MEMS 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本为“MEMS 模块”的用户更新了机电、热弹性力学、流-固耦合以及动网格等多物理场耦合,相关功能均得到了改进。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“MEMS 模块”的更新功能。

机电

机电 物理场接口已升级为完整的多物理场接口。当您在模型中添加机电 物理场时,系统会添加静电固体力学 物理场接口,并与机电力 多物理场耦合结合使用,同时求解结构方程和静电学方程。定义 节点下会添加动网格 节点,其中包含变形域对称 子节点。这一新方法改进了机电建模的设计选项,提高了建模的灵活性。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中更新的“机电”多物理场接口的演示。

使用改进的 机电多物理场接口模拟的偏压谐振器中的位移。

使用改进的 机电多物理场接口模拟的偏压谐振器中的位移。

热弹性力学

热弹性力学 物理场接口已升级为完整的多物理场耦合接口。当您在模型中添加热弹性力学 物理场时,系统会添加固体力学固体传热 物理场接口,并与热膨胀温度耦合 多物理场耦合结合使用,求解结构位移和温度偏差,以及热弹性耦合引起的传热。定义 节点下会添加动网格 节点,其中包含变形域对称 子节点。这一新方法改进了热弹性力学建模的设计选项,提高了建模的灵活性。

显示三维热弹性力学模型的 COMSOL Multiphysics GUI 屏幕截图。 三维热弹性力学模型的一阶特征模态和温度偏差。 三维热弹性力学模型的一阶特征模态和温度偏差。

流-固耦合 (FSI)

在最新版本中,使用新的流-固耦合 多物理场耦合代替了之前的 COMSOL® 软件版本中使用的接口。与软件最新版本中的其他多物理场耦合方式类似,新接口包括相应的几个单物理场接口,以及将其耦合到一起的多物理场节点。通过使用这种方法,相关物理场接口中的所有功能都可用于流-固耦合 (FSI) 建模。在结构方面,新版本中流-固耦合分析可以调用许多附加边界条件和材料模型,例如,刚性域、压电和非线性弹性材料模型等;在流体方面,所有的湍流模型以及许多新的边界条件均可用于流固耦合模拟。从“模型向导”添加流-固耦合 接口后,您会看到固体力学 接口、层流 接口、流-固耦合 多物理场耦合节点以及定义 节点中的动网格 节点。“案例库”中的所有流-固耦合模型均已更新为新的耦合方式。

显示 MEMS 流-固耦合示例的 COMSOL 软件 GUI 屏幕截图。

“微泵机理”模型已更新为包含新的 流-固耦合多物理场耦合。

“微泵机理”模型已更新为包含新的 流-固耦合多物理场耦合。

流-固耦合 (FSI) 与两相流或三相流

借助 COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件核心功能中改进的动网格 机构(请参见下节),同时拥有“CFD 模块”和“MEMS 模块”许可证的用户现在可以将流-固耦合与两相流场或三相流场结合起来,进行仿真分析。

广义动网格功能

现在,右键单击组件 节点下的定义 节点,即可从动网格 子菜单访问动网格 功能(也可以从定义 工具栏中访问)。

动网格特征可以控制模型中的空间坐标系,适用于域发生变形或移动的模型的所有物理场,可用于研究几何形状因问题的动力学特性而发生变化的稳态和瞬态变形。例如,动网格 节点下添加的变形域 特征可用于流-固耦合中的流体域变形或 MEMS 中的静电域变形。其他特征可以指定在流体混合器或电动机等结构中,部分模型发生旋转。

定义 节点下提供的动网格特征是包含动网格的多物理场接口中新增的默认机制,它可以代替动网格 (ALE) 物理场接口,后者仍用作新增动网格功能的备选项。

广义平面应变

对于二维固体力学分析,新版本在原有的平面应变和平面应力近似的基础上,新增了广义平面应变这一选项。广义平面应变适用于模拟具有恒定横截面的长结构的中心部分。与标准的平面应变公式不同的是,在此情况下,通常存在非零面外应变。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中的“广义平面应变”选项的演示。

