结构力学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.1 版本为“结构力学模块”的用户增强了接触建模功能,引入了在边界上添加线性和非线性材料的功能,并添加了用于对具有给定材料属性集的材料模型的特性进行数值测试和验证的新特征。请阅读以下内容,了解有关“结构力学模块”的所有更新功能。

接触建模增强功能

新版本对接触建模功能进行了一些补充和改进。

  • 实施了更快的新接触搜索算法,对大型三维模型尤其有利。
  • 新增了 Nitsche 方法,用于制定接触方程;这是一种稳健的方法,不会添加任何额外的自由度。
  • 为所有接触模型的接触方程添加了更稳定的新公式。
  • 改进了壳和膜的公式,现在使用弯曲几何上的实际表面。
  • 改善了对自接触的支持。现在,该公式在接触对的两侧是对称的。

弹塑性管被强制放入锥形孔的动画,其中多个位置发生自接触。

固体力学接口 - 一维

现在,固体力学 接口可用于一维和一维轴对称组件,您无需添加任何附加产品即可使用基本功能。在横向上,您可以选择平面应力、平面应变和广义平面应变的不同组合。在电池建模、声学和热-结构相互作用等方面,可以使用多种多物理场应用,其中一维模型对于洞察各种物理现象很有帮助。请注意,电池中的插层应变功能已包含在“电池模块”中。对于更高级的一维建模,将“固体力学”接口与“MEMS 模块”、“多体动力学模块”或“声学模块”结合使用时,可以使用许多额外的特征。

一维轴对称接触的热-结构耦合问题。请注意,基础表示只是沿直线的一维单元,为了获得更好的可视化效果,图中将结果扩展为圆形几何形状。

材料模型的数值测试

对于复杂的材料模型,尤其是用户定义的模型来说,研究模型在各种载荷条件下的行为非常重要。固体力学 接口中新增的测试材料 特征可以自动建立具有一个单元的小模型,其中包含适用于多种不同载荷条件的边界条件和研究步骤。载荷既可以是准静态,也可以是瞬态的;可以是单调的,也可以是循环的。您可以在更新的使用修正剑桥黏土材料模型模拟等向压缩试验非恒定载荷下的初级蠕变模型中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“测试材料”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;还显示四个“图形”窗口。 材料模型的四种不同基本测试的应力-应变曲线。

固体边界上的材料

现在,您可以在内部或外部边界上使用各种线性和非线性材料模型,例如,用于模拟胶层、垫圈或包层。从全三维到仅面内应变,这类层可以使用许多不同的假设。当您结合使用“复合材料模块”与“结构力学模块”来实现这些模型时,边界材料甚至可以是多层的。现有的加热电路模型演示了这一新功能。

管法兰模型,其中以 Spectrum 颜色表显示应力。 两个管法兰之间的垫圈的应力。

导线物理场接口

此版本新增了导线 接口,用于分析电缆或电线系统,该接口可以单独进行分析,也可以与其他类型的结构结合使用。导线可以被施加预应力,也可以因自重而下垂。您可以在新的静载作用下的桁架塔线性屈曲分析教学案例和以下现有模型中查看这一新功能的应用演示:

当支撑点向内移动时,受重力载荷作用的线栅中的力。其中部分栅格停留在刚性表面上。

薄膜阻尼的多物理场接口

此版本添加了两个新的薄膜阻尼多物理场接口:实体薄膜阻尼壳薄膜阻尼,它们分别将薄膜流动 接口与固体力学 接口相结合。此外,还新增了两个促进薄膜阻尼的多物理场耦合:结构薄膜流动相互作用壳薄膜流动相互作用。这些耦合不限于薄膜阻尼;比如,您也可以使用它们对润滑和空化现象进行建模。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“结构薄膜流动相互作用”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示加速度计模型。 加速度计中的压膜气体阻尼。彩色绘图显示固体域的两个表面上的气压。

