电池与燃料电池模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本针对“电池与燃料电池模块”的用户引入了用于充放电循环的新边界条件、用于薄层建模的新边界条件,以及用于对多孔介质反应流和裂隙化学物质传递建模的新物理场接口。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“电池与燃料电池模块”的所有更新。

三次电流分布,Nernst-Planck 接口中的离子交换膜 内部边界条件

新的离子交换膜 边界节点可以指定这样一个边界条件,其中的离子通量连续,但电解质电位不连续,且可以由唐南平衡来描述。该边界条件通常用于同时包含自由电解质和离子交换膜的电化学电池,例如透析问题。接口上的唐南电位偏移根据界面每一侧带电离子的浓度自动计算。

钒氧化还原流电池的电解质电位图。 显示自由电解质与离子交换膜之间界面上电位偏移的钒氧化还原流电池中的电解质电位。 显示自由电解质与离子交换膜之间界面上电位偏移的钒氧化还原流电池中的电解质电位。


如需更新的“钒氧化还原流电池”模型,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Flow_Batteries/v_flow_battery

三次电流分布,Nernst-Planck 接口中的新电荷守恒模型

三次电流分布,Nernst-Planck 接口现在支持四种不同的电荷守恒模型:电中性、水基电中性、支持电解质,以及泊松。

薄电极层功能

薄电极层 特征可用于对电极域中内部边界上的薄绝缘片或电阻片建模,用作在模型几何中绘制实际层域的替代方法,大大减少了网格剖分和求解时间,尤其是在三维模型中。例如,薄电极层可用于对两个电子导体之间的接触阻抗建模。薄电极层可以设为绝缘或阻抗。

薄电解质层

薄电解质层 特征可指定两个电解质域之间内部边界上的薄电解质层,用作在模型几何中将实际层绘制为域的替代方法,以显著减少网格剖分和求解时间。该条件可以设为绝缘,阻抗或离子交换膜。该特征代替了之前版本中的薄绝缘层 特征。

充放电循环条件

您可以使用充放电循环 边界条件来指定瞬态仿真中的载荷循环,其中充电与放电之间的切换取决于所得的电池电压(或电流)。例如,该特征可用于电池仿真中的恒定电流/恒定电压 (CCCV) 循环。充放电循环现在也可用作电极表面 节点中的边界条件,还可用作单粒子电池 接口中的工作模式。

“电池与燃料电池模块”教程中的绘图。 锂离子电池充放电(恒定电流-恒定电压)循环期间的电流和电势。来自“电池与燃料电池模块”的“案例库”。 锂离子电池充放电(恒定电流-恒定电压)循环期间的电流和电势。来自“电池与燃料电池模块”的“案例库”。

电路终端条件

您可以使用边界上的电路终端 特征来指定与“AC/DC 模块”电路 接口中的外部 I vs. U 节点的耦合。电路终端 条件现在也可用作电极表面 节点中的边界条件,还可用作单粒子电池 接口中的工作模式。这允许您在电路仿真中包含高保真电池模型。

新的多孔介质反应流 接口

使用新的多孔介质反应流 多物理场接口,大大简化了填充床反应器、整体式反应器以及其他多相催化反应器的建模。此接口中定义了多孔介质流的扩散、对流、迁移和化学物质反应,无需设置单独的接口再将其耦合。该多物理场接口自动将模拟多相催化以及多孔介质流和稀/浓化学物质传递所需的所有耦合及物理场接口进行耦合。

由于此多物理场接口也包含了层流和湍流中的类似模拟,因此您可以切换或定义与其他各类流动模型的新耦合,而不必对相关的物理现象重新定义和设置新接口。在“设置”窗口中可以选择要模拟的流动类型以及化学物质传递,而不会丢失任何已定义的材料属性或反应动力学。这意味着,您可以在一个反应器中比较自由介质和多孔介质中的不同反应器结构或模型流动,即使这两种流态连续出现亦是如此(见图)。

