等离子体模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本为“等离子体模块”的用户引入了一个新的物理场接口,使电容耦合等离子体的建模速度比以往提升了几个数量级,并引入了多个新的特征和教学案例来演示相关功能。请阅读以下内容,了解等离子体的功能更新。

电容耦合等离子体建模的新物理场接口

此版本新增了等离子体,时间周期 物理场接口,用于电容耦合等离子体 (CCP) 建模,使得计算时间大幅缩短。这一新方法计算周期性稳态解,而不是在时域中求解问题。通过对表示一个 RF 循环的基本数学方程增加一个额外维度,并在其中施加周期性边界条件,避免了求解成千上万个射频循环。在等离子体达到周期性稳态解之前,时域的解法通常需要很长时间。而这种新颖的方法保留了模型的所有非线性特征,同时显著加快了计算速度:在给定功率输入下,求解一维模型需要几秒,求解二维模型通常需要一小时左右。与使用 COMSOL Multiphysics® 时域解法相比,采用新方法后的提速情况如下所示(假设在放电达到周期性稳态解之前需要运行 50000 个射频循环)。

维度 大致时间(5.3 版本) 大致时间(5.3a 版本)
1D 10 小时 20 秒
2D 2 周 1 小时

此外,这种新的建模方法还具有以下优点:

  1. 在方程中可以使用对额外维度和基础几何执行的积分。因此触点和终端可直接由额定功率(而不是额定电压)驱动,这不仅对于数值稳定性而言非常重要,对于发生 α 到 γ 过渡的放电也非常重要。在这些情况下,取决于初始条件,施加给定的电压激励可能会得到两种不同的解;但施加额定功率只有一种物理解。实际情况下,放电功率通常已知,而电极电压往往未知。
  2. 通过求解一个附加方程即可轻松地计算直流自偏压,避免了传统建模中使用的特殊方法。
  3. 由于不是在时域求解问题,基于操作条件执行的参数化扫描更为快速简便。对于一维模型,扫描一系列功率、压力和频率等只需几分钟。
  4. 更易于将匹配网络包含在模型中,因此可以从 L 型匹配网络驱动等离子体。此外,基频下对等离子体阻抗的计算也很简单,在设计匹配网络时这一阻抗值非常有用。
  5. 等离子体生成的谐波仍通过这种方法解析;模型中未作任何近似处理。因此在通过外部电路驱动时,可以观察到放电电流中的这些谐波分量如何导致阻抗失配。
  6. 这种方法非常适合现代计算机架构,因为在执行每个时间步时无需进行内存页面的重新分配及换进换出。几乎所有计算时间都用于通过直接求解器执行稀疏矩阵的因式分解,这个过程已高度并行化,并且运行时的每秒浮点运算次数 (FLOPS) 非常高。
COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版新增的“等离子体,时间周期”接口的演示。

“二维氩 GEC 电容耦合等离子体反应器”模型使用新的 等离子体,时间周期接口,图中显示周期平均电子密度。

“二维氩 GEC 电容耦合等离子体反应器”模型使用新的 等离子体,时间周期接口,图中显示周期平均电子密度。

“等离子体,时间周期”接口的新特征

电激励

使用新的等离子体,时间周期 接口建模时,可以在金属接触终端 边界条件中设置额定电压或额定功率,用于驱动电极。此外,模型还可以包含任意数量的外加频率,并且可以单独指定每个频率的功率或电压。电极也可以由外部电路驱动;并联 RC 电路、L 型网络或倒 L 型网络。


二次发射

在此版本中,二次发射指通过表面上的入射离子通量引起的二次电子直接再发射,或是呈现束流效应的近似或均匀二次电子模型。呈现束流效应的电子通常出现在低压高频放电中。

要启用此功能,需要单击“模型开发器”工具栏中的显示 按钮,然后选择高级物理场接口选项。在等离子体,时间周期 节点中,将显示二次发射模型 栏,可供您选择从表面(默认设置)或均匀(COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件 5.3a 版本的新选项)。选择均匀 选项后,可以为二次发射模型定义特性间隙大小束能量

