传热模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.0 版本为“传热模块”的用户引入了改进的计算性能和表面对表面辐射角系数可存储方案、新增了一个用于模拟颗粒床中多尺度传热的填充床接口,以及多个新教学案例。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“传热模块”的更新。

表面对表面辐射计算性能的空前提高

对于表面对表面辐射 接口,特别是采用半立方算法时,实现了新的辐射方程公式。结合改进的求解器设置,将使得这些计算的 CPU 时间和内存需求减少 10 倍以上。与以前的版本相比,这些性能改进的同时并没有牺牲精度。此外,内存需求减少,从而可以分析更大更复杂的结构。这对于温差大、表面辐射率高或通过传导和对流进行少量传热的情况尤为重要。

您可以在新增的带火炉的房间中的传热模型和以下现有模型中查看这一新特征的应用演示:

带有一组芯片的散热器模型,以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示辐射度。 湍动的气流冷却芯片阵列时,散热器的辐射度。显示的芯片处于不同的状态,因此耗散功率、温度和辐射度也不同。

表面对表面辐射角系数的磁盘存储

表面对表面辐射 接口现在新增了一个将角系数存储在磁盘上 选项。选中此选项后,角系数将在完成计算后存储在模型中。因此,如果网格保持不变且辐射配置的变化低于用户定义的阈值,则无需重新计算角系数。对于通常的镜面或半透明表面,包括具有抛光和纹理金属壁等应用中需要计算角系数的情况,此选项可节省大量计算时间。

带火炉的起居室模型,以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示辐射热通量。 由火炉加热的房间表面产生的辐射热通量。


您可以在新增的带火炉的房间中的传热模型和以下现有模型中查看这一新特征的应用演示:

表面对表面辐射

除了如上所述的计算性能改进和能够在磁盘上存储角系数之外,COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.0 版本简化了用户界面,包括控制与动网格一起使用时的角系数更新、壳两侧不同属性的定义,以及编辑光谱带起始点的单位。当表面对表面辐射方法 设置为射线发射 时,指定辐射度 特征支持方向相关性

另外一个重要的改进是,现在假定默认情况下辐射度在边上是不连续的。这是出于物理原因,当由边连接的两个面中只有一个面暴露于太阳辐射时,就可以说明这一点。从计算的角度来看,这提高了稳定性。最后,用于角系数计算的射线发射方法现在可用于二维轴对称几何。

您可以在新增的带火炉的房间中的传热模型和以下现有模型中查看这一新特征的应用演示:

带有两个冷却器的遮阳伞模型,显示表面辐射度。 表面辐射度。左侧冰箱表面上的辐射度说明了新增的边处理方法,支持您表示由于不同的日光照射而产生的急剧变化。

颗粒床中的多尺度传热

新版本添加了新的填充床传热 接口,用于模拟颗粒床中的传热。颗粒床由流体和颗粒组成的多孔介质表示,其中的颗粒被模拟为球形均质多孔颗粒,温度呈径向变化。填充床中每个位置的颗粒中的温度分布将得到计算,并通过颗粒表面和流体之间的间隙热通量与周围流体中的温度耦合。

新功能可以与化学物质传递的相应特征进行耦合,用于模拟填充床热能存储系统中的热量或填充床中的化学反应。您可以在新增的填充床热能存储系统教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度分布的单颗粒床模型。 位于几何形状中间的固体颗粒内部的温度分布。
一个域上的 11 个颗粒床,以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度分布。 整个域内的流体和颗粒温度。

多孔介质传热

多孔介质传热功能已经过改进,现在更方便用户使用。“传热”分支下现在提供新的多孔介质 物理领域,包括多孔介质传热局部热非平衡填充床传热 接口。所有这些接口在功能上都是相似的,不同之处在于这些接口内的默认多孔介质 节点分别选中以下选项:局部热平衡局部热非平衡填充床。上文已经描述了后一个选项。取代多物理场耦合的局部热非平衡 接口对应于一个双温度模型:一个用于液相,一个用于固相。由于液相中的强对流和固相中的高传导(如金属泡沫),典型应用可能涉及多孔介质的快速加热或冷却。选择局部热平衡 接口后,新的平均选项可用于根据多孔介质配置定义有效导热系数。

此外,后处理变量可统一用于三种类型多孔介质的均质量。您可以在以下现有教学案例中查看新增的多孔介质:

大幅改进多孔材料的处理

多孔材料现已在多孔材料 节点的相特定的属性 表格中定义。此外,您可以为固体和流体特征添加子节点,从中可以为每个相定义多个子节点。这样就可以将一种相同的多孔材料用于流体流动、化学物质传递和传热,而无需复制材料属性和设置。

