RF 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3a 版本为“RF 模块”的用户新增了用于运行自适应频率扫描的研究步骤;在“材料库”中新增了微波和毫米波电路板材料;将 RF“零件库”进行了扩展,添加了边缘发射连接器;还引入了使用时域显式仿真进行宽带雷达散射截面 (RCS) 计算的示例。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“RF 模块”的所有更新功能。

自适应频率扫描

新增的自适应频率扫描 研究类型可用于提高模型的运行速度,还可以通过在频域中使用降阶模型来提供较高的频率分辨率。例如,您可以计算线性或线性化模型在多个频率的谐波激励下的响应。通过矩匹配技术,对指定频率间隔的传递函数使用帕德近似或泰勒级数展开执行渐近波形估计 (AWE) 模型降阶。求解器会基于端口设置自动选择 AWE 表达式,您也可以通过用户定义的表达式来指定在 AWE 算法中执行误差估计的公式。当用于 AWE 方法的表达式表示一个随不同频率发生的变化足够缓慢的物理量时,可以使用非常高的频率分辨率来运行仿真,并不会对性能产生大的影响。尽管在先前的版本中已经包含 AWE 方法,但之前并不是易于访问的专用研究类型。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中新增的“自适应频率扫描”研究类型演示。 图中显示对波导膜片滤波器模型执行的自适应频率扫描与常规扫描之间的 S 参数比较。该仿真可以在与离散扫描仿真相似的时段内以高出 10 倍的高频率分辨率运行。 图中显示对波导膜片滤波器模型执行的自适应频率扫描与常规扫描之间的 S 参数比较。该仿真可以在与离散扫描仿真相似的时段内以高出 10 倍的高频率分辨率运行。

使用新的自适应频率扫描 研究步骤示例的“案例库”路径:
RF_Module/Antennas/microstrip_patch_antenna_inset
RF_Module/Antennas/pifa_handheld
RF_Module/Couplers_and_Power_Dividers/wilkinson_power_divider
RF_Module/EMI_EMC_Applications/antenna_ebg
RF_Module/EMI_EMC_Applications/frequency_selective_surface_csrr
RF_Module/Filters/cylindrical_cavity_filter_evanescent
RF_Module/Filters/lumped_element_filter
RF_Module/Filters/notch_filter_srr
RF_Module/Filters/pcb_microwave_filter_with_stress
RF_Module/Filters/tunable_cavity_filter
RF_Module/Filters/waveguide_iris_filter
RF_Module/Passive_Devices/rf_coil
RF_Module/Transmission_lines_and_Waveguides/substrate_integrated_waveguide

新增 RF 基板材料库

现在,新增的特定于“RF 模块”的“材料库”中包含 60 余种基板材料的材料属性,可用于 RF、微波和毫米波电路板建模。

更新的 RF 零件库包含边缘发射连接器

RF“零件库”现在包含信号微波边缘发射连接器,可用于快速模拟支持高速数据连接的 RF 元件。


共面波导 (CPW) 电路板模型。 边缘发射连接器测试电路板:分贝尺度的电场模(填充的等值线)和电场的箭头图(表面),呈现了电场被限制在共面波导 (CPW) 电路板上的位置。 边缘发射连接器测试电路板:分贝尺度的电场模(填充的等值线)和电场的箭头图(表面),呈现了电场被限制在共面波导 (CPW) 电路板上的位置。

解嵌端口

现在,您可以通过指定端口偏移参数来解嵌端口,并能根据端口偏移值来调整相应解嵌 S 参数的相位。解嵌端口非常有用,例如,可以按照与原始 CAD 模型不同的方式分割微波器件的装配。当端口偏移设为非零值时,会自动触发解嵌功能。一旦激活这一功能,解嵌 S 参数相位便会基于偏移值和传播常数自动进行缩放。软件假设在保持横截面形状不变的同时,端口边界与端口偏移投影的边界之间的域是直的。

