多体动力学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 6.1 版本为“多体动力学模块”的用户引入了接触建模性能改进、分析导线和电缆的接口,以及强制执行装配边界间连续性的新方法。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解这些更新及其他新增功能。

接触建模增强功能

新版本对接触建模功能进行了一些补充和改进,对性能和功能都有影响。

  • 实施了更快的新接触搜索算法,对大型三维模型尤其有利。
  • 新增了 Nitsche 方法,用于制定接触方程;这是一种稳健的方法,不会添加任何额外的自由度。
  • 为所有接触模型的接触方程添加了更稳定的新公式。
  • 改善了对自接触的支持。现在,该公式在接触对的两侧是对称的。


弹塑性管被强制放入锥形孔的动画,其中多个位置发生自接触。

导线物理场接口

新版本新增了一个导线 物理场接口,可以单独或与其他类型的结构一起用于分析电缆或导线系统。导线可以被施加预应力,也可以因自重而下垂。以下模型使用了这一新功能:


当支撑点向内移动时,受重力载荷作用的线栅中的力。其中部分栅格停留在刚性表面上。

新的装配连接方法

新版本中添加了一种新的方法来执行装配中边界之间的连续性,即 Nitsche 方法。与经典的逐点约束相比,新方法有两个重要的优点:

  1. 当两侧的网格不共形时,可以明显减少解中的局部扰动。
  2. 由于没有添加约束,因此避免了数值敏感且有时计算量较大的约束消除步骤。

两个带有红色箭头的矩形对象,其中以 Wave Light 颜色表显示应力。 使用经典约束或新的 Nitsche 方法连接不匹配的网格时,局部应力扰动的比较图。

部件模态综合法增强功能

借助“结构力学模块”,您现在可以在部件模态综合法(CMS)分析中使用壳单元。此外,新版本还引入了多项一般的功能改进,使您可以更轻松地针对 CMS 分析来建立模型。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“降阶柔性部件”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示洗衣机模型。 本例是对一台洗衣机的动力学研究,当表示洗衣机外壳的壳单元减少为 CMS 部件时,分析时间减少了 1/2。

基座激励

结构上的动态载荷通常由其所有支撑点的一定加速度组成,典型的示例包括,当零件连接到振动台进行测试时的情况。现在,您可以使用新的基座激励 特征更自然地描述这种类型的载荷。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“基座激励”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示主板模型。 基座激励的一个示例,其中结构在所有螺栓孔处具有统一的指定加速度。基座激励是整个模型的一个属性,因此这个特征不包含任何选择。

载荷作为合成量给出

对于边界载荷和点载荷集,您现在可以通过从载荷类型 列表中选择合成 选项来指定相对于给定点的总力和力矩,从而更轻松地应用合成载荷,而无需施加人为约束或者对实际载荷分布进行长时间的计算。此外,还可以控制载荷分布的假设形状。


本例在梁的末端施加以合成力矩形式给出的弯曲载荷,作为三维实体进行建模。实际的载荷分布用箭头显示。

刚性连接件的功能改进

刚性连接件 是抽象建模的重要工具,例如在应用载荷和连接对象时非常有用,其功能在以下三个方面得到了增强:

  1. 现在可以断开选定的自由度,例如在局部坐标系给定的方向上执行此操作。利用此选项,您可以释放过多的约束并减少局部应力集中。
  2. 对于三维中的两点刚性连接件,可以自动抑制潜在的旋转奇点。
  3. 作为新的默认设置,由刚性连接件生成的自由度现在可以在研究序列中组合在一起,从而显著减少模型树中的节点数,使您可以更轻松地应用手动缩放实现收敛容差。同样的更改也适用于连接件 特征。

三个刚性连接件模型,其中一个带有红色箭头,两个以 Prism 颜色表显示。 释放的自由度的影响。带内压的异径管末端有一个刚性连接件,如最左图的棕色面所示。如中间的图所示,对于标准公式,关于刚性的假设将保持半径不变。在最右侧的图中,径向位移在刚性连接件中被释放。仍然可以在任何方向施加载荷或连接到其他域。

局部坐标系中的结果

现在,您可以通过添加局部坐标系结果 节点来轻松定义任意数量的局部坐标系,以计算常用结果量。您可以在变换量中找到应力、应变、位移和材料属性。

两个圆柱模型,其中以 Prism 颜色表显示直接应变。 圆柱对称的几何在全局 x 方向和方位角方向上的直接应变。

预定义的绘图

新版本新增了用于预定义绘图的常规功能。预定义绘图类似于默认绘图,二者的重要区别在于,除非用户选择这样做,否则前者不会被添加到模型开发器 中。这有三个好处:

  1. 为每个研究生成的默认绘图的数量已大大减少。
  2. 除了先前版本中的默认绘图外,添加预定义的绘图 菜单中还提供了多个新的有用绘图。
  3. 中间研究步骤的结果图(例如,预应力动态分析中的加载步骤)可以直接使用。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“结果”节点,并显示其相应的“设置”窗口;“图形”窗口中显示弹性滚子链模型,右侧打开了“添加预定义的绘图”窗口。 “案例库”中一个模型的 添加预定义的绘图窗口。

Multibody Dynamics Module Updates

For users of the Multibody Dynamics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 6.1 introduces contact modeling improvements, an interface for analyzing wires and cables, and a new method for enforcing continuity between boundaries in assemblies. Read about these updates and more below.

