腐蚀模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本针对“腐蚀模块”的用户新增了电流分布,壳 接口和电流分布,边界元 接口,以及一个用于模拟裂隙中化学物质传递的物理场接口。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解相关信息及“腐蚀模块”的其他更新。

电流分布,边界元 接口

电流分布,边界元 接口可用于对基于边(束或导线)和表面单元的几何求解一次和二次电流分布问题。此接口使用边界元法 (BEM) 公式求解电导率恒定的电解质中电荷传递方程,其中电极指定在边界上,或指定为边周围半径给定的管道。对于主要部分可以近似为沿边管道的大型几何,使用此接口后通常可以减少网格剖分的时间及求解器的计算时间。

船体绝缘的船只及石油钻塔的模型。

一艘船在靠近钻井平台处抛锚,船体受到阴极腐蚀系统中电场的作用。左图显示(例如)涂有厚油漆的绝缘船体。

一艘船在靠近钻井平台处抛锚,船体受到阴极腐蚀系统中电场的作用。左图显示(例如)涂有厚油漆的绝缘船体。
部分船体由裸钢制成的船只及石油钻塔的模型。 一艘船在靠近钻井平台处抛锚,船体受到阴极腐蚀系统中电场的作用。该图显示部分船体为裸钢的船只,其中的船体充当双极电极,船头作为阳极,船尾作为阴极。靠近船的石油钻塔结构发生阴极极化。一部分外加电流从牺牲阳极(铝棒)经海水流过船体,再经海水流入石油钻塔结构。 一艘船在靠近钻井平台处抛锚,船体受到阴极腐蚀系统中电场的作用。该图显示部分船体为裸钢的船只,其中的船体充当双极电极,船头作为阳极,船尾作为阴极。靠近船的石油钻塔结构发生阴极极化。一部分外加电流从牺牲阳极(铝棒)经海水流过船体,再经海水流入石油钻塔结构。

电流分布,壳 接口

电流分布,壳 接口模拟沿边界切向的离子流传导,适用于大气腐蚀等问题中法向电位变化可忽略的薄电解质。其中,金属表面可能形成一层极薄的电解质膜。此接口可用于分析离子流,而不必在三维中对此液体层执行网格剖分。

使用“电流分布,壳”接口创建的模型。

电位分布。

电位分布。

三次电流分布,Nernst-Planck 接口中的离子交换膜 内部边界条件

新的离子交换膜 边界节点指定了这样一个边界条件,其中的离子通量连续,但电解质电位不连续,且可以由唐南平衡来描述。此边界条件通常用于同时包含自由电解质和离子交换膜的电化学电池,例如透析问题。接口上的唐南电位偏移根据界面每一侧带电离子的浓度自动计算。

钒氧化还原流电池的电解质电位图。

显示自由电解质与离子交换膜之间界面上电位偏移的钒氧化还原流电池中的电解质电位。

显示自由电解质与离子交换膜之间界面上电位偏移的钒氧化还原流电池中的电解质电位。

如需更新的“钒氧化还原流电池”模型,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Flow_Batteries/v_flow_battery

三次电流分布,Nernst-Planck 接口中新增的电荷守恒模型

三次电流分布,Nernst-Planck 接口现在支持四种不同的电荷守恒模型:电中性、水基电中性、支持电解质,以及泊松。

薄电极层功能

薄电极层 特征可用于对电极域中内部边界上的薄绝缘片或阻抗片建模,用作在模型几何中绘制实际层域的替代方法,大大减少了网格剖分和求解时间,尤其是在三维模型中。例如,薄电极层可用于对两个电子导体之间的接触阻抗建模。它可以被设为绝缘或阻抗。

薄电解质层

薄电解质层 特征可指定两个电解质域之间内部边界上的薄电解质层,用作在模型几何中将实际层绘制为域的替代方法,以显著减少网格剖分和求解时间。该条件可以设为绝缘、阻抗或离子交换膜。该特征代替了先前版本中的薄绝缘层 特征。