非等温反应流

新版本引入了非等温反应流 多物理场接口,可以自动建立非等温反应流模型。反应流 多物理场耦合现在包含耦合化学传热 接口的选项。利用这种耦合,可以在模型中包含热量和物质方程之间的交叉贡献,如相变焓或焓扩散项。不同量和材料属性的温度、压力和浓度依赖性也自动包含在内,从而可以使用相应的预定义变量执行热和能量平衡。您可以在现有的管式反应器中的解离反应教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

管式反应器模型,以 Rainbow 和 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度分布。 管式反应器中的温度分布。

水分蒸发和冷凝的壁面速度

表面反应,如蒸发或冷凝,导致表面和周围域之间的净蒸汽通量。这种类型的反应对应于域边界上的有效湿空气速度,称为斯蒂芬速度。当预计蒸发率较大时,应考虑斯蒂芬流,这是因为它对系统的整体性能非常重要。在水分流动 多物理场耦合中,当在水分输送 接口中使用浓物质 公式时,现在可以使用分析壁上的斯蒂芬速度 复选框。当温度较高(通常高于 50°C)时,建议在蒸发和冷凝应用中使用。您可以在新增的水面蒸发导致的斯蒂芬流建模教学案例中查看这一特征的应用演示。

带等值面图的模型,以蓝色显示相对湿度,红色流线显示速度。 当环境温度为 90°C 时,蒸发表面上斯蒂芬流引起的相对湿度等值面和速度流线。

水分输送功能改进

水分输送 接口现在提供周期性条件 特征,使您能够缩小周期性结构的仿真域,或计算代表性单元的有效属性。此外,吸湿多孔介质 特征已更新,以匹配多孔材料特征的经典设计。能量平衡的变量已经过优化,计算速度更快,新增的变量现在可用于检查质量平衡。您可以在新增的马铃薯样品的干燥教学案例和以下现有模型中查看水分输送的性能改进:

以 Jupiter Aurora Borealis 颜色表显示相对湿度的马铃薯样品二维模型。 暴露于干燥气流中的马铃薯样品的相对湿度。

吸收和散射介质中辐射的半透明边界条件

吸收和散射介质中的辐射 接口提供新的半透明表面 特征。在外部边界上,您可以指定外部辐射强度,并分析通过表面漫反射或镜面透射的入射强度部分。在内部边界上,分析表面两侧的辐射强度。该边界条件对于模拟透明介质在半透明介质样品上的入射辐射特别有用,例如,对参与介质辐射属性的特征进行建模。

多层壳传热曲率

描述壳传热的公式已改进,现在可以分析表面曲率对层尺寸的影响。对于高度弯曲的多层壳,内表面和内层的面积和体积分别与外层的大不相同。通过这一改进,“结构力学”分支下的多层壳 接口可以精确处理厚曲面。您可以在新增的将传热有限元模型与集总热系统耦合教学案例中查看此更新。

集总热系统与壳之间的连接器

新版本引入了新的集总系统连接器集总系统连接器,接口 条件,这两个条件分别通过层侧或层表面将集总热系统连接至壳。在连接器特征中,您只需选择源,Pext 组合框中的任何外部终端 选项,即可将壳实体与集总热系统接口中相应的外部终端相连接。您可以在新增的将传热有限元模型与集总热系统耦合教学案例中查看这一特征的应用演示。

相变界面

新版本添加了新的相变界面,外部 边界条件,应用于外部边界。当其中一个相为气态且容易逸出时,该边界条件尤其有用。现有的相变界面 边界条件现在仅适用于内部边界。相变界面相变界面,外部 边界条件现在可以分析固体的铸造速度,以定义界面上液相的速度。您可以在新增的连铸 - 任意拉格朗日-欧拉法教学案例以及现有的冷冻干燥锡熔融前沿模型中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

棒模型,以 Thermal Light 颜色表显示温度和相变。 连铸模具中棒内的温度和相变界面。

用于模拟核沸腾的热通量选项

核沸腾是一种池沸腾状态,其传热系数变得非常大,特点是表面温度高于流体的饱和温度,并且在表面的许多有利点(称为成核点)产生蒸汽。核沸腾由于能在中等温度梯度下获得较高的传热系数而被用于不同的工程过程。新增的核沸腾热通量 现在作为热通量 节点中的预定义选项提供。此选项的实现基于 Rohsenow 关联,定义相关性所需的系数是针对某些液体和表面类型预定义的,也可以输入用户定义的系数。您可以在新增的用核沸腾的水冷却镍圆柱棒教学案例中查看这个新选项的应用演示。

