射线光学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.0 版本为“射线光学模块”的用户引入了具有显著改进和更新的光学材料库,其中列出了 500 多种光学玻璃的结构力学属性、热属性,以及光学色散系数和内部透射率数据。此外,还引入了新的射线释放特征,用于对高斯光束和表面黑体辐射的发射进行建模。

光学材料库改进

在可用于“射线光学模块”和“波动光学模块”的“光学”材料库中,来自肖特集团、成都光明光电股份有限公司、Ohara 公司和康宁公司的玻璃现在具有更全面的材料数据。除了光学色散系数和热光系数外,许多玻璃现在还包含内部透射率、密度、杨氏模量、泊松比、线性热膨胀系数、热导率和比热容。随着光学玻璃包含更全面的材料数据,现在比以往任何时候都更容易建立耦合的综合结构-热-光学性能 (STOP) 分析模型。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示一个材料节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示 Petzval 透镜模型,“添加材料”窗口显示光学材料选项。 追踪 Petzval 透镜中三个不同视场角的射线,其中黄光折射率显示为切面图。光学玻璃从右侧显示的“光学”材料库加载。


您可以在新增的 Petzval 透镜优化模型和以下现有教学案例中看到这些改进功能:

定义吸收介质的新方法

新版本在几何光学 接口中添加了定义吸收介质的新方法。首先,您可以直接指定衰减系数。或者,您也可以输入内部透射率,给出忽略表面菲涅尔损耗,透过给定厚度的材料样品的光强分数。光学材料库中的许多材料现在通过包含内部透射率数据的查找表来控制吸收特性。在以前的版本中,设置吸收介质的唯一方法是直接输入折射率的实部和虚部(虚部或负虚部有时称为消光系数)。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“介质属性”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示包含射线轨迹的圆柱体模型。 用户定义的材料中内部透射率输入的屏幕截图。

高斯波束射线释放特征

求解射线强度或功率时,您现在可以使用高斯光束 释放特征,释放初始强度或功率为高斯分布的射线。您还可以指定束腰半径、光束发散半角或瑞利范围,软件会自动计算光束的强度分布。高斯光束 特征有两种不同的使用方式。如果光束的瑞利范围与模型几何尺寸相比非常小,那么这个特征会将光束视为点源,从这个点源发出的射线呈锥形分布,其初始强度随角度变化。如果瑞利范围明显大于几何尺寸,您可以释放一个准直光束,其中射线都遵循平行路径。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“高斯光束”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示梁模型。 高斯光束射线释放特征的设置,其中显示一个典型的光束,其颜色表达式与射线功率成正比。

黑体辐射射线释放特征

现在,您可以从具有理想黑体辐射源的功率和波长分布的表面释放射线。三维模型中提供的专用黑体辐射 特征可以根据表面温度指派释放射线的初始强度和功率。如果几何光学 接口已配置为支持释放复色光,软件会根据表面温度从普朗克分布函数中自动采样射线的波长或频率。新版本中更通用的射线释放特征(如从栅格释放从边界释放)还支持您按照普朗克分布释放复色光,但在这种情况下,初始射线强度和功率需要单独指定。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“黑体辐射”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示冷却凸缘模型。 冷却凸缘表面的黑体发射。射线按其功率成比例地以灰度着色。

指定初始强度分布的新方法

新设置可用于释放具有初始射线功率加权分布的射线。在大多数射线释放特征(如释放从栅格释放)的设置中,您可以选择指派初始强度或功率的加权分布。所有射线的总功率加起来仍将达到指定的总源功率,但单条射线的功率可以与权重因子成正比,权重因子可以是初始射线位置和方向的函数。这可以用于为定制射线源指派方向性。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“从栅格释放”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示包含射线轨迹的模型。 具有加权初始射线功率的射线释放特征的设置。