在选择二维近似类型时,您可以选择 广义平面应变公式。

在选择二维近似类型时,您可以选择 广义平面应变公式。

默认绘图的功能改进

结构力学物理场接口中的默认绘图已更新,可生成信息更丰富的可视化效果。“案例库”教学案例也进行了相应更新。主要更改如下所示:

  • von Mises 应力图的颜色表为 RainbowLight
  • 特征频率和线性屈曲研究的振型图颜色表为 AuroraBorealis
  • 振型图已去除图例,以突出说明模式的振幅没有物理意义
  • 桁架 接口中截面力绘图的颜色表为 Wave,具有对称的颜色范围
    • 例如,借此可以立即区分拉伸和压缩
  • 在接触分析中,以线图(二维)或云图(三维)的形式添加了接触压力图
  • “应力线性化”的默认绘图现已在图表中加入图例
  • 接口生成的默认“未变形几何”绘图现在新增了多种颜色
  • 在使用塑性或蠕变等材料模型时,相关应变物理量的云图(如有效塑性应变)叠加在应力图上
    • 适用于“非线性结构材料模块”和“岩土力学模块”
  • 疲劳 接口中,Traffic 颜色表用于预测的失效周期和使用因子
    • 适用于“疲劳模块”

主值绘图的功能改进

“主应力”绘图类型现在可用于各种张量主值。在之前版本的 COMSOL® 软件中,您只能选择一个预定义的应力或应变场,但现在可以手动输入定向矢量和相应的主值。

固体力学 接口的结果中新增了一组主应变:主对数应变。这是对数应变或“真实”应变,在空间固定的坐标系中给定方向,非常适用于在几何非线性分析中绘制变形几何。

此外,还新增了“主应力线”绘图类型,这种类型在 接口中特别有用。在此之前,主值绘图仅适用于体积和表面。

橡胶密封圈中的主应变可视化效果。 绘制在变形橡胶密封圈上的对数应变。 绘制在变形橡胶密封圈上的对数应变。

热应力相关的机械损耗

热膨胀 多物理场耦合节点现在可以自动处理热应力引起的机械损耗;生成的热源可以添加到相应域的传热方程中。热膨胀 节点中新增的热源 栏提供了机械损耗 复选框,可用于控制这一特性。

支持所有湍流模型的新流-固耦合接口

在最新版本中,使用新的流-固耦合 多物理场耦合代替了之前的 COMSOL® 软件版本中使用的接口。与软件最新版本中的其他多物理场耦合方式类似,新接口包括相应的几个单物理场接口,以及将其耦合到一起的多物理场节点。通过使用这种方法,相关物理场接口中的所有功能都可用于流-固耦合 (FSI) 建模。在结构方面,新版本中流-固耦合分析可以调用许多附加边界条件和材料模型,例如,刚性域、压电和非线性弹性材料模型等;在流体方面,所有的湍流模型以及许多新的边界条件均可用于流固耦合模拟。从“模型向导”添加流-固耦合 接口后,您会看到固体力学 接口、层流 接口、流-固耦合 多物理场耦合节点以及定义 节点中的动网格 节点。“案例库”中的所有流-固耦合模型均已更新为新的耦合方式。

受湍流作用的跑车车翼模型。 测试台上一个受 200 km/h (125 mph) 湍流(流线)作用的跑车车翼上的压力(颜色表)和变形(在表面放大 50 倍),其中使用了新物理场接口中的单向流-固耦合。 测试台上一个受 200 km/h (125 mph) 湍流(流线)作用的跑车车翼上的压力(颜色表)和变形(在表面放大 50 倍),其中使用了新物理场接口中的单向流-固耦合。

MEMS Module Updates

For users of the MEMS Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a brings updated electromechanics, thermoelasticity, fluid-structure interaction, and moving mesh multiphysics couplings with improved functionality. Learn more about these MEMS Module updates below.