Contact Modeling Enhancements

Several additions and improvements have been made to the contact modeling functionality, affecting both performance and capabilities.

  • A new, faster contact search algorithm has been implemented. It is particularly advantageous for large 3D models.
  • Nitsche's method, a new method for formulating contact equations, has been added. It is a robust method that does not add any extra degrees of freedom.
  • New, more stable formulations of the contact equations have been added for all contact models.
  • Support for self-contact has been improved. The formulation is now symmetric between the two sides of the contact pair.


Animation of an elastoplastic pipe forced into a conical hole. Self-contact occurs in several places.

Physics Interface for Wires

A new physics interface, Wire, has been added. It is intended for the analysis of cables or wire systems, separately or in conjunction with other types of structures. The wires can be prestressed or sagging under self-weight. You can see this new functionality in the following models:


Forces in a grid of wires under gravity load when the support points are moved inward. Part of the grid comes to rest on a rigid surface.

New Method for Connecting Assemblies

A new method for enforcing continuity between boundaries in assemblies has been added: Nitsche's method. The new method has two important advantages when compared with classical pointwise constraints:

  1. It causes significantly less local disturbances in the solution when the meshes on the two sides
    are not conforming.
  2. Since no constraints are added, the numerically sensitive and sometimes computationally heavy
    constraint-elimination step is avoided.
Two rectangular objects with red arrows and the stress shown in the Wave Light color table. Comparison of local stress disturbance when using either a classical constraint or the new Nitsche's method for connecting mismatching meshes.

Component Mode Synthesis Enhancements

With the Structural Mechanics Module, it is now possible to use shell elements in component mode synthesis (CMS) analyses. There are also several general improvements that makes it easier to set up models for CMS analyses.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Reduced Flexible Components node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a washing machine model in the Graphics window. In this example — a study of the dynamics of a washing machine — the analysis time is reduced by a factor of 2 when the shell representing the enclosure is reduced to a CMS component.

Base Excitation

It is common that the dynamic loading on a structure consists of a certain acceleration of all its support points. An example of this is when a part is attached to a shaker table for testing. This type of loading can now be more naturally described using the new Base Excitation feature.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Base Excitation node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a motherboard model in the Graphics window. An example of base excitation, where a structure has a uniform prescribed acceleration at all bolt holes. Base excitation is a property of the entire model, so this feature does not have any selections.

Loads Given as Resultant

For boundary loads and sets of point loads, you can now specify the total force and moment with respect to a given point by selecting the Resultant option from the Load type list. This makes it easier to apply load resultants without either imposing artificial constraints or making long calculations of the actual load distributions. It is possible to control the assumed shape of the load distribution.


A bending load given as a moment resultant is applied to the end of a beam, modeled as a 3D solid. The actual load distribution is shown by arrows.

Improvements for Rigid Connectors

The Rigid Connector is an important tool for abstract modeling, such as when applying loads and connecting objects. Its functionality has been augmented in three respects:

  1. It is now possible to disconnect selected degrees of freedom, such as in directions given by a local coordinate system. With this option, it is possible to release excessive constraints and reduce local stress concentrations.
  2. For two-point rigid connectors in 3D, it is possible to automatically suppress the potential rotational singularity.
  3. As a new default, the degrees of freedom that are generated by rigid connectors are now grouped together in the study sequence. This can dramatically reduce the number of nodes in the model tree and makes it easier to apply manual scaling for convergence tolerance. The same change also applies to the Attachment feature.
Three rigid connector models where one has red arrows and two are in the Prism color table. The effects of released degrees of freedom. The reducer with internal pressure has a rigid connector at the end, as shown in the brown surface in the leftmost figure. As shown in the middle figure, with a standard formulation, the assumption about rigidity will keep the radius constant. In the rightmost figure, the radial displacement is released in the rigid connector. It is still possible to apply loads in any direction or connect to other domains.

Results in Local Coordinate Systems

It is now easy to define an arbitrary number of local coordinate systems by adding Local System Results nodes for the evaluation of common result quantities. Among the available transformed quantities, you will find stresses, strains, displacements, and material properties.

Two cylindrical models showing direct strain in the Prism color table. Direct strain in the global x-direction and the azimuthal direction for a geometry with cylindrical symmetry.

Predefined Plots

A new general functionality for predefined plots has been added. A predefined plot is similar to a default plot, but with the important difference that it is not added to the Model Builder until the user selects to do so. This has three advantages:

  1. The number of default plots that are generated for each study has been decreased significantly.
  2. Several new useful plots are available from the Add Predefined Plot menu, in addition to the default plots in previous versions.
  3. Result plots for intermediate study steps — for example, the loading step in a prestressed dynamic analysis — are directly available.
The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Results node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, an elastic roller chain model in the Graphics window, and the Add Predefined Plot window opened on the right. The Add Predefined Plot window for one of the models in the Application Libraries.