AC/DC 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本针对“AC/DC 模块”的用户新增了一个静电,边界元 物理场接口、一个稳态源扫描 研究步骤以及多个教学模型。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“AC/DC 模块”的所有更新。

新的物理场接口:静电,边界元

新增的静电,边界元 接口用于构建和求解不适宜采用有限元法 (FEM) 的模型,此接口基于边界元法 (BEM),可用于二维和三维模型中,它使用标量电势作为因变量,对电势求解拉普拉斯方程。这个新接口可用作静电 接口的替代,计算电介质中的电势分布,对于难以剖分网格的结构,使用这个接口尤其方便。请注意,边界上的电势分布必须显式定义,因此您需要使域内的材料数据保持恒定。

通过使用边界电势耦合 多物理场节点,静电,边界元 接口还可与基于有限元的静电 接口结合使用。例如,您可以耦合使用这两个接口考虑无限空间的效应,而不必使用无限元域 特征。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本中使用边界元创建的模型示例。 使用边界元模拟的可调电容器的静电特性。电场和电势显示为箭头图,感应的表面电荷密度绘制在电极表面。此仿真中使用边界元法可避免定义有限建模域和边界,还避免了对电容器的薄体积剖分网格。 使用边界元模拟的可调电容器的静电特性。电场和电势显示为箭头图,感应的表面电荷密度绘制在电极表面。此仿真中使用边界元法可避免定义有限建模域和边界,还避免了对电容器的薄体积剖分网格。

有关使用静电,边界元 接口的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
ACDC_Module/Capacitive_Devices/capacitor_tunable

新的研究步骤:稳态源扫描

一个新的稳态源扫描 定制研究可用于更快速计算静电,电流 接口和静电,边界元 接口中的集总参数。对于直接求解器,此研究重用系统矩阵的 LU 分解,由此速度比之前的端口扫描实现快了数倍。使用迭代求解器时的速度也得到了提升。

显示“触摸屏仿真”App 底层模型的 COMSOL 软件图形用户界面屏幕截图。

“AC/DC 模块”的“案例库”中的“触摸屏仿真”App 计算了手指(表示为造影)接触到触摸屏时产生的电容矩阵。手指的位置和方位通过输入参数进行控制,计算了产生的电容矩阵。图中显示了用于构建“触摸屏仿真”App 的底层模型。此模型现在使用 稳态源扫描 研究步骤,使求解的速度快了许多。

“AC/DC 模块”的“案例库”中的“触摸屏仿真”App 计算了手指(表示为造影)接触到触摸屏时产生的电容矩阵。手指的位置和方位通过输入参数进行控制,计算了产生的电容矩阵。图中显示了用于构建“触摸屏仿真”App 的底层模型。此模型现在使用 稳态源扫描 研究步骤,使求解的速度快了许多。

有关使用稳态源扫描 研究步骤的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
ACDC_Module/Applications/touchscreen_simulator

混合 BEM/FEM 问题的求解器支持

有时,多物理场问题可以通过同一种数值方法来求解,然而,有些时候,对不同物理场使用不同数值方法(边界元法 (BEM) 和有限元法 (FEM))可以得到最佳求解。如果矩阵存储时,FEM 部分采用最佳稀疏格式,BEM 部分采用密集矩阵或无矩阵格式,则可使用混合 BEM/FEM 模型。这样可以对矩阵的各个 FEM 和 BEM 部分使用单独的预条件器/平滑器。

例如,可以使用带有混合预条件器的有效迭代求解器。FEM 部分可以照常进行自由预处理,而 BEM 部分可以与上述一个预条件器共同用于近场矩阵。迭代方法通过基于混合矩阵的方法/无矩阵方法来计算残差,从而优化利用各种快速矩阵矢量积。

新教学模型:电容式位置传感器(边界元和有限元)

“AC/DC 模块”的“案例库”中新增了两个静电教学模型,解释了如何通过新增的稳态源扫描 研究步骤提取集总矩阵,同时还展现了使用 BEM 的优势。

其中计算了五终端系统的电容矩阵,将其用于标识金属物体的位置。还演示了额外的研究特征和建模技术,如对终端子集进行扫描。这两个模型中还比较了使用直接求解器和迭代求解器如何影响研究的性能。

