传热模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.4 版本为“传热模块”的用户引入了用于模拟表面对表面辐射的混合漫反射-镜面反射表面和半透明表面,添加了薄结构传热,并新增了多项功能用于模拟参与介质界面的辐射。请阅读以下内容,了解这些传热特征及其他新增功能。

混合漫反射-镜面反射表面和半透明表面

新版本采用基于射线发射法的新的角系数计算算法,可以处理混合漫反射-镜面反射以及通过半透明表面的反射和透射。无论入射方向如何,粗糙表面都倾向于在所有方向上随机反射入射射线,这种现象称为漫反射。光滑的镜面倾向于根据反射定律反射入射光线,入射角等于反射角,这种现象称为镜面反射。处理混合漫反射与镜面反射的新功能可用于为各种表面创建逼真、精确的模型。新的射线发射法还可用于半透明表面建模,这些表面(例如窗玻璃)并非完全不透明,而是透射一部分入射辐射。含镜面反射的表面对表面辐射模型使用了此功能。


辐射非聚焦光束在通道两侧发生反射引起的入射辐射(左)。不同的构型对应于不同的表面属性,从近乎理想的镜面到纯漫反射表面。对于高度镜面反射的表面,光束在消失之前会发生多次反射,而对于纯漫反射表面,光束会立即衰减。右侧草图表示镜面完全聚焦光束的类似情况。

多层薄结构中的传热

新版本引入了一套功能强大的多层壳建模工具,大大扩展了薄结构传热分析功能。您可以使用新的多层材料 特征定义多层结构,该特征包含从文件加载多层结构构型以及将这些构型保存到文件的操作、横截面层预览 特征和层堆叠预览 特征。您可以为每一层指派材料属性、固有旋转、厚度和有限元离散化设置。此外,还可以为每个薄层之间的界面指派单独的界面属性。您可以选择使用集总建模方法的一些工具来降低热薄或热厚结构的计算成本。新的多层材料 数据集支持为多层薄结构中的结果生成可视化效果,就像它们最初被模拟为三维实体一样。

包含壳、薄层、薄膜和裂隙分析功能的所有传热接口都提供这一新增功能。该模块与“AC/DC 模块”结合使用时,新的多物理场耦合特征支持在多层结构中进行电磁热和热电效应建模;与“复合材料模块”结合使用时,新的多物理场特征支持在多层结构中进行热膨胀建模。

以下模型使用了此功能:

演示多层薄材料建模功能的加热电路模型。 该加热电路多物理场模型是结合使用多层薄材料的新功能以及传热、电流和结构膜物理场来定义的。 该加热电路多物理场模型是结合使用多层薄材料的新功能以及传热、电流和结构膜物理场来定义的。

参与介质中的辐射功能得到扩展

参与介质中的辐射 接口包含重要的功能改进。其中提供一个新选项,用于控制半透明材料中辐射散射的性质。散射特性由 Henyey-Greenstein 相函数定义。此外,还提供多个新的正交选项,您可以控制的离散坐标数从 8 个增加到 512 个,从而能够对精度和计算速度之间的权衡进行详细控制。玻璃板辐射冷却模型使用了此功能。

支持波长相关材料属性的表面对表面辐射

现在,表面对表面辐射 接口支持任意数量的光谱带,来模拟波长相关的材料属性。此外,用户界面也经过重新设计,使用多光谱带时的可用性得到改善。通过使用多光谱带,您可以根据波长相关函数或表格(每个光谱带一个值)定义材料属性,如表面辐射率。对波长相关表面属性的精确描述提高了辐射冷却等情况的仿真精度。太阳对遮阳伞下两个保温箱的辐射效应模型使用了此功能。

吸收-散射性介质中的辐射接口 - 光扩散方程

新增的吸收-散射性介质中的辐射 接口适用于模拟半透明介质中辐射的传播、吸收和散射,尤其适合模拟非发射介质中的光扩散。该接口与参与介质中的辐射 接口类似,求解辐射传递方程,但不包含发射项。因此,这两个接口中的离散化方法(P1 近似和离散坐标法)和散射选项均相同。在使用 P1 近似时,求解的方程称为光扩散方程。颗粒板中的光扩散模型使用了此功能。

辐射传热的多物理场耦合

在之前的版本中,表面对表面辐射参与介质中的辐射 特征在所有传热接口以及各个独立接口中均作为选项提供。在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.4 版本中,这两个特征仅作为独立接口提供,并可以通过新增的多物理场接口与任何相关的传热接口相耦合。这种新的建模方法使“模型开发器”中的模型管理得到简化。

功能重构为子节点

为了提升用户体验,传热接口中添加了许多特征子节点。这些子节点可用于修改其各自父特征的配置。在以后的版本中,以下子节点将替换相应的主特征:

  • 相变材料 子节点取代流体的相变材料 特征,将其功能扩展到固体和多孔介质,并实现相变建模的表观热容公式
  • 对流增强的热导率 子特征在流体湿空气 节点下可用,通过根据努塞尔数提高流体热导率来分析对流热通量
  • 热损伤 子节点在生物组织 节点下可用,用于定义损伤模型
  • 传热接口中提供的光学厚参与介质 子节点解释了高光学厚度介质中辐射传热的 Rosseland 近似,并提供通过提高热导率来分析辐射效应所需的设置

以下模型使用了这些新特征:

恒温箱模型。

用于运输冷藏物品的恒温箱中的温度分布。使用 流体特征和 相变材料子特征对相变材料进行建模。

用于运输冷藏物品的恒温箱中的温度分布。使用 流体特征和 相变材料子特征对相变材料进行建模。

热湿流动多物理场接口

传热 > 热湿传递 分支下提供了一组新的热湿流动 多物理场接口,通过层流和湍流将传热和空气中的水分输送相耦合。不同的接口将层流和湍流形式的单相流接口与湿空气中的传热空气中的水分输送 接口相耦合。热湿水分流动非等温流动 多物理场耦合节点用于处理湍流混合以及湍流的热湿壁函数,并分析空气的流体流动方程中材料属性的温度和湿度相关性。

与热湿流动接口相结合的示例。

蒸发冷却模型将单相流与 湿空气中的传热空气中的水分输送接口相结合。

蒸发冷却模型将单相流与 湿空气中的传热空气中的水分输送接口相结合。

固体和流体传热接口

新增的固体和流体传热 接口取代了以前仅在共轭传热 多物理场接口中可用的传热接口。该接口包含一个固体 特征,默认情况下在所有域中都处于激活状态,还包含一个流体 特征,默认情况下选择为空。针对共轭传热建模优化了设置。当您计划仅从传热开始逐步构建模型,并将流动引入为第二步时,可使用此接口。您可以在传热模块简介 PDF 文档的 chip_cooling 示例中找到相关解释。

以下模型也使用了此功能:

包含固体传热、流体流动以及表面对表面辐射的模型。 芯片冷却教学案例中的温度分布。通过在一系列步骤中添加更多特征,模型的精度逐步提高。从仅包含固体传热的模型开始,然后将模型扩展为包含流体流动,最后包含表面对表面辐射。 芯片冷却教学案例中的温度分布。通过在一系列步骤中添加更多特征,模型的精度逐步提高。从仅包含固体传热的模型开始,然后将模型扩展为包含流体流动,最后包含表面对表面辐射。

完全绝缘内壁

热绝缘 特征现在可在内部边界上使用,可将流体域之间的薄材料模拟为理想绝缘体。产生的温度场在这些边界上不连续。内部边界上的热绝缘模型使用了此功能。

环境热属性

您现在可以从定义 下的环境热属性 节点定义环境属性。其中包含环境设置 栏,在之前的版本中,该栏位于传热 接口。可以在单个模型中添加多个环境热属性 节点。因此,在模型不包含传热接口的情况下,也可以使用环境属性。

此外,表面对表面接口现已改进,因此可以通过使用环境热属性(包含选定气象站的日期和位置)来定义太阳位置。

显示环境温度模型的 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.4 版本 GUI 屏幕截图。

包含 环境热属性节点的模型,该节点定义瞬态环境属性。图中显示仿真运行的两天内的环境温度和相对湿度。

包含 环境热属性节点的模型,该节点定义瞬态环境属性。图中显示仿真运行的两天内的环境温度和相对湿度。

默认求解器设置

传热的默认求解器设置包含诸多改进。对于大型非等温流动模型,默认的多重网格预条件器设置已更新,其设置更稳健,在某些情况下可以加快计算速度。此外,包含局部热非平衡 耦合的模型现在求解耦合的双温度场变量时,收敛效果和速度均得到了显著提升。相应地,使用非等温流动 耦合特征的所有模型也已更新。

改进温度不连续性默认绘图

热接触热绝缘 特征在内部边界处于激活状态时,默认情况下,在三维模型的温度 绘图组中会生成附加表面图。其中显示这些边界两侧的不同温度。

不连续温度模型的 COMSOL GUI 屏幕截图。 从两个不同角度观察到的温度场。由于中心边界处的温度不连续,因此两侧的温度值不同。 从两个不同角度观察到的温度场。由于中心边界处的温度不连续,因此两侧的温度值不同。

新增教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.4 版本新增了多个教学案例。

Heat Transfer Module Updates

For users of the Heat Transfer Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.4 includes mixed diffuse-specular reflection and semitransparent surfaces for modeling surface-to-surface radiation, heat transfer in thin structures, and more capabilities for modeling radiation in participating media interfaces. Learn about these heat transfer features and more below.

Mixed Diffuse-Specular Reflections and Semitransparent Surfaces

A new algorithm for view factor computations, based on a ray-shooting method, can handle mixed diffuse-specular reflections as well as reflections and transmissions through semitransparent surfaces. Rough surfaces tend to reflect incident rays randomly in all directions regardless of incident direction, known as diffuse reflections. Smooth, mirror-like surfaces tend to reflect incoming rays according to the law of reflection where the angle of incidence is equal to the angle of reflection, known as specular reflection. The new capability for handling a mixture of diffuse and specular reflections can be used to create realistic and accurate models of a wide range of surfaces. The new ray-shooting method can also be used for modeling semitransparent surfaces that are not fully opaque, but instead transmit a fraction of the incident irradiation, for example, window glass. You can find this functionality used in the Surface-to-Surface Radiation with Specular Reflection model.


Incident irradiation induced by a radiation nonfocused beam bouncing on the two sides of a channel (left). The different configurations correspond to different surface properties, from a nearly ideal specular surface to a pure diffuse surface. For highly specular surfaces, the beam is reflected multiple times before it vanishes, while it is immediately damped for pure diffuse surfaces. The sketch on the right represents a similar case for a perfectly focused beam on specular surfaces.

Heat Transfer in Thin, Layered Structures

The functionality for heat transfer in thin structures has been dramatically expanded with a new set of powerful tools for modeling layered shells. Layered structures are defined using a new Layered Material feature that includes load/save of layered structure configurations from/to a file, a Layer Cross Section Preview feature, and a Layer Stack Preview feature. Each layer is assigned a material property, intrinsic rotation, thickness, and finite element discretization settings. In addition, the interfaces between each thin layer can be assigned separate interface properties. Optional tools for lumped modeling methodology are available for reducing the computational cost for both thermally thin or thermally thick structures. A new Layered Material dataset makes it possible to visualize results in thin, layered structures as if they were originally modeled as 3D solids.

The new functionality is available in all the heat transfer interfaces that include functionality for analyzing shells, thin layers, thin films, and fractures. When combined with the AC/DC Module, new multiphysics coupling features enable the modeling of electromagnetic heating and the thermoelectric effect in layered structures. When combined with the Composite Materials Module, a new multiphysics feature makes it possible to model thermal expansion in layered structures.

You can see this functionality used in the following models:

A heating circuit model demonstrating modeling capabilities for thin, layered materials. This multiphysics model of a heating circuit is defined using the new capabilities for thin, layered materials with a combination of heat transfer, electric currents, and structural membrane physics. This multiphysics model of a heating circuit is defined using the new capabilities for thin, layered materials with a combination of heat transfer, electric currents, and structural membrane physics.

Extended Capabilities for Radiation in Participating Media

Important improvements have been made to the Radiation in Participating Media interface. A new option is available to control the nature of radiation scattering in semitransparent materials. The scattering characteristics are defined by the so-called Henyey-Greenstein phase function. In addition, several new quadrature options are available, and you can control the number of discrete ordinates, from 8 to 512, thus enabling detailed control of the trade-off between accuracy and computation speed. You can see this functionality used in the Radiative Cooling of a Glass Plate model.

Surface-to-Surface Radiation with Wavelength-Dependent Material Properties

The Surface-to-Surface Radiation interface now supports an arbitrary number of spectral bands to model wavelength-dependent material properties. In addition, the user interface has been redesigned to improve usability when multiple spectral bands are used. Using multiple spectral bands, it is possible to define material properties such as the surface emissivity from a wavelength-dependent function or from a table, with one value per spectral band. A precise description of the wavelength-dependent surface properties increases the accuracy of simulation for scenarios like radiative cooling. You can see this functionality used in the Sun's Radiation Effect on Two Coolers Placed Under a Parasol model.

Radiation in Absorbing-Scattering Media Interface — Light Diffusion Equation

The new Radiation in Absorbing-Scattering Media interface is available for modeling propagation, absorption, and scattering of radiation in a semitransparent medium. In particular, it is well suited for modeling light diffusion in a nonemitting medium. Similarly to the Radiation in Participating Media interface, it solves the radiative transfer equation, but with no emission term. Therefore, the two interfaces share the same discretization methods (P1 approximation and discrete ordinates method) and options for scattering. When the P1 approximation is used, the solved equation is known as the light-diffusion equation. You can see this functionality used in the Light Diffusion in a Slab of Particles model.

Multiphysics Couplings for Heat Transfer with Radiation

In previous versions, the Surface-to-Surface Radiation and Radiation in Participating Media features were available as options in all heat transfer interfaces, as well as in separate standalone interfaces. In COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.4, they are only available as standalone interfaces, and can be coupled with any relevant heat transfer interfaces using new multiphysics interfaces. This new modeling approach simplifies model management in the Model Builder.

Refactoring of Functionalities into Subnodes

For a better user experience, a number of feature subnodes have been added to the heat transfer interfaces. They are used to modify the configuration of their respective parent feature. In future versions, the following subnodes will replace the corresponding main features:

  • The Phase Change Material subnode replaces the Phase Change Material feature for fluids, extends its capabilities to solids and porous media, and implements the apparent heat capacity formulation for modeling phase change
  • The Convectively Enhanced Conductivity subfeature is available under the Fluid and Moist Air nodes, and accounts for the convective heat flux by enhancing the fluid thermal conductivity according to the Nusselt number
  • The Thermal Damage subnode is available under the Biological Tissue node to define the damage model
  • The Optically Thick Participating Medium subnode, available in the heat transfer interfaces, accounts for the Rosseland approximation for radiative heat transfer in media with high optical thickness, and provides the settings needed to account for the radiative effects by enhancing the thermal conductivity

You can see these new features used in the following models:

A model of an isothermal box.

Temperature distribution in an isothermal box aimed at transporting refrigerated articles. A phase-change material is modeled using a Fluid feature with the Phase Change Material subfeature.

Temperature distribution in an isothermal box aimed at transporting refrigerated articles. A phase-change material is modeled using a Fluid feature with the Phase Change Material subfeature.

Heat and Moisture Flow Multiphysics Interface

A set of new Heat and Moisture Flow multiphysics interfaces are available under the Heat Transfer > Heat and Moisture Transport branch to couple heat transfer and moisture transport in air by laminar and turbulent flows. The different interfaces couple the laminar and turbulent versions of the single-phase flow interfaces with the Heat Transfer in Moist Air and Moisture Transport in Air interfaces. The Heat and Moisture, Moisture Flow, and Nonisothermal Flow multiphysics coupling nodes handle turbulent mixing as well as heat and moisture wall functions for turbulent flows, and account for temperature and moisture content dependency of material properties in the fluid flow equations in air.

An example that combines heat and moisture flow interfaces.

The evaporative cooling model combines single-phase flow with the Heat Transfer in Moist Air and Moisture Transport in Air interfaces.

The evaporative cooling model combines single-phase flow with the Heat Transfer in Moist Air and Moisture Transport in Air interfaces.

Heat Transfer in Solids and Fluids Interface

The new Heat Transfer in Solids and Fluids interface replaces the heat transfer interface that was previously available exclusively in the Conjugate Heat Transfer multiphysics interface. It has a Solid feature, activated by default on all domains, and a Fluid feature, with an empty selection by default. The settings are optimized for conjugate heat transfer modeling. Use this interface as you plan to build a model incrementally starting from heat transfer only and introducing flow as a second step. This is illustrated in the chip_cooling example of the Introduction to the Heat Transfer Module PDF.

You can also find this functionality in the following models:

A model that includes heat transfer in solids, fluid flow, and surface-to-surface radiation. Temperature profile in the chip cooling tutorial. The accuracy of the model is gradually improved by adding more features in a sequence of steps. Starting from a model that includes only heat transfer in solids, the model is then expanded to include fluid flow and finally surface-to-surface radiation. Temperature profile in the chip cooling tutorial. The accuracy of the model is gradually improved by adding more features in a sequence of steps. Starting from a model that includes only heat transfer in solids, the model is then expanded to include fluid flow and finally surface-to-surface radiation.

Perfectly Insulating Interior Walls

The Thermal Insulation feature is now available on interior boundaries, and it can be used to model thin materials between fluid domains as perfect insulators. The resulting temperature field is discontinuous across such boundaries. You can see this functionality used in the Thermal Insulation on Internal Boundary model.

Ambient Thermal Properties

Ambient properties can be defined from an Ambient Thermal Properties node under Definitions. It contains the Ambient Settings section that was previously available in the Heat Transfer interface. Several Ambient Thermal Properties nodes may be added in a single model. This makes it possible to use ambient properties when no heat transfer interface is present in a model.

In addition, the surface-to-surface interface has been improved so that it is possible to define the solar position by using Ambient Thermal Properties including the date and position of the selected weather station.

A screenshot of the COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.4 GUI with a model of ambient temperature.

A model containing an Ambient Thermal Properties node that defines time-dependent ambient properties. The graph shows the ambient temperature and relative humidity over the two days for which the simulation is run.

A model containing an Ambient Thermal Properties node that defines time-dependent ambient properties. The graph shows the ambient temperature and relative humidity over the two days for which the simulation is run.

Default Solver Settings

There are numerous improvements to the default solver settings for heat transfer. For large nonisothermal flow models, the default multigrid preconditioner settings have been updated with more robust settings that will give computational speedup in some cases. Furthermore, the models containing a Local Thermal Non-Equilibrium coupling now always solve for the coupled two-temperature field variables with better and faster convergence. Accordingly, all models with the Nonisothermal Flow coupling feature have been updated.

Improved Default Plots for Temperature Discontinuities

Additional surface plots are generated by default in the Temperature plot group of 3D models when the Thermal Contact or Thermal Insulation features are active on interior boundaries. This displays the different temperatures on both sides of such boundaries.

A screenshot of the COMSOL GUI with a model of discontinuous temperature. The temperature field seen from two different angles. Since the temperature is discontinuous across the central boundary, the temperature shows different values on the two sides. The temperature field seen from two different angles. Since the temperature is discontinuous across the central boundary, the temperature shows different values on the two sides.

New Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.4 brings several new tutorial models.