传热模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本针对“传热模块”的用户引入了用于模拟空气中热湿传递的新功能、用于频域内传热建模的新求解器,以及可以帮助您更轻松地创建散热器几何的零件库。请阅读以下内容,了解这些传热特征及其他新增功能。

热湿传递

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本包含可进一步扩展空气中热湿传递建模的多个特征,可以在湿空气中的传热水分输送 接口中使用湿空气 特征,用于处理空气中由对流和扩散引起的水分输送,还可以在需要分析湍流湿气对流时处理由涡流扩散系数引起的湍流混合。可以使用热湿 多物理场特征将这两个接口相耦合。在这种情况下,空气中的热湿传递在定义建筑材料的域中会自动耦合。

表面上的水冷凝和蒸发也可能在模拟空气中水分输送的 App 中起重要作用。这些机制不仅会影响蒸汽与水之间的材料平衡,还会对潜热造成的能量平衡产生重大影响。现在可以使用湿表面潮湿表面 边界条件更容易的分析这种现象。

该图显示“谐波扰动”子特征和“频域扰动”研究。 使用预定义的热湿传递特征可大大简化对玻璃杯中由温暖、干燥的气流引起的水分蒸发的建模。 使用预定义的热湿传递特征可大大简化对玻璃杯中由温暖、干燥的气流引起的水分蒸发的建模。

有关使用新特征分析热湿传递的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Heat_Transfer_Module/Phase_Change_/evaporative_cooling

频域中的传热

物体承受给定频率下的周期性正弦热负载时,可以假定物体本身的温度响应也是周期性的、正弦的,并且在平衡温度附近以相同频率变化。这种瞬态周期性问题能够被频域中的等效线性稳态问题所替代,从而大大减少计算成本。

传热接口现在支持频域扰动 求解器,用于计算平衡状态附近的谐波温度变化。此外,可以在温度 特征下添加谐波扰动 子特征,用于指定谐波变化。如果选择了谐波扰动 选项,则热源边界热源 特征还可以用作扰动负荷。

散热器的几何零件

冷却设备的经典方法是将散热器连接到设备上,散热器有时与风扇共同作用来加强冷却。“传热模块”中的零件库现在包含不同的参数化几何零件,分别用于以下类型的散热器:销钉翅片、直翅片,或边界尺寸不同的销钉翅片。使用这些新零件,可以很容易地将散热器添加到任何模型中。

“传热模块”零件库中新的散热器零件。 “传热模块”零件库中的散热器零件选择,其中已经选择了带冷却销钉的散热器。 “传热模块”零件库中的散热器零件选择,其中已经选择了带冷却销钉的散热器。

有关使用“传热模块”“零件库”中的零件的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Heat_Transfer_Module/Tutorials/Forced_and_Natural_Convection/chip_cooling

建筑材料和制冷材料

传热模块新增了建筑 材料库,其中提供了建筑物中常用材料的典型吸湿属性和热属性。借助这些材料,我们可以使用建筑材料的实际材料属性快速建立热湿模型(见图)。材料属性包括热容、导热系数、密度、含水量、蒸汽渗透率等。此外,液体和气体 材料库中还新增了两种新的制冷材料:R-134A 和 R-22。

固体中的不可逆变换

当材料暴露于高温或低温环境时,其成份可能会发生不可逆变换,其中部分变换能量可能由于发生的材料变化或化学反应而消耗或释放。固体域 节点下的不可逆变换 属性可用于模拟此类热诱导不可逆变换。通过此特征,可使用温度阈值能量吸收 模型来分析变换。变换过程中维持能量平衡的热量产生或损耗的热量可以通过焓变来考虑。最后,还可以为变换后的状态定义不同的热属性。

传热的巧凑边点单元

在使用有限元法时,单元选择对仿真的精度和性能起关键作用。传热 App 现在已引入巧凑边点单元,其中包含替代(巧凑边点)形函数。这意味着,对于给定的单元阶次,巧凑边点形函数所需的计算资源比同等拉格朗日形函数少,后者通常比前者更准确。对于四面体和三角形网格,这两个函数完全相同。

使用两个或三个垂直平面的对称表面对表面辐射

面对面辐射的对称性 这一全局特征包含新的选项,在表面对表面辐射传热 接口或表面对表面辐射 接口处于活动状态时,这些选项可用于二维和三维模型。通过这个新特征,可以利用多个对称平面,以减小网格尺寸,同时,需要的计算资源也较少。在二维模型中,可以定义两个垂直平面。在三维模型中,可以定义两个垂直平面,使两个平面的交集平行于其中一个轴,也可以定义平行于轴的三个垂直平面。

