射线光学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本为“射线光学模块”的用户引入了新的射线释放分布和更灵活的边界条件。“零件库”中专用于“射线光学模块”的部分已扩展为包含新的反射镜和透镜。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“射线光学模块”的所有更新功能。

基于柱坐标和六边形坐标的栅格释放

现在可以使用从栅格释放 特征从柱形栅格点或六边形栅格点释放射线,并控制柱形栅格分布的中心和方向、不同的径向位置数以及角数。

基于柱形栅格的三种分布。 定义柱形格栅时,可以设置为栅格点环之间的均匀间隙(左图)、均匀空间数密度间隙(中间图)或用户自定义半径(右图)。 定义柱形格栅时,可以设置为栅格点环之间的均匀间隙(左图)、均匀空间数密度间隙(中间图)或用户自定义半径(右图)。
基于六边形栅格的三种分布。 从左到右依次为:包含两个、五个和十个点环的六边形栅格。 从左到右依次为:包含两个、五个和十个点环的六边形栅格。

从边界释放的速度大幅提升

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本采用均匀的、基于密度的分布从边界释放射线,其速度比 5.3 版本快得多,因而提升了使用入口受照面 特征的建模性能。

下表显示“案例库”中“碟式太阳能接收器”教学案例的性能增强。模型中,大量光线从正对太阳的受照抛物面反射镜释放。

光线数 5.3 版本求解时间 5.3a 版本求解时间 提速倍数
1000 5 4 25%
2000 8 3 170%
5000 16 5 220%
10,000 41 6 7x
20,000 53 9 6x
50,000 130 19 7x
100,000 244 36 7x

在 Intel® Xeon® 处理器 E5-2620 v2 上运行,单个频率为 2.10 GHz 及 6 个内核的 CPU ,所需内存:16.33 GB。

抑制折射过程中反射射线的释放

在不同介质之间的材料不连续性处,现在可以轻松地控制入射射线发生折射时会在哪些表面产生反射射线。默认情况下,只要边界两侧的折射率不同,入射射线总是会产生反射射线和折射射线。此外,您也可以选择阻止边界产生反射射线,或仅当满足指定的逻辑表达式时才释放反射射线。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 中抑制折射过程中反射射线释放的演示。

材料不连续性节点的 “设置”窗口,其中,基于逻辑表达式 y>0.5 释放反射射线。

材料不连续性节点的 “设置”窗口,其中,基于逻辑表达式 y>0.5 释放反射射线。

设置边界的反射率和透射率的方式更简单

材料不连续性 特征的设置中,现在通过用户定义的反射率或透射率来设置边界变得更加容易,即使界面处电介质涂层的材料属性未知时也可以轻松设置。默认情况下反射率或透射率是一个数值,也可以是表达式,甚至是解析函数或插值函数。

新增衍射光栅设置选项

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本引入的新选项为衍射光栅的设置提供了更大的灵活性。现在可以通过输入周期性方向(从一个基本单元到下一个)或光栅中的线方向来指定三维光栅的方向。此外,零衍射级的光线不再由光栅 特征本身自动控制,而是由衍射级 子节点控制,与所有非零衍射级相同。现在,创建光栅 节点时会默认创建衍射级 子节点。因此,如果模型中的零衍射级光线不重要,可将其忽略。

“光栅”特征“设置”窗口的屏幕截图。

包含新 衍射级子节点的 光栅特征 “设置”窗口。

包含新 衍射级子节点的 光栅特征 “设置”窗口。

镜边界条件

新版本中提供了一个专用的 边界条件,作为 边界条件的特例,可以完全镜面反射入射射线。

“镜”特征“设置”窗口屏幕截图。

特征的“设置”窗口。

特征的“设置”窗口。

根据反射数终止研究

新版本中可以自动计算边界处的射线反射次数。只要反射计数 复选框处于选中状态,一个内置变量就会用于存储每条射线在壁面和材料不连续性处的反射次数。此外,射线追踪 研究步骤内置了一个选项,用于在所有活动射线都至少反射了指定次数的情况下自动终止研究。每条射线均已发生多次反射时,使用此选项可以避免不必要的等待研究终止的时间。

零件库的功能改进

“零件库”中专用于“射线光学模块”的部分新增了四个零件:球面通用透镜、圆形平面环、同轴锥面镜、离轴锥面镜。

球面通用透镜

“球面通用透镜”零件可用于定义两侧曲率半径不同的透镜。这种透镜几何比内置的等凸透镜和平凸透镜零件更为通用,可对其提供输入用于指定任一透镜表面的通光孔径。

显示“零件库”中的“普通三维球面透镜”的屏幕截图。 “零件库”中的“普通球面透镜”。 “零件库”中的“普通球面透镜”。
在模型中多次使用“普通三维球面透镜”零件的示例。 使用多个“普通三维球面透镜”零件实例构建的多元透镜横截面。 使用多个“普通三维球面透镜”零件实例构建的多元透镜横截面。