从文件中加载射线坐标时的转变

使用根据数据文件释放 节点从文件中加载射线释放位置时,您现在可以对初始坐标应用转变。您可以使用膨胀(缩放)、旋转和平移的任意组合。如果初始射线方向也是从文件中加载的,您可以对位置和方向应用相同的旋转。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“根据数据文件释放”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示灯模型的三个结果。 根据数据文件释放特征的两个实例用于移动、旋转和缩放由灯源释放的光线分布。

折射率和阿贝数的后处理更容易

内置后处理变量现在可用于氦黄线、氢蓝线和氢红线的折射率。新版本中还定义了阿贝数。这些内置变量可用于任何绘图类型(如切面 图或 图),从而将射线光学模型中所有光学玻璃的折射率或色散可视化。您可以在现有的双高斯透镜Petzval 透镜教学案例中查看这些新增的后处理特征。

二维绘图,以 Rainbow 颜色表显示 Petzval 透镜模型的射线轨迹。 Petzval 透镜教学案例中的绘图。沿射线的颜色表达式表示射线与像平面中光斑中心的距离。透镜中的颜色显示其黄光折射率。双胶合透镜中的矽酸玻璃与氧化铅玻璃形成鲜明对比。

非局部耦合的简化名称

几何光学 接口定义了计算模型中射线表达式的总和、平均值、最大值或最小值的耦合。在新版本中,这些耦合的名称已简化,以便于使用。您可以在以下现有模型中查看此更改:

下表列出了新旧耦合名称。

耦合描述 旧名称 新名称
对射线求和 gop.gopop1(expr) gop.sum(expr)
对所有射线求和 gop.gopop_all1(expr) gop.sum_all(expr)
对射线求平均值 gop.gopaveop1(expr) gop.ave(expr)
对所有射线求平均值 gop.gopaveop_all1(expr) gop.ave_all(expr)
对射线求最大值 gop.gopmaxop1(expr) gop.max(expr)
对所有射线求最大值 gop.gopmaxop_all1(expr) gop.max_all(expr)
对射线求最小值 gop.gopminop1(expr) gop.min(expr)
对所有射线求最小值 gop.gopminop_all1(expr) gop.min_all(expr)
在射线的最大值下计算 gop.gopmaxop1(expr, evalExpr) gop.max(expr, evalExpr)
在所有射线的最大值下计算 gop.gopmaxop_all1(expr, evalExpr) gop.max_all(expr, evalExpr)
在射线的最小值下计算 gop.gopminop1(expr, evalExpr) gop.min(expr, evalExpr)
在所有射线的最小值下计算 gop.gopminop_all1(expr, evalExpr) gop.min_all(expr, evalExpr)

旧名称在 6.0 版本中仍然有效,因此无需更新任何现有模型。

基于电场释放性能改进

在新版本中,基于相邻域的全波有限元解,更容易释放具有初始强度和偏振的射线。使用基于电场释放 节点时,您现在可以直接根据在相邻域中求解的场的坡印廷矢量获取初始射线方向。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“基于电场释放”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示二维模型。 基于 电磁波,波束包络接口的全波有限元解用于初始化释放的射线的强度、偏振和方向。

弯曲光栅的处理得到改进

弯曲衍射光栅中槽间距的解释现在更透明,也更容易定制。您可以选择是否将指定的光栅常数解释为光栅表面上的槽间距(在 5.6 版本及更早版本中一直如此),也可以选择指定的光栅常数是否实际上是切平面上槽之间的投影距离。您可以在新增的罗兰圆光谱仪模型中查看这一特征的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“光栅”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示圆光谱仪模型。 用于解释 光栅边界条件的光栅常数的新设置。

新的教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.0 版本的“射线光学模块”引入了三个新的教学案例。

Ray Optics Module Updates

For users of the Ray Optics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.0 features a significantly improved and updated Optical material library in which structural and thermal properties are listed alongside optical dispersion coefficients and internal transmittance data for more than 500 optical glasses. Elsewhere, new ray release features have been introduced for modeling Gaussian beams and the emission of blackbody radiation from surfaces.