其中使用以下两个不同的物理场接口比较了 FEM 和 BEM:静电静电,边界元。在使用 FEM 时,需要对一部分周围空气体积进行网格剖分;而使用 BEM 时则不需要。BEM 仅要求对导体表面以及电介质属性发生变化的界面进行网格剖分。

“电容式位置传感器”教学模型的结果图。

“电容式位置传感器”模型中使用 静电,边界元接口的结果。电场显示为箭头方向和大小;电势显示为箭头和传感器表面色(彩虹色图)。在测试金属块上绘制了感应的表面电荷密度(“木星北极光”颜色图)。

“电容式位置传感器”模型中使用 静电,边界元接口的结果。电场显示为箭头方向和大小;电势显示为箭头和传感器表面色(彩虹色图)。在测试金属块上绘制了感应的表面电荷密度(“木星北极光”颜色图)。

如需“电容式位置传感器”模型,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
ACDC_Module/Tutorials/capacitive_position_sensor
ACDC_Module/Tutorials/capacitive_position_sensor_bem

新教学模型:三维电感的轴对称近似

高频的感应装置会在导体之间感应出电容耦合。要模拟这一现象,要求所描述的电场具有与导线平行和垂直的分量。这一考虑可能会产生这样的结论,即模拟这种现象始终需要三维模型,即使线圈呈螺旋状时也是如此,但事实并非如此。

此三维电感示例演示如何通过轴对称仿真来提取与三维电感的自谐振有关的信息。为了得到正确的二维轴对称模型,此示例中创建了一个有效的轴对称磁芯,并利用了RLC 线圈组 特征。这个精益方法特别适合研究如传感器或变压器等包含成千上万匝线圈的系统,由此降低了计算成本。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本中新增的“三维电感的轴对称近似”教程。 电感的旋转二维轴对称仿真的三维视图。仿真显示了 6.5 MHz 时的结果,接近于自谐振。图中显示磁芯中的磁通密度(彩虹色图)和绕组表面的损耗密度(单位:W/m3)(“热摄影机”颜色图)。箭头图显示了电场。 电感的旋转二维轴对称仿真的三维视图。仿真显示了 6.5 MHz 时的结果,接近于自谐振。图中显示磁芯中的磁通密度(彩虹色图)和绕组表面的损耗密度(单位:W/m3)(“热摄影机”颜色图)。箭头图显示了电场。

如需“三维电感的轴对称近似”模型,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
ACDC_Module/Inductive_Devices_and_Coils/axisymmetric_approximation_of_inductor_3d

新教学模型:三维永磁电机

永磁 (PM) 电机用于电动汽车和混合动力汽车等许多高端应用中,它其中有一个重要的设计局限,即在电流引起热损耗(尤其是涡流)进而导致高温时,磁体对此相当敏感。

这个模型模拟了三维 18 极永磁电机,用于准确捕获永磁体中的涡流损耗。几何的中心部分包含转子和部分空气间隙,以相对于定子坐标系旋转的方式建模。利用扇区对称和轴向镜像对称来减少计算量,同时仍能确保捕获设备的全三维特性。

还使用了一个因变量来计算和存储磁体中的涡流损耗密度的时间积分。结果稍后用作单独传热分析中的分布式、时间平均热源,其中的热时间尺度通常比涡流损耗中的大得多。

使用“AC/DC 模块”模拟的三维永磁电机。

永磁电机的全几何描述,其中包含线圈(铜);转子和定子(灰色)以及永磁体(红色和蓝色,具体取决于径向的磁化)。磁通密度 B 显示为包含相关颜色图例的箭头图。

永磁电机的全几何描述,其中包含线圈(铜);转子和定子(灰色)以及永磁体(红色和蓝色,具体取决于径向的磁化)。磁通密度 B 显示为包含相关颜色图例的箭头图。
 

永磁电机的动画,其中包含线圈(铜);转子和定子(灰色)以及永磁体(红色和蓝色,具体取决于径向的磁化)。磁通密度 B 显示为包含相关颜色图例的箭头图。

 

扇区循环的动画,其中显示磁体中的涡流(白色)、磁通密度 B (“热光”颜色图)和线圈电流(灰色)的箭头图。表面图(“热摄影机”颜色图)显示了磁体中的时均涡流损耗密度。

