结构力学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本为“结构力学模块”的用户引入了螺栓螺纹接触建模和更为通用的流-固耦合多物理场耦合特征,并改进了默认绘图以生成更好的可视化效果。请阅读以下内容,了解结构力学模块的新增功能。

螺栓螺纹接触建模

在为螺栓连接建模时,螺栓孔附近的应力状态受楔入效应的影响较为显著,这一效应由内外螺纹之间的接触压力引起。然而,考虑到模型大小和网格剖分因素,建模时几乎不可能包含螺纹的实际几何形状。借助固体力学 接口中新增的螺栓螺纹接触 特征,您只需使用几何中的柱面即可为两个螺纹零件建模。通过使用此特征,您可以引入螺纹连接的外显效果。

显示螺栓螺纹接触建模示例的 COMSOL 软件 GUI 屏幕截图。

通过两个螺栓的截面上的法向应力比较图。右侧螺栓通过新的“螺栓螺纹接触”条件进行建模,而左侧螺栓则通过“连续性”条件连接到螺栓孔。请注意 螺栓螺纹接触节点的设置示例。

通过两个螺栓的截面上的法向应力比较图。右侧螺栓通过新的“螺栓螺纹接触”条件进行建模,而左侧螺栓则通过“连续性”条件连接到螺栓孔。请注意 螺栓螺纹接触节点的设置示例。

螺栓预紧力的功能改进

螺栓预紧力 特征现在可以添加到固体力学 接口的二维轴对称组件中。对于二维轴对称的情况,螺栓必须位于旋转轴。此外,在三维和二维轴对称模式下,您现在还可以在螺栓选择 子节点中指定螺栓预变形的松弛情况,它可以是时间和加载历史记录等的函数。

新的流-固耦合接口

在最新版本中,使用新的流-固耦合 多物理场耦合代替了之前的 COMSOL® 软件版本中使用的接口。与软件的新多物理场耦合方式类似,新接口包括相应的几个单物理场接口,以及将其耦合到一起的多物理场节点。通过使用这种方法,相关物理场接口中的所有功能都适用于流-固耦合 (FSI) 建模。在结构方面,许多附加边界条件和材料模型现在可用于流-固耦合分析,例如,刚性域、压电和非线性弹性材料模型等;在流体方面,所有的湍流模型以及许多新的边界条件均适用于流固耦合模拟。从“模型向导”添加流-固耦合 接口后,您会看到固体力学 接口、层流 接口、流-固耦合 多物理场耦合节点以及定义 节点中的动网格 节点。“案例库”中的所有流-固耦合模型均已更新。

显示流-固耦合示例的 COMSOL 软件 GUI 屏幕截图。

蠕动泵模型已更新为包含新的 流-固耦合接口耦合。

蠕动泵模型已更新为包含新的 流-固耦合接口耦合。

广义平面应变

广义平面应变公式已发展为继平面应变和平面应力近似之后的第三个选项,适用于二维固体力学分析。广义平面应变近似用于模拟具有恒定横截面的长结构的中心部分。与标准的平面应变公式不同,在此情况下,存在非零面外应变。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中“广义平面应变”选项的演示。

在选择二维近似类型时,您可以选择 广义平面应变公式。

在选择二维近似类型时,您可以选择 广义平面应变公式。

梁与实体耦合

二维模式下的实体-梁连接 多物理场耦合新增了一种连接类型:实体和梁的共享边界。不仅如此,现在该耦合还可用于三维模式,并支持为三种完全不同的连接类型建模:

  1. 梁的某个点与实体的边界或部分边界连接。连接区域与梁上的点 进行刚性耦合。
  2. 包含梁表示的边与实体的边界连接。在梁的一定横向距离范围内的 实体上的所有节点均会连接。
  3. 为梁到实体的过渡进行建模。此时,假定实体为梁横截面的三维表示, 并在创建连接时使用梁理论假设。甚至在建模过程中考虑横截面的翘曲。
使用“结构力学模块”对梁和实体进行耦合分析的示例。 实体-梁连接耦合特征用于为实体到梁的过渡建模。图中使用新的“点箭头”绘图类型生成了载荷的可视化效果。 实体-梁连接耦合特征用于为实体到梁的过渡建模。图中使用新的“点箭头”绘图类型生成了载荷的可视化效果。

默认绘图的功能改进

结构力学物理场接口中的默认绘图已更新,现在可以生成信息更丰富的可视化效果。“案例库”教程也进行了相应更新。主要更改如下:

  • von Mises 应力图的颜色表为 RainbowLight
  • 特征频率和线性屈曲研究的振型图颜色表为 AuroraBorealis
  • 振型图已去除图例,以突出说明模式的振幅没有物理意义
  • 桁架 接口中截面力绘图的颜色表为 Wave,具有对称的颜色范围
    • 例如,借此可以立即区分拉伸和压缩
  • 在接触分析中,以线图(二维)或云图(三维)的形式添加了接触压力图
  • “应力线性化”的默认绘图现已在图表中加入图例
  • 接口生成的默认“未变形几何”绘图现在新增了多种颜色
  • 在使用塑性或蠕变等材料模型时,相关应变物理量的云图(如有效塑性应变)叠加在应力图上
    • 适用于“非线性结构材料模块”和“岩土力学模块”
  • 疲劳 接口中,Traffic 颜色表用于预测的失效周期和使用因子
    • 适用于“疲劳模块”
COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中改进的默认绘图与旧版软件绘图的视觉效果比较。 在本例中您可以看到,应力图中的颜色较亮(RainbowLight 颜色表),默认情况下已添加塑性应变等值线和接触压力等值线。为了进行比较,同时显示了 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本中同一模型的默认绘图。 在本例中您可以看到,应力图中的颜色较亮(RainbowLight 颜色表),默认情况下已添加塑性应变等值线和接触压力等值线。为了进行比较,同时显示了 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本中同一模型的默认绘图。

主值绘图的功能改进

“主应力”绘图类型现在可用于各种张量主值。在之前版本的 COMSOL® 软件中,您只能选择一个预定义的应力或应变场,但现在可以手动输入定向矢量和相应的主值。

固体力学 接口的结果中新增了一组主应变:主对数应变。这是对数应变或“真实”应变,在空间固定的坐标系中给定方向,非常适用于在几何非线性分析中绘制变形几何。

此外,还新增了“主应力线”绘图类型,这种类型在 接口中特别有用。在此之前,主值绘图仅适用于体积和表面。

橡胶密封圈中的主应变可视化效果。 绘制在变形橡胶密封圈上的对数应变。 绘制在变形橡胶密封圈上的对数应变。

梁接口中的 C 型和帽型横截面

接口中新增了两种内置的横截面类型:C 型和帽型。

对约束的详细控制

结构力学相关接口中的所有约束都新增了一个选项,用于排除较低几何实体层上的约束。例如,现在可以在边界的边或点上禁用边界上的指定位移。在您需要对约束进行微调时(例如,约束之间存在重复或冲突时),此功能非常有用。

接触问题的特征频率分析

现在,您可以执行一个涉及接触问题的分析来计算特征频率,例如,研究螺栓结构中的预紧力对其特征频率的影响。

热应力相关的机械损耗

热膨胀 多物理场耦合节点现在可以自动处理热应力引起的机械损耗;生成的热源可以添加到相应域的传热方程中。热膨胀 节点中新增的热源 栏提供了机械损耗 复选框,可用于控制这一特性。

安全系数计算增强功能

安全 特征在两个方面得到了增强。 首先,在 接口中添加了修正 Tsai-Hill、Norris、Azzi-Tsai-Hill、Hoffman、Tsai-Wu 正交各向异性和 Tsai-Wu 准则。其次,固体力学梁横截面 接口中添加了混凝土的失效准则(Bresler-Pister、Willam-Warnke 和 Ottosen)。

支持所有湍流模型的新流-固耦合接口

在最新版本中,使用新的流-固耦合 多物理场耦合代替了之前的 COMSOL® 软件版本中使用的接口。与软件最新版本中的其他多物理场耦合方式类似,新接口包括相应的几个单物理场接口,以及将其耦合到一起的多物理场节点。通过使用这种方法,相关物理场接口中的所有功能都可用于流-固耦合 (FSI) 建模。 在结构方面,新版本中流-固耦合分析可以调用许多附加边界条件和材料模型,例如,刚性域、压电和非线性弹性材料模型等;在流体方面,所有的湍流模型以及许多新的边界条件均适用于流固耦合模拟。从“模型向导”添加流-固耦合 接口后,您会看到固体力学 接口、层流 接口、流-固耦合 多物理场耦合节点以及定义 节点中的动网格 节点。“案例库”中的所有流-固耦合模型均已更新为新的耦合方式。

