非线性结构材料模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本为“非线性结构材料模块”的用户引入了通过 Lagoudas 或 Souza-Auricchio 模型建模的形状记忆合金,并对多孔材料的塑性特征进行了多项功能改进。请阅读以下内容,了解这些功能更新。

形状记忆合金

形状记忆合金越来越受到人们的青睐,尤其是在医疗领域。由于这些材料所具有的独特性质由机械应力和温度变化而触发的相变引起,因此,其力学描述较为复杂。V5.3a 版本新增了用于描述形状记忆合金的两个最常见的数学模型:Lagoudas 模型和 Souza-Auricchio 模型。您可以使用任一模型来定义奥氏体和马氏体材料属性,以及起始温度和结束温度等相变属性。其关联接口是“传热模块”中新增的形状记忆合金传热接口。

形状记忆合金中的传热

形状记忆合金 (SMA) 的特性与温度密切相关,任何结构变化(奥氏体 ↔ 马氏体)都会释放或吸收能量,从而改变合金的热属性。传热接口中的形状记忆合金 特征可以分析马氏体和奥氏体的体积分数,然后根据每个相的热属性来定义有效的热属性。形状记忆合金 特征设计为与“非线性结构材料模块”中包含的新增形状记忆合金 特征结合使用。要在模型中包含此特征,可以选中主传热 接口节点中的合金中的传热 复选框,此时形状记忆合金 特征便可用作 边界条件。

多孔塑性增强功能

多孔塑性材料模型中新增了塑性硬化特征以及有关孔洞形核的选项。

默认绘图的功能改进

结构力学物理场接口中的默认绘图已更新,现在可以生成信息更丰富的可视化效果。“案例库”教程也进行了相应更新。主要更改如下所示:

  • von Mises 应力图的颜色表为 RainbowLight
  • 特征频率和线性屈曲研究的振型图颜色表为 AuroraBorealis
  • 振型图已去除图例,以突出说明模式的振幅没有物理意义
  • 桁架 接口中截面力绘图的颜色表为 Wave,具有对称的颜色范围
    • 例如,借此可以立即区分拉伸和压缩
  • 在接触分析中,以线图(二维)或云图(三维)的形式添加了接触压力图
  • “应力线性化”的默认绘图现已在图表中加入图例
  • 接口生成的默认“未变形几何”绘图现在新增了多种颜色
  • 在使用塑性或蠕变等材料模型时,相关应变物理量的云图(如有效塑性应变)叠加在应力图上
    • 适用于“非线性结构材料模块”和“岩土力学模块”
  • 疲劳 接口中,Traffic 颜色表用于预测的失效周期和使用因子
    • 适用于“疲劳模块”
COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中改进的默认绘图与旧版软件绘图的视觉效果比较。

在本例中您可以看到,应力图中的颜色较亮(RainbowLight 颜色表),默认情况下已添加塑性应变等值线和接触压力等值线。为了进行比较,同时显示了 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本中同一模型的默认绘图。

在本例中您可以看到,应力图中的颜色较亮(RainbowLight 颜色表),默认情况下已添加塑性应变等值线和接触压力等值线。为了进行比较,同时显示了 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本中同一模型的默认绘图。

新增教学案例:形状记忆合金的单轴载荷

在本教学案例中,使用了三种不同的载荷方案来突出形状记忆合金的各种特性:

  1. 不同温度下的加载-卸载循环,在较高温度下表现出超弹性属性
  2. 采用恒温下部分加载-卸载的方案,表现出较强的滞后效应
  3. 产生残余应变的载荷循环,随后温度升高,从而将应变重置为零,表现出形状记忆效应
“形状记忆合金的单轴载荷”教学模型中的一维绘图。

不同温度下加载-卸载循环的应力 vs. 应变。

不同温度下加载-卸载循环的应力 vs. 应变。

案例库路径:
Nonlinear_Structural_Materials_Module/Shape_Memory_Alloys/uniaxial_loading_of_shape_memory_alloy

Nonlinear Structural Materials Module Updates

For users of the Nonlinear Structural Materials Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a brings shape memory alloys, modeled with the Lagoudas or Souza-Auricchio models, and improvements to the porous plasticity feature. Learn about these features below.