如需“三维永磁电机”模型,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
ACDC_Module/Motors_and_Actuators/pm_motor_3d

新教学模型:磁力开关的电动力学

过电流或过载等电事故会严重地破坏电路或输电线。为避免损害关键零件,可以安装电路开关断路器。只要电流达到临界值,断路器立即移动柱塞,从而以机械方式切断强大的电流。断路器与保险丝完全不同,在为保护周围的电气部件而激活后,保险丝必须替换掉,而断路器只需重置即可。

此教学模型的主要目的是模拟磁路开关这种断路器,研究其工作原理和可能的解。在这个机电装置中,绕在铁柱塞上的线圈中流过电流,产生磁引力,从而移动铁柱塞。切断驱动电流就可以使开关重置回其初始状态。

此模型模拟磁力影响下的刚体动力学、感应电流和维持柱塞在其平衡位置的弹簧/约束布置。铜线圈置于下方 E 磁芯的中心臂上,保持固定。当电流流经线圈时,在上方 E 磁芯中产生磁引力(移动柱塞),由预应力弹簧维持适当控制。当磁引力达到阈值时,柱塞移向下方的 E 磁芯,使空气间隙闭合。此模型演示了如何正确模拟与弹簧刚度相关的移动和闭合时间。

 
磁力开关的瞬态特性。当线圈电流增加时,铁柱塞受力下移。柱塞停止时,磁通量继续使磁芯饱和。

如需“磁力开关”模型,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
ACDC_Module/Motors_and_Actuators/power_switch

新教学模型:带电容负载的运算放大器

运算放大器 (op-amp) 是一种差动电压放大器,在模拟电子学方面有着广泛应用。此教程模拟了与反馈回路及电容负载相连的运算放大器。

运算放大器模拟为电路 接口中插入到外部电路的等效线性子电路。此模型部分基于 SPICE 格式。仿真时间为 10 ms,每隔 0.05 ms 输出一次数据。运算放大器的内部动力与反馈网格发生相互作用,产生输出信号的振铃(阶跃响应)。

源自“带电容负载的运算放大器”教学模型的绘图。 输入阶跃电压 0.5 V,测量通过负载电容器的输出电压。负载电容器上测得的电压表现为阻尼振荡。 输入阶跃电压 0.5 V,测量通过负载电容器的输出电压。负载电容器上测得的电压表现为阻尼振荡。

如需“带电容负载的运算放大器”模型,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
ACDC_Module/Tutorials/opamp_capacitive_load

新教学模型:电缆教程系列

新版本中增加一组教程,研究标准三芯铅护层 XLPE HVAC(交联聚乙烯、高压交流电)海底电缆 (500 mm2, 220 kV) 的电容属性、电感属性和热属性,包含六个模型及其文档。此系列教程旨在使专业人士迅速了解如何在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中模拟这类应用,也适用于对涉及电缆的电磁现象及其模拟方式感兴趣的学生和工程人员。

此系列教程中,首先介绍了相关的物理基本原理,然后加入须考虑的物理因素和特性,逐渐提高了复杂度。其中除了讨论有关电缆的电磁模拟(如充电电流、接合类型、铠装扭转及温度依存性)以外,还提供了模拟电磁学及相关方法时的许多要点。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本中新增的“电缆教程系列”屏幕截图。 模拟的三芯铅护层电缆,同时考虑了地表周围的环境。电缆内部的温度分布显示为几何上方的三维颜色图。 模拟的三芯铅护层电缆,同时考虑了地表周围的环境。电缆内部的温度分布显示为几何上方的三维颜色图。

“案例下载”链接:电缆教程系列

“电缆教程系列”模型的“案例库”路径:
ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_01_introduction
ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_02_capacitive_effects
ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_03_bonding_capacitive
ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_04_inductive_effects
ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_05_bonding_inductive
ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_06_thermal_effects

AC/DC Module Updates

For users of the AC/DC Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 brings a new Electrostatics, Boundary Elements physics interface, a new Stationary Source Sweep study step, and several new tutorial models. Review all of the AC/DC Module updates in more detail below.