薄结构传热的功能改进

为了优化计算性能,新版本引入了多项改进。从建模角度来看,当几何形状和操作条件对称时,可以对薄结构(薄层、薄膜和裂隙)使用新增的对称 边界条件,以降低计算成本。从数值角度来看,当层类型 设置为热薄近似 并且默认情况下对于热薄结构处于活动状态时,可以使用新增的分层常数属性 选项。假设每层的材料属性恒定但仍随层或层温度而变化,可以显著加速,当用于离散多层材料的网格单元数量非常重要时尤其如此。您可以在两个新增的教学案例带壳的复合保温层集总模型带 PID 控制的集总热电模块以及以下现有模型中查看这些新的改进功能:


棒模型,以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度分布。 冷却过程中棒内的温度分布。

马兰戈尼效应

当两相之间的界面上存在表面张力梯度时,就会发生马兰戈尼效应。表面张力的梯度可能源于浓度梯度或温度梯度。与温度相关的情况下,马兰戈尼效应也称为热毛细对流。马兰戈尼效应 多物理场耦合已经更新,现在可以分析表面张力的切向和法向效应,还可以定义接触角。最后,新公式提高了计算性能。马兰戈尼效应在焊接、晶体生长和金属的电子束熔化等领域具有重要意义。您可以在现有的马兰戈尼效应教学案例中查看这些新的更新功能。

大应变的热导率模型

在传热接口的固体 特征中,为材料变形模型添加了一个新的大应变 选项。目的是在材料加工过程中发生大塑性变形等情况下,更好地捕捉导热系数的特性。

新增教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.0 版本的“传热模块”引入了多个新的教学案例。

Heat Transfer Module Updates

For users of the Heat Transfer Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.0 brings improved computational performance and stored view factors for surface-to-surface radiation, a new packed beds interface to model multiscale heat transfer in pellet beds, and several new tutorial models. Read more about the Heat Transfer Module updates below.

Unprecedented Improvement of Surface-to-Surface Radiation Computational Performance

A new formulation of the radiosity equation has been implemented for the Surface-to-Surface Radiation interface, in particular when the hemicube method is used. Combined with improved solver settings, this provides a factor of 10 times decrease of the CPU time and memory requirements for these computations. These performance improvements come with no sacrifice in accuracy compared to previous versions. Furthermore, the reduced memory requirements make it practical to analyze significantly larger structures. This is particularly important for situations with large temperature differences, high surface emissivity, or small amounts of heat transfer by conduction and convection.

You can view this new feature in the new Heat Transfer in a Room with a Stove model and the following existing models:

A heat sink model with an array of chips showing the radiosity in the Heat Camera color table. Radiosity on heat sinks in cooling a chip array from a turbulent flow. The chips shown are in a different state, hence the difference of dissipated power, temperature, and radiosity.

Disk Storage of View Factor for Surface-to-Surface Radiation

The Surface-to-Surface Radiation interface now includes a new Store view factors on disk option. When this option is checked, the view factors are stored in the model after being calculated once. Therefore, they do not need to be recalculated, provided that the mesh is unchanged and the changes in the radiation configuration are below the threshold defined by the user. This saves significant computational time for cases where the view factor calculation is demanding, typically with specular or semitransparent surfaces, which includes applications with polished and textured metal walls.

A living room model with a stove showing the radiative heat flux in the Heat Camera color table. Radiative heat flux by surfaces in a room heated by a stove.


You can view this new feature in the new Heat Transfer in a Room with a Stove model and the following existing models:

Surface-to-Surface Radiation Improvements

In addition to the computational improvements and the possibility to store the view factors on disk as described above, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.0 introduces simplifications in the user interface. This includes controlling the view factor update when used with moving mesh, the definition of different properties on two sides of a shell, and editing the unit of spectral band endpoints. The Prescribed Radiosity feature has support for Directional dependence when the Surface-to-surface radiation method is set to Ray shooting.

An important improvement is that the radiosity is now assumed to be discontinuous by default on edges. This is physically motivated and can be illustrated when only one of two faces connected by an edge is exposed to solar radiation. This improves the robustness from a computation point of view. Finally, the ray shooting method for the view factor computation is now available for 2D-axisymmetric geometries.

You can view this new feature in the new Heat Transfer in a Room with a Stove model and the following existing models:

A parasol model with two coolers showing the surface radiosity. Surface radiosity. The radiosity on the left cooler's surfaces illustrates the new treatment of edges that allows you to represent the sharp variations that are due to the different solar expositions in this model.