电路终端条件

您可以在边界上使用电路终端 特征,以指定与“AC/DC 模块”电路 接口中的外部 I vs. U 节点的耦合。电路终端 条件现在也可用作电极表面 节点中的边界条件,还可用作单粒子电池 接口中的工作模式。这样您就可以在电路仿真中包含高保真电池模型。

新的裂隙中的稀物质传递 接口

通常来说,裂隙的厚度相对于其长度和宽度尺寸非常小。在模拟这类裂隙中的化学物质传递时必须对裂隙表面的厚度进行网格剖分,而由于裂隙尺寸方面的较大差异,使其宽高比非常大,因此这类模拟通常非常困难。新的裂隙中的稀物质传递 接口将裂隙视为壳,因此仅需要将横向尺寸剖分为表面网格。

该接口支持定义平均裂隙厚度,以及裂隙可视为多孔结构这类情况中的孔隙率。对于化学物质传递,此接口中可以定义有效的扩散率模型来包含孔隙率效应。对流传递可以耦合到薄膜流动 接口,或通过包含您自己的方程来定义通过裂隙的流体流动。此外,还可以将化学反应定义为发生在裂隙内、其表面上或在裂隙周围的多孔介质中。

演示沿稍微弯曲的裂隙表面进行稀物质传递的示例。 沿轻微弯曲的裂隙表面传递稀物质。弯曲表面上遍布压印的蛇形路径,其中存在流动和化学物质传递。 沿轻微弯曲的裂隙表面传递稀物质。弯曲表面上遍布压印的蛇形路径,其中存在流动和化学物质传递。

多孔介质稀物质传递 接口中的裂隙表面

在含裂隙的多孔三维结构中进行传递的情况中,新的裂隙 边界条件支持模拟薄裂隙中的传递,而不必将其剖分网格为三维实体。裂隙 边界条件包含在多孔介质稀物质传递 接口中(见图),且其设置与裂隙中的稀物质传递 接口中的相同(详见前面的描述)。流体流动和化学物质传递在三维多孔介质结构以及裂隙中的流体流动和化学物质传递之间无缝耦合。

下图显示了多孔反应器模型中的浓度场。此模型中,扭曲的裂隙将反应物从左到右“泄漏”到较远的多孔催化剂中,其速度要比多孔介质传递的速度快。这是因为与周围的多孔催化剂相比,裂隙表面的平均孔隙率要高得多,从而得到更快的质量传递速率。

“裂隙中的稀物质传递”接口设置的屏幕截图。 通过三维反应器的浓度等值线和裂隙表面的表面浓度。裂隙表面的质量传递速率较高,使大量未反应的物质渗透(从右到左)到催化剂床中。我们可以看到,裂隙表面从右到左浓度的变化非常小(从 0.63 变为 0.62 mol/m3)。 通过三维反应器的浓度等值线和裂隙表面的表面浓度。裂隙表面的质量传递速率较高,使大量未反应的物质渗透(从右到左)到催化剂床中。我们可以看到,裂隙表面从右到左浓度的变化非常小(从 0.63 变为 0.62 mol/m3)。

新的电泳输送 接口

新的电泳输送 接口可用于研究水溶剂中弱酸、碱和两性电解质的传递。此物理场接口通常用于模拟各种电泳模式,如,区带电泳、等速电泳、等电聚焦以及移动界面电泳,适用于有关多种酸碱平衡的任意水系统。

 

将混合有两种蛋白质的样本完全分离成两个清晰的浓度峰值的区带电泳。

Corrosion Module Updates

For users of the Corrosion Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 includes a new Current Distribution, Shells interface, a new Current Distribution, Boundary Elements interface, and a new physics interface for modeling chemical species transport in fractures. Learn more about these and more Corrosion Module updates here.