圆形平面环

圆形平面环是一个可以插入到三维几何中,起到孔径光阑作用的平面环。例如,可以将这些环置于相机或望远镜的镜头周围来吸收漫射光。此零件也可设置为不包括中心孔,作为简单的圆形平面使用。


在模型中使用“圆形平面环”零件的示例。 使用“圆形平面环”零件实例定义孔径的透镜横截面。 使用“圆形平面环”零件实例定义孔径的透镜横截面。

同轴锥面镜

“同轴锥面镜”是指定曲率半径和圆锥常数的轴对称反射镜,您也可以选择是否包括中心孔。


在模型中使用“普通三维同轴锥面镜”零件的示例。 使用“同轴锥面镜”零件实例构建的简单双镜望远镜模型。主镜上除了打有中心孔之外,还定义了通光孔径并在前缘包含一个扁平环。 使用“同轴锥面镜”零件实例构建的简单双镜望远镜模型。主镜上除了打有中心孔之外,还定义了通光孔径并在前缘包含一个扁平环。

离轴锥面镜

“离轴锥面镜”是中心偏离对称轴的反射镜。与“同轴锥面镜”相同,可以指定曲率半径和圆锥常数。“案例库”中的“白瞳中阶梯光栅光谱仪”教学案例演示了此零件的用法,下文将对此进行更详细的说明。

新增教学案例:双高斯透镜

“案例库”中新增了两个“双高斯透镜”教学案例,演示如何设置含有简单多元物镜的透镜系统以及如何执行后处理。各透镜已定义为内置“零件库”中专用于“射线光学模块”部分的零件实例。此教学案例有两个版本:在简单版本中,射线追踪 研究运行一次;在相对复杂的版本中,对不同波长和视场角执行参数化扫描。

源自 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本新增的教学案例“双高斯透镜”的绘图。 此“双高斯透镜”横截面图显示边缘同轴光线以及外加的四个视场角处的主光线。 此“双高斯透镜”横截面图显示边缘同轴光线以及外加的四个视场角处的主光线。
源自 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本新增的教学案例“双高斯透镜(参数化扫描)”的结果。 使用多个波长和视场角的“双高斯透镜(参数化扫描)”案例的光线图。 使用多个波长和视场角的“双高斯透镜(参数化扫描)”案例的光线图。

案例库路径:
Ray_Optics_Module/Lenses_Cameras_and_Telescopes/double_gauss_lens Ray_Optics_Module/Lenses_Cameras_and_Telescopes/double_gauss_lens_parametric

新增教学案例:Petzval 透镜

“案例库”中新增的“Petzval 透镜”教学案例与“双高斯透镜”教学案例类似,演示如何使用内置“零件库”中专用于“射线光学模块”部分的多个零件实例来设置透镜系统以及如何执行后处理。在许多情况下,您可能希望在较大的系统中加入透镜(例如 Petzval 透镜),新的教学案例“白瞳中阶梯光栅光谱仪”对此进行了演示(请参见下文)。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本新增的“Petzval 透镜”教学案例中的绘图。 “Petzval 透镜”案例的横截面图显示边缘同轴光线以及外加的五个视场角处的主光线。 “Petzval 透镜”案例的横截面图显示边缘同轴光线以及外加的五个视场角处的主光线。

案例库路径:
Ray_Optics_Module/Lenses_Cameras_and_Telescopes/petzval_lens

新增教学案例:白瞳中阶梯光栅光谱仪

中阶梯光栅光谱仪是由光栅、反射镜和透镜构成的能将复色光分离成高度分散光谱的仪器。此教学案例中采用中阶梯光栅光谱仪的全参数化几何来追踪光线,并通过 Petzval 透镜聚焦,其中使用周期性方向不同的两个光栅,即中阶梯光栅(高级次下使用)和横向色散光栅,为不同波长和不同中阶梯光栅级次生成二维点阵。

显示 Petzval 透镜系统展开图的白瞳中阶梯光栅光谱仪。 白瞳中阶梯光栅光谱仪。根据不同光的真空波长已对不同光着色。右侧是 Petzval 透镜系统的展开图,光线已过滤,因此仅显示每个波长的近轴光线。 白瞳中阶梯光栅光谱仪。根据不同光的真空波长已对不同光着色。右侧是 Petzval 透镜系统的展开图,光线已过滤,因此仅显示每个波长的近轴光线。


案例库路径:
Ray_Optics_Module/Spectrometers_and_Monochromators/white_pupil_echelle_spectrograph

Ray Optics Module Updates

For users of the Ray Optics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a brings new ray release distributions and more flexible boundary conditions. The dedicated Part Library for the Ray Optics Module has been expanded with new mirrors and lenses. Browse all of the Ray Optics Module updates in more detail below.

