布辛涅斯克近似

布辛涅斯克近似

     流体   布辛涅斯克近似 

什么是布辛涅斯克近似?

布辛涅斯克近似是一种近似算法,无需计算纳维-斯托克斯方程的完全可压缩公式,即可求解非等温流动中的自然对流问题

布辛涅斯克近似曾是求解非等温流动的常用方法,特别是在早些时候,运用这种方法求解的计算成本较低,并且容易实现收敛。在密度变化不明显的情况下,由于降低了问题的非线性程度,使用这种近似也可以得到精确的结果。这种方法假设密度变化对流场没有影响,在计算时只需考虑产生浮力的情况。从实际角度来看,这种近似方法通常用来模拟室温下的液体、建筑自然通风或工业设备中的稠密气体扩散等流体流动。

虽然人们过去常使用布辛涅斯克近似对一些 CFD 求解器进行简化,但现在对这种方法的使用已经日益减少。原因在于,它只是略微降低系统的非线性,而现今的求解器和计算硬件的快速发展已经极大地降低了计算的成本。如果求解完整的纳维-斯托克斯方程所需的计算成本与采用布辛涅斯克近似时的计算成本差异过大,可能也表明布辛涅斯克近似是无效的。

布辛涅斯克近似定义

纳维-斯托克斯方程是用来描述流体运动的方程。在一般情况下,可压缩流体满足

其中, 是流体速度, 是流体压力, 是流体密度, 是流体的动力粘度, 是单位矩阵, 是重力加速度。

纳维-斯托克斯方程与连续性方程同时求解:

布辛涅斯克近似认为,只需在方程的浮力项 中考虑密度变化,在其他项中可将其忽略,因而可以得到

其中,除了在表示浮力的体积力项中,其他项中与温度和压力相关的密度 已替代为恒定密度

在布辛涅斯克近似中,连续性方程 被简化为不可压缩形式 ,其原因在于,相对于速度梯度 而言, 的量值较小。由此得出,纳维-斯托克斯方程中的项 也等于零。通常,还假设粘度 是恒定的。因此,扩散项 可以改写为 ,从而得出:

浮力项 可以改写为 ;其中, 表示相对于参考密度 的密度变化。由此可得:

为了避免必须根据局部温度来计算流体密度,浮力项 可以进一步改写为 ,其中,热膨胀系数。对理想气体来说, 变为 。再次强调,仅当温度变化以及由此引起的密度变化都较小时,才能使用这一近似方法。

压力变换

仅当 \Delta \rho << \rho_{0} 时,才能使用布辛涅斯克近似。为了避免在计算浮力项 时出现舍入误差,纳维-斯托克斯方程右边的压力项和浮力项 通常被改写为 ,其中, 表示高程。

由动量守恒方程可得:

的改变称为压力变换。

发布日期:2015 年 4 月 2 日
上次修改日期:2017 年 2 月 21 日

The Boussinesq Approximation

The Boussinesq Approximation

     Fluid   Boussinesq Approximation 

What Is the Boussinesq Approximation?

The Boussinesq approximation is a way to solve nonisothermal flow, such as natural convection problems, without having to solve for the full compressible formulation of the Navier-Stokes equations.

The Boussinesq approximation was a popular method for solving nonisothermal flow, particularly in previous years, as computational costs were lower when solving this method and convergence was more likely to be achieved. The approximation is accurate when density variations are small as this reduces the nonlinearity of the problem. It assumes that variations in density have no effect on the flow field, except that they give rise to buoyancy forces. In more practical terms, this approximation is typically used to model liquids around room temperature, natural ventilation in buildings, or dense gas dispersion in industrial set-ups.

While the Boussinesq approximation has been used to simplify the implementation of some CFD solvers, its use these days is becoming less prevalent. This is because it only slightly reduces the nonlinearity of the system and, with today's solvers and computational hardware, consequently leads to marginal reduction in computational costs. A larger computational cost difference between the full Navier-Stokes equations and the Boussinesq approximation may indicate that the Boussinesq approximation is not valid.

Definition of the Boussinesq Approximation

The Navier-Stokes equations govern the motion of fluids. In the general case of a compressible fluid, this yields

where is the fluid velocity, } is the fluid pressure, is the fluid density, is the fluid dynamic viscosity, is the identity matrix, and is the acceleration due to gravity.

The Navier-Stokes equations are solved together with the continuity equation:

The Boussinesq approximation states that the density variation is only important in the buoyancy term, , and can be neglected in the rest of the equation. This yields

where the temperature and dependent density, , have been replaced by a constant density, , except in the body force term representing the buoyancy force.

Under the Boussinesq approximation, the continuity equation reduces to the incompressible form , because the magnitude of is small with respect to the velocity gradients . It follows that the term in the Navier-Stokes equations is also equal to zero. It is also generally assumed that the viscosity, , is constant. The diffusion term can thus be rewritten as to yield:

The buoyancy term can be rewritten as , where represents the density variation with respect to the reference density . This yields:

To avoid having to evaluate the fluid density based on the local temperature, the buoyancy term can further be rewritten as , where is the coefficient of thermal expansion. For ideal gases, and becomes . Again, this is only valid when temperature and, therefore, density variations are small:

Pressure Shift

The Boussinesq approximation is valid only when \Delta \rho << \rho_{0} . To avoid potential round-off errors in the calculation of the buoyancy term, , the pressure and buoyancy terms on the right-hand side of the Navier-Stokes equations, , are often rewritten as , with , where represents the elevation.

The equations for the conservation of momentum yield:

The change from to is referred to as a pressure shift.