Electromechanics

The Electromechanics physics interface has been upgraded to a fully formed multiphysics interface. When you add the Electromechanics physics to your model, the Electrostatics and Solid Mechanics physics interfaces are added, coupled together with the Electromechanical Forces multiphysics coupling to solve the structural equations together with the equations of electrostatics. A Moving Mesh node is added to the Definitions section, with Deforming Domain and Symmetry subnodes. The new approach improves the flexibility and design options for your modeling of electromechanics.

A demonstration of the Electromechanics multiphysics interface, updated for COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a.

Displacement in a biased resonator using the improved Electromechanics multiphysics interface.

Displacement in a biased resonator using the improved Electromechanics multiphysics interface.

Thermoelasticity

The Thermoelasticity physics interface has been upgraded to a fully formed multiphysics coupling. When you add the Thermoelasticity physics to your model, the Solid Mechanics and Heat Transfer in Solids physics interfaces are added, coupled together with the Thermal Expansion and Temperature Coupling multiphysics couplings to solve for the displacement of the structure and the temperature deviations, and the resulting heat transfer induced by the thermoelastic coupling. A Moving Mesh node is added to the Definitions section, with Deforming Domain and Symmetry subnodes. The new approach improves the flexibility and design options for your modeling of thermoelasticity.

A screenshot of the COMSOL Multiphysics GUI showing a 3D thermoelasticity model. First eigenmode and temperature deviation for a 3D thermoelasticity model. First eigenmode and temperature deviation for a 3D thermoelasticity model.

Fluid-Structure Interaction (FSI)

A new Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling has replaced the interface used in previous versions of the COMSOL® software. The new coupling matches the modern style, with a number of single-physics interfaces and multiphysics nodes to couple them together. With this approach, all functionality in the constituent physics interfaces is available for modeling FSI. On the structural side, many additional boundary conditions and material models are now available for FSI analysis; for example, rigid domain, piezoelectric, and nonlinear elastic material models. On the fluid side, all turbulence models are now available as well as a number of new boundary conditions. After adding a Fluid-Structure Interaction interface from the Model Wizard, you will get a Solid Mechanics interface, a Laminar Flow interface, a Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling node, and a Moving Mesh node in the Definitions section. All FSI models in the Application Libraries have been updated to include this new coupling functionality.

A screenshot of the COMSOL software GUI showing a MEMS FSI example.

The Micropump Mechanism model has been updated to include the new Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling.

The Micropump Mechanism model has been updated to include the new Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling.

FSI with Two-Phase or Three-Phase Flow

It is now possible for MEMS Module users who also have a CFD Module license to perform FSI simulation with two-phase or three-phase flow physics, thanks to the improved Moving Mesh machinery in the core functionality of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software (see the section below).

Generalized Moving Mesh Functionality

The Moving Mesh functionality is now available from the Moving Mesh submenu when right-clicking the Definitions node under a Component and from the Definitions toolbar.

The moving mesh features control the spatial frame in a model and may apply to all physics in a model where the domains are deforming or moving. They can be used to study both stationary states and time-dependent deformations where the geometry changes its shape due to the dynamics of the problem. For example, Deforming Domain features, added under the Moving Mesh node, can be used for fluid domain deformations in FSI or electrostatic domain deformations in MEMS. Other features can specify that parts of the model rotate such as in the case of fluid mixers or electrical motors.

The moving mesh features available under Definitions are the new default mechanism for multiphysics interfaces with moving meshes. It is used instead of the Moving Mesh (ALE) physics interface, which is still available as an alternative to the new moving mesh functionality.

Generalized Plane Strain

For 2D solid mechanics, a generalized plane strain formulation has been developed as a third option to the plane strain and plane stress approximations. The generalized plane strain approximation is intended for modeling the central part of structures that are long and have a constant cross section. For these cases, as opposed to a standard plane strain formulation, nonzero out-of-plane strains are present.

A demonstration of the Generalized plane strain option in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a.