Grid-Based Release with Cylindrical and Hexapolar Coordinates

You can now release rays from a cylindrical or hexapolar grid of points when using the Release from Grid feature. You can control the center and orientation of the cylindrical distribution, the number of different radial positions, and the number of angles.

Three cylindrical grid-based distributions. Cylindrical grid-based distributions can be specified with uniform gaps between rings of grid points (left), gaps scaled to approximate uniform spatial number density (middle), or user-defined radii (right). Cylindrical grid-based distributions can be specified with uniform gaps between rings of grid points (left), gaps scaled to approximate uniform spatial number density (middle), or user-defined radii (right).
Three hexapolar grid-based distributions. From left to right: Hexapolar grids containing two, five, and ten rings of points. From left to right: Hexapolar grids containing two, five, and ten rings of points.

Faster Release from Boundaries

Releasing rays from boundaries with uniform and density-based distributions is much faster in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a as compared to version 5.3, increasing the performance of models that use the Inlet and Illuminated Surface features.

The following table shows the performance improvements in the Solar Dish Receiver tutorial model from the Application Library. In this model, a large number of rays are released from an illuminated parabolic reflector aimed at the sun.

Number of Rays Solution Time(s), Version 5.3 Solution Time(s), Version 5.3a Speedup
1000 5 4 25%
2000 8 3 170%
5000 16 5 220%
10,000 41 6 7x
20,000 53 9 6x
50,000 130 19 7x
100,000 244 36 7x

Running on Intel® Xeon® CPU E5-2620 v2 at 2.10 GHz. Using 6 cores on 1 socket. Available memory: 16.33 GB.

Suppress the Release of Reflected Rays During Refraction

At the material discontinuities between different media, you can now easily control which surfaces produce reflected rays when an incident ray is refracted. By default, the incident ray is always split into reflected and refracted rays, as long as the refractive indices on either side of the boundary are different. Optionally, you can prevent the boundary from producing reflected rays or release reflected rays only when a specified logical expression is satisfied.

A demonstration of suppressing the release of reflected rays during refraction in COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a.

Settings window for the Material Discontinuity node in which the reflected rays are released based on the logical expression y>0.5.

Settings window for the Material Discontinuity node in which the reflected rays are released based on the logical expression y>0.5.

Easier Ways to Specify Reflectance and Transmittance at Boundaries

In the settings for the Material Discontinuity feature, it is now much easier to set up a boundary with user-defined reflectance or transmittance, even if you do not know the material properties of the dielectric coatings at the interface. The reflectance or transmittance is a numeric value by default, but can also be an expression or even an analytic or interpolation function.

New Options for Setting Up Diffraction Gratings

Some new options are available in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a to provide greater flexibility when setting up diffraction gratings. To specify the orientation of the grating in 3D, you can now either enter the direction of periodicity (from one unit cell to the next) or the direction of the lines in the grating. Additionally, the rays of diffraction order zero are no longer automatically controlled by the Grating feature itself. Instead, they are controlled by a Diffraction Order subnode, just like all nonzero diffraction orders. When you create a Grating node, a Diffraction Order subnode is now created by default. This way, you can omit rays of order zero if they are not important to the model.

A screenshot of the Grating feature Settings window.

Settings window for the Grating feature, with the new Diffraction Order subnode.

Settings window for the Grating feature, with the new Diffraction Order subnode.

Mirror Boundary Condition

A dedicated Mirror boundary condition, now available as a special case of the Wall boundary condition, always specularly reflects the incoming rays.

A screenshot of the Mirror feature Settings window.

Settings window for the Mirror feature.

Settings window for the Mirror feature.

Study Termination Based on Number of Reflections

You can now automatically count ray reflections at boundaries. Simply select the Count reflections check box and a built-in variable will be used to store the number of times each ray is reflected at walls and material discontinuities. In addition, the Ray Tracing study step has a built-in option to automatically end the study if all active rays have been reflected at least a specified number of times. Use this option to avoid spending unnecessary time waiting for the study to terminate when each ray has already been reflected many times.

Part Library Improvements

Four new parts have been added to the dedicated Part Library for the Ray Optics Module: Spherical General Lens, Circular Planar Annulus, On Axis Conic Mirror, Off Axis Conic Mirror.

Spherical General Lens

Use the Spherical General Lens part to define lenses with two different radii of curvature on either side. This lens geometry is much more general than the built-in parts for equi-convex and plano-convex lenses, providing inputs to specify a clear aperture at either lens surface.

