研究和求解器更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本引入了新的模型降阶特征,增强了组合解的灵活性,并新增了一个选项,可重用计算得到的数据。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解关于研究和求解器的功能更新。

模型降阶

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本提供了全新的模型降阶框架,将降阶模型的生成和使用过程区分开来。模型降阶是一系列数值方法的总称,这些数值方法可以通过减少待求解的自由度数来生成更加高效的模型。降阶模型是原始模型的近似模型,用于加速求解过程。举例来说,当需要使用不同的输入参数多次执行相似的计算时,可以采用模型降阶。在创建降阶模型之前,用户需要定义一组输入和输出参数,以及模型降阶方法(在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中为模态AWE)。然后,系统会基于设置的输入-输出关系以及用户定义的保真度测量来生成降阶模型,尽可能重现原始模型。

在此版本引入的新框架中,还包含一个单独的模型降阶研究,支持使用模态求解器和渐近波形估计 (AWE) 求解器。您可以在模型降阶研究中直接执行瞬态仿真或频率扫描,并根据需要生成适用于其他情况的降阶模型。降阶模型可以定义全局变量输出并重构未降阶模型的选定部分。在使用模态求解器时,您可以使用全局参数来定义降阶模型的模型控制输入,这些全局参数将替换为全局表达式,从而更灵活地为降阶模型提供输入。由模态求解器生成的降阶模型还可用于通过 Java® API 或 LiveLink™ for MATLAB® 调用降阶线性系统的系统矩阵,包括状态空间形式的矩阵。

请注意,仅当启用高级研究选项 后,才能从研究 上下文菜单中使用模型降阶 研究。


构建降阶模型的工作流程如下所示:

  1. 选择要应用的模型降阶方法:模态AWE
    a. 对于模态 方法,选择要使用的培训 研究:特征值特征频率 研究步骤
  2. 通过选择单独的兼容研究步骤,定义未降阶模型
    a. 对于模态 方法,定义降阶模型控制输入
  3. 定义降阶模型输出
  4. 根据定义的设置计算研究,生成降阶模型
    a. 随后可以在全局定义 节点下找到降阶模型

新教学案例:热控制器,降阶模型

此教学案例演示如何使用“模型降阶”研究创建降阶模型,以及如何使用生成的降阶模型来研究不同的热控制策略。热控制器系统包含一个恒温器,它在温度过低时打开加热器,并在温度过高时将其关闭。金属块充当与外部区域交换热量的加热器。结果还包含与相关 FEM 模型的比较,该模型使用探针来测量温度。

将 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中全模型与降阶模型所得结果进行比较。 与 FEM 仿真的输出(红线和蓝绿色线)相比较,使用降阶模型得出的结果(蓝线和绿线)更胜一筹。 与 FEM 仿真的输出(红线和蓝绿色线)相比较,使用降阶模型得出的结果(蓝线和绿线)更胜一筹。

案例库路径:

COMSOL_Multiphysics/Tutorials/thermal_controller_rom

并行的平滑聚集代数多重网格 (SA-AMG)

平滑聚集代数多重网格 (SA-AMG) 设置已实现并行化处理。SA-AMG 求解器主要用于 CFD 仿真,其设置阶段现在可利用多核及分布式内存,由此提升多核处理器上的设置速度,并降低集群上的内存峰值。

在组合解时移除选择

组合解 特征现在可供您仅保留与求解的时间步、特征频率和参数相关的部分选定解,从而减少大型模型中存储的数据量,并能过滤掉不需要的解,以方便进行后处理,因此非常有用。

计算解的加权和

组合解 特征中新增了一个选项用于计算解的加权和,例如:时间步、特征频率和参数。

特征频率参数化求解器

特征频率特征值 研究步骤得到了扩展,现在支持助参数扫描,这与瞬态 研究中的功能类似。与参数化扫描 相比,辅助扫描 针对不断变化的参数采用更高效的算法,可以适当缩短求解时间并减少解的存储。您可以在集群上使用分布参数化求解器 选项,高效地处理需要使用单个节点来表示每个参数值的问题。

