电镀模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为“电镀模块”的用户带来了新增的相场 接口,自动生成迭代求解器的功能,以及电极动力学中浓度依赖性的线性化 选项。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解电镀模块更新。

自动生成迭代求解器

研究步骤节点现在可以自动生成迭代几何代数多重网格 求解器(但默认情况下仍使用直接 求解器)。启用其中一个迭代求解器可以减少大型仿真的内存使用量和计算时间。

电极动力学中浓度依赖性的线性化

新的线性化 选项可以避免计算负数的幂时出现的问题,从而改善非单位反应级的动力学。将平衡电位的能斯特方程与交换电流密度的质量作用定律集总多级 结合使用时,您可以在三次电流分布 接口的电极反应多孔电极反应 节点中使用这一特征。当您新建模型时,新的线性化 选项默认处于打开状态,所有采用能斯特方程和质量作用定律或集总多级动力学选项的教学案例都会使用该选项。

高导电性多孔电极

大多数电化学接口中都添加了新的高导电性多孔电极 域节点,可用于在电子导体电极相中具有高电导率的多孔电极。它用全局变量代替电极电位的空间变量,从而减少了问题的自由度数。您可以在新的使用相场法模拟沟槽中镀铜教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

新的多孔介质特征

此版本新增的多孔介质处理特征可用于定义不同的相:固体、流体和静止流体。在多孔介质传热 接口中,多孔介质 特征用于管理材料结构,并为每个相(流体多孔基体 和(可选的)静止流体 )提供专门的子特征。这个新的工作流程不仅更加清晰,可以改善用户体验;还以更自然的方式促进了多孔介质的多物理场耦合。通过与水分输送多孔介质流动 接口结合使用,多孔介质传热的功能改进支持对多孔介质中的非等温流动和潜热储存进行建模。

以下模型使用了这一新设置:

稀物质传递的多孔介质特征得到改进

新版本对多孔介质中的稀物质传递 接口进行了改进,以使用新的多孔介质 节点。多孔介质中的稀物质传递 接口中添加了两个新的域特征:多孔介质非饱和多孔介质 节点。您可以使用新的多孔介质 节点为多孔介质中的多个相指派材料属性。新节点具有专门的选项来定义液体、气体和多孔基体的属性。您可以在活性炭芯陶瓷滤水器教学案例中查看此功能的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面的特写视图,显示了“多孔介质中的稀物质传递”设置,“图形”窗口中显示陶瓷滤水器滤棒模型。 演示更新的多孔介质特征 陶瓷滤水器滤棒中的污染物浓度。

相场接口

“电镀模块”中添加了相场 接口,可用于模拟电极变形,其中电极表面的拓扑结构由于电极材料的溶解/沉积而发生改变。您可以在新的使用相场法模拟沟槽中镀铜教学案例中查看此特征的应用演示。

更轻松地建立相场和水平集模型

新版本对水平集相场 接口进行了重构:现在默认添加两个初始值 节点,之前使用的初始界面 特征已被移除。取而代之的是,软件会将初始界面自动放置在具有不同初始相的两个初始值 节点之间的边界上。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面,显示了“初始值,流体 2”的设置,“图形”窗口中显示液滴破碎模型的几何形状。 初始值设置,几何
COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面,显示了“初始值,流体 2”的设置,“图形”窗口中显示三维液滴破碎模型,其中液滴反射出周围环境。 初始值设置,三维模型结果

初始值,流体 2 特征的设置。请注意,本例不再需要 初始界面特征。在 相初始化研究步骤中求解水平集或相场函数的初始分布。

新增的教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本的“电镀模块”引入了一个新增的教学案例。

使用相场法模拟沟槽中镀铜

沟槽中镀铜模型运行 20 秒后的情况,图中分别用彩虹颜色表和灰度颜色表显示浓度和相场。 沟槽中镀铜模型 仿真结束时浓度的表面图。沟槽中的沉积层将部分电解质封闭在中间。

“案例库”标题:
cu_trench_deposition_pf
从“案例下载”页面下载

Electrodeposition Module Updates

For users of the Electrodeposition Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings a new Phase Field interface, automatic generation of iterative solvers, and a Linearization option for concentration dependence in electrode kinetics. Learn more about the electrodeposition updates below.