受湍流作用的跑车车翼模型。 测试台上一个受 200 km/h (125 mph) 湍流(流线)作用的跑车车翼上的压力(颜色表)和变形(在表面放大 50 倍),其中使用了新物理场接口中的单向流-固耦合。 测试台上一个受 200 km/h (125 mph) 湍流(流线)作用的跑车车翼上的压力(颜色表)和变形(在表面放大 50 倍),其中使用了新物理场接口中的单向流-固耦合。

更新教学案例:使用集总机械系统的集总式扬声器驱动器

这是一个动圈式扬声器模型,通过集总参数模拟来表示电子和机械扬声器分量的特性,其中使用 Thiele-Small 参数(小信号参数)作为集总模型的输入。在此模型中,移动质量、悬挂系统的柔性和机械损耗等机械扬声器分量通过集总机械系统 接口进行建模。

来自“集总式扬声器驱动器”教学案例的绘图。 压力场绘制为等值面(扬声器纸盆上方)及表面图(扬声器纸盆下方)。 压力场绘制为等值面(扬声器纸盆上方)及表面图(扬声器纸盆下方)。

案例库路径:

Acoustics_Module/Electroacoustic_Transducers/lumped_loudspeaker_driver_mechanical

新增教学案例:振动声学扬声器仿真,结合使用 BEM-FEM 的多物理场

此模型演示对包含驱动器、扬声器箱和支架的扬声器执行完整的振动声学分析。其中对扬声器施加额定驱动电压,得到扬声器箱和外部房间中的声压级,以及给定频率下扬声器箱和驱动器的变形。扬声器置于硬质地板上,与其背后的壁面相隔一段距离。本例使用混合 BEM-FEM 方法,将固体力学,壳压力声学,频域 以及压力声学,边界元 物理场接口相耦合。模型使用六个内置的多物理场耦合将多个单物理场接口联系在一起。

“振动声学扬声器仿真:结合使用 BEM-FEM 的多物理场”教学案例中的绘图。

使用完整的振动声学仿真模拟的扬声器中辐射声场的声压级。使用新增的压力声学,边界元 接口模拟的外部声学,该接口已与 FEM 相关接口相耦合。

使用完整的振动声学仿真模拟的扬声器中辐射声场的声压级。使用新增的压力声学,边界元 接口模拟的外部声学,该接口已与 FEM 相关接口相耦合。

使用压力声学,边界元 接口示例的案例下载链接:

振动声学扬声器仿真:结合使用 BEM-FEM 的多物理场

新增教学案例:带粘性和热阻尼的振动 MEMS 微镜,瞬态特性

微镜在特定的 MEMS 器件中用于控制光学元件。此示例是一个振动微镜的模型,周围是空气,阐明微镜在最初短时启动后所展现的阻尼振动,其中使用热粘性声学,瞬态 以及压力声学,瞬态 接口为时域中的流-固耦合建模。热粘性声学 接口的使用描述了微镜相对于周围空气产生的热粘性阻尼的全部细节。

“带粘性和热阻尼的振动微镜:瞬态特性”教学案例中的绘图。 以彩色显示的微镜在给定时间的位移和压力分布。图中显示了微镜位移的瞬态变化,表明热粘性损耗引起阻尼振动。 以彩色显示的微镜在给定时间的位移和压力分布。图中显示了微镜位移的瞬态变化,表明热粘性损耗引起阻尼振动。

案例下载链接:

带粘性和热阻尼的振动微镜:瞬态特性

梁接口中的 C 型和帽型横截面

接口中新增了两种内置的横截面类型:C 型和帽型。

实现对约束的详细控制

结构力学接口中的所有约束都得到了增强,您可以通过一个选项来排除较低几何实体层的约束。例如,现在可以在边界的边或点上禁用边界上的指定位移。当您需要对约束进行微调时(例如,约束之间存在重复或冲突时),此功能非常有用。

接触问题的特征频率分析

现在,您可以执行一个涉及接触问题的分析来计算特征频率,例如,研究螺栓结构中的预紧力对其特征频率的影响。

热应力相关的机械损耗

热膨胀 多物理场耦合节点现在可以自动处理热应力引起的机械损耗;生成的热源可以添加到相应域的传热方程中。热膨胀 节点中新增的热源 栏提供了机械损耗 复选框,可用于控制这一特性。

安全系数计算的增强功能

安全性 特征在两个方面得到了增强。首先,在 接口中添加了修正 Tsai-Hill、Norris、Azzi-Tsai-Hill、Hoffman、Tsai-Wu 正交各向异性和 Tsai-Wu 准则。其次,固体力学梁横截面 接口中添加了混凝土的失效准则(Bresler-Pister、Willam-Warnke 和 Ottosen)。