使用“多孔介质反应流”接口创建的多孔微反应器模型。

多孔微反应器模型显示通过竖针注入自由流动的反应物的浓度等值面,自由流动中包含第二种反应物,随后将强制通过反应器的整装催化多孔介质部分。现在可以使用新的多孔介质反应流 多物理场接口完全定义该模型。

多孔微反应器模型显示通过竖针注入自由流动的反应物的浓度等值面,自由流动中包含第二种反应物,随后将强制通过反应器的整装催化多孔介质部分。现在可以使用新的多孔介质反应流 多物理场接口完全定义该模型。

有关使用新多孔介质反应流 接口的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_PorousCatalyst_porous_reactor

新的裂隙中的稀物质传递 接口

通常来说,裂隙的厚度相对于其长度和宽度尺寸非常小。在模拟这类裂隙中的化学物质传递时必须对裂隙表面的厚度进行网格剖分,而由于裂隙尺寸方面的较大差异,使其宽高比非常大,因此这类模拟通常非常困难。新的裂隙中的稀物质传递 接口将裂隙视为壳,因此仅需要将横向尺寸网格剖分为表面网格。

此接口支持定义平均裂隙厚度,以及裂隙可视为多孔结构这类情况中的孔隙率。对于化学物质传递,此接口中可以定义有效的扩散率模型来包含孔隙率效应。对流传递可以耦合到薄膜流动 接口,或通过包含您自己的方程来定义通过裂隙的流体流动。此外,还可以将化学反应定义为发生在裂隙内、其表面上或在裂隙周围的多孔介质中。

演示沿稍微弯曲的裂隙表面进行稀物质传递的示例。 沿轻微弯曲的裂隙表面传递稀物质。弯曲表面上遍布着压印的蛇形路径,其中存在流动和化学物质传递。 沿轻微弯曲的裂隙表面传递稀物质。弯曲表面上遍布着压印的蛇形路径,其中存在流动和化学物质传递。

多孔介质稀物质传递 接口中的裂隙表面

在含裂隙的多孔三维结构中进行传递的情况中,新的裂隙 边界条件支持模拟薄裂隙中的传递,而不必将其网格剖分为三维实体。裂隙 边界条件包含在多孔介质稀物质传递 接口中(见图),且其设置与裂隙中的稀物质传递 接口中的相同(详见前面的描述)。流体流动和化学物质传递在三维多孔介质结构以及裂隙中的流体流动和化学物质传递之间无缝耦合。

下图显示了多孔反应器模型中的浓度场。此模型中,扭曲的裂隙将反应物从左到右“泄漏”到较远的多孔催化剂中,其速度要比多孔介质传递的速度快。这是因为与周围的多孔催化剂相比,裂隙表面的平均孔隙率要高得多,从而得到更快的质量传递速率。

使用 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本创建的裂隙表面模型。 通过三维反应器的浓度等值线和裂隙表面的表面浓度。裂隙表面的质量传递速率较高,使大量未反应的物质渗透(从右到左)到催化剂床中。我们可以看到,裂隙表面从右到左浓度的变化非常小(从 0.63 变为 0.62 mol/m3)。 通过三维反应器的浓度等值线和裂隙表面的表面浓度。裂隙表面的质量传递速率较高,使大量未反应的物质渗透(从右到左)到催化剂床中。我们可以看到,裂隙表面从右到左浓度的变化非常小(从 0.63 变为 0.62 mol/m3)。

新的电泳输送 接口

新的电泳输送 接口可用于研究水溶剂中弱酸、碱和两性电解质的传递。此物理场接口通常用于模拟各种电泳模式,如,区带电泳、等速电泳、等电聚焦,以及移动界面电泳,适用于有关多种酸碱平衡的任意水系统。

 
将两种蛋白质的混合样本分离成两个清晰的浓度峰值的区带电泳。

Batteries & Fuel Cells Module Updates

For users of the Batteries & Fuel Cells Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 includes a new boundary condition for charge-discharge cycling, new boundary conditions for modeling thin layers, as well as new physics interfaces for modeling reacting flow in porous media and chemical species transport in fractures. Browse all of the Batteries & Fuel Cells Module updates in more detail below.