离子能量分布函数

在对电容耦合等离子体建模时,通常会涉及离子能量分布函数 (IEDF) 和离子角能量分布函数 (IAEDF),此版本中将等离子体的解与“粒子追踪模块”相结合,可以计算这两个物理量。

电容耦合等离子体反应器的离子能量分布函数图。

显示典型的能量双峰离子能量分布函数,其中点为直流自偏压和等离子体电势之和。离子能量分布函数的低能量部分也存在多个明显的峰值。

显示典型的能量双峰离子能量分布函数,其中点为直流自偏压和等离子体电势之和。离子能量分布函数的低能量部分也存在多个明显的峰值。

新增教学案例:二维氩 GEC 电容耦合等离子体反应器

美国国家标准与技术研究院(National Institute of Standards and Technology,NIST)气体电子会议 (GEC) 电容耦合等离子体反应器提供了研究电容耦合等离子体的标准化平台。即使是最简单的等离子体模型也十分复杂,因此二维模型有助于理解物理场,同时不会耗费过多的 CPU 时间。使用新的等离子体,时间周期 物理场接口计算出的氩放电的周期性稳态解与文献中的测量和仿真结果非常一致。

源自“二维氩 GEC 电容耦合等离子体反应器”教学案例的绘图。

GEC 感应器内功率沉积 1 W 时的周期平均电子密度 (1/m3)。计算得出的密度与文献中发表的结果非常一致。

GEC 感应器内功率沉积 1 W 时的周期平均电子密度 (1/m3)。计算得出的密度与文献中发表的结果非常一致。
 


GEC 反应器内功率沉积 (W/m3) 的动画。


 


GEC 反应器内电子密度 (1/m3) 的动画。


 


GEC 反应器内的电势 (V) 动画。

案例库路径:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/argon_gec_ccp

新增教学案例:α 到 γ 过渡

电容耦合射频放电可以在两种完全不同的状态下进行,具体取决于放电功率。在功率较低的状态(称为 α 态)下,电场振荡导致生热并产生电子。在功率较高的状态(称为 γ 态)下,主要由等离子体护套内产生的电子雪崩维持放电。电子雪崩由离子轰击电极所发射的二次电子触发。这两种状态存在根本区别,会对等离子体应用产生重要影响。

在此模型中,新的等离子体,时间周期 物理场接口用于模拟这两种状态以及二者之间的过渡。结果显示了电子产生情况及电子吸收的功率,阐明了两种状态的主要特征。即,在低功率区域,需要较大的电压幅值来提高放电吸收的功率,在高功率区域,逐渐降低电压幅值,可以得到较高的放电功率。

源自“α 到 γ 过渡”教学案例的绘图。

等离子体吸收的功率及平均电子密度随电压幅值变化。如上文所述,可以确定低功率区域和高功率区域。

等离子体吸收的功率及平均电子密度随电压幅值变化。如上文所述,可以确定低功率区域和高功率区域。

案例库路径:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/alpha_to_gamma_transition

新增教学案例:计算二维电容耦合等离子体反应器中的离子能量分布函数

等离子体处理技术在工业中广泛用于修改表面的化学和物理属性。有些过程要求存在高能离子轰击且离子速度高度各向异性。因此,了解离子能量分布函数 (IEDF) 和表面的速度分散很有意义。本教学案例计算了商用电容耦合等离子体反应器中电极表面的离子能量分布函数。将计算得到的离子能量分布函数与实验测量值进行比较,结果基本一致。

源自“计算二维电容耦合等离子体反应器中的离子能量分布函数”教学案例的绘图。

商用电容耦合等离子体反应器中周期平均电势 (V) 的表面图。反应器不对称,导致电极上存在负的直流自偏压。

商用电容耦合等离子体反应器中周期平均电势 (V) 的表面图。反应器不对称,导致电极上存在负的直流自偏压。

案例库路径:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/ccp_ion_energy_distribution_function

