电池与燃料电池模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本为“电池与燃料电池模块”的用户新增了一个锂离子电池设计的 App 示例、一个新的 Baker-Verbrugge 扩散模型,以及两个新的电池教程。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解电池与燃料电池的功能更新。

新增示例 App:电池设计器

新的“电池设计器” App 可以充当设计工具,用来开发并优化电池设计,它可以计算容量、能量效率、产生的热量,以及由于锂离子电池在特定负载周期的寄生反应引起的容量损失。您可以在 App 中控制各种电池设计参数,例如:电池罐的几何尺寸;不同组件(隔板、集流体和电极)的厚度;正极材料以及多孔材料不同相的体积分数。负载循环是使用恒流负载的充放电循环,在充电和放电阶段可能会有所不同。该 App 还可以根据生成的热量和热质量计算电池温度(假设电池内部温度均匀),其中使用环境温度参数和传热系数来定义冷却。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中新增的“电池设计器”演示 App。 “电池设计器”App 的用户界面。 “电池设计器”App 的用户界面。

案例库路径:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Applications/li_battery_designer

自由和多孔介质流动接口的功能改进

在新版的自由和多孔介质流动 接口中,您可以将自由层流或自由湍流与多孔介质流动进行耦合。此接口仍然是支持与电化学接口相耦合的唯一接口,耦合接口可用于多孔电极建模。

Kozeny-Carman 渗透率模型

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本的达西定律 接口中新增了 Kozeny-Carman 渗透率模型,可供您基于孔隙率和粒子直径来估计颗粒介质的渗透率。

粒子插层节点中新增的扩散模型

锂离子电池 接口和二元电解质电池 接口中新增了 Baker-Verbrugge 扩散模型,基于插层反应的平衡电位对电极粒子扩散系数进行修正。总的来说,Baker-Verbrugge 模型更有利于捕捉荷电状态相关的传输速率和成阶现象。

锂离子电池电极的粒子浓度图。 锂离子电池电极的粒子浓度分布曲线。本例通过 Baker-Verbrugge 扩散模型揭示了浓度在 9000 到 11000 mol/m3 之间表现出明显的“分级”效应。 锂离子电池电极的粒子浓度分布曲线。本例通过 Baker-Verbrugge 扩散模型揭示了浓度在 9000 到 11000 mol/m3 之间表现出明显的“分级”效应。

案例库路径:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/li_battery_multiple_materials_1d

新增教学案例:异构锂电池

高精度电池建模的最新趋势是,在非均质模型中,详细地模拟多孔电极的结构。新增的教程模拟了一个三维理想化几何的锂离子单电池特性,其中的几何模仿了多孔电极的结构细节,通常此类模型称为非均质模型。与通常用来描述多孔电极的均质方法不同的是,非均质模型描述了孔隙电解质和电极粒子的实际形状。该模型还能与结构力学进行耦合,计算粒子中的 von Mises 应力。这些应力可用于计算周期疲劳,并由此估计由该周期产生的裂纹引起的电池性能损耗。锂离子电池 接口中的电极反应 节点进行了更新,新增了该教学案例中使用的“锂插入反应”动力学类型。

注:此模型还需要“结构力学模块”。

模拟异构锂离子电池的 COMSOL 模型。 电极粒子浓度分布。来自“电池与燃料电池”案例库的“异构锂离子电池”教程。 电极粒子浓度分布。来自“电池与燃料电池”案例库的“异构锂离子电池”教程。

案例库路径:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/heterogeneous_li_battery

新增教学案例:集总锂电池参数估计

这一新的教学案例采用“黑匣子”方法,基于一小组集总参数来定义电池模型,其中假设电池的内部结构、电池电极的设计和材料的选择均属未知。模型输入包括电池容量、初始荷电状态 (SOC),以及开路电压 vs. 荷电状态曲线,以及来自负载循环实验的实验数据。集总参数的参数估计通过优化 接口完成。

注:此模型还需要“优化模块”。


案例库路径:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/lumped_li_battery_parameter_estimation

Batteries & Fuel Cells Module Updates

For users of the Batteries & Fuel Cells Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a includes a new application for designing lithium-ion batteries, a new Baker-Verbrugge diffusion model, and two new battery tutorials. Learn more about these batteries and fuel cells features below.

