声学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.4 版本为“声学模块”的用户引入了压力声学的端口 边界条件、非线性声学 Westervelt 模型以及大气模型和衰减模型。请阅读下文,进一步了解“声学模块”的这些更新及其他新增功能。

压力声学中的端口

新增的端口 边界条件用于激励和吸收传入或离开波导结构(如导管和通道)的声波,您可以在压力声学,频域 接口中使用此条件。为了提供波导入口/出口处的完整声学描述,您还可以在同一个边界结合使用多个端口条件。通过将所有相关的传播模式包含在研究的频率范围内,端口条件为波导提供近乎完美的非反射辐射条件。本质上,这代表解的多模式扩展。在许多情况下,与平面波辐射条件或完美匹配层 (PML) 构型相比,新的端口 条件更易用,求解精度也显著提升。端口 条件支持自动的 S 参数(散射参数)计算,并具有内置后处理变量,可轻松地计算传输损耗 (TL) 或插入损耗 (IL)。端口 条件还可用作具有特定模式的系统的激励源。

以下模型使用了这一功能:

显示 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.4 版本 GUI 中“端口”特征设置的屏幕截图。

端口 特征的“设置”窗口,其中已选定矩形端口类型,并且已对平面波模式 (0,0) 启用波激励。结果显示导管系统的散射系数和传输损耗计算值,以及 710 Hz 时压力的等值面图。

端口 特征的“设置”窗口,其中已选定矩形端口类型,并且已对平面波模式 (0,0) 启用波激励。结果显示导管系统的散射系数和传输损耗计算值,以及 710 Hz 时压力的等值面图。

非线性声学 Westervelt 模型

在高声压级下,压力波的传播不能再由线性声波方程描述;需要求解非线性全二阶波动方程。当累积非线性效应在局部非线性效应中占主导(例如,传播距离大于波长)时,可以简化此方程。这通过压力声学,时域 接口中新增的非线性声学 (Westervelt) 特征捕捉。此特征可用于模拟时域高振幅声学问题,使用某些换能器、声学喇叭和超声波时会遇到这种声学问题。新功能还包括激波捕捉稳定性和专门的求解器处理。

以下模型使用了这一功能:

一维 Westervelt 方程模型。

使用 非线性声学 (Westervelt) 特征模拟非线性传播和激波形成,通过专用的稳定性处理功能来捕捉激波形成后的传播。

使用 非线性声学 (Westervelt) 特征模拟非线性传播和激波形成,通过专用的稳定性处理功能来捕捉激波形成后的传播。

大气和海洋衰减材料模型

现在,频域压力声学 接口和射线声学 接口中包含两个新的衰减材料模型,一个用于大气,另一个用于海水。这两个模型都是半解析模型,利用大量的测量数据进行校准。其中包含各种分子的粘度、热传导和松弛过程产生的影响。大气衰减 模型定义了遵循 ANSI 标准 S1.26-2014 的衰减,与大气压(绝对压力)、温度和相对湿度相关。海洋衰减 模型与温度、盐度、深度和 pH 值相关,目前没有既定的标准。空气和水中的衰减效应对于远距离传播和高频过程都很重要,在可模拟远距离传播的射线追踪仿真中尤为如此。二维轴对称几何中的水下射线追踪教程模型中使用了这一功能。

外场计算

新增的外场计算 特征是对之前可用的远场计算 特征的更新。远场计算 特征支持计算远场(距离大于瑞利半径)中的辐射场,还支持计算域外任意点处的辐射场。事实上,典型用途并不是仅用于远场计算。新特征的使用方式与之前版本相同,但特征名称和用户界面均已更新,包含新的默认设置,可以更好地反映其用途。此外,现在可在建立模型时将对称平面可视化,生成的默认绘图已更新为使用新功能和默认设置。

以下模型使用了这一更新功能:

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.4 版本中的“外场计算”特征演示示例。

新增的 外场计算特征的用户界面。在 图形窗口中,用于计算的对称平面突出显示。

新增的 外场计算特征的用户界面。在 图形窗口中,用于计算的对称平面突出显示。

压力声学,时域各接口的外场计算

当结合时域到频域 FFT 研究步骤时,外场计算 特征现在可用于所有瞬态压力声学 接口。仅当瞬态仿真数据已通过时域到频域 FFT 研究步骤变换到频域时,此特征才生成可用于结果的变量和默认绘图。声学喇叭:使用 Westervelt 模型的非线性声音传播教学案例使用了这一功能。