Multiscale Heat Transfer in Pellet Beds

A new Heat Transfer in Packed Beds interface has been added to model heat transfer in pellet beds. The pellet bed is represented as a porous medium made up of fluid and pellets. The pellets are modeled as spherical homogenized porous particles in which the temperature varies radially. The temperature distribution in the pellets is computed for every position in the packed bed. It is coupled to the temperature in the surrounding fluid through an interstitial heat flux between the pellets' surfaces and the fluid.

The new functionality is useful for modeling heat in packed bed thermal energy storage systems or the chemical reaction in a packed bed when coupled with the corresponding feature for transport of chemical species. View this new feature in the new Packed Bed Thermal Energy Storage System tutorial model.

A single pellet bed model showing the temperature distribution within in the Heat Camera color table. Temperature distribution inside a solid pellet located at the middle of the geometry.
Eleven pellet beds on a domain showing the temperature distribution in the Heat Camera color table. Fluid and pellet temperature in the entire domain.

Heat Transfer in Porous Media

The heat transfer in porous media functionality has been revamped to make it more user friendly. A new Porous Media physics area is now available under the Heat Transfer branch and includes the Heat Transfer in Porous Media, Local Thermal Nonequilibrium, and Heat Transfer in Packed Bed interfaces. All of these interfaces are similar in function, the difference being that the default Porous Medium node within all these interfaces has one of three options selected: Local thermal equilibrium, Local thermal nonequilibrium, or Packed bed. The latter option has been described above. The Local Thermal Nonequilibrium interface, which replaced the multiphysics coupling, corresponds to a two-temperature model: one for the fluid phase and one for the solid phase. Typical applications can involve rapid heating or cooling of a porous medium due to strong convection in the liquid phase and high conduction in the solid phase like in metal foams. When the Local Thermal Equilibrium interface is selected, new averaging options are available to define the effective thermal conductivity depending on the porous medium configuration.

In addition, postprocessing variables are available in a unified way for homogenized quantities for the three types of porous media. View the new porous media additions in these existing tutorial models:

Greatly Improved Handling of Porous Materials

Porous materials are now defined in the Phase-Specific Properties table in the Porous Material node. In addition, subnodes may be added for the solid and fluid features where several subnodes may be defined for each phase. This allows for the use of one and the same porous material for fluid flow, chemical species transport, and heat transfer without having to duplicate material properties and settings.

Nonisothermal Reacting Flow

There are now Nonisothermal Reacting Flow multiphysics interfaces that automatically set up nonisothermal reacting flow models. The Reacting Flow multiphysics coupling now includes the option to couple the Chemistry and Heat Transfer interfaces. Using this coupling, the cross-contributions between heat and species equations like enthalpy of phase change or the enthalpy diffusion term are included in the model. The temperature, pressure, and concentration dependence of different quantities and material properties are also automatically accounted for, making it possible to perform heat and energy balance using the corresponding predefined variables. View this new feature in the existing Dissociation in a Tubular Reactor tutorial model.

A tubular reactor model showing the temperature distribution in the Rainbow and Heat Camera color tables. Temperature distribution in a tubular reactor.

Velocity at Walls for Moisture Evaporation and Condensation

Surface reactions, such as evaporation or condensation, result in a net vapor flux between the surface and surrounding domain. This type of reaction corresponds to an effective moist air velocity at the domain boundary, called the Stefan velocity. Whenever large evaporation rates are expected, the Stefan flow should be taken into account as it can be important in the overall behavior of the system. In the Moisture Flow multiphysics coupling, an Account for Stefan velocity at walls check box is now available when the Concentrated Species formulation is used in the Moisture Transport interface. This is recommended in evaporation and condensation applications when the temperature is high, typically above 50°C. You can see this feature in the new Modeling of Stefan Flow Due to Evaporation from a Water Surface tutorial model.

A model with isosurface plots showing the relative humidity in blue and red streamlines showing the velocity. Relative humidity isosurfaces and velocity streamlines due to Stefan flow over the evaporation surface, when the ambient temperature is 90°C.

Moisture Transport Improvements

The Moisture Transport interfaces now provide a Periodic Condition feature that enables you to reduce the simulation domain for a periodic structure or to evaluate effective properties from a representative cell. In addition, the Hygroscopic Porous Media feature has been updated to match the classical design for features for porous materials. The variables for energy balance have been optimized for a much faster evaluation and new variables are now available to check the mass balance. You can see the moisture transport improvements in the new Drying of a Potato Sample tutorial model and these existing models:

A 2D potato sample model showing the relative humidity in the Jupiter Aurora Borealis color table. Relative humidity in a potato sample exposed to dry air flow.