静载下的屈曲分析

在搜索临界屈曲载荷时,有些情况下存在多种载荷系统,其中一种可以被视为固定载荷。例如,重力载荷可以看作是固定的(静载),而工作载荷可以看作是不固定的(活载)。即使您只想计算工作载荷的临界水平,静载仍然会影响屈曲风险。新的静载作用下的桁架塔线性屈曲分析模型中内置了此类分析,您可以在其中进行查看。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“线性屈曲”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示桁架塔模型。 线性屈曲分析的求解器设置现在支持处理活载和静载的组合。本例将拉索中的预应力和塔架的自重视为静载,并将顶部的力视为活载。

壳和膜的磨损

固体力学 接口中已有的功能类似,磨损 子节点已添加到 接口中。您可以使用此特征计算由于摩擦滑动而减少的壳和膜厚度的磨损,也可以使用同一技术为厚度变化率添加用户定义的表达式,还可将它用于对腐蚀或电镀等进行建模。

由于圆柱形实体对象的摩擦滑动而导致的壳表面的磨损。本例使用 数据集完成可视化效果,给人的印象是两个部分都是三维实体。

新的装配连接方法

新版本添加了 Nitsche 方法,以强制使装配中的边界之间具有连续性。与经典的逐点约束相比,这种方法有两个重要的优势:

  • 当两侧的网格不共形时,可以明显减少解中的局部扰动。
  • 由于没有添加约束,因此避免了数值敏感且有时计算量较大的约束消除步骤。

两个带有红色箭头的矩形对象,其中以 Wave Light 颜色表显示应力。 使用经典约束或新的 Nitsche 方法连接不匹配的网格时,局部应力扰动的比较图。

部件模态综合法增强功能

现在,您可以在部件模态综合法 (CMS) 分析中使用壳单元。此外,新版本还引入了多项通用的功能改进,使您可以更轻松地针对 CMS 分析来建立模型。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“降阶柔性部件”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示洗衣机模型。 洗衣机的动力学研究。当表示洗衣机外壳的壳单元减化为 CMS 部件时,分析时间减少了 1/2。

基座激励

结构上的动态载荷通常由其所有支撑点的一定加速度组成,典型的示例包括,当零件连接到振动台进行测试,或者当建筑物受到较大波长的地面加速度时的情况。现在,您可以使用新的基座激励 特征更自然地描述这种类型的载荷,它非常适用于随机振动分析。您可以在现有的主板的冲击响应主板的随机振动试验模型中查看此更新功能。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“基座激励”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示主板模型。 使用 基座激励特征的示例,其中在随机振动分析中使用三个输入功率谱密度 (PSD)。基座激励是整个模型的属性,因此该特征不包含任何选择。

载荷作为合成量给出

对于边界载荷和点载荷集,您现在可以通过从载荷类型 列表中选择合成 选项来指定相对于给定点的总力和力矩,从而更轻松地应用合成载荷,而无需施加人为约束或者对实际载荷分布进行长时间的计算。此外,还可以控制载荷分布的假设形状。

本例在梁的末端施加以合成力矩形式给出的弯曲载荷,作为三维实体进行建模。实际的载荷分布用箭头显示。

焊接计算

对于焊接结构,能够预测焊缝中的应力是设计的一个重要方面。在 接口中,您现在可以计算沿连接边的应力。由于焊缝不在几何中建模,而是由其属性表示,因此该方法具有半解析性。您可以计算单面和双面角焊以及对接焊。

一组带有绿色直线和红色箭头的焊缝。 一组焊缝的失效指数。

新增各向异性材料的输入

线弹性材料 特征中添加了多个用于输入弹性常数的新选项:

  • 正交各向异性材料现在可以通过七种不同晶系的晶体数据来描述:立方晶系、六方晶系、六常数三方晶系、七常数三方晶系、六常数正方晶系、七常数正方晶系和正交晶系。
  • 支持横向各向同性材料的输入,从而减少此类材料的输入数量。
  • 除弹性矩阵以外,一般各向异性材料现在还可以由其柔度矩阵表征。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“线弹性材料”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示一个三维对象。 使用晶系输入弹性数据的用户界面。