When selecting the type of 2D approximation, you can choose the Generalized plane strain formulation.

When selecting the type of 2D approximation, you can choose the Generalized plane strain formulation.

Improved Default Plots

The default plots in the structural mechanics physics interfaces have been updated to produce more informative visualizations. The Application Library tutorials have been updated accordingly. Some of the more prominent changes that you will see are as follows:

  • The color table for von Mises stress plots is RainbowLight
  • The color table for mode shape plots, for eigenfrequency and linear buckling studies, is AuroraBorealis
  • Mode shape plots have the legend switched off to emphasize that the amplitude of a mode does not have a physical meaning
  • The color table for section force plots in the Beam and Truss interfaces is Wave, with a symmetric color range
    • This makes it possible to immediately distinguish between tension and compression, for example
  • In contact analysis, a plot of the contact pressure is added, as either a line plot (2D) or contour plot (3D)
  • The default plot for Stress Linearization now has a legend for the graphs
  • The default Undeformed geometry plot, produced by the Shell interface, has new colors
  • When a material model like plasticity or creep is used, a contour plot of a relevant strain quantity, like the effective plastic strain, overlays the stress plot
    • Applicable for the Nonlinear Structural Materials Module and the Geomechanics Module
  • In the Fatigue interface, the Traffic color table is used for predicted cycles to failure and for usage factors
    • Applicable for the Fatigue Module

Improved Plots for Principal Values

The plot type Principal Stress can now be used for any kind of tensor principal values. In earlier versions of the COMSOL® software, only a single predefined stress or strain field could be selected, but now you can manually enter orientation vectors and corresponding principal values.

A new set of principal strains have been added to the results in the Solid Mechanics interface: Principal logarithmic strains. This is the logarithmic strain, or "true" strain, with orientations given in a space-fixed coordinate system, well suited for plotting on the deformed geometry in a geometrically nonlinear analysis.

Also, a new Principal Stress Line plot type has been added that is particularly useful in the Shell and Plate interfaces. Previously, the principal value plots were only available for volumes and surfaces.

A visualization of the principal strains in a rubber seal. Logarithmic strains plotted on a deformed rubber seal. Logarithmic strains plotted on a deformed rubber seal.

Mechanical Losses Associated to Thermal Stress

The Thermal Expansion multiphysics coupling node now automatically handles the mechanical losses due to thermal stress; the generated heat source is added to the heat transfer equation in the corresponding domains. A Mechanical losses check box is available in the new Heat Sources section of the Thermal Expansion node to control this behavior.

New Fluid-Structure Interaction Interface That Supports All Turbulence Models

A new Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling has replaced the interface used in previous versions of the COMSOL® software. The new coupling matches the modern style, with a number of single-physics interfaces and multiphysics nodes to couple them together. With this approach, all functionality in the constituent physics interfaces is available for fluid-structure interaction (FSI) modeling. On the structural side, many additional boundary conditions and material models are now available for FSI analysis; for example, rigid domain, piezoelectric, and nonlinear elastic material models. On the fluid side, all turbulence models are now available as well as a number of new boundary conditions. After adding a Fluid-Structure Interaction interface from the Model Wizard, you will get a Solid Mechanics interface, a Laminar Flow interface, a Fluid-Structure Interaction multiphysics coupling node, and a Moving Mesh node in the Definitions section. All fluid-structure interaction models in the Application Libraries have been updated to include this new coupling functionality.

A model of a sports car wing that is subjected to turbulent flow. Pressure (color table) and deformation (exaggerated by a factor of 50 at the surface) of a sports car wing subjected to turbulent flow (streamlines) of 200 km/h (125 mph) in a test bench. The model is defined using one-way fluid-structure interaction in the new physics interface. Pressure (color table) and deformation (exaggerated by a factor of 50 at the surface) of a sports car wing subjected to turbulent flow (streamlines) of 200 km/h (125 mph) in a test bench. The model is defined using one-way fluid-structure interaction in the new physics interface.