等离子体模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本针对“等离子体模块”的用户引入了新的全局 扩散模型,可用于测试复杂的化学反应、新增了用于逼近高压系统的平均电子能的选项,以及多个教学模型。请阅读以下内容,了解“等离子体模块”中的新功能和教学模型。

新 App:玻尔兹曼直流辉光放电

该 App 模拟直流辉光放电。采用玻尔兹曼方程,两项近似 接口计算电子能分布函数 (EEDF) 和电子传递属性。由于玻尔兹曼方程,两项近似 接口的输入参数(例如,等离子体的电离度)事先 未知,因此要执行一个迭代过程。其中交替计算了玻尔兹曼研究和等离子体研究,直到电子密度的偏差低于用户定义的值。因此,可以检查几何每个点处的 EEDF。

使用“等离子体模块”建立的“玻尔兹曼直流辉光放电”App 屏幕截图。 显示仿真结果的“玻尔兹曼直流辉光放电”示例 App 的用户界面。 显示仿真结果的“玻尔兹曼直流辉光放电”示例 App 的用户界面。

“案例库”路径:
Plasma_Module/Applications/boltzmann_dc_discharge

等离子体过程初始分析的全局建模

为了便于对等离子体过程建模,现在可以先使用新的全局 扩散模型对过程执行初始分析,然后通过更准确的建模进行优化。全局建模通过对等离子体模型应用常微分方程来降低模型的自由度。这样可以在运行空间相关模型之前对复杂的化学反应进行测试和验证,同时仍分析反应器几何、表面化学和进料流。要启用全局建模,请从扩散模型 下拉菜单中选择全局 选项,然后从可用的反应器类型中选择:

  • 密闭反应器
  • 定常质量
  • 恒压


有关显示全局建模的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Plasma_Module/Global_Discharges/chlorine_global_model

局部场近似

由于计算平均电子能存在困难,因此大气压放电往往数值不稳定。现在可以使用局部场近似 选项避免计算平均电子能。然后,传递属性和源系数成为约化电场的用户定义的函数。在对流注和电晕建模时,这种近似适用于高压。


有关显示局部场近似 用法的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/corona_discharge_air_1d_
_Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/streamer_1d

自动计算电子迁移率

等离子体模型“设置”窗口中指定电子迁移率时,现在可以将传递属性指定为根据电子碰撞反应列表自动计算。


有关使用来自电子碰撞反应 选项的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/argon_dbd_1d_
_Plasma_Module/Inductively_Coupled_Plasmas/electrodeless_lamp

支持在等离子体 接口的表格中使用单位

现在可以更改“等离子体”接口中表格两列中的数据单位,在以下特征中使用单位。

电子碰撞反应

  • 指定反应使用 设为横截面数据 时,可以使用包含电子能 (V) 和碰撞横截面数据 (m^2) 的表格
  • 指定反应使用 设为使用查找表速率常数格式 设为速率系数 时,可以使用包含平均电子能 (V) 和速率系数数据 (m^3/(mol \cdot s)) 的表格
  • 指定反应使用 设为使用查找表速率常数格式 设为 Townsend 系数 时,可以使用包含平均电子能 (V) 和 Townsend 系数数据 (m^2) 的表格

物质

  • 物质离子迁移系数和扩散系数表达式 设为指定迁移系数,计算扩散系数 时,可以根据电场 (V/m) 指定离子迁移率 (m^2/(V \cdot s))
  • 物质离子迁移系数和扩散系数表达式 设为指定迁移系数,计算扩散系数 时,可以根据约化电场 (V/m^2) 指定离子迁移率 (m^2/(V \cdot s))

等离子体模型

当接口属性使用约化电子传递属性 处于不活动状态以及电子传递属性 设为使用查找表 时,可以使用以下四个表格:

  • 电子迁移率,其中包含平均电子能 (V) 列和电子迁移率 (m^2/(V \cdot s)) 列
  • 电子扩散系数,其中包含平均电子能 (V) 列和电子扩散系数 (m^2/s) 列
  • 电子能扩散系数,其中包含平均电子能 (V) 列和电子能扩散系数 (m^2/s) 列
  • 电子能迁移率,其中包含平均电子能 (V) 列和电子能迁移率 (m^2/(V \cdot s)) 列

当接口属性使用约化电子传递属性 处于活动状态以及电子传递属性 设为使用查找表 时,可以使用以下四个表格:

  • 还原电子迁移率,其中包含平均电子能 (V) 列和还原电子迁移率 (1/(m \cdot V \cdot s)) 列
  • 还原电子扩散系数,其中包含平均电子能 (V) 列和还原电子扩散系数 (1/(m \cdot s)) 列
  • 还原电子能扩散系数,其中包含平均电子能 (V) 列和还原电子能扩散系数 (1/(m \cdot s)) 列
  • 还原电子能迁移率,其中包含平均电子能 (V) 列和还原电子能迁移率 (1/(m \cdot V \cdot s)) 列

新增的离子迁移率模型

新增两个可用于计算离子迁移率的模型。Dalgarno 模型需要离子极化明细表,在电场较低(离子漂移速度远慢于离子热速度)时有效。高场模型在离子漂移速度远快于热速度时有效。

新教学模型:空气中大气压电晕放电

研究大气压下干燥空气中的同轴直流电晕放电。其尺寸和工作条件与具有线-板配置的静电除尘器中的类似,内部线电极半径为 100 mm,电极之间的间隙为 10 cm。

模型求解漂移扩散近似中的电子和离子连续性和动量方程,与泊松方程自洽耦合。使用“局部场近似”,这意味着传递系数和源系数假定为通过约化电场进行了很好地参数化。

执行稳态仿真,持续放电,并对内部电极施加几十 kV 的电压,外部电极接地。主要模拟带电粒子的产生和传输,以及如何转化为放电的电流-电压特性。

“空气中大气压电晕放电”教学模型中的绘图。 包含简化大气化学的电晕放电中的电子密度、正离子密度以及负离子密度。 包含简化大气化学的电晕放电中的电子密度、正离子密度以及负离子密度。

“案例库”路径:
Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/corona_discharge_air_1d

新教学模型:氮中的负流注一维模型

流注是存在强电场情况下在非导电背景中发展的瞬态丝状放电,可以获得高电子数密度,从而获得与许多应用相关的高浓度化学活性物质。工业应用包括臭氧生成、污染控制以及表面处理。

流注的传播由完全非线性动力学驱动,涉及非常陡峭的密度梯度和分布在非常薄的层中的高空间电荷密度。该教学模型研究 -100 kV/cm 恒定电场下大气压水平的氮中的负流注。这是一维模型,描述了初始电子种子在未受干扰的电场中电子增长形成流注传播的瞬态特性。

“氮中的负流注”一维教学模型中的结果图。 流注传播期间四个时刻的电子(彩色实线)和离子数密度(黑色虚线)的空间分布。 流注传播期间四个时刻的电子(彩色实线)和离子数密度(黑色虚线)的空间分布。

“案例库”路径:
Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/streamer_1d

新教学模型:氯排放

含有氯的等离子体放电通常用于微电子制造中的刻蚀半导体和金属。

该教学模型使用全局(体积平均)扩散模型研究氯等离子体排放。在运行空间相关模型的仿真时,使用全局模型耗时非常短。因此,这种模型成为研究大型反应集合扩展参数区域的理想选择。

“氯排放”模型研究 50 到 600 W 的吸收功率,工作压力为 1 到 100 m 托。电子密度、电子温度,以及氯原子密度等多个相关物理量的模拟结果与文献中电感耦合等离子体反应器中执行的测量结果非常一致。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本新教学模型“氯放电”中的绘图。 使用全局扩散模型的反应器中氯物质和电子密度的演变。 使用全局扩散模型的反应器中氯物质和电子密度的演变。

