后处理与可视化更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本引入了新的渲染和可视化特征以及多项改进功能,包括针对有色觉障碍的用户优化的新颜色表,添加了与 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® 产品的兼容性,以及将动画导出为 WebM 格式的功能。请阅读以下内容,了解 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本中包含的所有渲染和可视化功能更新。

Cividis 颜色表

新的 Cividis 颜色表实现了功能优化,可用于查看标量数据。颜色表适用于所有用户,即使有色觉障碍的用户也能从中受益。Cividis 颜色表是根据美国西北太平洋国家实验室 (PNNL) 的 Jamie Nuñez、Ryan Renslow 和 Christopher Anderton 提供的色图数据开发的。

与传统的颜色表相比,Cividis 具有三个主要的优势:

  1. 它提供的颜色变化有着均匀的视觉效果。
    a.  与类似彩虹色的颜色表不同,Cividis 中的颜色变化进行了优化,可以在颜色表范围内平缓地变化, 并用最亮的颜色表示最大的值。这有助于突出显示真正重要的特征, 并支持直接比较不同的特征。

  2. 具有比灰度表更优的功能。
    a.  人们能够分辨约一千万种颜色的深浅(色调),但只能区分约 30 种灰度梯度, 这是使用灰度的主要缺点。一些解的特性可以通过彩色图清晰地呈现出来, 而灰度图却无法做到这一点。

  3. 有色觉障碍的用户也能轻松上手使用。
    a. 在 Cividis 颜色表的开发过程中,我们充分考虑了具有色觉障碍的用户的需求。尽管该颜色表的优化主要是针对无法区分红色和绿色的色觉障碍用户和色觉正常的用户, 然而对于存在其他缺陷的用户而言,这也是一个极佳的颜色表。

使用 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中新增的 Cividis 颜色表进行可视化的声压级图。 使用新的 Cividis 颜色表为扬声器模型生成的可视化效果。 使用新的 Cividis 颜色表为扬声器模型生成的可视化效果。

支持 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse®

现在,用户可以使用 3Dconnexion 的 SpaceMouse® 产品在“图形”窗口中控制相机。在使用 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® 产品单手移动相机时,您可以用另一只手操控普通鼠标来选择几何实体。不仅如此,在对结果进行后处理时,您还可以更轻松地创建有趣的独特视图。

 

通过使用 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® 产品,您可以轻松地在模型几何内部和周围进行移动操作。


来自 3Dconnexion® 的 SpaceMouse® 3D 鼠标照片。 图中显示的是“个人系列”的 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® Wireless 模型。 图中显示的是“个人系列”的 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® Wireless 模型。

三维导航的功能改进

“图形”窗口中新增了两个特征,用于改进三维导航功能:控制旋转中心以及绕轴旋转相机。在进行三维建模时,旋转中心将根据当前视图自动更新,并且当您将光标悬停在几何上并单击鼠标的中间滚轮按钮时,可以将该点手动设置为旋转中心。默认情况下,旋转图标处于隐藏状态。不过,您可以在“首选项”窗口的图形和绘图窗口 部分,将图标可见性改为始终显示仅在鼠标操作时显示。此外,在使用鼠标进行旋转时,您可以按键盘上的 x、y 或 z 按钮,绕 x 轴、y 轴和 z 轴旋转相机。

处理模型中的绘图数据

计算绘图数据的工作有时需要花费大量的时间,现在,您可以在模型中保存绘图数据,这样,只需执行一次计算就能完成工作。这项功能对于流线图、远场图以及使用边界元法的模型中的绘图特别有用。

此外,求解器在运行研究后完成求解时,也需要花费较长时间才能重新生成绘图数据。因此,我们添加了一个选项,用于在求解完成后重新计算与求解器序列关联的所有绘图数据。这样,只需执行一项操作,即计算研究,便能够及时检查所有绘图。

