研究和求解器更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本新增了一个用于 CFD 仿真的求解器,以及一个用于电磁和腐蚀边界元法仿真的求解器。请阅读以下内容,了解 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本中有关研究和求解器的所有更新。

CFD 的代数多重网格 (AMG) 求解器

平滑聚集代数多重网格 (SA-AMG) 方法已扩展为与 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中 CFD 的以下专用平滑器配合使用:SCGS、Vanka 和 SOR 线。

使用几何多重网格 (GMG) 求解器时需要考虑三个级别的网格,对于复杂几何和尺寸,在网格剖分和求解时经常会出现问题。而 SA-AMG 求解器只需要一个网格层,对于大型问题和“复杂”几何来说,这使网格剖分过程变得简单许多,使求解过程变得稳定许多。

例如,在太阳能电池板的流-固耦合模型(见图)中,支撑电池板的支杆和梁与周围的空气域相比较小。这个尺寸差异导致很难对空气域以及较小的零件和组件进行网格剖分,如果要创建三个不同尺寸的网格,将更加困难。SA-AMG 求解器只需要一个网格层,更容易获得。

自适应与网格剖分序列和误差估计集成

修订了稳态、参数化和特征值问题的 h 自适应算法,从而可以节省中间解和网格。此外,得到的自适应网格现在以网格剖分特征为基础,可以在需要时从自动求解过程无缝切换到手动自适应。

为了实现这一点,引入了两个网格剖分特征:适应尺寸表达式适应 特征根据解中的错误表达式或所需网格单元尺寸的表达式来细化网格。或者,通过将尺寸表达式 节点添加到“模型开发器”的网格剖分序列,可以使用表达式改变整个建模空间的单元尺寸。请参阅网格更新页面,了解更多详细信息。

适应功能和误差估计也已统一,这样,适应方法使用的误差估计现在可用作对结果进行后处理的因变量。此外,现在也可以对(偏微分方程残差)的 L2 误差估计进行后处理。

功能提升进一步促使网格初始化 方法现在能够对网格执行自适应操作,而不仅仅是三角形和四面体类型。之所以能够实现这一点是因为自适应网格是通过参考 特征构建的,同时保留了原始网格序列以及新的尺寸表达式 网格剖分特征。

如有需要,常规细化最长细化 方法现在还可以自动将网格转换为三角形或四面体。这意味着用户不需要向网格剖分序列添加任何转换 特征。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本中使用自适应网格细化功能的基准模型。 这一 Euler Bump 基准模型现在使用 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中新增的自适应网格细化功能。 这一 Euler Bump 基准模型现在使用 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中新增的自适应网格细化功能。


有关使用新的自适应网格细化的 App,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
CFD_Module/High_Mach_Number_Flow/euler_bump

边界元法问题的快速迭代求解器

密集直接求解器现在可用于求解最适用于通过边界元法 (BEM) 求解的问题,这对于不太适用于有限元法 (FEM) 建模的 App 非常有用。

该直接求解器的求解时间大约与问题中自由度 (DOF) 的立方成正比。换句话说,求解时间会随着问题尺寸的增大而显著增加。为了缓解这一状况,根据快速矩阵-矢量乘法为迭代求解器提供了支持,从而能够使用所谓的 ACAACA+ 压缩来压缩矩阵。这些替代方案对应于两种不同版本的自适应交叉近似方法,这是基于远场近似的一种快速矩阵乘法方法。

软件提供了两个预条件器:稀疏近似逆 (SAI)直接预条件器,这两个预条件器都可用于所谓的矩阵的近场部分。矩阵的近场部分是稀疏的,与全矩阵相比,存储和求解所需的内存少很多。SAI 预条件器是一个显式预条件器示例,近似于矩阵逆,而不是矩阵本身。直接预条件器使用更常见的矩阵 LU 分解。

BEM 已在用于求解偏微分方程的常规物理场接口中实现,用于求解 AC/DC 模块中的静电 App,还用于求解腐蚀模块电镀模块中的电化学电流密度 App。

使用 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本中的 BEM 模拟的石油钻塔,重叠部分显示牺牲阳极的放大图。 使用边界元法 (BEM) 对海水中石油钻塔的静电属性进行建模。诸如尺寸、零件数和几何的常规复杂度以及钻塔所在的无限区域,这些参数都使这样一个示例优先选用 BEM 进行建模。重叠部分是石油钻塔的部分放大,显示了诸如牺牲阳极(大型钻塔结构旁的细杆)等更详细的部分。 使用边界元法 (BEM) 对海水中石油钻塔的静电属性进行建模。诸如尺寸、零件数和几何的常规复杂度以及钻塔所在的无限区域,这些参数都使这样一个示例优先选用 BEM 进行建模。重叠部分是石油钻塔的部分放大,显示了诸如牺牲阳极(大型钻塔结构旁的细杆)等更详细的部分。