Structural Mechanics Module Updates

For users of the Structural Mechanics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a brings bolt thread contact modeling, a more general fluid-structure interaction multiphysics coupling, and improved default plots for better visualizations. Learn about these structural mechanics features and more below

Bolt Thread Contact Modeling

When modeling bolted connections, the stress state in the vicinity of the bolt hole can be significantly influenced by the wedging effect caused by the contact pressure between the internal and external thread. However, it is seldom possible to include the actual geometry of the threads due to model size and meshing considerations. The new Bolt Thread Contact feature in the Solid Mechanics interface makes it possible to model the two threaded parts while using only cylindrical surfaces in the geometry. With this feature, you are able to incorporate the salient effects of the threaded connection.

A screenshot of the COMSOL software GUI showing a bolt thread contact modeling example.

Comparison of stress normal to a cut plane through the bolts. The bolt to the right is modeled using the new bolt thread contact condition, whereas the bolt to the left is joined to the bolt hole using a continuity condition. Note the example of the settings in the Bolt Thread Contact node.

Comparison of stress normal to a cut plane through the bolts. The bolt to the right is modeled using the new bolt thread contact condition, whereas the bolt to the left is joined to the bolt hole using a continuity condition. Note the example of the settings in the Bolt Thread Contact node.

Improvements for Bolt Pre-Tension

The Bolt Pre-Tension feature can now be added in 2D axisymmetric components for the Solid Mechanics interface. By necessity, the bolt is located at the axis of revolution for 2D axisymmetric cases. Additionally, in the Bolt Selection subnode, in both 3D and 2D axisymmetry, you can now specify a relaxation of the bolt predeformation, which can be a function of time and loading history, for example.

New Fluid-Structure Interaction Interface

A new Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling has replaced the interface used in previous versions of the COMSOL® software. The new coupling matches the modern style, with a number of single-physics interfaces and multiphysics nodes to couple them together. With this approach, all functionality in the constituent physics interfaces is available for fluid-structure interaction (FSI) modeling. On the structural side, many additional boundary conditions and material models are now available for FSI analysis; for example, rigid domain, piezoelectric, and nonlinear elastic material models. On the fluid side, all turbulence models are now available as well as a number of new boundary conditions.

Additionally, you have more flexibility when building and solving a model. You can start with a single-physics model, either structural mechanics or fluid flow, before adding the fluid-structure interaction, and you can disable a physics interface in an already coupled model to solve for only one physics. The new functionality facilitates adding a third physics, such as heat transfer, and even additional physics beyond that. Finally, the moving mesh, now its own node under Definitions, can be disabled and enabled as needed.

After adding a Fluid-Structure Interaction interface from the Model Wizard, you will get a Solid Mechanics interface, a Laminar Flow interface, a Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling node, and a Moving Mesh node in the Definitions section. All fluid-structure interaction models in the Application Libraries have been updated to include this new coupling functionality.

A screenshot of the COMSOL software GUI showing an FSI example.

The peristaltic pump model has been updated to include the new Fluid-Structure Interaction interface coupling.

The peristaltic pump model has been updated to include the new Fluid-Structure Interaction interface coupling.

Generalized Plane Strain

For 2D solid mechanics, a generalized plane strain formulation has been developed as a third option to the plane strain and plane stress approximations. The generalized plane strain approximation is intended for modeling the central part of structures that are long and have a constant cross section. For these cases, as opposed to a standard plane strain formulation, nonzero out-of-plane strains are present.

A demonstration of the Generalized plane strain option in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a.

When selecting the type of 2D approximation, you can choose the Generalized plane strain formulation.

When selecting the type of 2D approximation, you can choose the Generalized plane strain formulation.

Coupling Beams and Solids

The Solid-Beam Connection multiphysics coupling, in 2D, includes one more type of connection: Solid and beam shared boundaries. Additionally, the coupling is now available in 3D, and three fundamentally different types of connections can be modeled:

  1. A point of a beam is connected to a boundary, or part of a boundary, on the solid. The connected region is rigidly coupled to the point on the beam.
  2. An edge with a beam representation is connected to a boundary on the solid. All nodes on the solid that are within a certain transverse distance from the beam are connected.
  3. A transition from a beam to a solid is modeled. In this case, the solid is assumed to be a 3D representation of the beam cross section, and beam theory assumptions are used when formulating the connection. Even the warping of the cross section is taken into account.
An example of coupling beams and solids with the Structural Mechanics Module. The Solid-Beam Connection coupling is used for modeling the transition from a solid to a beam. The load is visualized using the new Point Arrow plot type. The Solid-Beam Connection coupling is used for modeling the transition from a solid to a beam. The load is visualized using the new Point Arrow plot type.