使用流线图进行可视化的“Ahmed 体”模型。

“案例库”中 Ahmed 体模型的流线图。

“案例库”中 Ahmed 体模型的流线图。

导出 WebM 动画

在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中创建动画时,您现在可以将其导出为 WebM 格式,生成适用于网页的高质量动画。随后,这些文件便可在兼容的 Web 浏览器中直接播放,也可以在媒体播放器中打开,或上传到视频托管网站。请注意,并非所有的浏览器和媒体播放器都支持 WebM 格式,但在某些情况下,可以通过安装插件来解决。

以下嵌入的两个动画是从 COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件以 WebM 格式导出的。您可以从本页面下载这两个动画。高斯脉冲波动画是从“案例库”中的同名模型生成的。“上升气泡”动画是从“案例库”中 rising_bubble_2daxi 模型的修改版本生成的。

导出为 WebM 格式时可以使用以下设置:

  • 编解码器:VP9(推荐)或 VP8
  • 质量:比例为 1-100,表示质量由低到高
  • 无损:选中此框可导出最高质量的文件
  • 高级参数自动 选项适用于大部分导出操作;有关手动设置的信息,请参阅 COMSOL Multiphysics Reference Manual

 

基于默认设置导出的高斯脉冲波动画,分辨率为 1920x1440。

 

以无损质量导出的“上升气泡”动画。


一维绘图过滤器

现在,过滤器 属性可用于“全局”、“点图”和“线图”一维绘图。一直以来,过滤器 属性都可用于二维和三维绘图,您可以在其中编写逻辑表达式,实现在特定绘图中仅包含所需的结果。

绘制第一个、绘制上一个、绘制下一个和绘制最后一个按钮

在包含多个结果的绘图组中,添加了两个新按钮:绘制第一个绘制最后一个,作为对绘制上一个绘制下一个 按钮的补充。当绘图组包含多个结果时,您可以单击这些按钮,绘制数据集中的第一个结果或最后一个结果。当您单击不同的结果时,如果不希望使用下拉列表来选择特定的结果,添加的按钮此时可以提供更多的灵活性。

硬件加速的图像生成

当您从 COMSOL Multiphysics® 导出图像时,默认情况下是使用软件渲染来导出图像。然而,您可以关闭此选项,实现硬件加速的图像生成,从而使用计算机的图形卡来导出图像。鉴于此,该功能在不同的计算机上具有不同的表现,图形卡性能越好,生成的结果就越好。单击文件 > 首选项 > 图形和绘图窗口,并取消选中图像导出 栏的“将软件渲染用于图像导出”复选框,可以启用此选项。

3Dconnexion 和 SpaceMouse 是 Société Civile "GALILEO 2011" 的注册商标。

Postprocessing and Visualization Updates

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a brings new rendering and visualization features and improvements, including a new color table optimized for people with color vision deficiency, compatibility with the 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® product, and the ability to export animations in the WebM format. Check out all of the rendering and visualization updates included in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a below.

Cividis Color Table

The new color table Cividis is optimized for viewing scalar data. The color table benefits people both with and without color vision deficiency. The Cividis color table was developed based on colormap data provided by Jamie Nuñez, Ryan Renslow, and Christopher Anderton from Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL).

As compared to traditional color tables, Cividis has three main advantages:

  1. It provides perceptually uniform color changes.
    a. Unlike rainbow-like color tables, the color changes in Cividis have been optimized to change smoothly over the extents of the color table with the brightest colors representing the highest values. This helps to make features that are truly important stand out and allows for direct comparison between features.
  2. It is superior to grayscale tables.
    a.  People can see the difference between ~10 million shades of color (hues), whereas we can only tell the difference between ~30 shades of gray, which is a major disadvantage of using grayscale. Some solution features stand out in colored maps, but not in grayscale.
  3. It is friendly to people with color vision deficiency.
    a. The Cividis color table was made specifically with color vision deficiencies in mind. While it is optimized for complete red-green colorblindness and normal color vision, it is also a great color table for other deficiencies.
A sound pressure level plot visualized with the Cividis color table, new in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a. Visualization of a loudspeaker model with the new Cividis color table. Visualization of a loudspeaker model with the new Cividis color table.