有关使用 BEM 的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
ACDC_Module/Capacitive_Devices/capacitor_tunable_
_ACDC_Module/Applications/touchscreen_simulator_
_ACDC_Module/Tutorials/capacitive_pressure_sensor_bem

混合 BEM/FEM 问题的求解器支持

有时,多物理场问题可以通过只一种数值方法来求解,然而,针对不同物理场使用不同数值方法(边界元法 (BEM) 和有限元法 (FEM))有可能进行最佳求解。如果矩阵存储是 FEM 部分的最佳稀疏格式,并且是 BEM 部分的密集或无矩阵格式,则可使用混合 BEM/FEM 模型。这样可以对矩阵的各个 FEM 和 BEM 部分使用单独的预条件器/平滑器。

例如,可以使用带有混合预条件器的有效迭代求解器。FEM 部分可以像往常一样自由地进行预处理,而 BEM 部分可以与上述预条件器之一配合用于近场矩阵。迭代方法通过基于混合矩阵的方法/无矩阵方法来计算残差,从而最大限度地利用不同种类的快速矩阵-矢量产品。

精确边界通量变量的灵敏度

现在可以使用“正演”灵敏度方法从边界通量 变量获得灵敏度贡献,这些是可用于某些物理场接口(例如,质量和传热)的精确边界通量变量。对于这些接口,在其各自的离散化 栏下方选中计算边界通量 复选框以访问和使用这些变量。

组合解

可以将两个解对象组合为一个解或数据集。当后处理需要一个解/数据集时或者需要一个解作为新仿真的输入时,这非常有用。可以组合瞬态、参数化和特征频率解,而这些解可以串联起来,也可以求和。


间断 Galerkin 方法的基于网格的性能改进

实现了多项改进,以加速间断 Galerkin (dG) 方法并减少内存占用。其中一项改进是引入一种新的网格度量方法,用于计算所使用的显式时间步进方法的稳定时间步。该度量值是三角形最大内切圆和四面体最大内切球的直径。这个度量方法可以更好地确定稳定的时间积分中需要什么时间步,同时更好地描述手边用于仿真的网格单元的特征。

通过新的网格质量优化程序实现了第二项改进。此操作过程应与 dG 方法配合使用,以进一步增加显式时间步进方法的稳定时间步。此方法可更改网格,避免单元格过小,否则会限制稳定的时间步。在三维中生成四面体网格时,请使用新的避免过小的单元 网格选项(见图)。


例如,请参阅包含 750 万个自由度 (DOF) 的“通用渡越时间超声波流量计”教学模型。在采用 4 核 Intel® Core™ i7 处理器(频率为 3.60 GHz)且内存为 32 GB 的台式计算机上进行测试运行时,在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.2a 版本中求解声学问题需要 7 小时零 5 分钟,需要 6.0 GB 内存。在 5.3 版本中,使用新的稀疏装配方法,相同的研究求解只需 5 小时零 1 分钟,需要 5.8 GB 内存。这表示速度提升了约 30%,占用的内存也略微减少。

间断 Galerkin 方法的基于多核的性能改进

在多核系统上运行模型时,已经减少了内存占用量,其中使用了残余矢量的新稀疏装配方法。所需内存减少,而且不取决于所使用的 CPU 内核数。此外,初始化期间所需的内存已大大减少。这项改进加速了此方法的运行速度,因为避免了不必要的内存分配。

进一步研究使用多核求解时的内存改进时,除了网格剖分和网格度量参数带来的改进,我们可以比较在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.2a 和 5.3 版本中都求解过的、所使用的网格和时间步完全相同的模型。这里分析了使用立方基函数的椭球内的简单波动方程仿真,使用 6 个内核在 3.60 GHz 的 Intel® Xeon® CPU E5-1650 v4 上进行比较。即使没有网格改进,CPU 时间也减少约 18%。使用更多核心时,预计内存减少会更加明显。

Size Version 5.2a Version 5.3 Improvement
Medium (6.7 MDOF/t = 0.05) 74 sec./4.1 GB 61 sec./3.2 GB 18%/22%
Large (20 MDOF/t = 0.05) 307 sec./10 GB 250 sec./7.3 GB 19%/27%

Intel、Intel Core 和 Xeon 是 Intel Corporation 或其子公司在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

Studies and Solver Updates

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 includes a new solver for CFD simulations and a new solver for electromagnetic and corrosion boundary element method simulations. Browse all of the COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 updates relating to studies and solvers below.

