CFD 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为“CFD 模块”的用户引入了两个新的流体流动接口、入口湍流强度和湍流长度尺度的新选项,以及对不相交选择的自动处理。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解这些更新及其他新的 CFD 特征。

多核与集群计算的性能提升

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本对求解过程进行了多项性能改进。特别需要指出的是,对于雅可比矩阵组装以及代数多重网格预条件器,降低了内存需求,多核与集群计算的内存需求显著降低。此外,多重网格方法中使用的最重要的平滑器现在更加有效,尤其是对于集群计算而言。

作为对性能提升的说明,我们来分析以下 Ahmed 类车体的 CFD 湍流基准模型。与“案例下载”版本相比,基准测试模型使用细化的网格,有 630 万个自由度,在 16 节点集群上运算。为进行比较,我们将 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 更新 3 版本和 5.6 版本安装集群中,每个节点有 48 个内核(2 个 Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8260 24 核)。使用的求解器是以代数多重网格求解器 (SA-AMG)作为具有对称耦合高斯-赛德尔平滑器(在比较图中表示为 MG)的 GMRES 的预条件器,此外,重叠的域分解 (Schwarz) 方法用作多重格点法 GMRES 的预条件器,作为域求解器(表示为 DD)。下图显示了性能,即计算时间以及内存使用率与节点数之间的关系。

Ahmed 类车体三维模型,用金属色、黄色、绿色、青绿色和蓝色流线及其周围的白色网格显示。 Ahmed 类车体周围的流线和垂直横截面中的网格。
0 到 1800 秒与 1 到 16 节点数的关系图,蓝线表示 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.5 版本更新 3,黄线表示 5.6 版本。 细化版本 Ahmed 类车体基准模型的挂钟计算时间。
0 到 5000 MB 内存与 1 到 16 节点数的关系图,蓝线表示 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.5 版本更新 3,黄线表示 5.6 版本。 细化版本 Ahmed 类车体基准模型的物理内存使用率。

可压缩分散多相流

许多自然现象、制造过程和分离过程都涉及分散多相流,其中颗粒、气泡或液滴通过连续相传输。支持任意数量分散相的相传递,混合物模型 接口现在支持可压缩混合物流,并改进了对变形和旋转区域的支持。此外,这个接口现在还可以与水平集方法一起使用,同时对分离型和分散型多相流进行建模。您可以在新的液滴通过悬浮液上升教学案例中查看这个更新的公式特征。

油滴在悬浮液中的上升过程。初始时刻,悬浮液分为两个透明层及之间的一个致密层,油滴位于底部透明层中。这个模型演示了分散多相流模型与水平集模型的耦合。

非等温混合物模型

模拟气泡在液体中形成的过程,如泡核沸腾或空化过程,需要将多相流与传热耦合。新的非等温混合物模型 接口正好提供了这种功能:它们使用新的非等温流动,混合物模型非等温混合物模型 多物理场耦合节点来耦合层流湍流 (RANS) 接口、相传递 接口和流体传热 接口。非等温混合物模型 接口支持所有 RANS 湍流模型。

内部外露的圆柱型环空模型和显示温度的热像仪颜色表、表示气泡通量的流线,以及显示气泡体积分数的从深蓝色到白色的颜色渐变。 圆柱环中的泡核沸腾。图中显示内圆柱的温度、气泡体积分数和气泡通量的流线。

浅水方程

浅水近似法经常用于海洋学和大气应用中,可预测海啸影响,受污染、海岸侵蚀和极地冰盖融化等影响的区域。新增的浅水方程,时域显式 接口使用深度平均公式来求解一维和二维域中的自由表面流动,并可以通过数字高程模型 (DEM) 方便地定义模型的底部形貌。您可以在新的海啸冲上莫奈山谷海滩的复杂三维模型教学案例中看到此特征的应用演示。

浅水方程,时域显式接口模拟海啸影响。

总压条件

对于某些应用,例如在泵仿真中,指定入口和出口边界上的总(或停滞)压力更为方便。COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本包含对不可压缩流动的入口和出口施加总压逐点值或平均值的选项。

棕色管道中的风扇模型,叶片周围和风扇后面有气流。 风扇叶片产生的环流。在入口和出口边界上施加平均总压条件。

新增平均选项用于跨相界面的流体属性

在两相流仿真中,当密度和/或黏度比很大时,使用跨相界面的体积平均流体属性可能会导致结果过度模糊。在某些情况下,锐化过渡区的流体属性或将其替换为两相中的一相,可以提高精度和/或收敛性。在 5.6 版本中,用户可以使用平滑的 Heaviside 函数和谐波体积平均来计算密度和黏度。对于黏度,也可以选择使用质量平均和谐波质量平均。

一维绘图,其中蓝线表示体积平均值,绿线表示 Heaviside 函数,红线表示谐波体积平均值,青绿色表示质量平均值,洋红色表示谐波质量平均值。 用于计算空气-水界面上的平均黏度的不同选项。