附加的边界元功能

新版本实现了混合 BEM-FEM 模型的改进求解器策略,大多数模型的求解速度得到明显提升,在含大量有限元自由度的模型中提升最为显著。压力声学,边界元 接口的功能已扩展,包含之前仅在相应的基于有限元的接口中可用的功能:

  • 热粘性声学多孔弹性波 接口的多物理场耦合
  • 内部速度内部位移 边界条件
  • 阻抗 条件中的所有阻抗模型(如 RCL 电路生理学 等)
扬声器的混合 BEM-FEM 模型。 使用混合 BEM-FEM 模型的新求解器策略后,“声振扬声器仿真:BEM-FEM 模型的多物理场”模型的求解速度得到显著提升。基于测试用的硬件配置,求解时间从 1 小时 37 分钟减少为 51 分钟。 使用混合 BEM-FEM 模型的新求解器策略后,“声振扬声器仿真:BEM-FEM 模型的多物理场”模型的求解速度得到显著提升。基于测试用的硬件配置,求解时间从 1 小时 37 分钟减少为 51 分钟。

线性纳维-斯托克斯和热粘性声学的绝热公式选项

线性纳维-斯托克斯热粘性声学 物理场接口现在包含一个对控制方程使用绝热公式 的选项。对于热效应小于粘性效应的大多数液体(如水)来说,此公式是一个很好的近似法。当物理上有效时,使用新选项的另一个好处是可以降低模型的计算成本。这是因为不再需要求解温度自由度 (DOF),而是直接求解压力(绝热)。

以下模型使用了此特征:

用于线性纳维-斯托克斯接口的梯度项抑制 (GTS) 稳定方法

线性纳维-斯托克斯物理场接口现在包含可使用梯度项抑制稳定方法 的选项。在求解线性纳维-斯托克斯方程时,会产生线性物理不稳定波,称为 Kelvin-Helmholtz 不稳定性。随着时间的推移或使用迭代求解器求解系统时,不稳定性会增加,其原因通常是控制方程中的反应项不稳定所致。在有些问题中,通过取消涉及平均流物理量梯度的项,可以限制不稳定性的增长,同时保留声学解,这就是所谓的梯度项抑制稳定方法,其中可取消的项分为反应项对流项

新增的及更新的默认绘图

默认绘图包含多项更新。现在,所有物理场接口中的配色方案一致。例如,Wave 颜色表包含一个对称范围来表示声压,ThermalEquidistant 则表示热粘性声学中的声学温度变化。执行特征频率分析时,默认情况下会添加新的计算组,其中包含有关特征频率、阻尼比和品质因子的信息。外场的默认绘图已更新,现在可使用新功能和默认设置。

以下模型使用了这一新功能:

用于背景场和入射场的调制高斯脉冲选项

瞬态压力声学 接口新增了一个选项,用于将调制高斯脉冲 定义为背景声场或入射声场。例如,在对时域中的散射问题建模时,此选项非常有用。在这种情况下,调制高斯脉冲可以调谐为具有以载波频率为中心的带限频率组成。

潜艇发出的高斯脉冲的传播和散射动画,已生成等值面可视化效果。

空气和水材料属性中新增与声学相关的物理量

内置材料 部分的 AirWater, liquid 材料已更新,包含可用于简化声学问题建模的材料数据。新版本针对这两种材料添加了本体粘度值和热膨胀系数,还为水添加了比热率的温度相关表达式。如果需要利用新增的及更新的材料数据,在打开现有模型时,先删除该材料,然后从添加材料 窗口中再次添加。

以下模型使用了这一功能:

显示使用“本体粘度”属性的模型的 COMSOL Multiphysics GUI 屏幕截图。

使用 热粘性声学线性纳维-斯托克斯物理场接口的模型利用针对 Air 材料添加的 本体粘度

使用 热粘性声学线性纳维-斯托克斯物理场接口的模型利用针对 Air 材料添加的 本体粘度

射线声学接口更新

射线声学 接口改进了计算吸收和衰减介质强度的方法,因而可以计算未划分网格的射线追踪模型中的域衰减以及几何结构外部空域中的域衰减。强度计算的整体精度也得到了提高。此接口引入了新的外部未划分网格域的材料属性 栏,其中包含衰减系数的输入框,以及声速和密度输入。为保持一致性, 条件上的瑞利粗糙度模型特性也得到改进。射线声学 接口还新增了一个强度计算选项,即计算功率,与计算强度和功率 选项相比,前者使用的自由度更少,但仍能计算边界上的声压级并绘制脉冲响应。但是,为了绘制沿射线的强度或声压级,您仍然必须选择计算强度计算强度和功率