New Physics Interface: Electrostatics, Boundary Elements

The new Electrostatics, Boundary Elements interface has been developed for building and running models that are not well suited for the finite element method (FEM). The formulation is based on the boundary element method (BEM). The physics interface, available in 2D and 3D, solves Laplace's equation for the electric potential using the scalar electric potential as the dependent variable. This new interface can be used as an alternative to the Electrostatics interface for computing the potential distribution in dielectrics, and is particularly convenient for structures that are difficult to mesh. Note that the electric potential distribution on the boundaries must be explicitly defined, so you need constant material data within the domains.

The Electrostatics, Boundary Elements interface can also be combined with the finite-element-based Electrostatics interface, using the Boundary Electric Potential Coupling multiphysics node. As an example, you could use a combination of the two interfaces to include the effects of an infinite space instead of using the Infinite Element Domain feature.

An example of a model created with boundary elements in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3. The electrostatic behavior of a tunable capacitor modeled using boundary elements. The electric field and potential are shown as an arrow plot, while the induced surface charge density is plotted on the electrode surfaces. Using the boundary element method for this simulation negates the need for defining a finite modeling domain and boundary as well as meshing the thin volume of the capacitor. The electrostatic behavior of a tunable capacitor modeled using boundary elements. The electric field and potential are shown as an arrow plot, while the induced surface charge density is plotted on the electrode surfaces. Using the boundary element method for this simulation negates the need for defining a finite modeling domain and boundary as well as meshing the thin volume of the capacitor.

Application Library path for an example using the Electrostatics, Boundary Elements interface:
ACDC_Module/Capacitive_Devices/capacitor_tunable

New Study Step: Stationary Source Sweep

A new Stationary Source Sweep custom study is available for faster calculation of lumped parameters in the Electrostatics, Electric Currents and Electrostatics, Boundary Elements interfaces. For direct solvers, it reuses the LU decomposition of the system matrix, making it several times faster than the previous port sweep implementation. The speed when using an iterative solver has also been improved.

A screenshot of the COMSOL software GUI showing the underlying model of the Touchscreen Simulator app.

The Touchscreen Simulator application in the AC/DC Module Application Library computes the capacitance matrix of a touchscreen in the presence of a human finger, represented by a phantom. The position and orientation of the finger are controlled via input parameters and the resulting capacitance matrix is evaluated. The image shows the underlying model used to build the Touchscreen Simulator app. The model now uses the Stationary Source Sweep study step, which provides a far faster solution.

The Touchscreen Simulator application in the AC/DC Module Application Library computes the capacitance matrix of a touchscreen in the presence of a human finger, represented by a phantom. The position and orientation of the finger are controlled via input parameters and the resulting capacitance matrix is evaluated. The image shows the underlying model used to build the Touchscreen Simulator app. The model now uses the Stationary Source Sweep study step, which provides a far faster solution.

Application Library path for an example using the Stationary Source Sweep study step:
ACDC_Module/Applications/touchscreen_simulator

Solver Support for Hybrid BEM/FEM Problems

Sometimes, multiphysics problems can be solved with one numerical method, but are optimally solved using different numerical methods — the boundary element method (BEM) and finite element method (FEM) — for the different physics. Hybrid BEM/FEM models can be used where the matrix storage is the optimal sparse format for the FEM part and a dense or matrix-free format for the BEM part. This makes it possible to use a separate preconditioner/smoother for the individual FEM and BEM parts of the matrix.

It is possible, for example, to use an efficient iterative solver with a hybrid preconditioner. The FEM part can rather freely be preconditioned as usual while the BEM part can be used with one of the aforementioned preconditioners for the near-field matrix. The iterative method computes the residual with a hybrid matrix-based/matrix-free method, making optimal use of different sorts of fast matrix-vector products.

New Tutorial Models: Capacitive Position Sensor (Boundary Elements and Finite Elements)

Two new electrostatic tutorial models in the AC/DC Module Application Library explain how to extract lumped matrices by means of the new Stationary Source Sweep study step, while also showing the benefits of using BEM.

The capacitance matrix of a five-terminal system is computed and used to identify the position of a metallic object. Extra study features and modeling techniques are showcased, such as sweeping on a subset of the terminals. The models also compare how the study’s performance is affected when using direct and iterative solvers.

The tutorial models further compare using FEM with BEM using two different physics interfaces: Electrostatics and Electrostatics, Boundary Elements. When FEM is used, a volumetric mesh of a portion of the surrounding air is necessary; when using BEM, it is not necessary. BEM requires only the meshing of the conductor surfaces and at the interfaces where dielectric properties change.