刚性连接件的功能改进

刚性连接件 是抽象建模的重要工具,例如在应用载荷和连接对象时非常有用,其功能在以下三个方面得到了增强:

  • 现在可以断开选定的自由度,例如在局部坐标系给定的方向上执行此操作。利用此选项,您可以释放过多的约束并减少局部应力集中。
  • 对于三维中的两点刚性连接件,可以自动抑制潜在的旋转奇点。
  • 作为新的默认设置,由刚性连接件生成的自由度现在可以在研究序列中组合在一起,从而显著减少模型树中的节点数,使您可以更轻松地应用手动缩放实现收敛容差。同样的更改也适用于连接件 特征。

三个刚性连接件模型,其中一个带有红色箭头,两个以 Prism 颜色表显示。 释放的自由度的影响。带内压的异径管末端有一个刚性连接件,如最左图的棕色面所示。通过使用标准公式,关于刚度的假设将保持半径不变,如中间图所示。在最右侧的图中,径向位移在刚性连接件中被释放,例如,仍然可以在任何方向施加载荷或连接到其他域。

管道分析增强功能

在管道分析方面,新版本进行了以下更新:

  • 管力学 接口中,您现在可以为弯管的柔度和应力指定校正因子。
  • 在进行应力计算时,您现在可以输入一个缩小的壁厚,可用于分析腐蚀裕量。
  • 零件库中添加了许多参数化管几何:直管、弯管、异径管和 T 型接头。这些几何可用于使用实体或壳单元进行详细分析。此类三维模型可以通过现有的耦合功能直接连接到管力学 接口。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“加载的零件”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口,以及两个“图形”窗口。 本例使用 固体力学管力学接口模拟弯管在弯曲作用下的应力和变形,其中实体几何从零件库中获取。

局部坐标系中的结果

现在,您可以通过添加局部坐标系结果 节点来轻松定义任意数量的局部坐标系,以计算结构力学 接口中的常用量。您可以在可用的变换量中找到应力、应变、位移和材料属性。

两个圆柱模型,其中以 Prism 颜色表显示直接应变。 圆柱对称的几何在全局 x 方向和方位角方向上的直接应变。

桁架接口中的有限位移

桁架 接口以及新的导线 接口中,可以将位移限制为一个点或整条线的特定值。有限位移 边界条件可用于模拟接近壁或支撑点的情况。

桁架在不断增加的载荷下的轴向力。垂直位移仅限于两个点,如黑色圆圈所示。图中将变形放大了 100 倍。

桁架单元的标准横截面

桁架 接口中,横截面数据 节点增加了一个选项,用于通过几何属性来定义单元横截面。可用的横截面包括:矩形箱形圆形管形H 型U 型T 型C 型帽型。您可以在新的桁架塔屈曲教学案例和以下现有模型中查看此特征的应用演示:

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“横截面数据”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示桁架塔模型。 使用标准横截面之一的“桁架塔屈曲”模型。

弹性波的裂隙边界条件

弹性波,时域显式 物理场接口中新增的裂隙 边界条件用于处理两个具有不完全结合的弹性域。裂隙可以是弹性薄层、充满流体的层,或弹性材料的不连续性(内部边界),您可以使用多个选项来指定薄弹性域的属性。这种边界条件的典型应用是模拟无损检测 (NDT) 应用,例如检查脱层区域或其他缺陷的响应,或者模拟石油和天然气工业中波在断裂固体介质中的传播。

预定义的绘图

一般的预定义绘图功能为结构力学 接口带来了广泛的更新。预定义的绘图类似于默认绘图,二者的重要区别在于,前者不会添加到“模型开发器”中(除非用户选择这样做)。由于为每个研究生成的默认绘图的数量已明显减少,因此这样做是有利的。