新增教学案例:计算等离子体阻抗

本教学案例演示如何计算电容耦合等离子体的阻抗,该值在设计匹配网络时非常有用。先通过时间周期 研究计算等离子体的时间周期解,随后,将该解转换为时域解,再调用快速傅立叶变换 (FFT) 求解器。由此可以根据给定的一组输入参数来计算等离子体阻抗。

“计算等离子体阻抗”教学案例中的功率沉积图。

离子和电子的周期平均功率沉积以及二者之和。在本体中,功率吸收主要由电子主导,但在等离子体护套内,则主要由离子主导。

离子和电子的周期平均功率沉积以及二者之和。在本体中,功率吸收主要由电子主导,但在等离子体护套内,则主要由离子主导。


案例库路径:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/computing_plasma_impedance

新增教学案例:阻抗匹配

本教学案例在高功率和低功率下使用 L 型匹配网络驱动电容耦合等离子体的生成。在低功率下,电流中的谐波分量很小,在所选功率值下可以实现完美匹配。对功率、频率和压力执行扫描,分析它们对匹配功率传输比和效率的影响。最后,对较高功率范围执行扫描,电流中的谐波分量相当大,导致阻抗失配。


源自“阻抗匹配”教学案例的绘图。

最大功率传递系数和效率随应用频率变化的绘图。L 型匹配网络已调整为适用于 13.56 MHz。正如预期那样,13.56 MHz 时的最大功率传递系数为 1,效率恰好为 0.5。

最大功率传递系数和效率随应用频率变化的绘图。L 型匹配网络已调整为适用于 13.56 MHz。正如预期那样,13.56 MHz 时的最大功率传递系数为 1,效率恰好为 0.5。

案例库路径:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/impedance_matching

Plasma Module Updates

For users of the Plasma Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a brings a new physics interface for modeling capacitively coupled plasmas orders of magnitude faster than before, with several new features and tutorials included to demonstrate the functionality. Learn about these plasma updates below.

New Physics Interface for Modeling Capacitively Coupled Plasmas

The new Plasma, Time Periodic physics interface has been added for modeling capacitively coupled plasmas (CCP) with significantly faster computation times. Instead of solving the problem in the time domain, the periodic steady-state solution is computed with a new approach. The physics interface attaches an extra dimension to the underlying mathematical equations representing one RF cycle and enforces periodic boundary conditions in the aforementioned extra dimension. This avoids having to solve for tens or hundreds of thousands of RF cycles, which typically takes a long time before the plasma reaches the periodic steady-state solution. This novel approach maintains all the nonlinearity of the model while dramatically reducing computation time: 1D models take seconds to solve and 2D models typically take on the order of an hour for a given power input. Compared to solving the problem in the time domain with COMSOL Multiphysics®, the following speedup is observed (assuming 50,000 RF cycles before the discharge reaches its periodic steady-state solution).

Dimension Approximate Time (Version 5.3) Approximate Time (Version 5.3a)
1D 10 hours 20 seconds
2D 2 weeks 1 hour

Additionally, this new modeling approach has the following advantages:

  1. Integrals performed over both the extra dimension and the base geometry can be used in the equations themselves. This allows the contacts and terminals to be driven directly with a fixed power rather than a fixed voltage, which is important not only for numerical stability but also for discharges where an alpha-to-gamma transition occurs. In these cases, a given voltage excitation could produce two different solutions depending on the initial conditions; but with a fixed power, only one physical solution exists. Also, the discharge power is usually known, whereas the electrode potential is often not.
  2. The DC self-bias can be computed easily with an additional equation, rather than the ad hoc methods used in traditional methods.
  3. Parametric sweeps over the operating conditions are fast and easy, since the problem is not solved in the time domain. For 1D models, a range of powers, pressures, frequencies, etc. can be swept in only a few minutes.
  4. Matching networks are more easily included in the model, so the plasma can be driven from an L-type matching network. Additionally, it is easy to compute the plasma impedance at the fundamental frequency, which is useful when designing matching networks.
  5. The harmonics generated by the plasma are still resolved by the method; there are no approximations in the model. It is possible to observe how these harmonics in the discharge current can lead to an impedance mismatch when driving with an external circuit.
  6. The method is well suited for a modern computer architecture, since reassembling and paging in and out of memory at each time step is not necessary. Nearly all the time is spent performing the factorization of a sparse matrix with a direct solver, which is highly parallelized and runs at a very high FLOPS rate.
A demonstration of the Plasma, Time Periodic interface, new with COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a.

The Argon GEC CCP Reactor, 2D model uses the new Plasma, Time Periodic interface, with the period-averaged electron density shown here.

The Argon GEC CCP Reactor, 2D model uses the new Plasma, Time Periodic interface, with the period-averaged electron density shown here.

New Features with the Plasma, Time Periodic Interface

Electrical Excitation

While modeling in the new Plasma, Time Periodic interface, electrodes can be driven with either a fixed voltage or a fixed power from a Metal Contact or Terminal boundary condition. Additionally, an arbitrary number of applied frequencies can be included in the model, and the power or voltage for each frequency can be specified independently. Electrodes can also be driven by an external circuit; a parallel RC circuit, an L-network, or a reversed L-network.


Secondary Emission

Secondary emission can now be included via direct reemission of secondary electrons due to an incident ion flux on a surface or by using an approximate, or uniform, model for secondary electrons that exhibit beaming effects. Electrons that exhibit beaming effects typically occur for discharges that are at low pressures and high powers.

To enable this functionality, you must click the Show button in the Model Builder toolbar and then select Advanced Physics Options. In the Plasma, Time Periodic node, a Secondary Emission Model section will appear, where you can select between From surfaces (default) or Uniform (new in version 5.3a of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software). When the Uniform option is selected, you can define the Characteristic gap size and Beam energy for the secondary emission model.

Ion Energy Distribution Function

Often the quantity of interest when modeling capacitively coupled plasmas, you can now compute the ion energy distribution function (IEDF) and ion angular energy distribution function (IAEDF) by combining your plasma solution with the Particle Tracing Module.

A plot of the ion energy distribution function for a CCP reactor.

An IEDF showing the classical double peak in energy, with a midpoint corresponding to the sum of the DC self-bias and plasma potential. The low-energy part of the IEDF also has several well-defined peaks.

An IEDF showing the classical double peak in energy, with a midpoint corresponding to the sum of the DC self-bias and plasma potential. The low-energy part of the IEDF also has several well-defined peaks.

New Tutorial Model: Argon GEC CCP Reactor, 2D

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gaseous Electronics Conference (GEC) CCP reactor provides a standardized platform for studying capacitively coupled plasmas. Even the simplest plasma models are quite involved, so a 2D example helps in understanding the physics without excessive CPU time. Using the new Plasma, Time Periodic physics interface, the periodic steady-state solution of an argon discharge is computed with good agreement when compared with measurements and simulations in the literature.

A plot from the Argon GEC CCP Reactor, 2D tutorial model.

Period-averaged electron density (1/m3) inside the GEC reactor for 1 W of power deposition. The calculated densities agree well with those published in the literature.

Period-averaged electron density (1/m3) inside the GEC reactor for 1 W of power deposition. The calculated densities agree well with those published in the literature.
 


Animation of the power deposition (W/m3) inside the GEC reactor.


 


Animation of the electron density (1/m3) inside the GEC reactor.