显示解嵌端口平面的 COMSOL Multiphysics GUI 屏幕截图。 解嵌端口平面的可视化效果(蓝色长矩形),其中,S 参数相位根据偏移设置进行缩放,本例中设为距离端口 0.05 m。 解嵌端口平面的可视化效果(蓝色长矩形),其中,S 参数相位根据偏移设置进行缩放,本例中设为距离端口 0.05 m。

狭缝端口可视化:更直观的箭头方向

启用狭缝条件的内部端口现在可以通过箭头符号显示功率流的方向。通过单击切换功率流方向 按钮即可轻松地切换功率流的方向。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a 版本中的“切换功率流方向”按钮演示。

通过单击 切换功率流方向按钮,可以改变功率流在内部狭缝端口上的方向。

通过单击 切换功率流方向按钮,可以改变功率流在内部狭缝端口上的方向。

频率依赖性材料的物理场控制网格

物理场控制网格功能现在可以自动分析特定的材料属性并生成合适的网格密度,这些材料属性的特点是采用了包含频率输入变元的插值函数。

教学案例可视化增强功能

“案例库”中的教学案例得到了更新,现在可以显示最新的后处理特征。

带注释的微带贴片天线模型演示。 微带贴片天线模型已更新为包含注释。 微带贴片天线模型已更新为包含注释。

案例库路径:
RF_Module/Antennas/microstrip_patch_antenna_inset

微带贴片天线模型中的等值面演示。 微带贴片天线模型已更新,现在支持显示等值面。 微带贴片天线模型已更新,现在支持显示等值面。

案例库路径:
RF_Module/Antennas/microstrip_patch_antenna_inset

在移动设备天线模型中使用“三维栅格”数据集的演示。

移动设备天线模型已更新,现在可以显示如何使用 三维栅格数据集来呈现远场的可视化效果。

移动设备天线模型已更新,现在可以显示如何使用 三维栅格数据集来呈现远场的可视化效果。

案例库路径:
RF_Module/Antennas/pifa_handheld

新增教学案例:使用时域仿真和 FFT 的宽带 RCS 计算

此模型显示如何使用电磁波,时域显式 接口计算散射体在宽频率范围内的雷达散射截面 (RCS)。其中根据二维散射场公式,采用时间调制高斯脉冲作为背景场。结果显示了频域和时域中的散射场,以及频域中圆周单位长度的雷达散射截面 (RCS)。

绘图来自“RF 模块”中有关计算雷达散射截面的教学案例。 300 MHz 下单位长度的双站雷达散射截面的可视化效果(以分贝计)。 300 MHz 下单位长度的双站雷达散射截面的可视化效果(以分贝计)。

案例库路径:
RF_Module/Scattering_and_RCS/rcs_time_explicit

使用组合解研究步骤细化数据

组合解 研究步骤可用于过滤并移除不需要的解。例如,此功能可用于过滤出时域到频域 FFT 研究步骤前后百分之五的频谱,并能根据用户定义的表达式排除部分解。


使用新的组合解 研究步骤示例的案例库路径:
RF_Module/Filters/coaxial_low_pass_filter_transient
RF_Module/Scattering_and_RCS/rcs_time_explicit

符合亥姆霍兹理论的高斯波束背景场

此版本添加了新的高斯波束背景场,其中使用在指向主传播方向周围分布的波矢方向传播的平面波的总和近似处理波束焦平面。与近轴近似方法相比,新方法的优势在于平面波展开方法是亥姆霍兹方程的真实解,因为每个平面波都是亥姆霍兹方程的解。顾名思义,近轴近似只是亥姆霍兹方程的近似解,不适用于表示强聚焦高斯波束。

新增用于边界模式分析的有效折射率变量

在执行边界模式分析时,会创建新的模式有效折射率变量。这些变量的名称遵循 <phys>.neff_<x> 模式,其中,<phys> 是物理场接口标记,<x> 是端口名称。例如,电磁波,频域 接口中端口 1 的变量名称为 emw.neff_1。

RF Module Updates

For users of the RF Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3a brings a new study step for running adaptive frequency sweeps, a Material Library for microwave and millimeter-wave circuit boards, an extended RF Part Library with edge launch connectors, and an example of a wideband radar cross section (RCS) calculation using time-explicit simulation. Browse all of the RF Module updates in more detail below.