Automatic Generation of Iterative Solvers

The Iterative Geometric and Algebraic Multigrid solvers are now automatically generated by the study step nodes (however, a Direct solver will still always be used by default). Enabling one of the iterative solvers may decrease memory use and computational time for large simulations.

Linearization of Concentration Dependence in Electrode Kinetics

The new Linearization option improves kinetics for nonunit reaction orders by circumventing issues when evaluating powers of negative numbers. This feature is available in the Electrode Reaction and Porous Electrode Reaction nodes in the Tertiary Current Distribution interfaces when using the Nernst equation for the equilibrium potential in combination with either the Mass action law or Lumped multistep for the exchange current density. The new Linearization option is turned on by default when creating a new model and is used by all tutorial models featuring the Nernst equation and mass action law or lumped multistep kinetics options.

Highly Conductive Porous Electrode

The new Highly Conductive Porous Electrode domain node is available in most electrochemistry interfaces. This feature can be used for porous electrodes with a high conductivity in the electron-conducting electrode phase. It replaces the spatial variable for the electrode potential by a global variable, thereby reducing the number of degrees of freedom of the problem. You can see this new feature in the new Copper Deposition in a Trench Using the Phase Field Method tutorial model.

New Porous Medium Feature

A new feature for handling a porous medium is available for defining the different phases: solids, fluids, and immobile fluids. In the Heat Transfer in Porous Media interface, the Porous Medium feature is used to manage the material structure with a dedicated subfeature for each phase: Fluid, Porous Matrix, and optionally, Immobile Fluids. This new workflow provides added clarity and improves the user experience. It also facilitates multiphysics couplings in porous media in a more natural way. Combined with the Moisture Transport and Porous Media Flow interfaces, the heat transfer in porous media improvements enable the modeling of nonisothermal flow and latent heat storage in porous media.

You can see this new setup in the following models:

Revamped Porous Media Features for Transport of Diluted Species

The Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media interface is revamped to use the new Porous Medium node. Two new domain features, the Porous Medium and the Unsaturated Porous Medium nodes, are available in the Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media interface. You can use the new Porous Medium node for assigning material properties to the multiple phases in a porous medium. The new nodes have dedicated containers to define the properties for the liquid, gas, and porous matrix. You can see this functionality demonstrated in the Ceramic Water Filter with Activated Carbon Core tutorial model.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI with the settings shown for Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media and a ceramic water filter candle model in the Graphics window. Demonstrating the updated porous media features Contaminant concentration in a ceramic water filter candle.

Phase Field Interface

The Phase Field interface has been added to the Electrodeposition Module. This interface may be used to model electrode deformations where the topology of the electrode surface changes as a result of the dissolution/deposition of electrode material. You can see this feature in the new Copper Deposition in a Trench Using the Phase Field Method tutorial model.

Easier Setup for Phase Field and Level Set Models

The Level Set and Phase Field interfaces have been restructured: Two Initial Values nodes are now added by default, and the previously used Initial Interface feature has been removed. Instead, the initial interface is automatically placed at the boundaries between the two Initial Values nodes with different initial phases.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the settings for Initial Values, Fluid 2 and the geometry of a droplet breakup model in the Graphics window. Initial values settings, geometry
The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the settings for Initial Values, Fluid 2 and a 3D droplet breakup model, with surroundings reflected in the droplets, in the Graphics window. Initial values settings, 3D model results

Settings for the Initial Values, Fluid 2 feature. Note that the Initial Interface feature is no longer needed. The initial distribution of the level set or phase field function is solved for in the Phase Initialization study step.

New Tutorial Model

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings one new tutorial model to the Electrodeposition Module.

Copper Deposition in a Trench Using the Phase Field Method

A model of copper deposition in a trench after 20 seconds showing the concentration and phase field in rainbow and grayscale color tables. Copper deposition in a trench model A surface plot of the concentration at the end of the simulation. The deposited layer in the trench forms an enclosure of electrolyte.

Application Library Title:
cu_trench_deposition_pf
Download from the Application Gallery