Optical Material Library Improvements

In the Optical material library, available for the Ray Optics Module and Wave Optics Module, glasses from SCHOTT AG, CDGM Glass Company Ltd., Ohara Corporation, and Corning Inc. are now presented with more comprehensive material data. In addition to optical dispersion coefficients and thermo-optic coefficients, many of these glasses now include internal transmittance, density, Young's modulus, Poisson's ratio, coefficient of linear thermal expansion, thermal conductivity, and specific heat capacity. With the inclusion of more comprehensive material data for optical glasses, it is now easier than ever to set up coupled structural-thermal-optical performance (STOP) analysis models.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with a material node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, a Petzval lens model in the Graphics window, and the Add Material window showing the optical material options. Rays of three different field angles are traced in a Petzval lens, where the d-line refractive index is shown as a Slice plot. The optical glass is loaded from the Optical material library shown on the right.

a2dfad5f7a418996334893bc3024823f
You can see these improvements in the new Petzval Lens Optimization model and these existing tutorial models:

New Ways to Define Absorbing Media

In the Geometrical Optics interface, there are new ways to define an absorbing medium. For one, you can simply specify the attenuation coefficient. Alternatively, you can enter the internal transmittance, which is the fraction of light intensity that would be transmitted through a material sample of a given thickness while neglecting Fresnel losses at the surfaces. Many of the materials in the Optical material library now control the absorption characteristics by including lookup tables of internal transmittance data. In previous versions, the only way to set up an absorbing medium was by entering the real and imaginary parts of the refractive index directly (the imaginary part or negative imaginary part is sometimes called the extinction coefficient).

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Medium Properties node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a cylindrical model with ray trajectories in the Graphics window. Screenshot of the input for internal transmittance in a user-defined material.

Gaussian Beam Ray Release Feature

The Gaussian Beam ray release feature is now available when solving for the ray intensity or power. It can be added to release rays with a Gaussian distribution of initial intensity or power. You can specify the beam waist radius, beam divergence half-angle, or Rayleigh range; the intensity profile of the beam is then computed automatically. The Gaussian Beam feature can be used in two different ways. If the Rayleigh range of the beam is very small compared to the model geometry, then this feature treats the beam as a point source, from which the rays follow a conical distribution with angle-dependent initial intensity. Alternatively, if the Rayleigh range is significantly larger than the geometry size, you can release a collimated beam in which the rays all follow parallel paths.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Gaussian Beam node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and beam model in the Graphics window. Settings for the Gaussian Beam ray release feature. A typical beam is shown, with a color expression proportional to the ray power.

Blackbody Radiation Ray Release Feature

You can now release rays from a surface with the power and wavelength distribution of an ideal blackbody radiation source. The dedicated Blackbody Radiation feature, available in 3D models, assigns the initial intensity and power of released rays based on the surface temperature. If the Geometrical Optics interface has been configured to allow release of polychromatic light, then the wavelength or frequency of rays is automatically sampled from a Planck distribution function based on the surface temperature. The more general ray release features, such as Release from Grid and Release from Boundary, also allow you to release polychromatic light following a Planck distribution, although in this case the initial ray intensity and power are specified separately.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Blackbody Radiation node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a cooling flange model in the Graphics window. Blackbody emission from the surface of a cooling flange. The rays are colored in grayscale in proportion to their power.

New Ways to Specify Initial Intensity Distribution

New settings are available to release rays with a weighted distribution of initial ray power. In the settings for most ray release features, such as Release or Release from Grid, you can choose to assign a Weighted distribution of initial intensity or power. The total power over all rays will still add up to the specified total source power, but the power of individual rays can be proportional to a weighting factor, which could be a function of initial ray position and direction. This could be used to assign directivity to custom ray sources.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Release from Grid node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a model with ray trajectories in the Graphics window. Settings for a ray release feature with weighted initial ray power.