此外,在面对面辐射的对称性 全局特征中,可以将几何“图形”窗口中的对称平面可视化。这意味着为所有类型的对称定义平面更容易。可通过“图形”窗口中的复选框来显示/隐藏平面。

“面对面辐射的对称性”特征的屏幕截图。

已选中 两个垂直对称平面对称类型选项的 面对面辐射的对称性特征的用户界面。

已选中 两个垂直对称平面对称类型选项的 面对面辐射的对称性特征的用户界面。

圆柱体和球体在外部流动中的新相关性

对于大多数对流冷却仿真,需要计算周围流体中的传热及流速。但是,当所研究配置的对流分量的传热系数已知时,仅对固相中的传热建模并使用边界处的传热系数,能够以较低的计算成本达到较高的精度。在以前版本的 COMSOL® 软件中,选择对流热通量 属性,然后选择热通量 属性中的板,平均传递系数板,局部传递系数 选项时,可以使用此功能。现在,在外部强制对流 下拉菜单中定义传热系数时,新增了圆柱绕流球体 两个可用选项。

表面对表面辐射模型中的散射辐射和太阳直射辐射

在表面对表面辐射模型中使用漫反射表面漫射镜 特征时,现在可以选择分析太阳散射辐射。在这些特征的“设置”窗口的环境 栏中,如果已选择包括散射辐射,则可以选择正午晴空水平散射辐照度 选项,此贡献已添加到由外部辐射源 特征和正午晴空太阳法向辐照度 选项定义的太阳直接辐射(太阳光直接照在表面)。两种太阳辐射属性都在物理场接口的环境设置 栏中定义。

自动计算等效对流热导率的温差

在传热接口的流体 特征中,在 Nusselt 数关联性下选择来自下方加热的水平腔体垂直矩形腔体 选项时,等效对流热导率 栏提供一个新选项自动,用于计算瑞利数温差。软件通过找到域边界最高温度与最低温度之间的差来自动确定温差。

薄层特征中的瞬态项

薄层 特征中的热厚近似值 选项现在可分析对瞬态能量存储建模的瞬态项,其中需要在瞬态项的热力学 栏中定义层密度层热容 的附加材料属性。当薄层的热容比周围材料的热容大时,此特征可提高模型精度。

薄膜和薄多层壳扩展功能

薄膜薄多层壳 特征现在包含新功能,该功能之前仅适用于固体传热 接口中的薄层 特征。默认情况下,此特征提供热源 子特征及外部温度 子特征,可通过在薄膜 “设置”窗口中选择常规 作为薄膜模型 来使用。 在薄壳传热 接口中,薄膜 特征包含外部温度 子特征,其中新增一个选项,提供上方下方 温度。在薄多层壳 特征的相同接口中,包含热源外部温度 这两个子特征,包括上方下方 温度。

显示“传热模块”中“外部温度”设置的屏幕截图。

外部温度特征的 “设置 ”提供可用来控制壳的每一侧外部温度的选项。

外部温度特征的 “设置 ”提供可用来控制壳的每一侧外部温度的选项。

环境数据的改进

环境数据 功能有三个新的改进,其中,外部辐射源 的用户界面已与环境设置 功能同步。此外,当温度定义 选项设为来自指定温度 时,环境温度已添加为等温域 特征中的特征输入。最后,所有环境数据变量现在都可用作全局变量,并且可以在后处理目的的全局计算中使用。

新教学模型:电子芯片冷却

新教学模型使用“零件库”中的散热器几何,演示研究电子芯片冷却时的不同传热建模方法。在第一部分,只对固体部分建模,而对于对流气流,则使用“对流热通量”边界条件来建模。在第二部分,将模型扩展为包含流道的流体域,以计算假设为非等温特性的流体的耦合温度和速度。在最后一个部分,分析表面对表面辐射以了解其对结果的影响程度。

“传热模块”零件库中的新散热器零件。 连接到芯片的散热器中的温度分布。 连接到芯片的散热器中的温度分布。

“案例库”路径:
Heat_Transfer_Module/Tutorials/Forced_and_Natural_Convection/chip_cooling

Heat Transfer Module Updates

For users of the Heat Transfer Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 includes new functionality to model heat and moisture transport in air, a new solver for modeling heat transfer in the frequency domain, and heat sink geometry parts to more easily create certain geometries. Learn about these heat transfer features and more below.

Heat and Moisture Transport

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 includes several features to further extend the modeling of heat and moisture transport in air. A Moist Air feature is available in the Heat Transfer in Moist Air and Moisture Transport interfaces. This feature handles moisture transport by convection and diffusion in air as well as turbulent mixing caused by eddy diffusivity when you need to account for turbulent moisture convection. The two interfaces can be coupled using the Heat and Moisture multiphysics feature. In this case, moisture and heat transport in air are automatically coupled in domains where building materials are defined.