A results plot from the Capacitive Position Sensor tutorial model.

Results from the Capacitive Position Sensor model using the Electrostatics, Boundary Elements interface. The electric field is shown as the arrow direction and size; the electric potential is shown through the arrow and sensor surface color (Rainbow color plot). On the test metal block, the induced surface charge density is plotted (Jupiter Aurora Borealis color plot).

Results from the Capacitive Position Sensor model using the Electrostatics, Boundary Elements interface. The electric field is shown as the arrow direction and size; the electric potential is shown through the arrow and sensor surface color (Rainbow color plot). On the test metal block, the induced surface charge density is plotted (Jupiter Aurora Borealis color plot).

Application Library paths for the Capacitive Position Sensor models:
ACDC_Module/Tutorials/capacitive_position_sensor
ACDC_Module/Tutorials/capacitive_position_sensor_bem

New Tutorial Model: Axisymmetric Approximation of a 3D Inductor

Inductive devices experience capacitative coupling between conductors at high frequencies. Modeling this phenomenon requires that you describe electric fields that have components both parallel with and perpendicular to the wire. This consideration might lead to the conclusion that a 3D model is always necessary to model the phenomenon, even if the coil is a helix, which is actually not the case.

The 3D inductor example demonstrates how to extract information related to the self-resonance of a 3D inductor by means of an axisymmetric simulation. In order to achieve a correct 2D axisymmetric model, an effective axisymmetric core is created, and the RLC Coil Group feature is employed. This lean method is particularly suitable for studying systems with thousands of turns, such as sensors or transformers, thus keeping the computational costs low.

The Axisymmetric Approximation of a 3D Inductor tutorial, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3. A 3D view of a revolved 2D axisymmetric simulation of an inductor. The simulation shows the results at 6.5 MHz, which is near self-resonance. Shown is the magnetic flux density in the core (Rainbow color plot) and the loss density (in W/m3) on the surface of the winding (Heat Camera color plot). The arrow plot shows the electric field. A 3D view of a revolved 2D axisymmetric simulation of an inductor. The simulation shows the results at 6.5 MHz, which is near self-resonance. Shown is the magnetic flux density in the core (Rainbow color plot) and the loss density (in W/m3) on the surface of the winding (Heat Camera color plot). The arrow plot shows the electric field.

Application Library path for the Axisymmetric Approximation of a 3D Inductor model:
ACDC_Module/Inductive_Devices_and_Coils/axisymmetric_approximation_of_inductor_3d

New Tutorial Model: Permanent Magnet Motor in 3D

Permanent magnet (PM) motors are used in many high-end applications, such as in electric and hybrid vehicles, for example. An important design limitation is that the magnets are sensitive to high temperatures, which can occur through heat losses caused by currents — in particular, eddy currents.

Here, an 18-pole PM motor is modeled in 3D to accurately capture eddy current losses in the magnets. The central part of the geometry, containing the rotor and part of the air gap, is modeled as rotating relative to the coordinate system of the stator. Sector symmetry and axial mirror symmetry are leveraged to reduce the computational effort while still capturing the full 3D behavior of the device.

An additional dependent variable is used to compute and store the time integral of the eddy current loss density in the magnets. This could later be used as a distributed, time-averaged heat source in a separate heat transfer analysis, where the thermal time scale is typically much larger than that of the eddy current losses.

A permanent magnet motor modeled in 3D using the AC/DC Module.

Depiction of the full geometry of the permanent magnet motor with coils (copper); rotor and stator (gray); and permanent magnets (red and blue, depending on the radial magnetization). The magnetic flux density, B, is shown as an arrow plot with its associated color legend.

Depiction of the full geometry of the permanent magnet motor with coils (copper); rotor and stator (gray); and permanent magnets (red and blue, depending on the radial magnetization). The magnetic flux density, B, is shown as an arrow plot with its associated color legend.
 

Animation of the permanent magnet motor with coils (copper); rotor and stator (gray); and permanent magnets (red and blue, depending on the radial magnetization). The magnetic flux density, B, is shown as an arrow plot with its associated color legend.