Transformations when Loading Ray Coordinates from a File

When you use the Release from Data File node to load the ray release positions from a file, you can now apply Transformations to the initial coordinates. You can use any combination of dilation (scaling), rotation, and translation. Optionally, if the initial ray direction is also loaded from a file, then you can apply the same rotation to both the position and direction.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Release from Data File node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and three results of a lamp model in the Graphics window. Two instances of the Release from Data File feature are used to move, rotate, and scale the distribution of rays released from a lamp.

Easier Postprocessing of Refractive Index and Abbe Number

Built-in postprocessing variables are now available for the refractive index at the helium d-line, hydrogen F-line, and hydrogen C-line. The Abbe number is also defined. These built-in variables can be used in any plot type (such as Slice or Volume plots) to visualize the refractive index or dispersion of all optical glasses in a ray optics model. See these new postprocessing features in the existing Double Gauss Lens and Petzval Lens tutorial models.

A 2D plot showing the ray trajectories of a Petzval lens model in the Rainbow color table. A plot from the Petzval lens tutorial. The color expression along the rays indicates their distance from the spot center in the image plane. The color in the lenses shows their d-line refractive index. The contrast between crown and flint glasses in the cemented doublets is easy to see.

Simplified Names for Nonlocal Couplings

The Geometrical Optics interface defines couplings to compute the sum, average, maximum, or minimum of an expression over the rays in a model. In this version, the names of these couplings have been simplified for easier use. View this change in the following existing models:

The following table lists the old and new coupling names.

Coupling Description Old Name New Name
Sum over rays gop.gopop1(expr) gop.sum(expr)
Sum over all rays gop.gopop_all1(expr) gop.sum_all(expr)
Average over rays gop.gopaveop1(expr) gop.ave(expr)
Average over all rays gop.gopaveop_all1(expr) gop.ave_all(expr)
Maximum over rays gop.gopmaxop1(expr) gop.max(expr)
Maximum over all rays gop.gopmaxop_all1(expr) gop.max_all(expr)
Minimum over rays gop.gopminop1(expr) gop.min(expr)
Minimum over all rays gop.gopminop_all1(expr) gop.min_all(expr)
Evaluate at maximum over rays gop.gopmaxop1(expr, evalExpr) gop.max(expr, evalExpr)
Evaluate at maximum over all rays gop.gopmaxop_all1(expr, evalExpr) gop.max_all(expr, evalExpr)
Evaluate at minimum over rays gop.gopminop1(expr, evalExpr) gop.min(expr, evalExpr)
Evaluate at minimum over all rays gop.gopminop_all1(expr, evalExpr) gop.min_all(expr, evalExpr)

The old names will still work in version 6.0 as well, so it is not necessary to update any existing models.

Release from Electric Field Improvement

It is now easier to release rays with initial intensity and polarization based on the full-wave FEM solution from an adjacent domain. When you use the Release from Electric Field node, the initial ray direction can now be taken directly from the Poynting vector of the field solved for in the adjacent domain.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Release from Electric Field node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a 2D model in the Graphics window. A full-wave FEM solution based on the Electromagnetic Waves, Beam Envelopes interface is used to initialize the intensity, polarization, and direction of released rays.

Improved Handling of Curved Gratings

The interpretation of the groove spacing in curved diffraction gratings is now much more transparent and more easily customizable. You can choose whether the specified grating constant should be interpreted as the distance between grooves on the grating surface (as it always was in version 5.6 and earlier), or whether the specified grating constant is actually the projected distance between grooves in a tangent plane. You can see this feature in the new Rowland Circle Spectrometer model.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Grating node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a circle spectrometer model in the Graphics window. New settings for the interpretation of the grating constant for the Grating boundary condition.

New Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.0 brings three new tutorial models to the Ray Optics Module.