Current Distribution, Boundary Elements Interface

The Current Distribution, Boundary Elements interface can be used for solving primary and secondary current distribution problems on geometries based on edge (beam or wire) and surface elements. The interface uses a boundary element method (BEM) formulation to solve for the charge transfer equation in an electrolyte of constant conductivity, where the electrodes are specified on boundaries or as tubes with a given radius around the edges. You typically use this interface in order to reduce the meshing and solver time for large geometries, where a significant part of the geometry can be approximated as tubes along edges.

An oil rig model with a boat that has an insulated hull.

A ship is anchored close to an oil platform. The ship hull is subjected to the electric field from the cathodic corrosion system. The figure to the left shows an insulated hull, for example insulated by a thick paint.

A ship is anchored close to an oil platform. The ship hull is subjected to the electric field from the cathodic corrosion system. The figure to the left shows an insulated hull, for example insulated by a thick paint.
An oil rig model with a boat that has a hull partly made of bare steel. A ship is anchored close to an oil platform. The ship hull is subjected to the electric field from the cathodic corrosion system. The figure here shows a ship where parts are of the hull are bare steel, where the hull may work as a bipolar electrode. Here, the stem works as an anode while the stern works as a cathode. The oil rig structure close to the ship is cathodically polarized. A fraction of the impressed current goes from the sacrificial anodes (rods) through seawater, into the ship hull, out of the ship hull, through seawater and then into the oil rig structure. A ship is anchored close to an oil platform. The ship hull is subjected to the electric field from the cathodic corrosion system. The figure here shows a ship where parts are of the hull are bare steel, where the hull may work as a bipolar electrode. Here, the stem works as an anode while the stern works as a cathode. The oil rig structure close to the ship is cathodically polarized. A fraction of the impressed current goes from the sacrificial anodes (rods) through seawater, into the ship hull, out of the ship hull, through seawater and then into the oil rig structure.

Current Distribution, Shell Interface

The Current Distribution, Shell interface models ionic current conduction in the tangential direction along a boundary. The physics interface is suitable for modeling thin electrolytes where the potential variation in the normal direction is negligible, for instance, in atmospheric corrosion problems. Here, a very thin electrolyte film may form on metal surfaces. The interface allows you to consider the ionic current without having to mesh this liquid layer in 3D.

A model created with the Current Distribution, Shell interface.

Potential distribution.

Potential distribution.

Ion-Exchange Membrane Internal Boundary Condition in the Tertiary Current Distribution, Nernst-Planck Interface

The new Ion-Exchange Membrane boundary node specifies a boundary condition where the flux of ions is continuous, but where the electrolyte potential is discontinuous and is described by a Donnan equilibrium. This condition is typically used in electrochemical cells containing both free electrolytes and ion-exchange membranes, for instance, in dialysis problems. A Donnan potential shift over the interface is calculated automatically from the concentrations of the charge-carrying ion on each side of the interface.

An electrolyte potential plot for a vananadium redox flow battery.

Electrolyte potential in a vananadium redox flow battery showing the potential shifts at the interfaces between the free electrolyte and the ion-exchange membrane.

Electrolyte potential in a vananadium redox flow battery showing the potential shifts at the interfaces between the free electrolyte and the ion-exchange membrane.

Application Library path for the updated Vanadium Redox Flow Battery model:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Flow_Batteries/v_flow_battery

New Charge Conservation Models in the Tertiary Current Distribution, Nernst-Planck Interface

The Tertiary Current Distribution, Nernst-Planck interface now supports four different charge conservation models: electroneutrality, water-based with electroneutrality, supporting electrolyte, and Poisson.

Thin Electrode Layer Functionality

The Thin Electrode Layer feature can be used to model a thin insulating or resistive sheet, located on an internal boundary in an electrode domain. The functionality can be used as an alternative to drawing the actual layer domain in the model geometry, which significantly reduces meshing and solution time, especially in 3D models. A thin electrode layer can be used to model, for instance, a contact impedance between two electronic conductors. The layer may be set to be either insulating or resistive.

