多孔介质流模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.0 版本为“多孔介质流模块”的用户引入了一个新的用于对多孔体的有限结构变形进行建模的多物理场接口,一个新的用于对颗粒床的多尺度传热进行建模的填充床接口,此外还改进了对多孔材料的处理。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解这些更新。

大应变多孔弹性

新增的多孔弹性,大变形,实体 多物理场接口支持对多孔体的有限结构变形进行建模,这与之前版本中的多孔弹性,实体 多物理场接口相同,但新增了一个弹性预变形 节点,支持跟踪大变形和旋转。您可以在添加物理场 树中结构力学 文件夹下的多孔弹性 分支下找到这个接口。这个新增接口需要“结构力学模块”。

多孔介质两相流

新增的多物理场接口结合了 Brinkman 方程水平集 接口,并自动添加两相流,水平集 耦合节点,其中使用 Brinkman 方程求解动量守恒和质量连续性,利用水平集函数跟踪多孔介质中两种不混溶流体之间的界面。

以 Aurora Australis 颜色表显示的树脂,注入到空模具模型中。 树脂注入空模具。新接口用于跟踪注射前沿。模具包含一个入口和三个出口,中心有一个多孔块,最初充满空气。

多孔介质中的非等温流动

新增的非等温流动,Brinkman 方程 多物理场接口自动添加了多孔介质中传热与流体流动的耦合特征,将多孔介质传热Brinkman 方程 接口耦合起来。您可以在现有的多孔介质中的自然对流教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度的多孔结构。 “多孔介质中的自然对流”教学案例采用了新增的非等温流动功能,图中显示受温度梯度影响的多孔结构中的温度 (K) 和随后的自然对流。

Brinkman 方程接口的多孔滑移

多孔介质流动的边界层可能非常薄,在 Brinkman 方程模型中求解不切实际。通过新的多孔滑移 壁处理特征,您可以在不解析边界层中的全流动剖面的情况下对壁进行分析。而应力条件应用于表面,通过利用边界层速度剖面的渐近解,获得相当高的本体流动精度。该功能在 Brinkman 方程 接口的设置 窗口中激活,然后用于默认的壁条件。您可以在涉及由 Brinkman 方程描述的地下水流以及模型域较大的大多数问题中使用这一新特征。

多孔反应器模型,以 Rainbow 颜色表显示流场和浓度。 多孔反应器模型的流场和浓度场。

大幅改进多孔材料的处理

多孔材料现已在多孔材料 节点的相特定的属性 表格中定义。此外,您可以为固体和流体特征添加子节点,从中可以为每个相定义多个子节点。这样就可以将一种相同的多孔材料用于流体流动、化学物质传递和传热,而无需复制材料属性和设置。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“多孔材料”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示填充床反应器模型。 多孔材料的新 材料节点,以填充床的多尺度模型为例。

颗粒床中的多尺度传热

新版本添加了新的填充床传热 接口,用于模拟颗粒床中的传热。颗粒床由流体和颗粒组成的多孔介质表示。颗粒被模拟为球形均质多孔颗粒,其中温度呈径向变化。模型计算了填充床中所有位置的颗粒中的温度分布,并通过颗粒表面和流体之间的间隙热通量与周围流体中的温度耦合。

新功能与化学物质传递的相应特征相耦合,可用于模拟填充床热能存储系统中的热量或填充床中的化学反应。您可以在新的填充床热能存储系统教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度分布的单颗粒床模型。 位于几何形状中间的固体颗粒内部的温度分布。
一个域上的 11 个颗粒床,以 HeatCamera 颜色表显示温度分布。 整个域内的流体和颗粒温度。

水分蒸发和冷凝的壁面速度

表面反应,如蒸发或冷凝,导致表面和周围域之间的净蒸汽通量。这种类型的反应对应于域边界上的有效湿空气速度,称为斯蒂芬速度。当预计蒸发率较大时,应考虑斯蒂芬流,这是因为它对系统的整体性能非常重要。在水分流动 多物理场耦合中,当在水分输送 接口中使用浓物质 公式时,现在可以使用分析壁上的斯蒂芬速度 复选框。当温度较高(通常高于 50°C)时,建议在蒸发和冷凝应用中使用。您可以在新的水面蒸发导致的斯蒂芬流建模教学案例中查看这一特征的应用演示。