 

Animation of a sector cycle showing arrow plots of eddy currents in the magnet (white), magnetic flux density B (Thermal Light color plot), and coil current (gray). The surface plot (Heat Camera color plot) shows the time-averaged eddy current loss density in the magnet.

Application Library path for the Permanent Magnet Motor in 3D model:
ACDC_Module/Motors_and_Actuators/pm_motor_3d

New Tutorial Model: Electrodynamics of a Magnetic Power Switch

Electrical events, such as an overcurrent or overload, can seriously damage electrical circuits or power lines. To avoid expensive replacements of critical parts, electric switch circuit breakers can be installed. These mechanically interrupt the current flow or surge by moving a plunger as soon as a critical current is reached. In contrast to a fuse, which has to be replaced after it has been activated to protect the surrounding electrical components, a circuit breaker can be reset.

The main purpose of this tutorial model is to explore the working principle and some possible solutions for modeling one class of circuit breaker: magnetic power switches. This is an electromechanical device in which iron plungers are moved by means of the magnetic attraction exerted by current flowing in coils surrounding it. Turning off the driving current resets the switch to its initial state.

The model simulates rigid body dynamics under the influence of magnetic forces, induced currents, and spring/constraint arrangements that keep the plunger in its equilibrium position. A copper coil is placed on the central leg of a lower E-core, which is kept fixed. As current flows in the coil, an attractive force is exerted on the upper E-core (the moving plunger), which is held in place by a prestressed spring. When the force reaches a threshold value, the plunger moves toward the lower E-core, closing the air gap. The model illustrates how to properly simulate the movement and the closing time, which depends on the spring stiffness.

 
Transient behavior of a magnetic power switch. As the coil current increases, the iron plunger is pulled down. After the plunger comes to a halt, magnetic flux continues to saturate the core.

Application Library path for the Magnetic Power Switch model:
ACDC_Module/Motors_and_Actuators/power_switch

New Tutorial Model: Operational Amplifier with Capacitive Load

An operational amplifier (op-amp) is a differential voltage amplifier with a wide range of applications in analog electronics. This tutorial models an op-amp connected to a feedback loop and a capacitive load.

The op-amp is modeled as an equivalent linear subcircuit in the Electrical Circuit interface where it is inserted into an outer circuit. The model is partially based on the SPICE format. The model is simulated for 10 ms with data output every 0.05 ms. The internal dynamics of the op-amp interact with the feedback network, causing ringing in the output signal (step response).

A plot from the Operational Amplifier with Capacitive Load tutorial model. The output voltage across the load capacitor is measured for a step voltage input of 0.5 V. The measured voltage across the load capacitor exhibits damped oscillations. The output voltage across the load capacitor is measured for a step voltage input of 0.5 V. The measured voltage across the load capacitor exhibits damped oscillations.

Application Library path for the Operational Amplifier with Capacitive Load model:
ACDC_Module/Tutorials/opamp_capacitive_load

New Tutorial Models: Cable Tutorial Series

A new set of tutorials consisting of six models and associated documentation investigates the capacitive, inductive, and thermal properties of a standard three-core lead-sheathed XLPE HVAC (cross-linked polyethylene, high-voltage alternating current) submarine cable (500 mm2, 220 kV). The series is intended both for experts looking to get up to speed on how to model such applications in COMSOL Multiphysics® and for students and engineers interested in the electromagnetic phenomena associated with cables and how they can be modeled.

The series starts by going over the fundamental principles of the physics involved and then increases in complexity based on additional physical factors and behavior that could be considered. Apart from discussing electromagnetic modeling in relation to cables — such as charging currents, bonding types, armor twists, and temperature dependency — a lot of attention is also given to modeling electromagnetism and the methods involved.

A screenshot from the Cable Tutorial Series, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3. A three-core lead-sheathed cable is modeled considering its environment surrounded by earth. The temperature distribution inside the cable is shown as a 3D color plot above geometry. A three-core lead-sheathed cable is modeled considering its environment surrounded by earth. The temperature distribution inside the cable is shown as a 3D color plot above geometry.

Application Gallery link: Cable Tutorial Series

Application Library path for the models in the Cable Tutorial Series:
ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_01_introduction ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_02_capacitive_effects ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_03_bonding_capacitive ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_04_inductive_effects ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_05_bonding_inductive ACDC_Module/Tutorials,Cables/submarine_cable_06_thermal_effects