粒子追踪模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本为“粒子追踪模块”的用户引入了针对碰撞粒子的零碰撞方法、粒子随机释放时间,以及新的基准教学案例。请阅读以下内容,了解“粒子追踪模块”中的所有新增特征和功能。

零碰撞方法

用于带电粒子追踪 接口的“碰撞”特征现在支持将零碰撞方法用于对稀薄气体中离子、电子或分子之间的相互作用进行蒙特卡洛建模。使用零碰撞方法能够在求解器采用的单个时间步内对每个粒子的多次碰撞进行建模,还可以在一定程度上分析时间步内碰撞频率的变化。这种方法尤其适用于速度比背景气体的热速度快得多的高能粒子仿真。


“离子漂移速度基准”教学案例中的绘图。 “离子漂移速度基准”模型中不同手动时间步大小下的相对误差。在本例中,零碰撞方法始终是更为精确的碰撞检测算法,对于较大的时间步而言最为明显。 “离子漂移速度基准”模型中不同手动时间步大小下的相对误差。在本例中,零碰撞方法始终是更为精确的碰撞检测算法,对于较大的时间步而言最为明显。

粒子随机释放时间

除了指定一组粒子的释放时间,您现在还可以指定粒子释放时间的分布形式,包括均匀分布、正态分布或对数正态分布,这些分布可以是随机的,也可以是确定的。例如,正态分布支持在更接近平均释放时间时释放更多粒子,在远离平均释放时间时释放较少的粒子。


 


释放时间呈正态分布时,粒子在入口处的随机位置释放。颜色表示相对于平均释放时间的时间(较接近平均释放时间时释放红色粒子,远离平均释放时间时释放蓝色粒子)。正如预期的那样,接近平均释放时间时释放的粒子更多。

对二次发射重用消失的粒子

在二次粒子发射模型中,您现在可以重用研究中之前消失的粒子的自由度。对于粒子多次快速连续生成和湮灭的模型,这样可以节省大量内存。

更灵活的周期性电力和磁力

您现在可以定义周期性的电力和磁力(非时谐性)。在电力磁力 节点的设置中,从场的时间相关性 列表中选择周期性。借助这项新功能,如果您运行瞬态仿真来计算一个周期内的电场或磁场,则可以轻松跟踪任意数量的周期内场中的粒子。


“CCP 离子能量分布函数”教学案例中的绘图。

在等离子体仿真中,电势通常呈周期性,而非时谐性。上图为“CCP 离子能量分布函数”教学案例(需要“等离子体模块”)中的电势与时谐电势的比较结果。新增的周期性电力和磁力设置与这种常规的周期性场更兼容。

在等离子体仿真中,电势通常呈周期性,而非时谐性。上图为“CCP 离子能量分布函数”教学案例(需要“等离子体模块”)中的电势与时谐电势的比较结果。新增的周期性电力和磁力设置与这种常规的周期性场更兼容。

案例库路径:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/ccp_ion_energy_distribution_function

边界上粒子速度的热分布

现在,您可以通过从基于壁温的热分布中对速度采样,在边界释放粒子或重新初始化粒子的速度。与漫反射或镜面反射等其他可用的粒子-壁相互作用不同,新的热再发射 边界条件从分布中对粒子速度采样,而不仅是在速度矢量方向采样。

这一特征衍生出两种形式。入口 特征中的热速度分布 可用于从分布中对释放粒子的速度采样。此外,热再发射 壁条件可用于模拟分子在边界被吸收,随后基于表面温度以不同的速度立即再发射到域中的情况。

 


分子在表面被吸收和再发射的动画。

使用柱面坐标和六边形坐标基于栅格释放

现在您可以使用从栅格释放 特征从柱面栅格点或六边形栅格点释放粒子。您可以控制柱面分布的中心和方向、不同的径向位置数以及角数。

基于柱面栅格的三种分布。

基于柱面栅格的分布可以指定为栅格点环之间的间隙均匀(左图)、缩放间隙得到近似的均匀空间数密度(中间图)或用户定义的半径(右图)。

基于柱面栅格的分布可以指定为栅格点环之间的间隙均匀(左图)、缩放间隙得到近似的均匀空间数密度(中间图)或用户定义的半径(右图)。
基于六边形栅格的三种分布。

从左到右依次为:包含两个、五个和十个点环的六边形栅格。

从左到右依次为:包含两个、五个和十个点环的六边形栅格。

新增基准模型:湍流道中粒子的发散

本教学案例演示粒子通过湍流通道移动时发生的一些现象。其中使用雷诺平均纳维-斯托克斯 (RANS) 模型计算流体速度,从而不必对流动的单个涡流进行显式建模。为了将这一流场与粒子追踪仿真相耦合,并同时分析湍流分散,可以使用连续随机游走 (CRW) 模型,该模型基于流体的湍流动能和湍流耗散率扰动粒子在随机方向上受到的曳力。

本例显示壁区域中不均匀的各向同性湍流如何影响粒子运动。惯性足够大的粒子往往聚集在壁附近,因为这些粒子能够穿过流动中的各种涡流。为了显示粒子惯性如何影响通道中下游粒子的分布,对六个不同的斯托克斯数值运行了参数化扫描,并将得到的结果与已发表文献中的直接数值仿真 (DNS) 数据进行比较。

“湍流道中粒子的发散”基准模型中的六个直方图。

无量纲粒子位置直方图。y+ 的值越小,对应的位置越靠近通道壁。

无量纲粒子位置直方图。y+ 的值越小,对应的位置越靠近通道壁。

案例库路径:
Particle_Tracing_Module/Fluid_Flow/flow_channel_turbulent_dispersion

Particle Tracing Module Updates

For users of the Particle Tracing Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a brings a new null collision method for colliding particles, random particle release times, and a new benchmark tutorial model. Browse all of the new features and functionality in the Particle Tracing Module below.