Algebraic Multigrid (AMG) Solver for CFD

The smoothed aggregation algebraic multigrid (SA-AMG) method has been extended to work with the specialized smoothers for CFD in COMSOL Multiphysics®: SCGS, Vanka, and SOR Line.

Use of the alternative geometric multigrid (GMG) solver requires three mesh levels to be considered, which can create issues when trying to mesh and solve models with varying geometries of different sizes. The SA-AMG solver only requires one mesh level, making the meshing process much easier and the solving process much more robust for large problems and "difficult" geometries.

For example, in the fluid-structure interaction model of a solar panel (in the image), the struts and beams supporting the panels are small in comparison to the air domain surrounding it. This difference in dimensions makes it difficult to efficiently mesh the air domain together with the smaller parts and components, which would be made even more difficult if three meshes of different sizes are to be created. The SA-AMG solver requires only one mesh level, which is far easier to obtain.

Adaptation Integrated with Meshing Sequences and Error Estimation

The h-adaptation algorithm for stationary, parametric, and eigenvalue problems has been revised so that you can save the intermediate solutions and meshes. Furthermore, the resulting adapted meshes are now based on meshing features that make it possible to seamlessly switch from the automated solution process to manual adaptation when required.

To achieve this, two new meshing features have been introduced: Adapt and Size Expression. The Adapt feature refines your mesh based on either an expression for the error in your solution or by an expression for the desired mesh element size. Alternatively, the Size Expression node can be added to a meshing sequence in the Model Builder in order to vary element size throughout the modeling space using expressions. See the Mesh Updates page for more details.

The adaptation functionality and error estimation have also been unified such that the error estimates used by the adaptation method are now available as dependent variables to be used for postprocessing the results. Moreover, the L2-error (of the PDE residual) estimate is now also available for postprocessing.

Improvements have further led to the Mesh initialization method now being able to perform adaptation on meshes other than just the triangular and tetrahedral types. This is possible because adapted meshes are built with the Reference feature, which preserves the original mesh sequence together with the new Size Expression meshing feature.

The Regular refinement and Longest refinement methods now also automatically convert the mesh to triangles or tetrahedrons when needed. This means that there is no need for the user to add any Convert features to the meshing sequence.

A benchmark model that uses adaptive mesh refinement functionality in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3. This Euler Bump benchmark model now uses the new adaptive mesh refinement functionality in COMSOL Multiphysics®. This Euler Bump benchmark model now uses the new adaptive mesh refinement functionality in COMSOL Multiphysics®.


Application Library path for an application using new adaptive mesh refinement:
CFD_Module/High_Mach_Number_Flow/euler_bump

Fast Iterative Solver for Boundary Element Method Problems

A dense direct solver is now available for solving problems best solved through the boundary element method (BEM). This is useful for applications not well suited for finite element method (FEM) modeling.

The solution time for this direct solver is approximately proportional to the cube of the number of degrees of freedom (DOF) in the problem. In other words, the solution time increases dramatically with problem size. To mitigate this, support is provided for iterative solvers based on fast matrix-vector multiplication. This enables matrices to be compressed using so-called ACA or ACA+ compression. These alternatives correspond to two different versions of the adaptive cross approximation method, which is a fast matrix multiplication method based on far-field approximations.

Two preconditioners are provided: the Sparse Approximate Inverse (SAI) and Direct Preconditioner. Both of these are exposed to the so-called near-field part of the matrix. The near-field part of the matrix is sparse and requires much less memory to store and solve for than the full matrix. The SAI preconditioner is an example of an explicit preconditioner that approximates the inverse of the matrix and not the matrix itself. The Direct Preconditioner uses the more common LU decomposition of the matrix.

BEM has been implemented in a general physics interface for solving PDEs, an interface for solving electrostatics applications in the AC/DC Module, and for solving electrochemical current density applications in the Corrosion Module and Electrodeposition Module.

An oil rig modeled using BEM in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3, with an overlay that shows a zoomed-in view of the sacrificial anodes. Modeling of the electrostatics properties of an oil rig in seawater using the boundary element method (BEM). The size, number of parts, and general complexity of the geometry, along with the unbounded region that the rig exists in, makes an example like this optimal for modeling with BEM. The overlay is a zoomed-in section of the oil rig that shows the finer details such as the sacrificial anodes, which are the thin rods next to the massive rig structure. Modeling of the electrostatics properties of an oil rig in seawater using the boundary element method (BEM). The size, number of parts, and general complexity of the geometry, along with the unbounded region that the rig exists in, makes an example like this optimal for modeling with BEM. The overlay is a zoomed-in section of the oil rig that shows the finer details such as the sacrificial anodes, which are the thin rods next to the massive rig structure.