重复利用计算所得数据

此版本新增了多个选项,可供您重复利用线性求解器中的数据,在许多情况下,这一功能可以带来显著的性能提升。通过重复利用非线性求解器、瞬态求解器和参数化求解器中之前步骤生成的数据,多个线性求解器的性能都得到了提升。对于大型模型,在非线性迭代中使用直接线性求解器,性能提升可以高达 30%。

默认情况下,可重复利用数据的新选项处于启用状态,与禁用时相比,启用后可以提高内存使用率。在某些情况下,这些新选项在一定程度上取决于系统矩阵,也就是说,新选项在这些情况下的收敛速度会有所不同。如果您在使用重用的数据时出现收敛问题,系统会更新相关的求解器数据。

用于控制迭代求解器终止的新选项

当您在迭代求解器中使用“左”预处理选项时,现在可以使用单独的容差来控制相对残差。应对残差新需求的这一新增功能可以确保在使用“左”预处理选项时,迭代求解器不会过早终止,从而提高迭代求解器的稳定性。

此外,您还可以使用新的选项,在中间非线性求解器步骤中终止次数较少的迭代。此选项可用于控制线性求解器在每个非线性步骤中完成的工作。非线性求解器的最后一步中的迭代次数仍通过最大迭代次数 设置进行控制。

无矩阵格式支持自动比例

无矩阵格式现在可以自动计算场分量的比例。有了这一功能,对于快速求解器使用无矩阵格式的边界元法 (BEM) 而言,可以显著提高收敛速度。

新增用于批处理模式运行的批处理和集群选项

COMSOL Multiphysics® 支持多种不同的参数化扫描,包括分布式参数化扫描批处理扫描集群扫描。一方面,分布式参数化扫描 可在基于 MPI 的作业内并行处理不同的参数,并针对不同的参数计算使用不同的进程。另一方面,批处理扫描集群扫描 会并行启动多个进程,并独立运行这些进程,然后将结果收集到基于用户界面的主进程中。在之前的 COMSOL® 软件版本中,您无法通过批处理命令启动批处理扫描集群扫描,但现在通过新的命令行选项 -mode batch-mode desktop 可以实现这一功能。如果您出于某种原因,在不支持用户界面访问的系统中运行本软件,则此功能非常有用。

在大多数情况下,使用分布式参数化扫描 相对简单一些,只需选中分布式参数化扫描 复选框并在分布式模式下启动即可。而批处理扫描集群扫描 则需要设置许多路径和其他一些配置。如果您希望尽量消除潜在的收敛问题,并避免由于单个参数而导致软件重新启动,则建议您使用批处理扫描集群扫描。请注意,分布式参数化扫描集群扫描 仅适用于网络浮动许可证 (FNL),而批处理扫描 适用于单用户许可证。

在批处理模式下通过操作系统命令行运行软件时,可以使用多个新的命令行选项。-clearmesh-clearsolution 选项分别用于在将模型保存到文件之前清除网格和解。当您只希望在输出文件中保留探针数据等标量输出时,这两个选项非常有用。-cancel-stop 选项分别用于取消和停止正在运行的批处理作业。-jobfile <文件名> 选项用于读取包含输入文件列表的文件,并为每个输入文件运行一个批处理作业。您还可以使用 -methodcall <方法名称> 选项从批处理运行方法调用,其中的方法名称是方法调用 特征的标记。

集群计算和远程计算更新

现在,集群计算支持基于 PBS 的调度程序。在远程计算 设置中新增的选项现在可用于将 COMSOL Multiphysics® 使用的批处理命令行保存到文件,并保存应传输到远程计算机的所有文件的列表以及应传输回的文件的列表。当您无法从创建批处理作业的计算机访问远程计算机时,此项更新功能支持您远程运行批处理作业。当批处理作业已完成并且已从远程计算机复制生成的文件后,计算结果将更新。

显示 COMSOL Multiphysics 中的“远程计算”设置的屏幕截图。

“首选项”窗口中 远程计算的新设置。

“首选项”窗口中 远程计算的新设置。

Studies and Solver Updates

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a includes a new model reduction feature, more flexibility when combining solutions, and an option to reuse already computed data. Read more about all of the updates relating to studies and solvers below.