带等值面图的模型,以蓝色显示相对湿度,红色流线显示速度。 当环境温度为 90°C 时,蒸发表面上斯蒂芬流引起的相对湿度等值面和速度流线。

水分输送功能改进

水分输送 接口现在提供周期性条件 特征,使您能够缩小周期性结构的仿真域,或计算代表性单元的有效属性。此外,吸湿多孔介质 特征已更新,以匹配多孔材料特征的经典设计。能量平衡的变量已经过优化,计算速度更快,新的变量现在可用于检查质量平衡。您可以在新的马铃薯样品的干燥教学案例和以下现有模型中查看水分输送的性能改进:

以 Jupiter Aurora Borealis 颜色表显示相对湿度的马铃薯样品二维模型。 暴露于干燥气流中的马铃薯样品的相对湿度。

多孔介质传热

多孔介质传热功能已经过改进,现在更方便用户使用。“传热”分支下现在提供新的多孔介质 物理领域,包括多孔介质传热局部热非平衡填充床传热 接口。所有这些接口在功能上都是相似的,不同之处在于这些接口内的默认多孔介质 节点分别选中以下选项:局部热平衡局部热非平衡填充床。上文已经描述了后一个选项,局部热非平衡 接口取代了多物理场耦合,并且对应于一个双温度模型:一个用于液相,一个用于固相。由于液相中的强对流和固相中的高传导(如金属泡沫),典型应用可能涉及多孔介质的快速加热或冷却。选择局部热平衡 接口后,新的平均选项可用于根据多孔介质配置定义有效导热系数。

此外,后处理变量可统一用于三种类型多孔介质的均质量。您可以在以下现有教学案例中查看新增的多孔介质:

Porous Media Flow Module Updates

For users of the Porous Media Flow Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.0 brings a new multiphysics interface for modeling finite structural deformations in porous bodies, a new packed beds interface for modeling multiscale heat transfer in pellet beds, and improved handling of porous materials. Learn more about these updates below.

Large-Strain Poroelasticity

The new Poroelasticity, Large Deformation, Solid multiphysics interface allows for modeling finite structural deformations in porous bodies. This is the same as the Poroelasticity, Solid multiphysics interface, available since previous versions, but with an additional Elastic Predeformation node that allows you to track large deformations and rotations. You can find this interface under the Poroelasticity branch in the Structural Mechanics folder in the Add Physics tree. This new interface requires the Structural Mechanics Module.

Two-Phase Flow in Porous Media

A new multiphysics interface combines the Brinkman Equations and the Level Set interfaces, and automatically adds a Two-Phase Flow, Level Set coupling node. It solves the conservation of momentum and a continuity of mass with the Brinkman equations. The interface between two immiscible fluids in porous media is tracked with the level-set function.

Resin showed in the Aurora Australis color table, injecting into an empty mold model. Resin injection into an empty mold. The new interface is used to track the injection front. The mold contains one inlet and three outlets, and a porous block in the center, and it is initially filled with air.

Nonisothermal Flow in Porous Media

The new Nonisothermal Flow, Brinkman Equations multiphysics interface automatically adds the coupling between heat transfer and fluid flow in porous media. It combines the Heat Transfer in Porous Media and Brinkman Equations interfaces. You can see this new feature in the existing Free Convection in a Porous Medium tutorial model.

A porous structure showing the temperature in the Heat Camera color table. The tutorial example Free Convection in a Porous Medium makes use of the new nonisothermal flow functionality. Temperature (K) in a porous structure subjected to temperature gradients and subsequent free convection.

Porous Slip for the Brinkman Equations Interface

The boundary layer in flow in porous media may be very thin and impractical to resolve in a Brinkman equations model. The new Porous slip wall treatment feature allows you to account for walls without resolving the full flow profile in the boundary layer. Instead, a stress condition is applied at the surfaces, yielding decent accuracy in bulk flow by utilizing an asymptotic solution of the boundary layer velocity profile. The functionality is activated in the Brinkman Equations interface Settings window and is then used for the default wall condition. You can use this new feature in most problems involving subsurface flow described by the Brinkman equations and where the model domain is large.