Application Library path for examples using BEM:
ACDC_Module/Capacitive_Devices/capacitor_tunable
ACDC_Module/Applications/touchscreen_simulator
ACDC_Module/Tutorials/capacitive_pressure_sensor_bem

Solver Support for Hybrid BEM/FEM Problems

Sometimes, multiphysics problems can be solved with one numerical method, but are optimally solved using different numerical methods — the boundary element method (BEM) and finite element method (FEM) — for the different physics. Hybrid BEM/FEM models can be used where the matrix storage is the optimal sparse format for the FEM part and a dense or matrix-free format for the BEM part. This makes it possible to use a separate preconditioner/smoother for the individual FEM and BEM parts of the matrix.

It is possible, for example, to use an efficient iterative solver with a hybrid preconditioner. The FEM part can rather freely be preconditioned as usual, while the BEM part can be used with one of the aforementioned preconditioners for the near-field matrix. The iterative method computes the residual with a hybrid matrix-based/matrix-free method, making optimal use of different sorts of fast matrix-vector products.

Sensitivity for Accurate Boundary Flux Variables

You can now obtain the sensitivity contribution from the Boundary Flux variables with the Forward sensitivity method. These are the accurate boundary flux variables that are available for some physics interfaces, such as mass and heat transfer. For these interfaces, select the Compute boundary fluxes check box under their respective Discretization sections to access and use these variables.

Combining Solutions

You can combine two solution objects into a single solution or data set. This is useful when one solution/data set is needed for postprocessing or when one solution is needed as an input for a new simulation. Time-dependent, parametric, and eigenfrequency solutions can be combined, and solutions can either be concatenated or summed.


Mesh-Based Performance Improvements in the Discontinuous Galerkin Method

Several improvements have been implemented to both speed up the discontinuous Galerkin (dG) method and to reduce its memory footprint. One improvement is a new mesh metric that is used for the calculation of the stable time step for the explicit time-stepping method that is used. This metric is the diameter of the largest inscribed circle for a triangle and largest inscribed sphere for a tetrahedron. This metric is better at determining what time step is needed in a stable fashion time-integrate and leads to a better characterization of the mesh elements at hand for a simulation.

A second improvement has been achieved through a new mesh quality optimization procedure. This procedure should be used together with the dG method to further increase the stable time step for the explicit time-stepping method. This method changes the mesh to avoid cells that are too small and that would otherwise limit the stable time step. Use the new Avoid too small elements mesh option when generating a tetrahedral mesh in 3D (see image).


As an example, consider the Ultrasound Flow Meter with Generic Time-of-Flight Configuration tutorial model that contains 7.5 million degrees of freedom (DOF). In a test run on a desktop computer with an Intel® Core™ i7 processor at 3.60 GHz with 4 cores and 32 GB of RAM, the acoustics problem is solved in 7 hours and 5 minutes and requires 6.0 GB of RAM in version 5.2a of COMSOL Multiphysics®. In version 5.3, with the new sparse assembly method, the same study solves in 5 hours and 1 minute and requires 5.8 GB of RAM. This represents a speedup of roughly 30% and a slight reduction in memory.

Multicore-Based Performance Improvements in the Discontinuous Galerkin Method

Reduction in memory has been achieved when running models on multicore systems. Here, a new sparse assembly method for the residual vector is used. The required memory is reduced and does not depend on the number of CPU cores that are used. Furthermore, the memory required during initialization has been substantially reduced. This improvement makes the method faster, since unnecessary allocation of memory is avoided.

In a further study of memory improvements when solving using multicores, separate from the improvements provided by the meshing and mesh metric parameters, we can compare a model solved in both COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a and 5.3, where the exact same mesh and time step are used. Here, a simple wave equation simulation inside an ellipsoid using cubic basis functions is considered. The comparison is performed on an Intel® Xeon® CPU E5-1650 v4 at 3.60 GHz using 6 cores. Even without the mesh improvements, the CPU time reduction is around 18%. This memory reduction is expected to be even more pronounced when more cores are used.

Size Version 5.2a Version 5.3 Improvement
Medium (6.7 MDOF/t = 0.05) 74 sec./4.1 GB 61 sec./3.2 GB 18%/22%
Large (20 MDOF/t = 0.05) 307 sec./10 GB 250 sec./7.3 GB 19%/27%


Intel, Intel Core, and Xeon are trademarks of Intel Corporation or its subsidiaries in the U.S. and/or other countries.