此外,用户还将看到以下两项改进:

  • 除了以前版本中的默认绘图以外,现在添加预定义的绘图 菜单还新增了多个有用的绘图。
  • 您可以直接使用中间研究步骤(例如预应力动态分析中的加载步骤)的结果图。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“三维绘图组”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示管路连接模型;还显示一个“添加预定义的绘图”窗口。 “管路连接”模型中的 添加预定义的绘图窗口。

梁的剪力和力矩图

表示梁结构中弯矩和剪力分布的一种常用方法是在几何顶部绘制剪力和弯矩图。 接口中添加了绘制力矩和剪力图的功能。即使对于分布载荷,图表也与网格无关;也就是说,其中包含载荷变化对单元的影响。此外,截面力图也可用于动态分析,其中部分载荷由惯性力组成。

三个截面力图,其中用箭头显示外加载荷。 截面力图:外加载荷和网格(共 10 个梁单元)(上)、力矩图(左下)和剪力图(右下)。请注意,仅对一部分最顶部的单元施加分布载荷。

用于微结构均质化的新零件

在零件库中,COMSOL Multiphysics 分支下添加了名为代表性体积单元 的新文件夹,其中包含许多常见微结构的参数化几何图形,例如纤维、孔隙和颗粒复合材料。这些几何可用于使用代表性体积单元 (RVE) 方法来计算有效材料属性。新的周期性微结构的均质材料属性颗粒复合材料的细观力学模型着重演示了这一新功能。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“加载的零件”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;以及四个“图形”窗口。 “零件库”中的参数化几何示例。

新的教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.1 版本的“结构力学模块”添加了多个新的教学案例。

Structural Mechanics Module Updates

For users of the Structural Mechanics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.1 provides contact modeling enhancements, the ability to add linear and nonlinear materials on boundaries, and a new feature that numerically tests and verifies the behavior of a material model for a given set of material properties. Learn about all of the Structural Mechanics Module updates below.

Contact Modeling Enhancements

Several additions and improvements have been made to the contact modeling functionality.

  • A new, faster contact search algorithm has been implemented. It is particularly advantageous for large 3D models.
  • Nitsche's method, a new method for formulating the contact equations, has been added. It is a robust method that does not add any extra degrees of freedom.
  • New, more stable formulations of the contact equations have been added for all contact models.
  • Formulations for shells and membranes have been improved. Now, the actual surface on curved geometries is used.
  • Support for self-contact has been improved. The formulation is now symmetric between the two sides of the contact pair.

Animation of an elastoplastic pipe forced into a conical hole. Self-contact occurs in several places.

Solid Mechanics Interface in 1D

The Solid Mechanics interface is now available for 1D and 1D axisymmetric components and does not require any additional product to use the basic functionality. In the transverse directions, different combinations of plane stress, plane strain, and generalized plane strain can be selected. There are several multiphysics applications in, for example, battery modeling, acoustics, and thermal–structure interaction where a 1D model can be useful for providing important insights into a physical phenomenon. Note that functionality for intercalation strains in batteries is included in the Battery Design Module. For more advanced 1D modeling, additional features are available when the Solid Mechanics interface is used in conjunction with the MEMS Module, Multibody Dynamics Module, or Acoustics Module.

A coupled thermal–structural problem with contact in 1D axisymmetry. Note that the underlying representation here is simply 1D elements along a line, whereas the results are expanded to a circular geometry for better visualization.

Numerical Testing of Material Models

For complex material models, in particular those that are user defined, it is important to investigate how a model behaves under various loading conditions. The new Test Material feature in the Solid Mechanics interface can automatically set up a small one-element model with appropriate boundary conditions and study steps for several different loading conditions. The loading can be quasistatic or time dependent, monotonic or cyclic. You can see this new feature in the updated Isotropic Compression with Modified Cam-Clay Material Model and Primary Creep Under Nonconstant Load models.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Test Material node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and four Graphics windows. Stress–strain curves for four different fundamental tests of a material model.

