RF 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.4 版本为“RF 模块”的用户新增了远场功能和变量,用于高效分析天线和辐射方向图,扩展了微波和毫米波电路板的材料库,并在“案例库”示例中增加了更多可视化效果和对“RF 零件库”中的工业连接器的使用。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“RF 模块”的所有更新功能。

均匀天线阵列因子函数

新版本中,通过使用渐近法,用均匀阵列因子乘以单天线的远场,可以根据单个天线单元的辐射方向图快速高效地计算天线阵列的辐射方向图。您可以在更新的微带贴片天线模型中进一步了解到此方法的使用。


根据单个微带天线仿真组合而成的 8x8 微带贴片天线阵列模式。

用于基板的附加 RF 材料库

“RF 模块”自带的材料库新增了由 Isola Group 公司提供的 40 余种基板材料,有助于模拟印刷射频、微波和毫米波电路等;目前“RF 模块”材料库共提供了 100 多种基板材料。

二维轴对称模型的三维远场和 RCS 函数

利用新的远场函数,新版本中用户可以根据二维轴对称模型的结果,更有效地快速估计等效三维模型的远场响应。对于以下情况,在二维轴对称几何的分析中可以使用三维远场模函数:

  • 使用方位角模数为正的圆形端口激励的天线模型
  • 由预定义的圆极化平面波类型激励的散射场分析

远场模函数

描述 名称 完整名称示例 完整名称描述
三维远场模 norm3DEfar norm3DEfar_TE12 方位角模数 1,模数为 2 的 TE 模式圆形端口
三维远场模,dB normdB3DEfar normdB3DEfar_TM21 方位角模数 2,模数为 1 的 TM 模式圆形端口

更多远场后处理变量

新版本添加了用于计算最大方向性系数、增益和实际增益的新变量。这些变量可用于全局计算,无需绘制三维远场模式。当远场计算特征的选择为球形(在三维模式中)和圆形(在二维轴对称模式中),并且中心位于原点时,用户可以访问这些变量。

远场后处理变量

描述 名称 可用组件
最大方向性系数 maxD 二维轴对称,三维
最大方向性系数,dB maxDdB 二维轴对称,三维
最大增益 maxGain 二维轴对称,三维
最大增益,dB maxGaindB 二维轴对称,三维
最大实际增益 maxRGain 二维轴对称,三维
最大实际增益,dB maxRGaindB 二维轴对称,三维

过渡边界条件中的电厚层

新增的电厚层 选项将与过渡边界条件相邻的两个域解耦。边界的表现类似于内部阻抗边界条件,但层几何结构可以是表面,而不是域。

采用 FFT 的时域带通脉冲响应

瞬态分析对于采用时域反射法 (TDR) 处理信号完整性 (SI) 问题非常有用,但对于许多射频和微波问题来说,往往需要运行频域分析以得到 S 参数。通过在常规的频域研究之后执行频域到时域快速傅立叶变换 (FFT),可以执行 TDR 分析。这种类型的分析有助于通过研究时域中的信号波动来确定传输线上的物理不连续性和阻抗失配。您可以在新增的通过频域到时域 FFT 分析研究有缺陷的微带线模型进一步了解如何使用此功能。

使用时域集总端口电压的微带线模型。 使用时域集总端口电压的示例。信号过冲和下冲是由于微带线不连续造成的。 使用时域集总端口电压的示例。信号过冲和下冲是由于微带线不连续造成的。

瞬态研究中的远场分析

新版本的电磁波,瞬态 接口提供远场域计算特征。使用此特征,您可以先运行瞬态响应分析,然后进行时域到频域的 FFT 来执行频域宽带天线远场模式分析。您可以在新增的双频带印刷天线瞬态分析模型中看到此功能的应用演示。

显示远场辐射方向图的双频带印刷天线模型。 双频带印刷天线,第二次谐振时的远场辐射方向图已生成可视化效果。图中还显示介电板顶部的电场模分布。 双频带印刷天线,第二次谐振时的远场辐射方向图已生成可视化效果。图中还显示介电板顶部的电场模分布。

二维轴对称的圆偏振背景场

现在,使用二维轴对称分量进行建模时,可以将圆极化平面波 选项用于散射场公式。要使用此功能,首先在二维轴对称模型中使用圆偏振背景场来激励轴对称散射体。然后,使用 norm3DEfar 函数来计算三维模式中由线性偏振背景场照射的同一散射体的远场和雷达散射截面 (RCS)。

在三维中表示二维轴对称模型的演示。 二维轴对称模型的三维表示。由线性偏振背景场激励的三维球体的散射场响应可以通过具有圆偏振背景场的二维轴对称模型快速计算。 二维轴对称模型的三维表示。由线性偏振背景场激励的三维球体的散射场响应可以通过具有圆偏振背景场的二维轴对称模型快速计算。