Semitransparent Boundary Condition for Radiation in Absorbing and Scattering Media

The new Semitransparent Surface feature is available in the Radiation in Absorbing and Scattering Media interface. On exterior boundaries, you can specify an external radiation intensity and account for the part of the incoming intensity that is diffusively or specularly transmitted through the surface. On interior boundaries, the radiation intensities on both sides of the surface are considered. This boundary condition is especially useful for modeling incident radiation coming from a transparent medium on a semitransparent media sample, for example, modeling the characterization of radiative properties of participating media.

Heat Transfer in Layered Shell Curvature

The formulation to describe heat transfer in shells has been improved to account for the effect of the surface curvature on the layers' dimensions. In the case of highly curved layered shells, the area and volume of the inner surface and layer, respectively, are very different from the ones of the outer layer. With this improvement, the Layered Shell interface under the Structural Mechanics branch can accurately handle thick and curved surfaces. View this update in the new Coupling a Finite Element Model for Heat Transfer with a Lumped Thermal System tutorial model.

Connector Between Lumped Thermal Systems and Shells

The new Lumped System Connector and Lumped System Connector, Interface conditions have been introduced to connect a lumped thermal system to a shell through the layer side or surface, respectively. In the connector feature, you can simply select any of the External terminal options available in the Source, Pext combo box to connect the shell entity with the corresponding external terminal in the lumped thermal system interface. You can see this feature in the new Coupling a Finite Element Model for Heat Transfer with a Lumped Thermal System tutorial model.

Phase Change Interface

A new Phase Change Interface, Exterior boundary condition has been added to apply on exterior boundaries. This is especially useful when one of the phases is gaseous and escapes easily. The existing Phase Change Interface boundary condition is now only applicable for interior boundaries. The Phase Change Interface and Phase Change Interface, Exterior boundary conditions now account for the casting velocity of solids to define the velocity of the fluid phase at the interface. View this new feature in the new Continuous Casting — Arbitrary Lagrangian–Eulerian Method tutorial model and the existing Freeze Drying and Tin Melting Front models.

A rod model showing the temperature and phase change in the Thermal Light color table. Temperature and phase change interface in a rod being molded.

Heat Flux Option to Model Nucleate Boiling

Nucleate boiling is a regime of pool boiling where the heat transfer coefficient becomes very large. It is characterized by a temperature of the surface higher than the saturation temperature of the fluid, and by the generation of vapor at a number of favored spots on the surface called nucleation sites. Nucleate boiling is used in different engineering processes because it achieves high heat transfer coefficients with moderate temperature gradients. A new Nucleate boiling heat flux is now available as a predefined option in the Heat Flux node. The implementation is based on the Rohsenow correlation and the coefficients needed to define the correlation are predefined for some liquid and surfaces types. Alternatively, it is possible to enter user-defined coefficients. You can see this new update in the new Cooling of a Nickel Cylindrical Rod with Nucleate Boiling of Water tutorial model.

Heat Transfer in Thin Structures Improvements

Several changes have been introduced to optimize computational performance. From a modeling point of view, a new Symmetry boundary condition is available for thin structures (thin layers, films, and fractures) to reduce the computational cost when the geometry and operating conditions are symmetric. From a numerical point of view, a new Layerwise constant properties option is available when the Layer type is set to Thermally thin approximation and is active by default for thermally thin structures. By assuming that the material properties are constant per layer, but still changing with layers or with the layer temperature, a significant speedup is obtained, especially when the number of mesh elements used to discretize the layered material is important. You can see these new improvements in two new tutorial models, Lumped Composite Thermal Barrier with Shells and Lumped Thermoelectric Module with PID Control as well these existing models:

c983a1add8bf34f39185fb835eda6bbd

A rod model showing the temperature distribution in the Heat Camera color table. Temperature distribution in the rod during the cooling process.

Marangoni Effect

The Marangoni effect occurs when there is a gradient of surface tension at the interface between two phases. The gradient of surface tension may originate from a concentration gradient or from a temperature gradient. In the case of temperature dependence, the Marangoni effect is also called thermo-capillary convection. The Marangoni Effect multiphysics coupling has been updated to account for both the tangential and normal effects of the surface tension and the contact angle can now be defined. Finally, the new formulation results in improved computational performance. The Marangoni effect is of primary importance in the fields of welding, crystal growth, and electron beam melting of metals. The existing Marangoni Effect tutorial model demonstrates these new updates.

Thermal Conductivity Model for Large Strains

A new Large Strain option has been added for the material deformation model in the Solid feature in the heat transfer interfaces. The purpose is to better capture the behavior of the thermal conductivity in situations such as when large plastic deformations occur during material processing.

New Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.0 brings several new tutorial models to the Heat Transfer Module.