Null Collision Method

The Collisions feature for the Charged Particle Tracing interface now supports a null collision method for Monte Carlo modeling of the interaction between ions, electrons, or molecules with a rarefied gas. The null collision method is capable of modeling multiple collisions for each particle within a single time step taken by the solver. It also has limited capabilities to account for variations in the collision frequency within the time step. This method provides the greatest benefit to simulations of energetic particles, with speeds much greater than the thermal velocity of the background gas.


A plot from the Ion Drift Velocity Benchmark tutorial model. Relative error of the Ion Drift Velocity Benchmark model for different manual time step sizes. In this example, the null collision method is consistently the more accurate collision detection algorithm, but the difference is most noticeable for large time steps. Relative error of the Ion Drift Velocity Benchmark model for different manual time step sizes. In this example, the null collision method is consistently the more accurate collision detection algorithm, but the difference is most noticeable for large time steps.

Random Particle Release Times

In addition to specifying a list of particle release times, you can now select a uniform, normal, or lognormal distribution of particle release times, which can either be random or deterministic. The normal distribution, for example, allows more particles to be released closer to the mean release time and fewer particles at time values far away from the mean release time.


 


Particles are released at random locations at the inlet for a normal distribution of release times. The color represents the time from the mean release time (red particles are released closer to the mean release time and blue particles farther from the mean). As expected, more particles are released close to the mean release time.

Reuse Disappeared Particles for Secondary Emission

In models with secondary particle emission, you can now recycle degrees of freedom from particles that have disappeared earlier in the study. This saves a considerable amount of memory in models where particles get created and annihilated many times in rapid succession.

More Flexible Periodic Electric and Magnetic Forces

You can now define electric and magnetic forces that are periodic, but not time harmonic. In the settings for the Electric Force or Magnetic Force nodes, select Periodic from the Time dependence of field list. With this new functionality, if you run a transient simulation to compute the electric or magnetic field over one period, you can then easily trace particles in the field for arbitrarily many periods.


A plot from the CCP Ion Energy Distribution Function tutorial model.

In plasma simulations, the electric potential is often periodic, but not time harmonic. Above is the potential from the tutorial CCP Ion Energy Distribution Function, which requires the Plasma Module, and a time harmonic potential for comparison. The new settings for periodic electric and magnetic forces are more compatible with such general periodic fields.

In plasma simulations, the electric potential is often periodic, but not time harmonic. Above is the potential from the tutorial CCP Ion Energy Distribution Function, which requires the Plasma Module, and a time harmonic potential for comparison. The new settings for periodic electric and magnetic forces are more compatible with such general periodic fields.

Application Library path:
Plasma_Module/Capacitively_Coupled_Plasmas/ccp_ion_energy_distribution_function

Thermal Distribution of Particle Velocities from Boundaries

You can now release particles or reinitialize particle velocity at a boundary by sampling their speeds from a thermal distribution based on wall temperature. Unlike other available particle-wall interactions, such as the diffuse or specular reflection, the new Thermal Re-Emission boundary condition samples the particle speed from a distribution, not just the direction of the velocity vector.

Two variants of this feature are available. Use the Thermal velocity distribution, available with the Inlet feature, to sample released particle speeds from the distribution. Alternatively, use the Thermal Re-Emission wall condition to model molecules that get adsorbed at the boundary and then immediately reemitted into the domain with different speeds based on the surface temperature.

 


Animation of molecules being adsorbed and reemitted at a surface.

Grid-Based Release with Cylindrical and Hexapolar Coordinates

You can now release particles from a cylindrical or hexapolar grid of points when using the Release from Grid feature. You can control the center and orientation of the cylindrical distribution, the number of different radial positions, and the number of angles.

Three cylindrical grid-based distributions.

Cylindrical grid-based distributions can be specified with uniform gaps between rings of grid points (left), gaps scaled to approximate uniform spatial number density (middle), or user-defined radii (right).

Cylindrical grid-based distributions can be specified with uniform gaps between rings of grid points (left), gaps scaled to approximate uniform spatial number density (middle), or user-defined radii (right).
Three hexapolar grid-based distributions.

From left to right: Hexapolar grids containing two, five, and ten rings of points.

From left to right: Hexapolar grids containing two, five, and ten rings of points.

New Benchmark Model: Particle Dispersion in a Turbulent Channel Flow

This tutorial model demonstrates some of the phenomena that occur when particles move through a turbulent channel flow. The fluid velocity is computed using a Reynolds-Averaged Navier-Stokes (RANS) model and, as a result, the individual eddies of the flow are not explicitly modeled. To couple such a flow field to the particle tracing simulation and still account for turbulent dispersion, a continuous random walk (CRW) model is used. The CRW model perturbs the drag force on the particles in random directions based on the turbulent kinetic energy and turbulent dissipation rate of the fluid.

This example shows how inhomogeneous, isotropic turbulence in the wall region affects the particle motion. Particles of sufficiently high inertia tend to cluster close to the wall because of their ability to cross between different eddies in the flow. To show how the particle inertia affects the distribution of particles downstream in the channel, a Parametric Sweep is run over six different values of the Stokes number. The results are compared to direct numerical simulation (DNS) data from the published literature.

Six histograms from the Particle Dispersion in a Turbulent Channel Flow benchmark model.

Histograms of particle position in viscous units. Smaller values of y+ correspond to positions closer to the channel walls.

Histograms of particle position in viscous units. Smaller values of y+ correspond to positions closer to the channel walls.

Application Library path:
Particle_Tracing_Module/Fluid_Flow/flow_channel_turbulent_dispersion