端口的定义方式更为简便

输入和输出端口方向

现在箭头指示器有助于快速识别哪些端口是输入端口(激励),哪些是输出端口(侦听器)。箭头指向功率流向。在端口边界上,受激励端口由向内箭头表示,而侦听器端口由向外箭头表示。集总端口也支持这一可视化特征。

在 RF 模型中定义输入端口和输出端口的示例。 对于这个虹膜滤波器波导示例模型中受激励的端口边界,功率流的方向以红色箭头表示。 对于这个虹膜滤波器波导示例模型中受激励的端口边界,功率流的方向以红色箭头表示。

具有压降方向的数值 TEM 端口

通过边界模式分析来分析数值端口时,退化模式很难处理 S 参数计算。为了更好地处理这种情况,现在采用与端口边界相切的红色箭头来表示压降方向,并固定端口模式场极化。可以通过选中电压积分线 节点设置 窗口中的切换压降方向 框来改变方向,该节点是数值 TEM 端口特征的子特征。您可以在更新的使用开口环谐振器的陷波滤波器模型中看到此功能的应用演示。

显示模型中压降方向的示例。 数值 TEM 端口的压降方向用红色箭头表示。 数值 TEM 端口的压降方向用红色箭头表示。

模型向导中的单向耦合多物理场

对于涉及电磁热的多物理场,如“波动光学模块”中的激光加热 或“RF 模块”中的微波加热,现在“模型向导”中提供两个新的研究序列。顺序频域-稳态 研究首先求解电磁学的频域方程,然后在求解后续的稳态传热方程时使用电磁热源作为源项。顺序频域-瞬态 研究首先求解电磁学的频域方程,然后在求解后续的瞬态传热方程时使用电磁热源作为源项。对于这两个研究序列,假设电磁学分析与计算的温度分布无关。只要可以做出这种简化的假设,便能减少按顺序求解这两个物理场所需的计算资源。

以下模型使用了这一功能:

全各向异性折射率

现在,在波动方程特征的电位移场模型 组合框中选择折射率 选项后,您可以输入全各向异性张量。矩阵乘法用于将该折射率张量转换为相对介电常数张量。

重要的功能增强

新增教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.4 版本新增了两个教学案例。

RF Module Updates

For users of the RF Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.4 brings additional far-field functionality and variables for efficient antenna and radiation pattern analysis, an extended material library for microwave and millimeter-wave circuit boards, and enhanced Application Library examples with more visualization effects and deployment of commercially available connectors from the RF Part Library. Browse all of the RF Module updates in more detail below.

Uniform Antenna Array Factor Function

It is now possible to evaluate the radiation pattern of an antenna array very quickly from the radiation pattern of a single antenna element by using an asymptotic approach that multiplies the far field of a single antenna with a uniform array factor. You can find this functionality in the updated Microstrip Patch Antenna model.


An 8x8 microstrip patch antenna array pattern synthesized from a single microstrip antenna simulation.

Additional RF Material Library for Substrates

The RF Module enhances its material library with more than 40 substrate materials from the company Isola Group to assist in modeling printed RF, microwave, and millimeter-wave circuits. The RF Module material library now provides more than 100 substrate materials.

3D Far-Field and RCS Functions from 2D Axisymmetric Models

By utilizing new far-field functions, a 2D axisymmetric model is now more useful for the purpose of quick estimation of the far-field response of the equivalent 3D model. A set of 3D far-field norm functions are available in a 2D axisymmetric geometry for the following cases:

  • Antenna models using circular port excitation with a positive azimuthal mode number
  • Scattered field analysis excited by the predefined circularly polarized plane wave type

Far-Field Norm Functions

Description Name Full Name Examples Full Name Description
3D far-field norm norm3DEfar norm3DEfar_TE12 Azimuthal mode number 1, TE mode circular port with mode number 2
3D far-field norm, dB normdB3DEfar normdB3DEfar_TM21 Azimuthal mode number 2, TM mode circular port with mode number 1

More Far-Field Postprocessing Variables

New variables for computing the maximum directivity, gain, and realized gain have been added. These variables are available for global evaluation, without plotting a 3D far-field pattern. They can be accessed when the selection for the far-field calculation feature is spherical (in 3D) and circular (in 2D axisymmetry) and when the center is at the origin.

Far-Field Postprocessing Variables

Description Name Available Component
Maximum directivity maxD 2D Axisymmetric, 3D
Maximum directivity, dB maxDdB 2D Axisymmetric, 3D
Maximum gain maxGain 2D Axisymmetric, 3D
Maximum gain, dB maxGaindB 2D Axisymmetric, 3D
Maximum realized gain maxRGain 2D Axisymmetric, 3D
Maximum realized gain, dB maxRGaindB 2D Axisymmetric, 3D

Electrically Thick Layer in Transition Boundary Conditions

The new Electrically thick layer option decouples the two domains that are adjacent to a transition boundary condition. The boundary performs like an interior impedance boundary condition, but the layer geometry can be a surface rather than a domain.