Thin Electrolyte Layer

The Thin Electrolyte Layer feature specifies a thin electrolyte layer on an internal boundary between two electrolyte domains. The node can be used as an alternative to drawing the actual layer as a domain in the model geometry in order to significantly reduce meshing and solution time. The condition may be set to either insulating, resistive, or ion-exchange membrane. This feature replaces the Thin Insulating Layer feature in earlier versions.

Circuit Terminal Condition

You can use the Circuit Terminal feature on a boundary to specify a coupling to the External I Vs. U node in the Electrical Circuit interface from the AC/DC Module. The Circuit Terminal condition is now also available as a boundary condition in the Electrode Surface node and as an operation mode in the Single Particle Battery interface. This allows you to include high-fidelity battery models in circuit simulations.

New Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures Interface

Fractures have thicknesses that are very small compared to their length and width dimensions. It is often difficult to model the transport of chemical species in such fractures through having to mesh the thickness of the fracture surface, due to the aspect ratios brought about by the large differences in size dimensions. The new Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures interface treats the fracture as a shell, where only the transverse dimensions are meshed as a surface mesh.

The interface allows you to define the average fracture thickness, as well as the porosity in cases where the fracture is considered to be a porous structure. For the transport of the chemical species, the interface allows definition of effective diffusivity models to include the effects of porosity. Convective transport can be coupled to a Thin-Film Flow interface or through including your own equations to define fluid flow through the fracture. Additionally, chemical reactions can be defined to occur within the fractures, at its surfaces, or in a porous medium that encompasses the fracture.

An example illustrating the transport of diluted species along a somewhat curved fracture surface. Transport of diluted species along a slightly curved fracture surface. The curved surface consists of an imprinted tortuous path through the surface where flow and chemical species transport occur. Transport of diluted species along a slightly curved fracture surface. The curved surface consists of an imprinted tortuous path through the surface where flow and chemical species transport occur.

Fracture Surfaces in the Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media Interface

In cases where transport occurs in a fractured, porous 3D structure, the new Fracture boundary condition lets you model transport in the thin fractures without having to mesh them as 3D entities. The Fracture boundary condition is included in the Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media interface (see image) and has the same settings as in the Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures interface (described above). Fluid flow and chemical species transport are seamlessly coupled between a 3D porous media structure and fluid flow and chemical species transport in a fracture.

The image below shows the concentration field in a porous reactor model. In the model, a twisted fracture "leaks" reactants deeper into the porous catalyst, from left to right, at a faster rate than the transport through the porous media. This is because the fracture surface has a much higher average porosity compared to the surrounding porous catalyst, which gives a higher mass transport rate.

A screenshot of the Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures interface settings. Concentration contours through the 3D reactor and surface concentration in the fracture surface. The higher mass transport rate in the fracture surface gives a larger penetration (from right to left) of unreacted species into the catalyst bed. We can see that the change in concentration from right to left is very small in the fracture surface (from 0.63 to 0.62 mol/m3). Concentration contours through the 3D reactor and surface concentration in the fracture surface. The higher mass transport rate in the fracture surface gives a larger penetration (from right to left) of unreacted species into the catalyst bed. We can see that the change in concentration from right to left is very small in the fracture surface (from 0.63 to 0.62 mol/m3).

New Electrophoretic Transport Interface

The new Electrophoretic Transport interface can be used to investigate the transport of weak acids, bases, and ampholytes in aqueous solvents. The physics interface is typically used to model various electrophoresis modes, such as zone electrophoresis, isothachophoresis, isoelectric focusing, and moving boundary electrophoresis, but is applicable to any aqueous system involving multiple acid-base equilibria.

 

Zone electrophoresis separating a mixed sample of two proteins into two well-resolved concentration peaks.