Water condensation and evaporation on surfaces may also play a significant role in applications simulating moisture transport in air. Not only do these mechanisms influence the material balance between vapor and water, but they also greatly influence the energy balance due to latent heat. This is now easier to account for using the Wet surface and Moist surface boundary conditions.

A collage showing the Harmonic Perturbation subfeature and the Frequency-Domain Perturbation study. The modeling of the evaporation of water in a glass due to warm, dry airflow is greatly simplified using the predefined features for heat and moisture transport. The modeling of the evaporation of water in a glass due to warm, dry airflow is greatly simplified using the predefined features for heat and moisture transport.

Application Library path for an example using the new features for heat and moisture transport:
Heat_Transfer_Module/Phase_Change_/evaporative_cooling

Heat Transfer in the Frequency Domain

When subjected to periodic sinusoidal heat loads at a given frequency, the temperature response of a body can be assumed to be periodic, sinusoidal, and of the same frequency around an equilibrium temperature. This time-dependent periodic problem may be replaced by an equivalent linear steady-state problem in the frequency domain, which is far less computationally expensive.

The heat transfer interfaces now support a Frequency-Domain Perturbation solver that computes the harmonic temperature variations around an equilibrium state. Additionally, a Harmonic Perturbation subfeature can be added under the Temperature feature for prescribing harmonic variations. The Heat Source and Boundary Heat Source features can also act as perturbation loads if the Harmonic Perturbation option is selected.

Geometry Parts for Heat Sinks

A classic way to cool a device is to attach a heat sink to it, which is sometimes combined with a fan to enhance the cooling. The Part Library in the Heat Transfer Module now contains different parameterized geometry parts for heat sinks with pin fins, straight fins, or pin fins with dissimilar dimensions on the borders. These new parts make it easy to include a heat sink in any model.

The new heat sink parts in the Heat Transfer Module Part Library. The heat sink part selections in the Heat Transfer Module's Part Library, where a heat sink with pins for cooling has been selected. The heat sink part selections in the Heat Transfer Module's Part Library, where a heat sink with pins for cooling has been selected.

Application Library path for an example that uses a part from the Heat Transfer Module's Part Library:
Heat_Transfer_Module/Tutorials/Forced_and_Natural_Convection/chip_cooling

Building and Refrigerant Materials

A Building Material Library, which is now available with the Heat Transfer Module, provides typical hygroscopic and thermal properties of materials commonly used in buildings. These materials make it possible to quickly set up heat and moisture models using realistic material properties for building materials (see image). Material properties include heat capacity, thermal conductivity, density, water content, vapor permeability, etc. Additionally, two new refrigerant materials have been added in the Liquid and Gases material database: R-134A and R-22.

Irreversible Transformation in Solids

When a material is exposed to high or low temperatures, its composition may be irreversibly transformed. Part of this transformation energy may be consumed or released as a consequence of the material change or chemical reaction that has occurred. The Irreversible Transformation attribute, available under the Solid domain node, is defined to model such thermally induced, irreversible transformations. This feature implements a Temperature threshold or an Energy absorption model to account for the transformation. Then, the generation or loss of heat during the transformation can be accounted for in the energy balance through defining enthalpy change. Finally, you can define different thermal properties for the transformed state.

Serendipity Elements for Heat Transfer

When using the finite element method, your element choice can play a key role in the accuracy and performance of your simulation. Serendipity elements have now been introduced for heat transfer applications, which include an alternate (serendipity) shape function. This means that for a given order of element, the serendipity shape functions require fewer computational resources than the equivalent Lagrange shape function. The Lagrange shape function is generally more accurate than the serendipity shape function. The two functions are identical for tetrahedral and triangular meshes.

Symmetrical Surface-to-Surface Radiation Using Two or Three Perpendicular Planes

The Symmetry for Surface-to-Surface Radiation global feature contains new options available for 2D and 3D models when either a Heat Transfer with Surface-to-Surface Radiation interface or a Surface-to-Surface Radiation interface is active. This new feature can be used to take advantage of multiple symmetry planes in order to reduce the mesh size and requires fewer computational resources. In 2D models, two perpendicular planes can be defined. In 3D, you can define either two perpendicular planes with an intersection parallel to one of the axes or three perpendicular planes parallel to the axis.

Additionally, in the Symmetry for Surface-to-Surface Radiation global feature, you can visualize the plane(s) of symmetry in the Graphics window along with the geometry. This is meant to make it easier when defining the plane(s) for all types of symmetry. A check box is available to show/hide the planes in the Graphics window.