Adaptive Frequency Sweep

The new Adaptive Frequency Sweep study type can be used to run models faster and with a fine frequency resolution by using a reduced-order model in the frequency domain. For example, you could compute the response of a linear or linearized model subjected to harmonic excitation for several frequencies. The asymptotic waveform evaluation (AWE) model reduction is performed by a moment matching technique where Padé approximation or a Taylor series expansion is used for the transfer function in a specified frequency interval. The AWE expressions are automatically chosen based on the port settings, but can optionally be specified by user-defined expressions. A user-defined expression can be entered for the error estimation as calculated by the AWE algorithm. When the expression used for the AWE method represents a sufficiently slowly varying quantity vs. frequency, then the simulation can be run using a very fine frequency resolution without much impact on performance. The AWE method has been available in previous versions, but not in an easy-to-access dedicated study type.

An illustration of the Adaptive Frequency Sweep study type, new with COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a. For the waveguide iris filter model, an S-parameter comparison between adaptive frequency sweep and regular sweep is shown. The simulation can be run with a 10 times finer frequency resolution in a similar amount of time as with the discrete sweep simulation. For the waveguide iris filter model, an S-parameter comparison between adaptive frequency sweep and regular sweep is shown. The simulation can be run with a 10 times finer frequency resolution in a similar amount of time as with the discrete sweep simulation.

Application Library paths for examples using the new Adaptive Frequency Sweep study step:
RF_Module/Antennas/microstrip_patch_antenna_inset
RF_Module/Antennas/pifa_handheld
RF_Module/Couplers_and_Power_Dividers/wilkinson_power_divider
RF_Module/EMI_EMC_Applications/antenna_ebg
RF_Module/EMI_EMC_Applications/frequency_selective_surface_csrr
RF_Module/Filters/cylindrical_cavity_filter_evanescent
RF_Module/Filters/lumped_element_filter
RF_Module/Filters/notch_filter_srr
RF_Module/Filters/pcb_microwave_filter_with_stress
RF_Module/Filters/tunable_cavity_filter
RF_Module/Filters/waveguide_iris_filter
RF_Module/Passive_Devices/rf_coil
RF_Module/Transmission_lines_and_Waveguides/substrate_integrated_waveguide

New RF Material Library for Substrates

The RF Module now features a Material Library with material properties for more than 60 substrate materials to assist in modeling RF, microwave, and millimeter-wave circuit boards.

RF Part Library Updated with Edge Launch Connectors

The RF Part Library now includes edge launch connectors from Signal Microwave for quick modeling of RF components supporting high-speed data connectivity.


A CPW circuit board model. An edge launch connector test circuit board: the dB-scaled electric field norm (filled contours) and arrow plot of the electric field (surface) shows where the electric field is confined on a coplanar waveguide (CPW) circuit board. An edge launch connector test circuit board: the dB-scaled electric field norm (filled contours) and arrow plot of the electric field (surface) shows where the electric field is confined on a coplanar waveguide (CPW) circuit board.

De-Embedded Ports

Ports can now be de-embedded by specifying a port offset parameter, and the phase of the corresponding de-embedded S-parameters can be adjusted, based on the value of the port offset. De-embedded ports are useful, for example, to partition an assembly of microwave components in a different way than that of the original CAD model. The de-embedding functionality is triggered automatically when the port offset is set to a nonzero value. When active, the de-embedded S-parameter phase is automatically scaled based on the offset value and the propagation constant. The software assumes that the domain between the port boundary and the boundary projected by the port offset is straight, while maintaining a constant cross-sectional shape.