Model Reduction

A new framework for model reduction is available in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a that separates the processes of generating and using reduced models. Model reduction is a collective name for a range of numerical techniques that are used to generate more efficient models by reducing the number of degrees of freedom that are being solved for. A reduced model is an approximation to the original model, used to accelerate the solution process. One example would be cases where a similar computation needs to be performed many times using different input parameters. Before creating a reduced model, the user defines a set of input and output parameters, as well as a model reduction method (Modal or AWE in COMSOL Multiphysics®). Then, a reduced model is generated, reproducing the original model as closely as possible, based on the set input-output relationship and a user-defined fidelity measure.

As part of the new framework, a separate study for model reduction has been introduced with support for using the modal solver as well as the asymptotic waveform evaluation (AWE) solver. You can perform a transient simulation or a frequency sweep directly in the model reduction study, and produce a reduced model to use in a different context, if desired. The reduced models can define global variable outputs and reconstruct selected parts of the unreduced model. When using the modal solver, you can use global parameters to define model control inputs for the reduced model, to be substituted with global expressions, making it possible to feed the reduced models rather freely. The reduced models produced by the modal solver can also be used to retrieve the system matrices of the reduced linear system through the Java® API or with LiveLink™ for MATLAB®, including matrices on state-space form.

Note that the Model Reduction study is only available from the Study context menu when you have the Advanced Study Options enabled.


The workflow for building a reduced model is as follows:

  1. Select the model-reduction method to apply: Modal or AWE
    a. For the Modal method, select the Training study to use: Eigenvalue or Eigenfrequency study step
  2. Define the unreduced model by selecting a compatible separate study step
    a. For the Modal method, define reduced model control inputs
  3. Define reduced model outputs
  4. Compute the study to produce a reduced model according to the settings defined
    a. The reduced model is then found under the Global Definitions node

New Tutorial Model: Thermal Controller, Reduced-Order Model

This tutorial demonstrates how to create a reduced-order model using the Model Reduction study and how the resulting reduced model can be used to investigate different control strategies for thermal control. The thermal controller system includes a thermostat that turns the heater on and off when the temperature is too low or too high. A metal block acts as the heater that exchanges heat with the exterior domain. The results include a comparison with the associated FEM model that uses probes to measure the temperature.

Comparing results from full and reduced-order models in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3a. The results from the reduced-order model (blue and green lines) compare favorably with the outputs from the FEM simulation (red and cyan lines). The results from the reduced-order model (blue and green lines) compare favorably with the outputs from the FEM simulation (red and cyan lines).

Application Library path:

COMSOL_Multiphysics/Tutorials/thermal_controller_rom

Parallelized Smoothed Aggregation Algebraic Multigrid (SA-AMG)

The setup of the SA-AMG is parallelized. The SA-AMG solver is primarily used for CFD simulations and the setup phase of SA-AMG now takes advantage of multicore and distributed memory. This leads to a faster setup on multicore processors and a reduced memory peak on clusters.

Remove Selections When Combining Solutions

The Combine Solutions feature now allows you to keep only selected parts of a solution with respect to solution times, eigenfrequencies, and parameters. This is useful for reducing the amount of data stored for large models as well as for filtering unwanted solutions for the purposes of postprocessing.

Compute Weighted Sums of Solutions

A new option in the Combine Solutions feature allows you to compute a weighted sum of solutions, for example: time, eigenfrequencies, and parameters.