Support for 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse®

Users can now control the camera in the Graphics window using the SpaceMouse® product from 3Dconnexion. While moving the camera around with the 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® product in one hand, you can select geometric entities with a regular mouse in your other hand. Additionally, you can create interesting and unique views more easily when postprocessing your results.

 

With the 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® product, you can maneuver in and around your model geometry with ease.


A photo of the SpaceMouse® 3D mouse from 3Dconnexion®. Shown here is the 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® Wireless model from their Personal Series. Shown here is the 3Dconnexion® SpaceMouse® Wireless model from their Personal Series.

Improved 3D Navigation

Two new features have been included in the Graphics window to improve 3D navigation: controlling the center of rotation and rotating the camera about axes. When modeling in 3D, the rotation center will update automatically depending on your current view and while hovering over the geometry, clicking the middle scroll button manually sets that point as the center of rotation. The rotation icon is hidden by default. However, in the Graphics and Plot Windows section of the Preferences window, you can change the icon visibility to Always show or Shown only on mouse action. Additionally, you can rotate the camera about the x-, y-, and z-axes by pressing the x, y, or z button on the keyboard when rotating with the mouse.

Handling Plot Data in the Model

Computing plot data can sometimes take a lot of time, and it is now possible to save the plot data in the model so that this work only needs to be done once. This is especially useful for streamline plots, far-field plots, and plots in models that use the boundary element method.

Additionally, it can take a long time to regenerate plot data when the solver has finished after running a study. Therefore, we have added an option for recomputing all plot data associated with a solver sequence when the solver completes. This makes it possible to inspect all plots without delay by performing a single operation, computing the study.

The Ahmed Body model visualized with the streamline plot.

A streamline plot in the Ahmed Body model from the Application Library.

A streamline plot in the Ahmed Body model from the Application Library.

Export WebM Animations

When creating animations in COMSOL Multiphysics®, you can now export them in the WebM format, generating high-quality animations for the web. These files may then be played directly in compatible web browsers, opened in media players, or uploaded to video hosting sites. Note that not all browsers and media players support the WebM format, but this can be resolved by add-ons in some cases.

Embedded below are two animations exported in the WebM format from the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The animations can be downloaded from this page. The gaussian explosion animation was generated from the model of the same name in the Application Library. The rising bubble animation was generated from a modified version of the rising_bubble_2daxi model from the Application Library.

Available settings when exporting as WebM:

  • Codec: VP9 (recommended) or VP8
  • Quality: A scale of 1–100, from low to high quality
  • Lossless: Check this box to export at maximum quality
  • Advanced parameters: Automatic is suitable for most exports; the manual settings can be found in the COMSOL Multiphysics Reference Manual



 

The gaussian explosion animation, exported with default settings at a 1920x1440 resolution.

 

The rising bubble animation exported with lossless quality.


Filters on 1D Plots

The Filter attribute is now available in 1D for Global, Point Graph, and Line Graph plots. Long available for 2D and 3D plots, the Filter attribute lets you write a logical expression to include only the results you are interested in for that particular plot.

Plot First, Plot Previous, Plot Next, and Plot Last Buttons

To complement the Plot Previous and Plot Next buttons in plot groups with multiple results, two new buttons are included: Plot First and Plot Last. When you have a plot group with multiple results, you can click these buttons to plot the first result in the data set or the last result. These added buttons give more leeway when clicking through results, when you do not want to use the drop-down list to select specific results.

Hardware-Accelerated Image Generation

When exporting images from COMSOL Multiphysics®, you are by default using software rendering to export the images. However, you can turn this option off to get hardware-accelerated image generation, which uses your computer's graphics card to export images. As such, the functionality will vary across different computers, where a better graphics card will yield better results. To enable this option, go to File > Preferences > Graphics and Plot Windows and deselect the check box in the Image export section labeled "Use software rendering for image export."

3Dconnexion and SpaceMouse are registered trademarks of Société Civile "GALILEO 2011".