Improved Default Plots

The default plots in the structural mechanics physics interfaces have been updated to produce more informative visualizations. The Application Library tutorials have been updated accordingly. Some of the more prominent changes that you will see are as follows:

  • The color table for von Mises stress plots is RainbowLight
  • The color table for mode shape plots, for eigenfrequency and linear buckling studies, is AuroraBorealis
  • Mode shape plots have the legend switched off to emphasize that the amplitude of a mode does not have a physical meaning
  • The color table for section force plots in the Beam and Truss interfaces is Wave, with a symmetric color range
    • This makes it possible to immediately distinguish between tension and compression, for example
  • In contact analysis, a plot of the contact pressure is added, as either a line plot (2D) or contour plot (3D)
  • The default plot for Stress Linearization now has a legend for the graphs
  • The default Undeformed geometry plot, produced by the Shell interface, has new colors
  • When a material model like plasticity or creep is used, a contour plot of a relevant strain quantity, like the effective plastic strain, overlays the stress plot
    • Applicable for the Nonlinear Structural Materials Module and the Geomechanics Module
  • In the Fatigue interface, the Traffic color table is used for predicted cycles to failure and for usage factors
    • Applicable for the Fatigue Module
A visual comparison of the improved default plot in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a and an older software version. In this example, you can see brighter colors in the stress plot (RainbowLight color table), and plastic strain contours and contact pressure contours have been added by default. For comparison, a plot from the default plot in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 of the same model is shown. In this example, you can see brighter colors in the stress plot (RainbowLight color table), and plastic strain contours and contact pressure contours have been added by default. For comparison, a plot from the default plot in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 of the same model is shown.

Improved Plots for Principal Values

The plot type Principal Stress can now be used for any kind of tensor principal values. In earlier versions of the COMSOL® software, only a single predefined stress or strain field could be selected, but now you can manually enter orientation vectors and corresponding principal values.

A new set of principal strains have been added to the results in the Solid Mechanics interface: Principal logarithmic strains. This is the logarithmic strain, or "true" strain, with orientations given in a space-fixed coordinate system, well suited for plotting on the deformed geometry in a geometrically nonlinear analysis.

Also, a new Principal Stress Line plot type has been added that is particularly useful in the Shell and Plate interfaces. Previously, the principal value plots were only available for volumes and surfaces.

A visualization of the principal strains in a rubber seal. Logarithmic strains plotted on a deformed rubber seal. Logarithmic strains plotted on a deformed rubber seal.

C and Hat Cross Sections in the Beam Interface

Two more built-in cross section types have been added to the Beam interface: C-profile and Hat.

Detailed Control Over Constraints

All constraints in the structural mechanics interfaces have been augmented with an option to exclude the constraints on lower geometric entity levels. As an example, a Prescribed Displacement on a boundary can now be disabled on the boundary's edges or points. This is useful when you need to fine-tune your constraints, such as when there are duplicates or conflicts between constraints.

Eigenfrequency Analysis of Contact Problems

You can now compute eigenfrequencies following an analysis that includes a contact problem, for example, to study the influence that the preload in a bolted structure has on its eigenfrequencies.

Mechanical Losses Associated to Thermal Stress

The Thermal Expansion multiphysics coupling node now automatically handles the mechanical losses due to thermal stress; the generated heat source is added to the heat transfer equation in the corresponding domains. A Mechanical losses check box is available in the new Heat Sources section of the Thermal Expansion node to control this behavior.

Additions to Safety Factor Computations

The Safety feature has been augmented in two respects. First, in the Membrane interface, the Modified Tsai-Hill, Norris, Azzi-Tsai-Hill, Hoffman, Tsai-Wu orthotropic, and Tsai-Wu criteria have all been added. Second, failure criteria for concrete (Bresler-Pister, Willam-Warnke, and Ottosen) have been added for the Solid Mechanics, Shell, Plate, and Beam Cross Section interfaces.