Materials on Boundaries of Solids

A wide range of linear and nonlinear material models are now available to use on internal or external boundaries. This can be used to model glue layers, gaskets, or claddings, for example. Such layers can use different assumptions, ranging from full 3D to only in-plane strains. When you use the Composite Materials Module in conjunction with the Structural Mechanics Module to implement these models, the boundary materials can even be multilayered. The existing Heating Circuit model showcases this new addition.

A tube flange model showing the stress in the Spectrum color table. Stresses in a gasket between two tube flanges.

Physics Interface for Wires

A new Wire interface has been added for the analysis of systems of cables or wires, which can be done separately or in conjunction with other types of structures. The wires can be prestressed or sagging under self-weight. You can see this new functionality in the new Linear Buckling Analysis of a Truss Tower with Dead Loads tutorial model and the following existing models:

Forces in a grid of wires under a gravity load when the support points are moved inward. Part of the grid comes to rest on a rigid surface.

Multiphysics Interfaces for Thin-Film Damping

Two new multiphysics interfaces for thin-film damping have been added: Solid Thin-Film Damping and Shell Thin-Film Damping. They combine a Thin-Film Flow interface with Solid Mechanics or Shell, respectively. There are also two new multiphysics couplings that facilitate thin-film damping: Structure Thin-Film Flow Interaction and Shell Thin-Film Flow Interaction. These couplings are not limited to thin-film damping; you can also use them to model lubrication and cavitation, for example.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Structure Thin-Film Flow Interaction node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and an accelerometer model in the Graphics window. Squeezed-film gas damping in an accelerometer. The color plot shows the gas pressure on two surfaces for the solid domain.

Buckling Analysis with Dead Loads

When searching for a critical buckling load, there are some situations where there are more than one system of loads, and one of them can be considered to be fixed. For example, a gravity load can be considered fixed (a dead load), whereas a service load can be considered not fixed (a live load). Even if you only want to compute the critical level of a service load, the dead load will still influence the risk of buckling. This type of analysis is now built in and can be viewed in the new Linear Buckling Analysis of a Truss Tower with Dead Loads model.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Linear Buckling node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a truss tower model in the Graphics window. The solver settings for a linear buckling analysis now allow for handling a combination of live and dead loads. In the example, the prestress in the guys and the self-weight of the tower are considered the dead loads, whereas a force at the top is considered the live load.

Wear for Shells and Membranes

Similar to the functionality that is already available in the Solid Mechanics interface, the Wear subnode has been added to the Shell and Membrane interfaces. This feature makes it possible to compute wear that reduces the thickness of shells and membranes due to frictional sliding. The same technology makes it possible to add user-defined expressions for the rate of thickness change. This can be used to model, for example, corrosion or electrodeposition.

Wear on a shell surface due to frictional sliding of a cylindrical solid object. The visualization is accomplished using a Shell dataset, giving the impression that both parts are 3D solids.

New Method for Connecting Assemblies

Nitsche's method has been added to enforce continuity between boundaries in assemblies. It has two important advantages when compared with classical pointwise constraints:

  • It causes significantly less local disturbances in the solution when the meshes on the two sides are not conforming.
  • Since no constraints are added, the numerically sensitive and sometimes computationally heavy constraint-elimination step is avoided.
Two rectangular objects with red arrows and the stress shown in the Wave Light color table. Comparison of local stress disturbance when using either a classical constraint or the new Nitsche's method for connecting mismatching meshes.

Component Mode Synthesis Enhancements

It is now possible to use shell elements in component mode synthesis (CMS) analyses. There are also several general improvements that make it easier to set up models for CMS analyses.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Reduced Flexible Components node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a washing machine model in the Graphics window. A study of the dynamics of a washing machine. The analysis time is reduced by a factor of 2 when the shell representing the enclosure is reduced to a CMS component.