A screenshot showing the Spherical General Lens 3D in the Part Libraries. Spherical General Lens in the Part Libraries. Spherical General Lens in the Part Libraries.
An example of using the Spherical General Lens 3D part multiple times in a model. A cross section of a multielement lens constructed using multiple instances of the Spherical General Lens 3D part. A cross section of a multielement lens constructed using multiple instances of the Spherical General Lens 3D part.

Circular Planar Annulus

The Circular Planar Annulus is a flat ring that can be inserted into 3D geometries to function as an aperture stop. For example, you can put these around the lenses in a camera or telescope to absorb stray light. The part may also be used without a central hole in order to provide a simple circular plane.


An example of using the Circular Planar Annulus part in a model. A cross section of a lens with apertures that have been defined using Circular Planar Annulus part instances. A cross section of a lens with apertures that have been defined using Circular Planar Annulus part instances.

On Axis Conic Mirror

The On Axis Conic Mirror is an axisymmetric mirror where the radius of curvature and conic constant may be specified. You can also choose between having a central hole or not.


An example of using the General Conic Mirror On Axis 3D part in a model. A simple two-mirror telescope model constructed using the On Axis Conic Mirror part instance. In addition to having a central hole, the primary mirror includes a clear aperture definition and a flat annulus on the front edge. A simple two-mirror telescope model constructed using the On Axis Conic Mirror part instance. In addition to having a central hole, the primary mirror includes a clear aperture definition and a flat annulus on the front edge.

Off Axis Conic Mirror

The Off Axis Conic Mirror is a mirror in which the center is displaced from the axis of symmetry. As with the On Axis Conic Mirror, the radius of curvature and conic constant may be specified. The White Pupil Échelle Spectrograph tutorial in the Application Library demonstrates the use of this part, and is explained in more detail below.

New Tutorial Models: Double Gauss Lens

Two new Double Gauss Lens tutorials have been added to the Application Library to demonstrate how to set up and postprocess a lens system with a simple multielement objective lens. The individual lenses are defined as part instances using the built-in Part Library for the Ray Optics Module. Two versions of this tutorial are available: a simpler version in which the Ray Tracing study is run once and a more elaborate version with a parametric sweep over different wavelengths and field angles.

A plot from the Double Gauss Lens tutorial model, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a. This cross-section view of the Double Gauss Lens shows the marginal on-axis rays as well as the chief rays at four additional field angles. This cross-section view of the Double Gauss Lens shows the marginal on-axis rays as well as the chief rays at four additional field angles.
Results from the Double Gauss Lens (Parametric Sweep) tutorial model, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a. The ray diagram of the Double Gauss Lens (Parametric Sweep) model using multiple wavelengths and field angles. The ray diagram of the Double Gauss Lens (Parametric Sweep) model using multiple wavelengths and field angles.

Application Library path:
Ray_Optics_Module/Lenses_Cameras_and_Telescopes/double_gauss_lens Ray_Optics_Module/Lenses_Cameras_and_Telescopes/double_gauss_lens_parametric

New Tutorial Model: Petzval Lens

The new Petzval lens tutorial, similar to the Double Gauss lens tutorial, has been added to the Application Library to demonstrate how to set up and postprocess a lens system using multiple part instances from the built-in Part Library for the Ray Optics Module. In many cases, you may want to include a lens, such as the Petzval lens, in a larger system, which is demonstrated in the new White Pupil Échelle Spectrograph tutorial model (see below).

A plot from the Petzval Lens tutorial model, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a. This cross-sectional view of the Petzval Lens model shows the marginal on-axis rays, as well as the chief rays at five additional field angles. This cross-sectional view of the Petzval Lens model shows the marginal on-axis rays, as well as the chief rays at five additional field angles.

Application Library path:
Ray_Optics_Module/Lenses_Cameras_and_Telescopes/petzval_lens

New Tutorial Model: White Pupil Échelle Spectrograph

An échelle spectrograph is an instrument consisting of gratings, mirrors, and lenses that can separate polychromatic light into a highly dispersed spectrum. In this tutorial, rays are traced through a fully parameterized geometry of an échelle spectrograph and focused by a Petzval lens. The model uses two gratings, the échelle grating (used in high order) and the cross-disperser grating, with different directions of periodicity, producing a 2D array of spots for different wavelengths and échelle orders.

The white pupil échelle spectrograph with an expanded view of the Petzval lens system. The white pupil échelle spectrograph. Rays are colored according to their vacuum wavelength. To the right is an expanded view of the Petzval lens system, filtered so that only the axial rays for each wavelength are shown. The white pupil échelle spectrograph. Rays are colored according to their vacuum wavelength. To the right is an expanded view of the Petzval lens system, filtered so that only the axial rays for each wavelength are shown.


Application Library path:
Ray_Optics_Module/Spectrometers_and_Monochromators/white_pupil_echelle_spectrograph