。
一个域上的 11 个颗粒床,以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度分布。 整个域内的流体和颗粒温度。

新增和更新的教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.0 版本的“化学反应工程模块”引入了新的和更新的教学案例。

Chemical Reaction Engineering Module Updates

For users of the Chemical Reaction Engineering Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.0 brings an interface for modeling nonisothermal reacting flow, improved handling of porous materials, and a new porous catalyst feature. Read about these updates and more below.

Nonisothermal Reacting Flow

There are now Nonisothermal Reacting Flow multiphysics interfaces that automatically set up nonisothermal reacting flow models. The Reacting Flow multiphysics coupling makes modeling nonisothermal reacting flow much easier. The new formulation gives a consistent energy balance when using reactions from the Chemistry interface and Heat Transfer interface. Previously, the energy balance had to be defined manually. Using the Chemistry interface also gives the ability to use thermodynamic properties from the built-in database in the Chemical Reaction Engineering Module. You can view this new feature in the existing Dissociation in a Tubular Reactor tutorial model.

Greatly Improved Handling of Porous Materials

Porous materials are now defined in the Phase-Specific Properties table in the Porous Material node. In addition, subnodes may be added for the solid and fluid features where several subnodes may be defined for each phase. This allows for the use of one and the same porous material for fluid flow, chemical species transport, and heat transfer without having to duplicate material properties and settings. View this new update in the NOx Reduction in a Monolithic Reactor tutorial model.

Porous Catalyst Feature for Heterogeneous Reactions and Adsorption

The Packed Bed feature is now complemented with a new Porous Catalyst feature available in the Transport of Diluted Species and Transport of Concentrated Species interfaces. This new feature defines a network or packed bed that consists of macropores only. This means that the matrix, skeleton, or particles that form the macroporous matrix are not themselves porous. This simplifies the model definition greatly and covers systems such as porous membranes, filters, and other common devices in chemical engineering and material science. With the new functionality, it is possible to define heterogeneous reactions as well as adsorption and desorption processes.

A steam reformer model showing the temperature in the Heat Camera color table. Temperature of a steam reformer model.

Turbulent Reacting Flow with Diluted Species

The Reacting Flow, Diluted Species coupling feature has been extended with the capability of treating dilute solutions and turbulent flow. With the new functionality, only solvent–solute interactions are defined, greatly simplifying the definition and solution of the model equations, thus reducing the computational cost. You can see this new feature in the Turbulent Mixing in a Stirred Tank tutorial model.

A plate reactor model showing the concentration in the Rainbow color table. Concentration of a plate reactor model.

Porous Slip for the Brinkman Equations Interface

The boundary layer in flow in porous media may be very thin and impractical to resolve in a Brinkman equations model. The new Porous slip wall treatment feature allows you to account for walls without resolving the full flow profile in the boundary layer. Instead, a stress condition is applied at the surfaces, yielding decent accuracy in bulk flow by utilizing an asymptotic solution of the boundary layer velocity profile. The functionality is activated in the Brinkman Equations interface Settings window and is then used for the default wall condition. You can use this new feature in most problems involving subsurface flow described by the Brinkman equations and where the model domain is large.

A porous reactor model showing the flow and concentration in the Rainbow color table. The flow and concentration field of a porous reactor model.

Heat Transfer in Porous Media

The heat transfer in porous media functionality has been revamped to make it more user friendly. A new Porous Media physics area is now available under the Heat Transfer branch and includes the Heat Transfer in Porous Media, Local Thermal Nonequilibrium, and Heat Transfer in Packed Bed interfaces. All of these interfaces are similar in function, the difference being that the default Porous Medium node within all these interfaces has one of three options selected: Local thermal equilibrium, Local thermal nonequilibrium, or Packed bed. The latter option has been described above and the Local Thermal Nonequilibrium interface has replaced the multiphysics coupling and corresponds to a two-temperature model, one for the fluid phase and one for the solid phase. Typical applications can involve rapid heating or cooling of a porous medium due to strong convection in the liquid phase and high conduction in the solid phase like in metal foams. When the Local Thermal Equilibrium interface is selected, new averaging options are available to define the effective thermal conductivity depending on the porous medium configuration.

In addition, postprocessing variables are available in a unified way for homogenized quantities for the three types of porous media. View the new porous media additions in these existing tutorial models:

Nonisothermal Flow in Porous Media

The new Nonisothermal Flow, Brinkman Equations multiphysics interface automatically adds the coupling between heat transfer and fluid flow in porous media. It combines the Heat Transfer in Porous Media and Brinkman Equations interfaces. You can see this new feature in the existing Free Convection in a Porous Medium tutorial model.

A porous structure showing the temperature in the Heat Camera color table. The tutorial example Free Convection in a Porous Medium makes use of the new nonisothermal flow functionality. Temperature (K) in a porous structure subjected to temperature gradients and subsequent free convection.

New Method for Computing Viscosity: The Davidson Viscosity Model

A new Davidson model for computing viscosity in multicomponent mixtures based on the different components' contributions to the momentum of a gas in the system. The only data required for computing viscosity in the Davidson model are the molecular weights and the viscosities of the pure components at the given temperature and pressure. The Davidson model is computationally efficient and is as accurate as the best available models for estimating the viscosity of binary gas mixtures.

A monolithic reactor model showing the temperature conversion in the Rainbow color table. Isosurfaces showing the conversion of NO in a monolithic reactor.

Multiscale Heat Transfer in Pellet Beds

A new Heat Transfer in Packed Beds interface has been added to model heat transfer in pellet beds. The pellet bed is represented as a porous medium made up of fluid and pellets. The pellets are modeled as spherical homogenized porous particles in which the temperature varies radially. The temperature distribution in the pellets is computed for every position in the packed bed. It is coupled to the temperature in the surrounding fluid through an interstitial heat flux between the pellets' surfaces and the fluid.

The new functionality is useful for modeling heat in packed bed thermal energy storage systems or the chemical reaction in a packed bed when coupled with the corresponding feature for transport of chemical species. View this new feature in the new Packed Bed Thermal Energy Storage System tutorial model.

A single pellet bed model showing the temperature distribution within in the Heat Camera color table. Temperature distribution inside a solid pellet located at the middle of the geometry.
Eleven pellet beds on a domain showing the temperature distribution in the Heat Camera color table. Fluid and pellet temperature in the entire domain.

New and Updated Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.0 brings new and updated tutorial models to the Chemical Reaction Engineering Module.