 


Animation of the electric potential (V) inside the GEC reactor.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/argon_gec_ccp

New Tutorial Model: Alpha to Gamma Transition

Capacitively coupled RF discharges can operate in two distinct regimes depending on the discharge power. In the low power regime, known as the α regime, the electric field oscillations heat and create electrons. In the high power regime, known as the γ regime, the discharge is sustained primarily by electron avalanche within the plasma sheath. This is initiated by secondary electrons emitted due to ion bombardment of the electrodes. The two regimes present fundamental differences that can have an important impact in plasma applications.

In this model, the new Plasma, Time Periodic physics interface is used to model the two regimes and the transition between them. Results are presented for the electron creation and power absorbed by the electrons that illustrate the main features of the two regimes. That is, a low power region, where larger voltage amplitudes are needed to increase the power absorbed by the discharge, and a high power region, where high discharge powers are attained for progressively lower voltage amplitudes.

A plot from the Alpha to Gamma Transition tutorial model.

The power absorbed by the plasma and the averaged electron density as a function of the voltage amplitude. It is possible to identify the low power region and the high power region, described in the text above.

The power absorbed by the plasma and the averaged electron density as a function of the voltage amplitude. It is possible to identify the low power region and the high power region, described in the text above.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/alpha_to_gamma_transition

New Tutorial Model: Computing the Ion Energy Distribution Function in a 2D CCP Reactor

Plasma processing techniques are widely used in industry to modify the chemical and physical properties of surfaces. Some processes require energetic ion bombardment and a high degree of ion velocity anisotropy. Therefore, it is of great value to know the IEDF and the velocity dispersion at the surface. In this tutorial model, the IEDF at the electrode surface is computed for a commercial CCP reactor. The computed IEDF is compared with experimental measurements and reasonable agreement is found.

A plot from the Computing the IEDF in a 2D CCP Reactor tutorial model.

Surface plot of the period-averaged electric potential (V) in a commercial CCP reactor. The reactor is asymmetric leading to a negative DC self-bias on the powered electrode.

Surface plot of the period-averaged electric potential (V) in a commercial CCP reactor. The reactor is asymmetric leading to a negative DC self-bias on the powered electrode.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/ccp_ion_energy_distribution_function

New Tutorial Model: Computing the Plasma Impedance

This tutorial model demonstrates how to compute the impedance of a capacitively coupled plasma, useful when designing matching networks. The Time Periodic study computes the time periodic solution of the plasma. Subsequently, the solution is transformed to the time domain, after which the fast Fourier transform (FFT) solver is called. This allows the plasma impedance to be computed for a given set of input parameters.

A power deposition plot from the Computing the Plasma Impedance tutorial model.

Period-averaged power deposition to the ions, electrons, and the sum of both. In the bulk, power absorption is dominated by the electrons, but in the plasma sheath it is dominated by the ions.

Period-averaged power deposition to the ions, electrons, and the sum of both. In the bulk, power absorption is dominated by the electrons, but in the plasma sheath it is dominated by the ions.


Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/computing_plasma_impedance

New Tutorial Model: Impedance Matching

This tutorial model drives a capacitively coupled plasma with an L-type matching network at high and low powers. At low power, where the harmonics in the current are low, perfect matching is obtained at the chosen power value. Sweeps over power, frequency, and pressure are performed to examine their effect on the match power transfer ratio and efficiency. Finally, a sweep is performed over a higher power range, and the presence of sizable harmonics in the current causes an impedance mismatch.


A plot from the Impedance Matching tutorial model.

Plot of the maximum power transfer coefficient and efficiency as a function of the applied frequency. The L-match has been tuned for 13.56 MHz. As expected, the maximum power transfer coefficient is 1 at 13.56 MHz and the efficiency is exactly 0.5.

Plot of the maximum power transfer coefficient and efficiency as a function of the applied frequency. The L-match has been tuned for 13.56 MHz. As expected, the maximum power transfer coefficient is 1 at 13.56 MHz and the efficiency is exactly 0.5.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/impedance_matching