A screenshot of the Symmetry for Surface-to-Surface Radiation feature.

The user interface for the Symmetry for Surface-to-Surface Radiation feature with the Two perpendicular planes of symmetry option selected for the type of symmetry.

The user interface for the Symmetry for Surface-to-Surface Radiation feature with the Two perpendicular planes of symmetry option selected for the type of symmetry.

New Correlations for Cylinder and Sphere in External Flow

For most convective cooling simulations, you need to compute the heat transfer in the surrounding fluid together with the flow velocity. However, when the heat transfer coefficient is known for the convection component of the studied configuration, you can achieve good accuracy with low computational cost by modeling the heat transfer in the solid phase only and using heat transfer coefficients at the boundaries. This capability has been available in previous versions of the COMSOL® software when choosing the Plate, averaged transfer coefficient or Plate, local transfer coefficient options in the Heat Flux attribute when the Convective heat flux attribute is selected. Now, two additional options for a Cylinder in cross flow and a Sphere are available when defining the heat transfer coefficient in the External forced convection drop-down menu.

Diffuse and Direct Solar Radiation in Surface-to-Surface Radiation Models

When using the Diffuse Surface and Diffuse Mirror features in surface-to-surface radiation models, you now have the option to account for diffuse solar irradiation. In the Ambient section of the Settings window of these features, you can select the Clear sky noon diffuse horizontal irradiance option when you have selected Include diffuse irradiation. This contribution is added to the direct solar irradiation (sun rays directly striking the surfaces) defined by the External Radiation Source feature and Clear sky noon beam normal irradiance option. Both of the solar irradiation properties are defined in the Ambient Settings section of the physics interface.

Automatic Temperature Difference When Evaluating the Equivalent Conductivity for Convection

In the Fluid feature of heat transfer interfaces, the Equivalent Conductivity for Convection section provides a new option, Automatic, for evaluating the temperature difference in the Rayleigh number when choosing Nusselt correlations for the Horizontal cavity heated from below and Vertical rectangular cavity options. The software automatically determines the temperature difference by finding the difference between the maximum and minimum temperature of the domain boundaries.

Time-Dependent Term in the Thin Layer Feature

The Thermally thick approximation option in the Thin Layer feature now accounts for a time-dependent term that models time-dependent energy storage. Additional material properties for the Layer density and Layer heat capacity need to be defined in the Thermodynamics section for the time-dependent term. This feature improves model accuracy when the heat capacity of a thin layer is large compared to the surrounding materials.

Thin Film and Thin Layered Shell Extended Capabilities

The Thin Film and Thin Layered Shell features now include new functionality that was previously only available for the Thin Layer feature in the Heat Transfer in Solids interface. This provides a Heat Source subfeature by default as well as an External Temperature subfeature, which is made available by selecting General as the Thin film model in the Thin Film Settings window. In the Heat Transfer in Thin Shells interface, the Thin Film feature contains the External Temperature subfeature with an additional option to provide Upside and Downside temperatures. The Thin Layered Shell feature, in the same interface, contains both the Heat Source and External Temperature subfeatures, including the Upside and Downside temperatures.

A screenshot showing the External Temperature settings in the Heat Transfer Module.

Settings for the External Temperature feature provide options to control the external temperature on each side of the shell.

Settings for the External Temperature feature provide options to control the external temperature on each side of the shell.

Improvements for Ambient Data

There are three new improvements to the Ambient data functionality, where the user interface for the External Radiation Source has been synchronized with the Ambient Settings functionality. Additionally, the ambient temperature has been added as a feature input in the Isothermal Domain feature when the Temperature definition option is set to From prescribed temperature. Finally, all of the ambient data variables are now available as global variables and can be used in a global evaluation for postprocessing purposes.

New Tutorial Model: Electronic Chip Cooling

A new tutorial model uses a heat sink geometry from the Part Library. The tutorial shows different approaches to heat transfer modeling when studying the cooling of an electronic chip. In the first part, only the solid parts are modeled, while the convective airflow is modeled using Convective Heat Flux boundary conditions. In the second part, the model is extended to include a fluid domain for the flow channel to compute the coupled temperature and velocity of the fluid assuming nonisothermal behavior. In the last part, surface-to-surface radiation is considered to see how significantly it contributes to the results.

The new heat sink parts in the Heat Transfer Module Part Library. Temperature distribution in the heat sink attached to the chip. Temperature distribution in the heat sink attached to the chip.

Application Library path:
Heat_Transfer_Module/Tutorials/Forced_and_Natural_Convection/chip_cooling