Base Excitation

It is common that the dynamic loading on a structure consists of a certain acceleration of all its support points. Examples of this are when a part is attached to a shaker table for testing or when a building is subjected to a ground acceleration with a long wavelength. This type of loading can now be more naturally described using the new Base Excitation feature. It is well suited for random vibration analysis. You can view this update in the existing Shock Response of a Motherboard and Random Vibration Test of a Motherboard models.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Base Excitation node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a motherboard model in the Graphics window. An example of using the Base Excitation feature, where three input power spectral densities (PSDs) are being used in a random vibration analysis. Base excitation is a property of the entire model, so this feature does not have any selections.

Loads Given as Resultant

For boundary loads and sets of point loads, you can now specify the total force and moment with respect to a given point by selecting the Resultant option from the Load type list. This makes it easier to apply load resultants without either imposing artificial constraints or making long calculations of the actual load distributions. It is possible to control the assumed shape of the load distribution.

A bending load given as a moment resultant is applied to the end of a beam, modeled as a 3D solid. The actual load distribution is shown by arrows.

Weld Evaluation

For welded structures, being able to predict the stresses in the welds is an important design aspect. In the Shell interface, you can now evaluate stresses along joined edges. The method is semianalytical in the sense that the weld is not modeled in the geometry, but it is represented by its properties. Single-sided and double-sided fillet welds as well as butt welds can be evaluated.

A set of welds with green lines and red arrows. Failure index for a set of welds.

New Inputs for Anisotropic Materials

For the Linear Elastic Material feature, several new options for entering elastic constants have been added:

  • Orthotropic materials can now be described by crystal data for seven different types of crystal systems: cubic, hexagonal, trigonal with six constants, trigonal with seven constants, tetragonal with six constants, tetragonal with seven constants, and orthorhombic.
  • Input for transversely isotropic materials is supported, reducing the number of inputs for this class of materials.
  • A general anisotropic material can now, in addition to the elasticity matrix, be represented by its compliance matrix.
The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Linear Elastic Material node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a 3D object in the Graphics window. The user interface for entering elasticity data using a crystal system.

Improvements for Rigid Connectors

The Rigid Connector is an important tool for abstract modeling, such as when applying loads and connecting objects. Its functionality has been augmented in three respects:

  • It is now possible to disconnect selected degrees of freedom, such as in directions given by a local coordinate system. With this option, it is possible to release excessive constraints and reduce local stress concentrations.
  • For two-point rigid connectors in 3D, it is possible to automatically suppress the potential rotational singularity.
  • As a new default, the degrees of freedom that are generated by rigid connectors are now grouped together in the study sequence. This can dramatically reduce the number of nodes in the model tree and makes it easier to apply manual scaling for the convergence tolerance. The same change also applies to the Attachment feature.
Three rigid connector models where one has red arrows and two are in the Prism color table. Effects of released degrees of freedom. The reducer with internal pressure has a rigid connector at the end, as shown in the brown surface in the leftmost figure. With a standard formulation, the assumption about rigidity will keep the radius constant, as shown in the middle figure. In the rightmost figure, the radial displacement is released in the rigid connector. It is still possible to, for example, apply loads in any direction or connect to other domains.

Piping Analysis Enhancements

For the analysis of pipes, the following updates are available:

  • In the Pipe Mechanics interface, you can now specify correction factors for flexibility and stresses in pipe bends.
  • You can now enter a reduced wall thickness for stress evaluation. This can be used to account for a corrosion allowance.
  • In the part libraries, a number of parameterized geometries for pipes have been added: straight pipe, bend, reducer, and T-junction. These geometries can be used for detailed analysis using solid or shell elements. Such 3D models can be directly connected to the Pipe Mechanics interface by using an existing coupling.
The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Loaded Part node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and two Graphics windows. Stresses and deformation in a pipe bend subjected to a bending, modeled with both the Solid Mechanics and Pipe Mechanics interfaces. The solid geometry is obtained from part libraries.