Ion-Exchange Membrane Internal Boundary Condition in the Tertiary Current Distribution, Nernst-Planck Interface

The new Ion-Exchange Membrane boundary node specifies a boundary condition where the flux of ions is continuous, but where the electrolyte potential is discontinuous and is described by a Donnan equilibrium. This condition is typically used in electrochemical cells containing both free electrolytes and ion-exchange membranes, for instance, in dialysis problems. A Donnan potential shift over the interface is calculated automatically from the concentrations of the charge-carrying ion on each side of the interface.

An electrolyte potential plot for a vananadium redox flow battery. Electrolyte potential in a vananadium redox flow battery showing the potential shifts at the interfaces between the free electrolyte and the ion-exchange membrane. Electrolyte potential in a vananadium redox flow battery showing the potential shifts at the interfaces between the free electrolyte and the ion-exchange membrane.


Application Library path for the updated Vanadium Redox Flow Battery model:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Flow_Batteries/v_flow_battery

New Charge Conservation Models in the Tertiary Current Distribution, Nernst-Planck Interface

The Tertiary Current Distribution, Nernst-Planck interface now supports four different charge conservation models: electroneutrality, water-based with electroneutrality, supporting electrolyte, and Poisson.

Thin Electrode Layer Functionality

The Thin Electrode Layer feature can be used to model a thin insulating or resistive sheet, located on an internal boundary in an electrode domain. The functionality can be used as an alternative to drawing the actual layer domain in the model geometry, which significantly reduces meshing and solution time, especially in 3D models. A thin electrode layer can be used to model, for instance, a contact impedance between two electronic conductors. The layer may be set to be either insulating or resistive.

Thin Electrolyte Layer

The Thin Electrolyte Layer feature specifies a thin electrolyte layer on an internal boundary between two electrolyte domains. The node can be used as an alternative to drawing the actual layer as a domain in the model geometry in order to significantly reduce meshing and solution time. The condition may be set to either insulating, resistive, or ion-exchange membrane. This feature replaces the Thin Insulating Layer feature in earlier versions.

Charge-Discharge Cycling Conditions

You may use the Charge Discharge Cycling boundary condition to specify load cycling in time-dependent simulations, where the switch between charge and discharge depends on the resulting cell voltage (or current). This feature may, for instance, be used for constant-current/constant-voltage (CCCV) cycling in battery simulations. Charge-discharge cycling is now also available as a boundary condition in the Electrode Surface node and as an operation mode in the Single Particle Battery interface.

A plot from a Batteries & Fuel Cells Module tutorial.

Current and potential during a charge-discharge (constant current-constant voltage) cycle of a lithium-ion battery. From the Batteries & Fuel Cells Module Application Library.

Current and potential during a charge-discharge (constant current-constant voltage) cycle of a lithium-ion battery. From the Batteries & Fuel Cells Module Application Library.

Circuit Terminal Condition

You can use the Circuit Terminal feature on a boundary to specify a coupling to the External I Vs. U node in the Electrical Circuit interface from the AC/DC Module. The Circuit Terminal condition is now also available as a boundary condition in the Electrode Surface node and as an operation mode in the Single Particle Battery interface. This allows you to include high-fidelity battery models in circuit simulations.

New Reacting Flow in Porous Media Interface

Modeling packed beds, monolithic reactors, and other catalytic heterogeneous reactors is substantially simplified with the new Reacting Flow in Porous Media multiphysics interface. This defines the diffusion, convection, migration, and reaction of chemical species for porous media flow, without having to set up separate interfaces and couple them. The multiphysics interface automatically combines all of the couplings and physics interfaces required for the modeling of heterogeneous catalysis together with porous media flow and dilute or concentrated chemical species transport.