以下模型使用了这一新功能:

重要的功能增强和 Bug 修复

通用功能增强

  • 使用栅格数据集的预览绘图时,现在可以看到基础几何结构,对于引用栅格数据集的截点、截线和截面,预览绘图中也显示基础几何结构
  • 极坐标图现已改进对轴方向和范围的控制
  • 现在,使用辐射方向图栅格 数据集或参数化曲线/表面 数据集计算外部已划分网格的域时,总是使用空间坐标系
  • 线性纳维-斯托克斯 接口提供用于密度表示的理想气体 选项
  • 线性纳维-斯托克斯热粘性声学 接口提供用于定义可压缩性和热膨胀的来自声速 选项
  • 改善了背景流梯度较大的情况下线性纳维-斯托克斯 接口的稳定性
  • 在大多数物理场接口中,周期性条件 现在包含一个用户定义的选项来控制要耦合哪些场分量

后处理功能增强

  • 现在,在压力声学,频域 接口中的指定加速度、速度和位移边界上定义阻抗变量
  • 热粘性声学,边界模式 接口中的集总特性阻抗现在有一个预定义变量
  • 在阻抗边界条件下,为法向入射吸收 (acpr.imp1.alpha\_n) 和随机入射吸收 (acpr.imp1.alpha\_ran) 定义后处理变量

求解器功能增强

  • 迭代求解器建议现在可用于有关热粘性声学 的特征频率问题
  • 聚集 选项现在用于基于域分解的预条件器的所有求解器建议;此方法已完全并行化
  • 现在,在基于有限元法和边界元法的接口中使用实体-壳 多物理场耦合及压力声学时,会产生迭代求解器建议

新增并更新教学案例和 App

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.4 版本新增和更新了多个教学案例和 App。

Acoustics Module Updates

For users of the Acoustics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.4 includes the Port boundary condition for pressure acoustics, the nonlinear acoustics Westervelt model, and atmosphere and attenuation models. Read about these and many more Acoustics Module updates below.

Ports in Pressure Acoustics

The new Port boundary condition is used to excite and absorb acoustic waves that enter or leave waveguide structures, like ducts and channels. The condition is available in the Pressure Acoustics, Frequency Domain interface. To provide the full acoustic description at a waveguide inlet/outlet, you can combine several port conditions on the same boundary. By including all relevant propagating modes in the studied frequency range, the port conditions provide a near-perfect, nonreflecting radiation condition for waveguides. In essence, this represents a multimode expansion of the solution. In many cases, using the new Port condition provides superior ease of use and accuracy compared to a plane-wave radiation condition or a perfectly matched layer (PML) configuration. The Port condition allows for automatic S-parameter (scattering parameter) calculation and has built-in postprocessing variables to easily compute the transmission loss (TL) or the insertion loss (IL). The Port condition can also be used as a source to just excite a system with a specific mode.

You can see this functionality used in the following models:

A screenshot showing the Port feature settings in the COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.4 GUI.

Port feature Settings window with the rectangular port type selected and wave excitation enabled for the plane wave mode (0,0). The results show the computed scattering coefficients and transmission loss of the duct system, as well as an isosurface plot of the pressure at 710 Hz.

Port feature Settings window with the rectangular port type selected and wave excitation enabled for the plane wave mode (0,0). The results show the computed scattering coefficients and transmission loss of the duct system, as well as an isosurface plot of the pressure at 710 Hz.

Nonlinear Acoustics Westervelt Model

At high sound pressure levels, the propagation of pressure waves can no longer be described by the linear acoustic wave equation; solving the full nonlinear second-order wave equation is required. This equation can be simplified when cumulative nonlinear effects dominate local nonlinear effects, for example, when the propagation distance is greater than the wavelength. This is captured by the new Nonlinear Acoustics (Westervelt) feature available with the Pressure Acoustics, Time Domain interface. The feature can be used to model high amplitude acoustics in the time domain as experienced in some transducers, acoustic horns, and ultrasound uses. The new functionality also includes shock capturing stabilization and specialized solver handling.

You can see this functionality used in the following models:

A model of the 1D Westervelt equation.

Nonlinear propagation and shock formation modeled using the Nonlinear Acoustics (Westervelt) feature. The propagation after the shock formation is captured using specialized stabilization.

Nonlinear propagation and shock formation modeled using the Nonlinear Acoustics (Westervelt) feature. The propagation after the shock formation is captured using specialized stabilization.