用于湍流条件的新选项

入口和开放边界上的湍流强度提供了三个新选项:低 (0.01)中 (0.05)高 (0.1)。还有一个新的基于几何 默认选项,用于入口的湍流长度尺度。此选项自动计算入口的水力直径,并将湍流长度尺度设置为水力直径的 0.07 倍,这是管道和通道中充分发展的湍流的推荐值。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本中“湍流”的“入口”设置,其中“速度”和“湍流条件”栏为展开状态,“图形”窗口中显示一个水力旋流器模型。 设置窗口中显示的 湍流强度 湍流长度尺度的新选项。

自动处理不相交的选择

对于入口和出口上的充分发展的流动 和入口上的质量流,可以在单个边界特征内处理由不相交边界组成的选择。这个新的默认选项自动检测不相交选择中的连接组件,并为选择中的每个连接组件添加一个方程。

部分透明以显示内部视图的多喷嘴模型。 更新的聚合物多喷嘴模型,其中包含用于不相交选择的新选项。为两种类型的入口添加了单独的方程。

新的“多孔介质”特征

此版本新增的多孔介质处理特征可用于定义不同的相:固体、流体和静止流体。在多孔介质传热 接口中,多孔介质 特征用于管理材料结构,并为每个相流体多孔基体 和(可选)静止流体 提供专用的子特征。这个新的工作流程更加清晰,并改善了用户体验。它还以更自然的方式促进多孔介质中的多物理场耦合。与水分输送多孔介质流动 接口结合使用时,多孔介质传热改进支持对多孔介质中的非等温流动和潜热存储进行建模。

以下模型使用了这一新设置:

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版中的“多孔介质”特征设置,显示“有效电导率”选项,并突出显示了倒数平均值。 包含流体相、固体相和静止流体相的多孔材料与 多孔介质传热接口中的 多孔介质特征相结合。设置窗口显示了定义多孔介质不同相中有效导热系数的模型选择。

在“流体传热”中自动检测理想气体材料

各种传热接口中提供的流体 特征已更新,用户可以利用理想气体假设来提高计算效率。流体类型 列表中新增的来自材料 选项可以自动检测每个域选择应用的材料是否为理想气体,并针对每种情况使用相关属性。例如,在计算可压缩非等温流动中的压力功时,这可以加快计算速度。由于 COMSOL Multiphysics® 和“材料库”中提供的气体被模拟为理想气体,许多包含可压缩非等温流动的模型将受益于这一改进。

LED 灯泡模型,使用热相机颜色表以深蓝色到白色的颜色渐变显示灯泡周围的速度和灯泡内的温度。 LED 灯泡中的温度分布(表面图)和速度(箭头和流线)。在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本中,通过自动使用理想气体公式,计算时间缩短了 10%。

热和能量平衡

能量和热平衡定义的后处理变量已扩展,现在包含新配置。具体来说,这些变量分别用于非等温流动,分析面外热源;体积力、黏性耗散和压力的功;边界应力;以及内壁法向速度非零情况下的焓通量。后处理变量或能量和热平衡定义也已扩展到包括多层材料,这些能量和热平衡为求解器误差估计提供了另一种标准来检验仿真精度。您可以在电子芯片冷却模型中看到此功能的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 UI,显示错流式换热器模型的“全局计算”设置,“图形”窗口中显示深红色到白色的渐变颜色,以开氏度为单位表示温度。 错流式换热器模型中能量平衡的验证。将进入热入口的总净能率与整个模型的能量平衡进行比较。

更轻松地建立相场和水平集模型

新版本对水平集相场 接口进行了重构:现在默认添加两个初始值 节点,之前使用的初始界面 特征已被移除。取而代之的是,软件会将初始界面自动放置在具有不同初始相的两个初始值 节点之间的边界上。

初始值,流体 2 特征的设置。请注意,本例不再需要 初始界面特征。在 相初始化研究步骤求解水平集或相场函数的初始分布。

新的教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本的“CFD 模块”引入了多个新的教学案例。

液滴通过悬浮液上升

通过柱子中的灰色悬浮液上升的橙色液滴。 在两个透明流体层之间的致密悬浮液中上浮的油滴。

“案例库”标题:
droplet_rising_through_a_suspension
从“案例下载”页面下载

聚合物电解质膜电解槽

电解槽模型,其中氧气的体积分数以深蓝色到白色的颜色渐变显示。 聚合物电解质膜电解槽中氧气的体积分数。

“案例库”标题:
polymer_electrolyte_membrane_electrolyzer
从“案例下载”页面下载

溃坝对柱的影响,浅水方程

一个灰色方柱的模型,柱周围是蓝色的水。 浅水方程模拟水波对柱子的影响。

“案例库”标题:
dam_break_column_sw
从“案例下载”页面下载

海啸冲上莫奈山谷海滩的复杂三维模型

灰色海滩和蓝色海水的模型,表示海啸上升。 海啸冲向海滩的浅水方程仿真。

“案例库”标题:
monai_runup
从“案例下载”页面下载

CFD Module Updates

For users of the CFD Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings two new fluid flow interfaces, new options for turbulent intensity and turbulence length scale, and automatic handling of disjoint selections. Learn more about these and other new CFD features below.