Results in Local Coordinate Systems

It is now easy to define an arbitrary number of local coordinate systems by adding Local System Results nodes for the evaluation of common quantities in the Structural Mechanics interfaces. Among the available transformed quantities, you will find stresses, strains, displacements, and material properties.

Two cylindrical models showing direct strain in the Prism color table. Direct strain in the global x-direction and the azimuthal direction for a geometry with cylindrical symmetry.

Limited Displacement in Truss Interface

In the Truss interface, as well as in the new Wire interface, it is possible to limit the displacement to a certain value for a point or an entire line. The Limited Displacement boundary condition can be used to model a situation where a wall or support point is approached.

Axial forces in a truss under increasing loads. The vertical displacement is limited for two points, as indicated by the black circles. The deformation is magnified by a factor 100.

Standard Cross Sections for Truss Elements

In the Truss interface, the Cross-Section Data node has been augmented with an option for defining the element cross section by geometrical properties. The available cross sections are: Rectangle, Box, Circular, Pipe, H-profile, U-profile, T-profile, C-profile, and Hat. You can see this feature in the new Truss Tower Buckling tutorial model and the following existing models:

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Cross-Section Data node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a truss tower model in the Graphics window. The Truss Tower Buckling model using one of the standard cross sections.

Fracture Boundary Condition for Elastic Waves

The new Fracture boundary condition, available in the Elastic Waves, Time Explicit physics interface, is used to treat two elastic domains with imperfect bonding. The fracture can be a thin elastic layer, fluid-filled layer, or discontinuity in elastic materials (an interior boundary). Several options exist for specifying the properties of the thin elastic domain. Typical applications are for modeling nondestructive testing (NDT) applications, such as inspecting the response of delamination regions or other defects, or for modeling wave propagation in fractured solid media in the oil and gas industry.

Predefined Plots

General functionality for predefined plots has brought extensive updates to the Structural Mechanics interfaces. A predefined plot is similar to a default plot, but with the important difference that it is not added to the Model Builder until the user selects to do so. This is advantageous because the number of default plots that are generated for each study has been decreased significantly.

In addition, users will see the following two improvements:

  • Several new useful plots are now available from the Add Predefined Plot menu, in addition to the default plots in previous versions.
  • Result plots for intermediate study steps — for example the loading step in a prestressed dynamic analysis — are directly available.
The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with a 3D Plot Group node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, a tube connection model in the Graphics window, and an Add Predefined Plot window. The Add Predefined Plot window in the Tube Connection model.

Shear Force and Moment Diagrams for Beams

A common way of representing the distribution of bending moments and shear forces in beam structures is with shear force and bending moment diagrams, drawn on top of the geometry. In the Beam interface, a capability to draw moment and shear force diagrams has been added. Even for distributed loads, the graphs are mesh independent; that is, the effect of load variation over the element is included. The section force diagrams can also be used in dynamic analyses, where the loading consists partially of inertial forces.

Three section force diagrams showing the applied loads in arrows. Section force diagrams: the applied loads and mesh (a total of 10 beam elements) (top), the moment diagram (bottom left), and the shear force diagram (bottom right). Note that the distributed load is applied to only part of the topmost element.

New Parts for Homogenization of Microstructures

In the part libraries, a new folder named Representative Volume Elements has been added to the COMSOL Multiphysics branch. It contains numerous parameterized geometries for common microstructures, such as fibers, pores, and particulate composites. These geometries can be used for computing effective material properties using the representative volume element (RVE) method. The new Homogenized Material Properties of Periodic Microstructures and Micromechanical Model of a Particulate Composite models highlight this new addition.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with a Loaded Part node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and four Graphics windows. Examples of parameterized geometries from the Part Library.

New Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.1 brings several new tutorial models to the Structural Mechanics Module.