Shape Memory Alloys

Shape memory alloys are becoming increasingly popular, particularly for medical applications. The mechanical description of shape memory alloys is complex, since the intriguing behavior of these materials is caused by phase transformations, which can be triggered both by mechanical stresses and changes in temperature. The two most common mathematical models for describing shape memory alloys have been added: Lagoudas and Souza-Auricchio. When using either model, you have the ability to define the Austenite and Martensite material properties, as well as phase transformation properties, such as start and finish temperatures. Associated with this is a new interface for heat transfer in shape memory alloys, available in the Heat Transfer Module.

Heat Transfer in Shape Memory Alloys

The behavior of shape memory alloys (SMA) is tightly related to temperature, and any structural changes (Austenite ↔ Martensite) will release or absorb energy, changing the thermal properties of the alloys. The Shape Memory Alloy feature in the heat transfer interfaces accounts for the Martensite and Austenite volume fraction. Effective thermal properties are then defined from the thermal properties of each phase. This Shape Memory Alloy feature is designed to be combined with the new Shape Memory Alloy feature included with the Nonlinear Structural Materials Module. To include it in your model, select the Heat transfer in alloys check box in the main Heat Transfer interface node, and the Shape Memory Alloy feature will be available as a Domain boundary condition.

Enhancements to Porous Plasticity

The porous plasticity material models have been augmented with plastic hardening and options for taking void nucleation into account.

Improved Default Plots

The default plots in the structural mechanics physics interfaces have been updated to produce more informative visualizations. The Application Library tutorials have been updated accordingly. Some of the more prominent changes that you will see are as follows:

  • The color table for von Mises stress plots is RainbowLight
  • The color table for mode shape plots, for eigenfrequency and linear buckling studies, is AuroraBorealis
  • Mode shape plots have the legend switched off to emphasize that the amplitude of a mode does not have a physical meaning
  • The color table for section force plots in the Beam and Truss interfaces is Wave, with a symmetric color range
    • This makes it possible to immediately distinguish between tension and compression, for example
  • In contact analysis, a plot of the contact pressure is added, as either a line plot (2D) or contour plot (3D)
  • The default plot for Stress Linearization now has a legend for the graphs
  • The default Undeformed geometry plot, produced by the Shell interface, has new colors
  • When a material model like plasticity or creep is used, a contour plot of a relevant strain quantity, like the effective plastic strain, overlays the stress plot
    • Applicable for the Nonlinear Structural Materials Module and the Geomechanics Module
  • In the Fatigue interface, the Traffic color table is used for predicted cycles to failure and for usage factors
    • Applicable for the Fatigue Module
A visual comparison of the improved default plot in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a and an older software version.

In this example, you can see brighter colors in the stress plot (RainbowLight color table), and plastic strain contours and contact pressure contours have been added by default. For comparison, a plot from the default plot in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 of the same model is shown.

In this example, you can see brighter colors in the stress plot (RainbowLight color table), and plastic strain contours and contact pressure contours have been added by default. For comparison, a plot from the default plot in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 of the same model is shown.

New Tutorial Model: Uniaxial Loading of Shape Memory Alloy

In this tutorial model, three different loading scenarios are used in order to highlight different behaviors of a shape memory alloy:

  1. A loading-unloading cycle at different temperatures, displaying the superelasticity property at higher temperatures
  2. A scheme with partial loading-unloading at constant temperature, showing the strong hysteresis effect
  3. A loading cycle that produces a residual strain, followed by a temperature increase, which resets the strain to zero, thus showing the shape memory effect
A 1D plot from the Uniaxial Loading of Shape Memory Alloy tutorial model.

Stress vs. strain for a loading-unloading cycle at different temperatures.

Stress vs. strain for a loading-unloading cycle at different temperatures.

Application Library path:
Nonlinear_Structural_Materials_Module/Shape_Memory_Alloys/uniaxial_loading_of_shape_memory_alloy