“案例库”路径:
Plasma_Module/Global_Discharges/chlorine_global_model

新教学模型:表面化学

表面化学通常是反应流建模中被忽视的方面。该教学模型演示如何将表面反应和物质添加到化学气相沉积 (CVD) 这类研究过程中,模拟硅在晶片上的生长。

初始模型中,该示例使用全局模型来研究包含复杂化学物质的广泛参数区域。然后,建立并运行空间相关模型。仔细分析系统中的总体质量平衡,同时研究质量平均速度与扩散速度之间的差异。模型演示系统中的总质量和摩尔浓度守恒。最后,研究了沉积硅高度随时间变化的情况。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本新教学模型“表面化学”中的结果图。

沉积硅在全局模型边界上的增长(右图)和空间相关模型(左图)。x 轴表示空间维度 (m),y 轴表示时间 (s),z 轴表示增长高度 (Å)。由于这是包含均匀分布物质的密闭反应器,因此两种方法的结果非常一致。

沉积硅在全局模型边界上的增长(右图)和空间相关模型(左图)。x 轴表示空间维度 (m),y 轴表示时间 (s),z 轴表示增长高度 (Å)。由于这是包含均匀分布物质的密闭反应器,因此两种方法的结果非常一致。

“案例库”路径:
Plasma_Module/Chemical_Vapor_Deposition/surface_chemistry_tutorial

新教学模型:微波微等离子体

微尺度放电间隙中的等离子体能够在高压(一个大气压)下运动,电子数密度 (1E20 m^-3) 和功率密度 (1E9 W/m^3) 都较高,同时重粒子上保持相对较低的温度。此教学模型模拟大气压条件下,微波范围内由时变电激励所维持的氩等离子体。此模型在所施加的场方向上是一维的,描述了等离子体多个宏观属性的空间和时间演变。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本新教学模型“微波微等离子体”中的结果图。

第 500 次 RF 循环期间电子密度对数的演变。该绘图中的 y 轴表示时间与激励频率的乘积。

第 500 次 RF 循环期间电子密度对数的演变。该绘图中的 y 轴表示时间与激励频率的乘积。

“案例库”路径:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/microwave_microplasma

Plasma Module Updates

For users of the Plasma Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 brings a new Global diffusion model to test complex reaction chemistries, an option to approximate the mean electron energy for high-pressure systems, and several new tutorial models. Browse the rest of the new functionality and tutorial models in the Plasma Module below.

New Application: Boltzmann DC Glow Discharge

This application models a DC glow discharge. The electron energy distribution function (EEDF) and electron transport properties are computed with the Boltzmann Equation, Two-Term Approximation interface. Since input parameters for the Boltzmann Equation, Two-Term Approximation interface, like the ionization degree of the plasma, are not known a priori, an iterative process is performed. A Boltzmann study and a plasma study are computed alternately until the deviation in electron density falls below a user-defined value. As a result, the EEDF at each point of the geometry can be examined.

A screenshot of the Boltzmann DC Glow Discharge app made with the Plasma Module. User interface for the Boltzmann DC Glow Discharge example app showing the results of the simulation. User interface for the Boltzmann DC Glow Discharge example app showing the results of the simulation.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Applications/boltzmann_dc_discharge

Global Modeling for Initial Analyses of Plasma Processes

To facilitate your modeling of plasma processes, a new Global diffusion model now enables you to perform initial analyses of your processes, before optimizing them with more accurate modeling. Global modeling reduces the degrees of freedom for your models through applying ordinary differential equations to your plasma model. This allows complex reaction chemistries to be tested and verified before running space-dependent models, while the reactor geometry, surface chemistry, and feed streams are all still taken into account. To enable global modeling, select the Global option from the Diffusion model drop-down menu, and then choose between the available reactor types:

  • Closed reactor
  • Constant mass
  • Constant pressure


Application Library path for an example showing global modeling:
Plasma_Module/Global_Discharges/chlorine_global_model

Local Field Approximation

Atmospheric pressure discharges tend to be numerically unstable due to difficulties in computing the mean electron energy. Now, you can avoid computing the mean electron energy through using the Local field approximation option. The transport properties and source coefficients then become functions of the reduced electric field, which is user defined. This approximation is suitable at high pressures, when modeling streamers and coronas.