A porous reactor model showing the flow and concentration in the Rainbow color table. The flow and concentration field of a porous reactor model.

Greatly Improved Handling of Porous Materials

Porous materials are now defined in the Phase-Specific Properties table in the Porous Material node. In addition, subnodes may be added for the solid and fluid features where several subnodes may be defined for each phase. This allows for the use of one and the same porous material for fluid flow, chemical species transport, and heat transfer without having to duplicate material properties and settings.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Porous Material node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a packed-bed reactor model in the Graphics window The new Materials node for Porous Material exemplified on a multiscale model of a packed bed.

Multiscale Heat Transfer in Pellet Beds

A new Heat Transfer in Packed Beds interface has been added to model heat transfer in pellet beds. The pellet bed is represented as a porous medium made up of fluid and pellets. The pellets are modeled as spherical homogenized porous particles in which the temperature varies radially. The temperature distribution in the pellets is computed for every position in the packed bed. It is coupled to the temperature in the surrounding fluid through an interstitial heat flux between the pellets' surfaces and the fluid.

The new functionality is useful for modeling heat in packed bed thermal energy storage systems or the chemical reaction in a packed bed when coupled with the corresponding feature for transport of chemical species. View this new feature in the new Packed Bed Thermal Energy Storage System tutorial model.

A single pellet bed model showing the temperature distribution within in the Heat Camera color table. Temperature distribution inside a solid pellet located at the middle of the geometry.
Eleven pellet beds on a domain showing the temperature distribution in the Heat Camera color table. Fluid and pellet temperature in the entire domain.

Velocity at Walls for Moisture Evaporation and Condensation

Surface reactions, such as evaporation or condensation, result in a net vapor flux between the surface and surrounding domain. This type of reaction corresponds to an effective moist air velocity at the domain boundary, called the Stefan velocity. Whenever large evaporation rates are expected, the Stefan flow should be taken into account as it can be important in the overall behavior of the system. In the Moisture Flow multiphysics coupling, an Account for Stefan velocity at walls check box is now available when the Concentrated Species formulation is used in the Moisture Transport interface. This is recommended in evaporation and condensation applications when the temperature is high, typically above 50°C. You can see this feature in the new Modeling of Stefan Flow Due to Evaporation from a Water Surface tutorial model.

A model with isosurface plots showing the relative humidity in blue and red streamlines showing the velocity. Relative humidity isosurfaces and velocity streamlines due to Stefan flow over the evaporation surface, when the ambient temperature is 90°C.

Moisture Transport Improvements

The Moisture Transport interfaces now provide a Periodic Condition feature that enables you to reduce the simulation domain for a periodic structure or to evaluate effective properties from a representative cell. In addition, the Hygroscopic Porous Media feature has been updated to match the classical design for features for porous materials. The variables for energy balance have been optimized for a much faster evaluation and new variables are now available to check the mass balance. You can see the moisture transport improvements in the new Drying of a Potato Sample tutorial model and these existing models:

A 2D potato sample model showing the relative humidity in the Jupiter Aurora Borealis color table. Relative humidity in a potato sample exposed to dry air flow.

Heat Transfer in Porous Media

The heat transfer in porous media functionality has been revamped to make it more user friendly. A new Porous Media physics area is now available under the Heat Transfer branch and includes the Heat Transfer in Porous Media, Local Thermal Nonequilibrium, and Heat Transfer in Packed Bed interfaces. All of these interfaces are similar in function, the difference being that the default Porous Medium node within all these interfaces has one of three options selected: Local thermal equilibrium, Local thermal nonequilibrium, or Packed bed. The latter option has been described above and the Local Thermal Nonequilibrium interface has replaced the multiphysics coupling and corresponds to a two-temperature model, one for the fluid phase and one for the solid phase. Typical applications can involve rapid heating or cooling of a porous medium due to strong convection in the liquid phase and high conduction in the solid phase like in metal foams. When the Local Thermal Equilibrium interface is selected, new averaging options are available to define the effective thermal conductivity depending on the porous medium configuration.

In addition, postprocessing variables are available in a unified way for homogenized quantities for the three types of porous media. View the new porous media additions in these existing tutorial models: