转子动力学模块

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.2a 版更新 2 中新增了转子动力学模块。当旋转机械中的不对称性和旋转会造成机械不稳定并引起破坏性共振时,可以使用“结构力学模块”的这一插件产品来模拟这类机械中的各个零部件。下面详细介绍“转子动力学模块”的各项功能及特征。

模拟旋转机械和转子动力学

“转子动力学模块”用于模拟旋转机械中转子及其组件的行为,可分析这类装配的固有频率,以及转子在工作时可能由于失衡而达到临界转速并产生共振的情况。这类仿真可用于研究各种行业常用电器中的旋转零件,包括汽车、航空航天、发电机设备、电气产品及家居用品等行业。

现在“转子动力学模块”作为“结构力学模块”的插件产品提供,可用于分析转子中的共振、应力和应变,以及轴承、圆盘和基座,从而使转子的工作条件保持在可接受的限制范围内。

转子动力学建模的五个新接口

在“模型向导”中,结构力学 节点的转子动力学 节点下引入了五个新接口:

  1. 实心转子: 通过使用此接口中提供的实体单元,可以模拟旋转机械装配中各组成零件的全三维几何表示。你不仅可以在建模过程中包含非线性几何效应,还能同时考虑旋转软化、应力刚化以及轴承颈和配件的变形情况,不过这类问题计算量通常较大。

  2. 梁转子:本接口通过将转子定义为梁,将旋转机械的各组件定义为多个点,提供了更快速且计算量显著减少的解决方案。此接口中的物理场可以使用横截面表面积和惯性矩等转子固有属性来定义。在进行转子动力学分析时,可以根据转子的角速度单独分析轴分量、弯曲分量和扭转分量及其响应。

  3. 液体动压轴承:在对液体动压轴承进行完整建模(包括润滑油膜的影响)时,此接口可用于仅模拟轴承的属性,或与其他接口结合使用(见下文)。通过求解雷诺方程,可以分析轴承颈与轴套之间的润滑油对以下各类液体动压轴承的影响:滑动轴承、椭圆轴承、对开轴承、多油叶轴承、可倾瓦轴承或用户定义的轴承。

  4. 实心转子与液体动压轴承:在此接口中,可以使用实心转子 接口并基于实体单元来模拟三维转子;并基于液体动压轴承 接口来模拟液体动压轴承。

  5. 梁转子与液体动压轴承:在此接口中,可以使用“梁转子”接口并基于梁单元来模拟类似转子的结构;并基于“液体动压轴承”接口来模拟液体动压轴承。

除了液体动压轴承,还可以将其他组件的行为作为许多具体特征中的集总参数进行模拟。这些组件包括轴颈轴承、推力轴承和基座。

“模型向导”中的 结构力学节点,其中显示了新增的 转子动力学子节点及其包含的接口。

“模型向导”中的 结构力学节点,其中显示了新增的 转子动力学子节点及其包含的接口。

“模型向导”中的 结构力学节点,其中显示了新增的 转子动力学子节点及其包含的接口。

多种研究类型帮助分析各种转子动力学应用

使用“转子动力学模块”时,对静态和动态的判断在很大程度上取决于观察者在转子共转框架中的角度。在常见的结构力学设置中,如需考虑惯性力,可以使用各种形式的动态分析。由于转子动力学各接口是基于共转框架形成的,因此某些惯性效应已作为静载荷来考虑。由此,在共转观察者视为稳态的条件下旋转的转子就无需执行动态分析。这种简化操作是“转子动力学模块”提供的主要优势之一。

另一方面,像重力这种在空间框架中固定的载荷,从共转角度来看,将发生谐波变化并产生动态激励。

在分析旋转机械时,“转子动力学模块”提供了以下研究类型用于静态分析和动态分析:

  • 稳态研究
  • 特征频率研究
  • 频域研究
  • 时域研究
  • 带 FFT 的瞬态研究
回旋图显示了两端由轴承支撑的转子的第三模态。 回旋图显示了两端由轴承支撑的转子的第三模态。
回旋图显示了两端由轴承支撑的转子的第三模态。

通过专用绘图类型为仿真结果创建可视化效果

使用以下新增的专用绘图类型,为仿真结果创建简洁明了的可视化效果:

  • 回旋图:绘制转子在离散旋转间隔绕转子轴的振型。

  • 坎贝尔图:绘制转子特征频率相对于转子转速的变化情况。正向回旋时,特征频率随转子转速的增加而提高;反向回旋时,特征频率则随转速的增加而降低。

  • 瀑布图:绘制频谱和振幅相对于转子角速度的变化情况。

  • 轨道图:绘制转子上某些点的三维轨道图,这些点通常对应于圆盘、轴承等组件的位置。

查看转子动力学模块产品页面,了解更多建模功能。

对曲轴执行转子动力学分析生成的轴承颈轨道图。 对曲轴执行转子动力学分析生成的轴承颈轨道图。
对曲轴执行转子动力学分析生成的轴承颈轨道图。

Rotordynamics Module

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a, update 2 introduces the new Rotordynamics Module. This add-on to the Structural Mechanics Module allows you to model components and parts in rotating machinery where asymmetries and the rotation can lead to instabilities and damaging resonances. Read more about the capabilities and features of the Rotordynamics Module below.

Simulating Rotating Machinery and Rotordynamics

The Rotordynamics Module simulates the behavior of rotors and their components from applications involving rotating machinery. This can include the natural frequencies of such assemblies, as well as in situations where rotor operation can lead to critical speeds and resonance that may or may not depend on unbalances. Such simulations are used to investigate rotating parts in appliances from the automotive, aerospace, power generation, electrical, and household goods industries.

Now available as an add-on to the Structural Mechanics Module, the Rotordynamics Module enables you to analyze resonances, stresses, and strains in rotors, bearings, disks, and foundations, so you can keep conditions within acceptable operating limits.

Five New Interfaces for Modeling Rotordynamics

Five new interfaces have been introduced to the Structural Mechanics node in the Model Wizard, under the Rotordynamics node:

  1. Solid Rotor: Through the use of solid elements, you can use this interface to model full 3D geometrical representations of the contributing parts to a rotating machine's assembly. Although computationally expensive, nonlinear geometric effects can be included, and you can also account for spin softening, stress stiffening, as well as deformations in journals and mountings.

  2. Beam Rotor: This interface allows for faster and less computationally expensive solutions by defining rotors as beams, and the rotating machineries' components as points. Inherent properties about the rotor, such as cross-sectional surface area and moments of inertia, are used to defined the physics in this interface. You can separate the axial, bending, and torsional components of your rotordynamics analysis and their response according to a rotor's angular speed.

  3. Hydrodynamic Bearing: For the full modeling of hydrodynamic bearings, including the effects of the lubricating film, this interface can be used to just model the bearing's properties or be combined with other interfaces (see below). By solving the Reynolds equation, you can analyze the effects of the lubricating oil between journals and bushings for the following hydrodynamic bearing types: plain, elliptic, split-halves, multilobe, tilted-pad bearings, or user defined.

  4. Solid Rotor with Hydrodynamic Bearing: For modeling a 3D rotor, based on solid elements and using the Solid Rotor interface, and hydrodynamic bearings, based on the Hydrodynamic Bearing interface.

  5. Beam Rotor with Hydrodynamic Bearing: For modeling an approximated rotor, based on beam elements and using the Beam Rotor interface; and hydrodynamic bearings, based on the Hydrodynamic Bearing interface.

In addition to hydrodynamic bearings, the behavior of contributing components can also be included as lumped parameters in a number of specific features. This includes journal bearings, thrust bearings, and foundations.

The Structural Mechanics node in the Model Wizard showing the new Rotordynamics subnode and its contributing interfaces.

The Structural Mechanics node in the Model Wizard showing the new Rotordynamics subnode and its contributing interfaces.

The Structural Mechanics node in the Model Wizard showing the new Rotordynamics subnode and its contributing interfaces.

Analyze Your Rotordynamics Applications with a Variety of Study Types

When using the Rotordynamics Module, what is static and what is dynamic is by and large determined by an observer in the frame that is corotating with the rotor. In a general structural mechanics setting, different forms of dynamic analyses are used when inertial forces cannot be ignored. As the rotordynamics interfaces are formulated in a corotating frame, some of the inertial effects are already taken into account as static loads. Thus, a rotor that spins under conditions that are stationary when viewed by a corotating observer does not require a dynamic analysis. This simplification is one of the fundamental benefits with using the Rotordynamics Module.

On the other hand, a load that is fixed in the spatial frame, like gravity, will have a harmonic variation when seen from the corotating perspective and provides a dynamic excitation.

The Rotordynamics Module offers the following study types for both static and dynamic analyses when analyzing rotating machinery:

  • Stationary study
  • Eigenfrequency study
  • Frequency Domain study
  • Time Domain study
  • Transient with FFT study
A whirl plot showing the third mode of a supported rotor with two bearings at the ends. A whirl plot showing the third mode of a supported rotor with two bearings at the ends.
A whirl plot showing the third mode of a supported rotor with two bearings at the ends.

Visualize Your Results with Dedicated Plot Types

Create clear and concise visualizations of your simulation results using newly included and dedicated plot types:

  • Whirl plots: Plot the mode shapes of the rotor rotated about the rotor axis at discrete rotation intervals.

  • Campbell plots: Plot variations of the eigenfrequencies of the rotor with respect to rotor speed. In forward whirl, the eigenfrequency increases with the rotor speed, whereas in backward whirl, the eigenfrequency decreases with the rotor speed.

  • Waterfall plots: Plot variations of the frequency spectrum and amplitude against the angular speed of the rotor.

  • Orbit plots: Plot 3D orbits of certain points on the rotor, which often relate to a component's position, such as disks, bearings, etc.

View the Rotordynamics Module product page to see what else you can model.

Journal orbits corresponding to a rotordynamics analysis of a crankshaft. Journal orbits corresponding to a rotordynamics analysis of a crankshaft.
Journal orbits corresponding to a rotordynamics analysis of a crankshaft.