Atmosphere and Ocean Attenuation Material Models

Two new material models for attenuation, one for atmospheric air and one for ocean water, are now included in the frequency domain Pressure Acoustics interfaces and the Ray Acoustics interface. Both models are semianalytical and calibrated with extensive measurement data. They include effects due to viscosity, thermal conduction, and relaxation processes of various molecules. The Atmosphere attenuation model defines attenuation that follows the ANSI standard S1.26-2014. The model depends on atmospheric pressure (absolute pressure), temperature, and relative humidity. The Ocean attenuation model depends on temperature, salinity, depth, and pH value, and for this model there is no established standard. The attenuation effects in both air and water are important for propagation over large distances and for high-frequency processes. Both models are especially important in ray tracing simulations where propagation can be simulated over very large distances. You can see this functionality used in the Underwater Ray Tracing Tutorial in a 2D Axisymmetric Geometry model.

Exterior Field Calculation

The new Exterior Field Calculation feature represents an update of the previously available Far-Field Calculation feature. The Far-Field Calculation feature has allowed for computation of the radiated field, not only in the far field (distances larger than the Rayleigh radius), but at any point outside the computational domain. In fact, the typical use was not for far-field computations. The new feature is used in the same way, but the feature name and user interface have been updated with new defaults to better reflect its use. Moreover, symmetry planes can now be visualized when setting up the model and the generated default plots have been updated to use the new functionality and defaults.

You can see this updated functionality used in the following models:

A demonstration of the Exterior Field Calculation feature in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.4.

The user interface for the new Exterior Field Calculation feature. In the Graphics window, the symmetry planes used for evaluation are highlighted.

The user interface for the new Exterior Field Calculation feature. In the Graphics window, the symmetry planes used for evaluation are highlighted.

Exterior Field Calculation for Pressure Acoustics, Time Domain Interfaces

The Exterior Field Calculation feature can now be used in all transient Pressure Acoustics interfaces when combined with a Time to Frequency FFT study step. The feature will only generate variables and default plots that can be used in results when time-dependent simulation data has been transformed to frequency domain data using a Time to Frequency FFT study step. You can see this functionality in the tutorial named Acoustic Horn: Nonlinear Sound Propagation Using the Westervelt Model.

Additional Boundary Element Functionality

An improved solver strategy for hybrid BEM-FEM models has been implemented, which gives a significant speedup in most models, most significantly in models with a large fraction of the FEM degrees of freedom. The functionality of the Pressure Acoustics, Boundary Element interface has been extended with functionality previously only available in the corresponding finite-element-based interface:

  • Multiphysics couplings to the Thermoviscous Acoustics and Poroelastic Waves interfaces
  • The Interior Velocity and Interior Displacement boundary conditions
  • All of the impedance models in the Impedance condition (for example RCL circuit, Physiological, etc.)
A hybrid BEM-FEM model of a loudspeaker. The new solver strategy for hybrid BEM-FEM models shows a great speedup on the Vibroacoustic Loudspeaker Simulation: Multiphysics with BEM-FEM model. On a particular hardware configuration, the solution time decreases from 1h 37 min to 51 min. The new solver strategy for hybrid BEM-FEM models shows a great speedup on the Vibroacoustic Loudspeaker Simulation: Multiphysics with BEM-FEM model. On a particular hardware configuration, the solution time decreases from 1h 37 min to 51 min.

Adiabatic Formulation Option for Linearized Navier-Stokes and Thermoviscous Acoustics

The Linearized Navier-Stokes and Thermoviscous Acoustics physics interfaces now have an option to use an Adiabatic formulation for the governing equations. This formulation is a good approximation for most liquids, like water, where the thermal effects are small compared to the viscous effects. An added benefit of using the new option, when physically valid, is that it reduces the computational cost of the model. This is because the temperature degree of freedom (DOF) is no longer solved for, but is directly related to the pressure (adiabatic).

The following models use this feature:

Gradient Term Suppression (GTS) Stabilization for Linearized Navier-Stokes

The linearized Navier-Stokes physics interfaces now have the option to use Gradient Term Suppression Stabilization. When the linearized Navier-Stokes equations are solved, linear physical instability waves can develop, known as Kelvin-Helmholtz instabilities. These instabilities can grow over time or when solving the system with iterative solvers. The terms responsible for the instabilities are typically the reactive terms in the governing equations. In some problems, the growth of these instabilities can be limited, while the acoustic solution is retained, by canceling terms involving gradients of the mean-flow quantities. This is what is known as gradient term suppression stabilization. The terms that can be excluded are grouped into Reactive terms and Convective terms.