New Fluid-Structure Interaction Interface That Supports All Turbulence Models

A new Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling has replaced the interface used in previous versions of the COMSOL® software. The new coupling matches the modern style, with a number of single-physics interfaces and multiphysics nodes to couple them together. With this approach, all functionality in the constituent physics interfaces is available for fluid-structure interaction (FSI) modeling. On the structural side, many additional boundary conditions and material models are now available for FSI analysis; for example, rigid domain, piezoelectric, and nonlinear elastic material models. On the fluid side, all turbulence models are now available as well as a number of new boundary conditions. After adding a Fluid-Structure Interaction interface from the Model Wizard, you will get a Solid Mechanics interface, a Laminar Flow interface, a Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling node, and a Moving Mesh node in the Definitions section. All fluid-structure interaction models in the Application Libraries have been updated to include this new coupling functionality.

A model of a sports car wing that is subjected to turbulent flow. Pressure (color table) and deformation (exaggerated by a factor of 50 at the surface) of a sports car wing subjected to turbulent flow (streamlines) of 200 km/h (125 mph) in a test bench. The model is defined using one-way fluid-structure interaction in the new physics interface. Pressure (color table) and deformation (exaggerated by a factor of 50 at the surface) of a sports car wing subjected to turbulent flow (streamlines) of 200 km/h (125 mph) in a test bench. The model is defined using one-way fluid-structure interaction in the new physics interface.

Updated Tutorial Model: Lumped Loudspeaker Driver Using Lumped Mechanical System

This is a model of a moving-coil loudspeaker where a lumped parameter analogy represents the behavior of the electrical and mechanical speaker components. The Thiele-Small parameters (small-signal parameters) serve as input to the lumped model. In this model, the mechanical speaker components such as moving mass, suspension compliance, and suspension mechanical losses are modeled using the Lumped Mechanical System interface.

A plot from the Lumped Loudspeaker Driver tutorial model. Pressure field plotted as isosurfaces (above the speaker cone) and as a surface plot (below the speaker cone). Pressure field plotted as isosurfaces (above the speaker cone) and as a surface plot (below the speaker cone).

Application Library path:

Acoustics_Module/Electroacoustic_Transducers/lumped_loudspeaker_driver_mechanical

New Tutorial Model: Vibroacoustic Loudspeaker Simulation, Multiphysics with BEM-FEM

This model shows a full vibroacoustic analysis of a loudspeaker including the driver, cabinet, and stand. It applies a nominal driving voltage to extract the resulting sound pressure level in the cabinet and in the outside room, as well as the deformation of the cabinet and driver, for a given frequency. The loudspeaker is located on a hard floor some distance from a wall located behind it. The example uses a hybrid BEM-FEM approach and couples the Solid Mechanics, Shell; Pressure Acoustics, Frequency Domain; and Pressure Acoustics, Boundary Elements physics interfaces. The model uses six built-in multiphysics couplings to connect the single-physics interfaces together.

A plot from the tutorial model called Vibroacoustic Loudspeaker Simulation: Multiphysics with BEM-FEM.

Sound pressure level of the radiated acoustic field from a loudspeaker modeled using a full vibroacoustics simulation. The exterior acoustics are modeled using the new Pressure Acoustics, Boundary Elements interface, which is coupled to the FEM interfaces.

Sound pressure level of the radiated acoustic field from a loudspeaker modeled using a full vibroacoustics simulation. The exterior acoustics are modeled using the new Pressure Acoustics, Boundary Elements interface, which is coupled to the FEM interfaces.

Application Gallery link for example using the Pressure Acoustic, Boundary Elements interface:

Vibroacoustic Loudspeaker Simulation: Multiphysics with BEM-FEM

New Tutorial Model: Vibrating MEMS Micromirror with Viscous and Thermal Damping, Transient Behavior

Micromirrors are used in certain MEMS devices to control optical components. This example model, a vibrating micromirror surrounded by air, illustrates a mirror that is initially actuated for a short time and then exhibits damped vibrations. It uses the Thermoviscous Acoustics, Transient; the Shell; and the Pressure Acoustics, Transient interfaces to model the fluid-solid interaction in the time domain. Use of the Thermoviscous Acoustics interface provides full details of viscous and thermal damping of the mirror in relation to the surrounding air.

Plots from the tutorial called Vibrating Micromirror with Viscous and Thermal Damping: Transient Behavior. Micromirror displacement and pressure distribution at a given time depicted in colors. The transient evolution of displacement of the mirror is depicted in the graph, showing the damped vibrations due to thermal and viscous losses. Micromirror displacement and pressure distribution at a given time depicted in colors. The transient evolution of displacement of the mirror is depicted in the graph, showing the damped vibrations due to thermal and viscous losses.

Application Gallery link:

Vibrating Micromirror with Viscous and Thermal Damping: Transient Behavior