As this multiphysics interface complements similar ones for laminar and turbulent flow, you can switch or define new couplings to other types of flow models without having to redefine and set up a new interface for the participating physical phenomena. The Settings window allows you to select the type of flow to be modeled as well as the transport of chemical species, without losing any of the defined material properties or reaction kinetics. This means that you can compare different reactor structures or model flow in both free and porous media in one reactor, even when the two regimes are connected (see image).

A porous microreactor model created with the Reacting Flow in Porous Media interface.

Model of a porous microreactor showing the concentration isosurfaces of a reactant injected through a vertical needle into a free flow containing a second reactant that is then forced through a monolithic catalytic porous media section of the reactor. The model can now be fully defined with the new Reacting Flow in Porous Media multiphysics interface.

Model of a porous microreactor showing the concentration isosurfaces of a reactant injected through a vertical needle into a free flow containing a second reactant that is then forced through a monolithic catalytic porous media section of the reactor. The model can now be fully defined with the new Reacting Flow in Porous Media multiphysics interface.

Application Library path for an example using the new Reacting Flow in Porous Media interface:
Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_PorousCatalyst_porous_reactor

New Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures Interface

Fractures have thicknesses that are very small compared to their length and width dimensions. It is often difficult to model the transport of chemical species in such fractures through having to mesh the thickness of the fracture surface, due to the aspect ratios brought about by the large differences in size dimensions. The new Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures interface treats the fracture as a shell, where only the transverse dimensions are meshed as a surface mesh.

The interface allows you to define the average fracture thickness, as well as the porosity in cases where the fracture is considered to be a porous structure. For the transport of the chemical species, the interface allows definition of effective diffusivity models to include the effects of porosity. Convective transport can be coupled to a Thin-Film Flow interface or through including your own equations to define fluid flow through the fracture. Additionally, chemical reactions can be defined to occur within the fractures, at its surfaces, or in a porous medium that encompasses the fracture.

An example illustrating the transport of diluted species along a somewhat curved fracture surface. Transport of diluted species along a slightly curved fracture surface. The curved surface consists of an imprinted tortuous path through the surface where flow and chemical species transport occur. Transport of diluted species along a slightly curved fracture surface. The curved surface consists of an imprinted tortuous path through the surface where flow and chemical species transport occur.

Fracture Surfaces in the Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media Interface

In cases where transport occurs in a fractured, porous 3D structure, the new Fracture boundary condition lets you model transport in the thin fractures without having to mesh them as 3D entities. The Fracture boundary condition is included in the Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media interface (see image) and has the same settings as in the Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures interface (described above). Fluid flow and chemical species transport are seamlessly coupled between a 3D porous media structure and fluid flow and chemical species transport in a fracture.

The image below shows the concentration field in a porous reactor model. In the model, a twisted fracture "leaks" reactants deeper into the porous catalyst, from left to right, at a faster rate than the transport through the porous media. This is because the fracture surface has a much higher average porosity compared to the surrounding porous catalyst, which gives a higher mass transport rate.

A fracture surface model, created with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3. Concentration contours through the 3D reactor and surface concentration in the fracture surface. The higher mass transport rate in the fracture surface gives a larger penetration (from right to left) of unreacted species into the catalyst bed. We can see that the change in concentration from right to left is very small in the fracture surface (from 0.63 to 0.62 mol/m3). Concentration contours through the 3D reactor and surface concentration in the fracture surface. The higher mass transport rate in the fracture surface gives a larger penetration (from right to left) of unreacted species into the catalyst bed. We can see that the change in concentration from right to left is very small in the fracture surface (from 0.63 to 0.62 mol/m3).

New Electrophoretic Transport Interface

The new Electrophoretic Transport interface can be used to investigate the transport of weak acids, bases, and ampholytes in aqueous solvents. The physics interface is typically used to model various electrophoresis modes, such as zone electrophoresis, isothachophoresis, isoelectric focusing, and moving boundary electrophoresis, but is applicable to any aqueous system involving multiple acid-base equilibria.

 
Zone electrophoresis separating a mixed sample of two proteins into two well-resolved concentration peaks.