Application Library path for examples showing the use of Local field approximation:
Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/corona_discharge_air_1d
Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/streamer_1d

Automatic Calculation of Electron Mobility

When specifying electron mobility in the Plasma Model Settings window, you can now specify the transport properties to be automatically computed from a list of electron impact reactions.


Application Library paths for examples using the From electron impact reactions option:
Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/argon_dbd_1d
Plasma_Module/Inductively_Coupled_Plasmas/electrodeless_lamp

Unit Support for Tables in the Plasma Interface

It is now possible to change the units of the data in the two columns of a table in the plasma interfaces. Units are now available in the following features.

Electron Impact Reactions

  • When Specify reaction using is set to Cross section data, a table of Electron energy and Collision cross section data is available
  • When Specify reaction using is set to Use lookup table and Rate constant form is set to Rate coefficient, a table of Mean electron energy and Rate coefficient data is available
  • When Specify reaction using is set to Use lookup table and Rate constant form is set to Townsend coefficient, a table of Mean electron energy and Townsend coefficient data is available

Species

  • When the Species is an Ion and the Mobility and Diffusivity Expressions are set to Specify mobility, compute diffusivity, then the Ion mobility can be specified in terms of the Electric field
  • When the Species is an Ion and the Mobility and Diffusivity Expressions are set to Specify mobility, compute diffusivity, then the Ion mobility can be specified in terms of the Reduced electric field

Plasma Model

When the interface property Use reduced electron transport properties is inactive and when Electron transport properties is set to Use lookup tables, then four tables are available for:

  • Electron mobility, which has two columns for the Mean electron energy and the Electron mobility
  • Electron diffusivity, which has two columns for the Mean electron energy and the Electron diffusivity
  • Electron energy diffusivity, which has two columns for the Mean electron energy and the Electron energy diffusivity
  • Electron energy mobility, which has two columns for the Mean electron energy and the Electron energy mobility

When the interface property Use reduced electron transport properties is active and when Electron transport properties is set to Use lookup tables, then four tables are available for:

  • Reduced electron mobility, which has two columns for the Mean electron energy and the Reduced electron mobility
  • Reduced electron diffusivity, which has two columns for the Mean electron energy and the Reduced electron diffusivity
  • Reduced electron energy diffusivity, which has two columns for the Mean electron energy and the Reduced electron energy diffusivity
  • Reduced electron energy mobility, which has two columns for the Mean electron energy and the Reduced electron energy mobility

Additional Ion Mobility Models

Two new models are available for computing ion mobility. The Dalgarno model requires specification of the ion polarizability and is valid when the electric field is low (the ion drift velocity is much less than the ion thermal velocity). The High field model is valid when the ion drift velocity is much greater than the thermal velocity.

New Tutorial Model: Atmospheric Pressure Corona Discharge in Air

This tutorial model presents a study of a coaxial DC corona discharge in dry air at atmospheric pressure. The dimensions and operation conditions are similar to ones found in electrostatic precipitators with wire-to-plate configurations. The inner wire electrode has a 100-mm radius and the gap between electrodes is 10 cm.

The model solves the electron and ion continuity and momentum equations in the drift-diffusion approximation, self-consistently coupled with Poisson’s equation. The local field approximation is used, which means that transport and source coefficients are assumed to be well parameterized through the reduced electric field.

The simulations presented are for steady-state regimes, with a sustained discharge and 10's of kV applied to the inner electrode while the exterior electrode is grounded. Emphasis is placed on the charged particles' creation and transport and how that translates into the current-voltage characteristic of the discharge.

A plot from the Atmospheric Pressure Corona Discharge in Air tutorial model. Electron, positive ion, and negative ion densities in a corona discharge with a simplified air chemistry. Electron, positive ion, and negative ion densities in a corona discharge with a simplified air chemistry.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/corona_discharge_air_1d

New Tutorial Model: Negative Streamer in Nitrogen in 1D

Streamers are transient filamentary electric discharges that can develop in a nonconducting background in the presence of an intense electric field. These discharges can attain high electron number density and consequently, a high concentration of chemical active species that are relevant for numerous applications. Industrial applications include ozone production, pollution control, and surface processing.

The propagation of streamers is driven by very nonlinear dynamics that involve very steep density gradients and high space-charge density distributed in very thin layers. This tutorial model presents a study of a negative streamer in atmospheric pressure nitrogen in a constant electric field of -100 kV/cm. The model is one-dimensional and describes the transient behavior of an initial electron seed from electron growth in an unperturbed electric field to streamer propagation.

A plot from the Negative Streamer in Nitrogen in 1D tutorial model. Spatial distribution of the electron (colored solid lines) and ion number density (black dashed lines) for four time instants during streamer propagation. Spatial distribution of the electron (colored solid lines) and ion number density (black dashed lines) for four time instants during streamer propagation.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Direct_Current_Discharges/streamer_1d

New Tutorial Model: Chlorine Discharge

Plasma discharges containing chlorine are commonly used to etch semiconductors and metals in microelectronics fabrication.

This tutorial model studies chlorine plasma discharges using a global (volume-averaged) diffusion model. These can run simulations in a fraction of the time it would take for space-dependent models. This makes them a good choice to study large reaction sets and extended parameter regions.

The Chlorine Discharge model explores absorbed powers from 50 to 600 W, working with pressures from 1 to 100 mTorr. Model results of several relevant quantities such as electron density, electron temperature, and atomic chlorine density are in good agreement with measurements performed in inductively coupled plasma reactors, found in the literature.

A plot from the Chlorine Discharge tutorial model, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3. Evolution of the chlorine species and electron density in the reactor using a global diffusion model. Evolution of the chlorine species and electron density in the reactor using a global diffusion model.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Global_Discharges/chlorine_global_model

New Tutorial Model: Surface Chemistry

Surface chemistry is often an overlooked aspect of reacting flow modeling. This tutorial model shows how surface reactions and species can be added to study processes like chemical vapor deposition (CVD). The tutorial then models silicon growth on a wafer.

Initially, the example uses a global model to investigate a broad region of parameters with complex chemistry. Then, a space-dependent model is set up and run. Careful attention is paid to the overall mass balance in the system while the difference between the mass-averaged velocity and diffusion velocity is explored. The model demonstrates that the total mass and molar concentration in the system is conserved. Finally, the height of the deposited silicon is studied as a function of time.

A plot from the Surface Chemistry Tutorial, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3.

Growth of the deposited silicon on a boundary for the global model (right) and the space-dependent model (left). The x-axis represents the space dimension (m), the y-axis represents time (s), and the z-axis represents the growth height (Å). Since this is a closed reactor with a uniform distribution of the species, the agreement between the two methods is very good.

Growth of the deposited silicon on a boundary for the global model (right) and the space-dependent model (left). The x-axis represents the space dimension (m), the y-axis represents time (s), and the z-axis represents the growth height (Å). Since this is a closed reactor with a uniform distribution of the species, the agreement between the two methods is very good.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Chemical_Vapor_Deposition/surface_chemistry_tutorial

New Tutorial Model: Microwave Microplasma

Plasmas sustained in microscale discharge gaps are able to operate at high pressures (1 atm) with high electron number density (1E20 m^-3) and power density (1E9 W/m^3), while maintaining a relatively cool heavy-particle temperature. This tutorial model simulates an atmospheric-pressure argon plasma sustained by a time-varying electric excitation in the microwave range. The model is one-dimensional in the direction of the applied field and describes the spatial and temporal evolution of several macroscopic properties of the plasma.

A plot from the Microwave Microplasma tutorial model, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3.

Evolution of the log of the electron density during the 500th RF cycle. The y-axis in this plot represents time multiplied by the excitation frequency.

Evolution of the log of the electron density during the 500th RF cycle. The y-axis in this plot represents time multiplied by the excitation frequency.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/microwave_microplasma