New and Updated Default Plots

There are multiple updates to the default plots. The color schemes are now consistent across physics interfaces. For example, the Wave color table has a symmetric range to represent the acoustic pressure and the ThermalEquidistant color table represents the acoustic temperature variations in thermoviscous acoustics. When performing an eigenfrequency analysis, a new Evaluation Group is added by default with information about the eigenfrequency, damping ratio, and quality factor. Default plots of the exterior field have been updated to use new functionality and defaults.

You can see this new functionality in the following models:

Modulated Gaussian Pulse Option for Background and Incident Fields

The transient Pressure Acoustics interfaces have a new option to define a Modulated Gaussian pulse as a background acoustic field or as an incident acoustic field. The option is useful when modeling scattering problems in the time domain, for example. In such cases, the modulated Gaussian pulse can be tuned to have a band-limited frequency content centered on a carrier frequency.

Animation of the propagation and scattering of a Gaussian pulse by a submarine, visualized as isosurfaces.

Air and Water Materials Updated with Acoustics-Specific Quantities

The Air and the Water, liquid materials in the Built-In Materials section have been updated to include material data that can be used to simplify the modeling of acoustics problems. For both materials, the value of the bulk viscosity has been added, as well as the coefficient of thermal expansion. For water, a temperature-dependent expression for the ratio of specific heats has also been added. To take advantage of the new and updated material data, when opening an existing model, delete the material and add it again from the Add Material window.

This functionality is used in the following models:

A screenshot of the COMSOL Multiphysics GUI with a model that uses the Bulk viscosity property.

Models that use the Thermoviscous Acoustics or the Linearized Navier-Stokes physics interfaces take advantage of the addition of the Bulk viscosity to the Air material.

Models that use the Thermoviscous Acoustics or the Linearized Navier-Stokes physics interfaces take advantage of the addition of the Bulk viscosity to the Air material.

Ray Acoustics Updates

The Ray Acoustics interface has an improved method for calculating intensity in absorbing and attenuating media, making it possible to include domain attenuation in unmeshed ray tracing models as well as in the void domain outside the geometry. The overall accuracy of the intensity computation has also been improved. A new section called Material Properties of Exterior and Unmeshed Domains has been introduced with an input field for the attenuation coefficient, along with the speed of sound and the density inputs. On Wall conditions, the behavior for the Rayleigh roughness model has been improved for consistency. The Ray Acoustics interface also has a new option for intensity computation, Compute power, which uses fewer DOFs than the option Compute intensity and power, while still being able to compute the sound pressure level on boundaries and plot the impulse response. However, to plot the intensity or sound pressure level along rays, you must still select Compute intensity or Compute intensity and power.

This new functionality is used in the following models:

Important Enhancements and Bug Fixes

General Enhancements

  • The underlying geometry is now visible when performing a preview plot of a grid dataset, and the geometry is shown for preview plots of cut points, cut lines, and cut planes that refer to a grid dataset
  • Polar plots now have improved control of the axis orientation and range
  • The spatial frame is now always used when evaluating outside meshed domains with the Radiation Pattern plot, Grid datasets, or Parameterized Curve/Surface datasets
  • The Ideal gas option for density representation is available in the Linearized Navier-Stokes interfaces
  • The From speed of sound option to define both compressibility and thermal expansion is available in the Linearized Navier-Stokes and Thermoviscous Acoustics interfaces
  • The stabilization for the Linearized Navier-Stokes interfaces has been improved in situations where the background flow has large gradients
  • In most of the physics interfaces, the Periodic Condition now has a user-defined option to control which field components are coupled

Postprocessing Enhancements

  • Impedance variables are now defined on prescribed acceleration, velocity, and displacement boundaries in the Pressure Acoustics, Frequency Domain interface
  • A predefined variable now exists for the lumped characteristic impedance in the Thermoviscous, Boundary Mode interface
  • On impedance boundary conditions, postprocessing variables are defined for the normal incidence absorption (acpr.imp1.alpha\_n) and the random incidence absorption (acpr.imp1.alpha\_ran)

Solver Enhancements

  • The iterative solver suggestion now works for eigenfrequency problems with Thermoviscous Acoustics
  • The Aggregation option is now used for all solver suggestions that are based on the domain decomposition preconditioner; this method is fully parallelized
  • An iterative solver suggestion is now generated when using the Solid-Shell multiphysics coupling and pressure acoustics, in both the FEM- and BEM-based interfaces

New and Updated Tutorial Models and Applications

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.4 brings several new and updated tutorial models and applications.