New Demo App: Battery Designer

The new Battery Designer application can be used as a design tool to develop an optimized battery configuration for a specific use. The app computes the capacity, energy efficiency, heat generation, and capacity losses due to parasitic reactions of a lithium-ion battery for a specific load cycle. In the app, you can control various battery-design parameters, such as: the geometrical dimensions of the battery canister; the thicknesses of the different components (separator, current collectors, and electrodes); the positive electrode material; and the volume fractions of the different phases of the porous materials. The load cycle is a charge-discharge cycle using a constant current load, which may be different for the charge and discharge stages. The app also computes the battery temperature, assuming a uniform internal battery temperature, based on the generated heat and the thermal mass. Cooling is defined using an ambient temperature parameter and a heat transfer coefficient.

The Battery Designer demo app, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a. User interface of the Battery Designer app. User interface of the Battery Designer app.

Application Library path:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Applications/li_battery_designer

Revamped Free and Porous Media Flow Interface

With the new version of the Free and Porous Media Flow interface, you can couple laminar or turbulent free flow with porous media flow. This interface remains unique in its coupling with the electrochemistry interfaces for the modeling of porous electrodes.

Kozeny-Carman Permeability Model

The Kozeny-Carman permeability model, available for the Darcy's Law interface in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a, allows you to estimate the permeability of granular media from the porosity and particle diameter.

New Diffusion Model in the Particle Intercalation Node

The new Baker-Verbrugge diffusion model, in the Lithium-Ion Battery and Battery with Binary Electrolyte interfaces, adds a correction to the diffusion coefficient in the electrode particles based on the equilibrium potential of the intercalation reaction. Generally, the Baker-Verbrugge model is better at capturing state-of-charge dependent transport rates and staging phenomena.

A plot of the particle concentration in an Li-ion battery electrode. Concentration profiles in a lithium-ion battery electrode particle. For this model, the Baker-Verbrugge diffusion model exhibits a pronounced effect of "staging" between the concentrations 9000 to 11000 mol/m3. Concentration profiles in a lithium-ion battery electrode particle. For this model, the Baker-Verbrugge diffusion model exhibits a pronounced effect of "staging" between the concentrations 9000 to 11000 mol/m3.

Application Library path:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/li_battery_multiple_materials_1d

New Tutorial Model: Heterogeneous Li Battery

The latest trend in high-fidelity battery modeling is to model the structure of the porous electrodes in detail, in so-called heterogeneous models. This new tutorlal describes the behavior of a lithium-ion battery unit cell modeled using an idealized three-dimensional geometry. The geometry mimics the structural details in the porous electrodes. These models are referred to as heterogeneous models. In contrast to the typical homogenized approach for describing porous electrodes, heterogeneous models describes the actual shapes of the pore electrolyte and electrode particles. The model also uses a coupling to structural mechanics to calculate von Mises stresses in the particles. These stresses can be used to estimate cycle fatigue and thus also estimate possible loss of performance due to cracks formed during the cycle. The Electrode Reaction node in the Lithium-Ion Battery interface has been updated with a new Lithium-Insertion Reaction kinetics type, which is used by the new tutorial model.

Note: This model also requires the Structural Mechanics Module.

A COMSOL model of a heterogeneous lithium-ion battery.

Concentration distribution in the electrode particles. From the Heterogeneous Li Battery tutorial in the Batteries & Fuel Cells Application Library.

Concentration distribution in the electrode particles. From the Heterogeneous Li Battery tutorial in the Batteries & Fuel Cells Application Library.

Application Library path:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/heterogeneous_li_battery

New Tutorial Model: Lumped Li Battery Parameter Estimation

This new tutorial model uses a "black-box" approach to define a battery model based on a small set of lumped parameters, assuming no knowledge of the internal structure, the design of the battery electrodes, or the choice of materials. The input to the model is the battery capacity, the initial state-of-charge (SOC), and an open circuit voltage vs. SOC curve, in combination with load cycle experimental data. Parameter estimation of the lumped parameters is achieved using the Optimization interface.

Note: This model also requires the Optimization Module.


Application Library path:
Batteries_&_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/lumped_li_battery_parameter_estimation