Time-Domain Bandpass Impulse Response via FFT

While transient analyses are useful for time-domain reflectometry (TDR) to handle signal integrity (SI) problems, many RF and microwave examples are addressed using frequency-domain simulations that generate S-parameters. By performing the frequency-to-time fast Fourier transform (FFT) after the conventional frequency domain study, TDR analysis is feasible. This type of analysis helps in identifying physical discontinuities and impedance mismatches on a transmission line by investigating the signal fluctuation in the time domain. You can see this functionality in the new Study of a Defective Microstrip Line via Frequency-to-Time FFT Analysis model.

A microstrip line model using a time-domain lumped port voltage. An example where a time-domain lumped port voltage is used. The overshoot and undershoot of the signal are due to the discontinuities of the microstrip line. An example where a time-domain lumped port voltage is used. The overshoot and undershoot of the signal are due to the discontinuities of the microstrip line.

Far-Field Analysis in a Transient Study

A far-field domain calculation feature is now available with the Electromagnetic Wave, Transient interface. Using this feature, you can perform a frequency-domain wideband antenna far-field pattern analysis by first running a transient response analysis, followed by a time-to-frequency FFT. You can see this functionality demonstrated in the new Transient Analysis of a Printed Dual-Band Strip Antenna model.

A model of a printed dual-band antenna strip showing the far-field radiation pattern.

A printed dual-band antenna strip with a visualization of the far-field radiation pattern at the second resonance. The electric field norm distribution at the top of the dielectric board is also shown.

A printed dual-band antenna strip with a visualization of the far-field radiation pattern at the second resonance. The electric field norm distribution at the top of the dielectric board is also shown.

Circularly Polarized Background Field for 2D Axisymmetry

A Circularly polarized plane wave option is now available for the scattered field formulation when modeling with a 2D axisymmetric component. To use this functionality, start by exciting an axisymmetric scatterer with a circularly polarized background field in a 2D axisymmetric model. Then, by using the norm3DEfar function, estimate the far field and radar cross section (RCS) of the same scatterer in 3D, illuminated by a linearly polarized background field.

A demonstration of representing a 2D axisymmetric model in 3D. A 3D representation of a 2D axisymmetric model. The scattered field response of a 3D sphere, excited by a linearly polarized background field, can be estimated quickly by a 2D axisymmetric model with a circularly polarized background field. A 3D representation of a 2D axisymmetric model. The scattered field response of a 3D sphere, excited by a linearly polarized background field, can be estimated quickly by a 2D axisymmetric model with a circularly polarized background field.

Improved User Experience for Defining Ports

In- and Outport Direction

Arrow indicators now help to quickly identify which ports are inports (excitations) and which are outports (listeners). The arrow points in the direction of the power flow. An excited port is indicated by an inward arrow on the port boundary, while a listener port has an outward arrow. Lumped ports also support this visualization feature.

An example of defining inports and outports in RF models. For the excited port boundary in this example model of an iris filter waveguide, the direction of power flow is shown as a red arrow. For the excited port boundary in this example model of an iris filter waveguide, the direction of power flow is shown as a red arrow.

Numeric TEM Ports with Voltage Drop Direction

When numeric ports are analyzed by means of a boundary mode analysis, degenerated modes are challenging to handle with respect to S-parameter calculations. For better handling of such cases, the voltage drop direction is now indicated by a red arrow tangential to the port boundary, and fixes the port mode field polarization. The direction can be changed by checking the Toggle Voltage Drop Direction box in the Settings window of the Integration Line for Voltage node, which is a subfeature of the numeric TEM port feature. You can see this functionality used in the updated Notch Filter Using a Split Ring Resonator model.

An example of indicating the voltage drop direction in a model. The voltage drop direction for a numeric TEM port is indicated with a red arrow. The voltage drop direction for a numeric TEM port is indicated with a red arrow.

One-Way Coupled Multiphysics in the Model Wizard

For multiphysics involving electromagnetic heating, such as Laser Heating in the Wave Optics Module or Microwave Heating in the RF Module, there are now two new study sequences available in the Model Wizard. The Sequential Frequency-Stationary study first solves a frequency-domain equation for electromagnetics and then uses the electromagnetic heat source as a source term when solving a subsequent stationary heat transfer equation. The Sequential Frequency-Transient study first solves a frequency-domain equation for electromagnetics and then uses the electromagnetic heat source as a source term when solving a subsequent time-dependent heat transfer equation. For both study sequences, it is assumed that the electromagnetics analysis does not depend on the computed temperature distribution. Whenever this simplifying assumption can be made, solving the two physics in a sequence requires fewer computational resources.

You can see this functionality used in the following models:

Fully Anisotropic Refractive Index

When the Refractive index option is selected for the Electric displacement field model combo box in wave equation features, you can now input a fully anisotropic tensor. A matrix-matrix multiplication is used to transform this refractive index tensor to the relative permittivity tensor.

Important Enhancements

New Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.4 brings two new tutorial models.