A screenshot of the COMSOL Multiphysics GUI showing a de-embedded port plane. Visualization of the de-embedded port plane (a long blue rectangle) where the S-parameter phase is scaled by the offset setting, set to 0.05 m from the port in this case. Visualization of the de-embedded port plane (a long blue rectangle) where the S-parameter phase is scaled by the offset setting, set to 0.05 m from the port in this case.

Slit Port Visualization: More Intuitive Arrow Direction

Interior ports with an active slit condition now show the direction of the power flow with an arrow symbol. You can easily switch the direction of the power flow by clicking the Toggle Power Flow Direction button.

A demonstration of the Toggle Power Flow Direction button in COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3a.

By clicking the Toggle Power Flow Direction button, you can change the direction of the power flow on an interior slit port.

By clicking the Toggle Power Flow Direction button, you can change the direction of the power flow on an interior slit port.

Physics-Controlled Mesh for Frequency-Dependent Materials

The physics-controlled mesh functionality can now automatically analyze material properties that are characterized by an interpolation function that has a frequency input argument as well as generate an appropriate mesh density.

Tutorial Model Visualization Enhancement

The tutorial models in the Application Library have been updated to present the latest postprocessing features.

A demonstration of the annotated microstrip patch antenna model. The microstrip patch antenna model has been updated to include annotations. The microstrip patch antenna model has been updated to include annotations.

Application Library path:
RF_Module/Antennas/microstrip_patch_antenna_inset

A demonstration of isosurfaces in the microstrip patch antenna model. The microstrip patch antenna model has been updated to show isosurfaces. The microstrip patch antenna model has been updated to show isosurfaces.

Application Library path:
RF_Module/Antennas/microstrip_patch_antenna_inset

A demonstration of using the 3D Grid data set in the mobile device antenna model.

The mobile device antenna model has been updated to show the use of a 3D Grid data set to visualize the far field.

The mobile device antenna model has been updated to show the use of a 3D Grid data set to visualize the far field.

Application Library path:
RF_Module/Antennas/pifa_handheld

New Tutorial Model: Wideband RCS Calculation Using Time-Domain Simulation and FFT

This model shows how to calculate the radar cross section (RCS) of a scatterer over a wide frequency range using the Electromagnetic Waves, Time Explicit interface. Based on the scattered-field formulation in 2D, the model has a temporally modulated Gaussian pulse as a background field. The results present the scattered field in both the frequency and time domains, as well as the RCS per unit length of a circle in the frequency domain.

A plot from the RF Module tutorial model for calculating RCS. Visualization of a bistatic RCS per unit length at 300 MHz in dB. Visualization of a bistatic RCS per unit length at 300 MHz in dB.

Application Library path:
RF_Module/Scattering_and_RCS/rcs_time_explicit

Data Refinement Using a Combine Solutions Study Step

The Combine Solutions study step can be used to filter out and remove unwanted solutions. This functionality can be used, for example, to filter out the first and last 5% of the frequency spectrum for a Time to Frequency FFT study step. Parts of the solution can be excluded based on a user-defined expression.


Application Library paths for examples using the new Combine Solutions study step:
RF_Module/Filters/coaxial_low_pass_filter_transient
RF_Module/Scattering_and_RCS/rcs_time_explicit

Helmholtz-Compliant Gaussian Beam Background Field

A new Gaussian beam background field implementation is available, where the beam focal plane is approximated using a summation of plane waves that are propagating with wave vectors pointing in a distribution around the main propagation direction. The advantage of this implementation as compared to the paraxial approximation implementation is that the plane-wave expansion implementation is a true solution to the Helmholtz equation, as each plane wave is a solution to the Helmholtz equation. As the name suggests, the paraxial approximation is only an approximate solution to the Helmholtz equation that should not be used to represent tightly focused Gaussian beams.

New Effective Index Variable for Boundary Mode Analysis

When a Boundary mode analysis is performed, new variables for the effective indices of the modes are created. The name for those variables follows the pattern <phys>.neff_<x>, where <phys> is the physics interface tag and <x> is the port name. As an example, Port 1 in the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain interface would have a variable name emw.neff_1.