Eigenfrequency Parametric Solver

The Eigenfrequency and Eigenvalue study steps have been extended with support for auxiliary parameter sweeps, similar to the functionality in the Time Dependent study. The Auxiliary sweep uses a more efficient algorithm for varying the parameters, as compared to the Parametric Sweep, and reduces solution time and storage when applicable. On clusters, you can use the Distribute parametric solver option, which is very efficient for problems that fit into a single node for each parameter value.

Reuse Already Computed Data

There are new options that allow you to reuse data in the linear solvers, which can give significant performance improvements in many cases. The performance in several linear solvers is improved by reusing data from previous steps in the nonlinear, time-dependent, and parametric solvers. For large models, the performance improvement can be up to 30% when a direct linear solver is used in nonlinear iterations.

The new options to reuse data are enabled by default and can increase memory usage compared to when the options are disabled. The new options are in some cases weakly dependent on the system matrix, meaning that they can give another convergence rate in some cases. When the reused data is utilized and there are convergence issues, the related solver data is updated.

New Options to Control Iterative Solver Termination

You can now control the relative residual with a separate tolerance when using left preconditioning in the iterative solver. The new requirement on the residual ensures that the iterative solver does not terminate too early when left preconditioning is used, improving the robustness of the iterative solver.

There is also a new option that allows you to terminate on fewer iterations in the intermediate nonlinear solver steps. This option allows you to control the work done by the linear solver in each nonlinear step. The number of iterations in the last nonlinear solver step is still controlled by the Maximum number of iterations setting.

Automatic Scales Supported in the Matrix-Free Format

The matrix-free format now estimates scales of its field components automatically. This can lead to significant improvements in convergence rate for the boundary element method (BEM) where the matrix-free format is used by the fast solver.

New Batch and Cluster Options When Running in Batch Mode

COMSOL Multiphysics® supports several different types of parametric sweeps including Distributed Parametric Sweep, Batch Sweep, and Cluster Sweep. On one hand, a Distributed Parametric Sweep handles different parameters in parallel within an MPI-based job, where different processes are used for computations corresponding to different parameters. On the other hand, a Batch Sweep or Cluster Sweep starts several processes in parallel, runs them independently, and then collects the result into the main user-interface-based process. In previous versions of the COMSOL® software, you could not start a Batch Sweep or Cluster Sweep from a batch command, but this functionality is now available with the new command-line options -mode batch and -mode desktop. This functionality may be useful if you run the software on a system where, for some reason, there is no user interface access.

In most cases, a Distributed Parametric Sweep is easier to work with since you simply select the check box Distributed parametric sweep and start in distributed mode. The Batch Sweep and Cluster Sweep require that you set up a number of paths and other configurations. Batch Sweep and Cluster Sweep are preferred if you want robustness with respect to potential convergence issues and the possibility for individual parameter restarts. Note that Distributed Parametric Sweep and Cluster Sweep are only available for the Floating Network License (FNL), but that Batch Sweep is available for single-user licenses.

There are several new command-line options when running in batch mode from the operating system command line. The options -clearmesh and -clearsolution clear the meshes and solutions, respectively, before the model is saved to a file. This is useful when you only want to keep scalar outputs such as probe data in the output file. The options -cancel and -stop cancel and stop a batch job that is already running. The option -jobfile <filename> reads a file containing a list of input files and runs a batch job for each input file. You can also run method calls from batch with the option -methodcall <method name> where method name is the tag of the Method Call feature.

Updates to Cluster Computing and Remote Computing

There is now support for PBS-based schedulers in cluster computing. In the Remote Computing settings, there are now options to save the batch command lines used by COMSOL Multiphysics® to a file and to save a list of all files that should be transferred to a remote computer and a list of files that should be transferred back. This allows you to run batch jobs remotely in cases when the remote computer cannot be accessed from the computer creating the batch jobs. When the batch jobs are finished and the resulting files are copied from the remote computer, the results will be updated.

A screenshot showing the Remote Computing settings in COMSOL Multiphysics.

New settings for Remote Computing in the Preferences window.

New settings for Remote Computing in the Preferences window.