Performance Improvements for Multicore and Cluster Computing

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 includes several performance improvements for the solution process. In particular, the memory requirements are reduced for Jacobian matrix assembly as well as for the algebraic multigrid preconditioner. The reduction is significant for both multicore and cluster computing. Furthermore, the most important smoothers used in the multigrid method are now more efficient, in particular for cluster computing.

As an illustration of the improvement, consider the following CFD benchmark of an Ahmed Body featuring turbulent flow. The model used in the benchmark has a refined mesh, as compared to the Application Gallery version, with 6.3 million degrees of freedom on a 16-node cluster. In this comparison, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 update 3 and version 5.6 are installed on a cluster where each node has 48 cores (2x Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8260 24 cores). The solvers used in the comparison are the algebraic multigrid solver (SA-AMG) as a preconditioner to GMRES with the Symmetrically Coupled Gauss-Seidel smoother (denoted MG in the comparison graphs). In addition, the overlapping Domain Decomposition (Schwarz) method is used as a preconditioner to GMRES with the multigrid method as a domain solver (denoted DD). The graphs below show the performance as computation time vs. number of nodes and memory usage vs. number of nodes.

A 3D model of an Ahmed body, visualized with a metallic sheen, and yellow, green, turquoise, and blue streamlines, and a white mesh around it. Ahmed body benchmark model Streamlines around the Ahmed Body and mesh in a vertical cross section.
A chart of time from 0 to 1800 seconds vs. number of nodes from 1 to 16 and blue lines for COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.5 update 3 and yellow lines for version 5.6. Wall-clock computation time comparison Wall-clock computation time for a refined version of the Ahmed Body benchmark model.
A chart of memory from 0 to 5000 MB vs. number of nodes from 1 to 16 and blue lines for COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.5 update 3 and yellow lines for version 5.6. Physical memory use comparison Physical memory use for a refined version of the Ahmed Body benchmark model.

Compressible Dispersed Multiphase Flow

Many natural phenomena, manufacturing processes, and separation processes involve dispersed multiphase flows with particles, bubbles, or droplets transported by a continuous phase. The Phase Transport, Mixture Model interfaces, which allow for an arbitrary number of dispersed phases, have been revised to support compressible mixture flows. These flow interfaces also have improved support for deforming and rotating domains. Additionally, the Phase Transport, Mixture Model interface can now be used together with the level set method in simulations that combine a separated and dispersed modeling approach. You can view this updated formulation feature in the new Droplet Rising Through a Suspension tutorial model.

An oil droplet rising through a suspension. The suspension is initially stratified, with a dense layer between two clear layers, and the droplet is initially located in the bottom clear layer. This model demonstrates the combination of a dispersed multiphase flow model with a level set model.

Nonisothermal Mixture Model

Simulating processes in which bubbles are formed in a liquid, such as nucleate boiling or cavitation processes, requires the coupling of multiphase flow with heat transfer. The new Nonisothermal Mixture Model interfaces provide exactly this functionality: They couple a Laminar Flow or Turbulent Flow (RANS) interface, a Phase Transport interface, and a Heat Transfer in Fluids interface using the new Nonisothermal Flow, Mixture Model and Nonisothermal Mixture Model multiphysics coupling nodes. All RANS turbulence models are supported by the Nonisothermal Mixture Model interfaces.

A cylindrical annulus model with the inside exposed and a heat camera color table visualizing the temperature, streamlines denoting bubble flux, and a color gradient from dark blue to white showing the bubble volume fraction. Nucleate boiling model Nucleate boiling in a cylindrical annulus. The temperature on the inner cylinder, the bubble volume fraction, and the streamlines of the bubble flux are shown in the figure.

Shallow Water Equations

The shallow water approximation is frequently applied in oceanographic and atmospheric applications to predict effects of tsunami impacts, areas affected by pollution, coastal erosion, and polar ice-cap melting, to mention a few. The new Shallow Water Equations, Time Explicit interface uses a depth-averaged formulation to solve free-surface flows in 1D and 2D domains. The bottom topography in a model can conveniently be defined from a digital elevation model (DEM). You can see this feature in the new Tsunami Runup onto a Complex 3D Beach, Monai Valley tutorial model.

Tsunami impact simulated with the Shallow Water Equations, Time Explicit interface.

Total Pressure Condition

For certain applications, such as in pump simulations, it is more convenient to specify the total (or stagnation) pressure on inlet and outlet boundaries. COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 includes options for imposing either pointwise values or average values of the total pressure on inlets and outlets for incompressible flow.

A model of a fan in a brown tunnel with airflow around the blades and behind the fan. A fan with airflow around it Circulation generated from fan blades. Averaged total pressure conditions are imposed on the inlet and outlet boundaries.

New Averaging Options for Fluid Properties Across Phase Interfaces

When the density and/or viscosity ratio in a two-phase flow simulation is large, the use of volume-averaged fluid properties across the phase interface may lead to excessive smearing. Sharpening the transition zone for the fluid properties, or displacing it into one of the two phases, may improve accuracy and/or convergence in some cases. In version 5.6, smoothed Heaviside functions and harmonic volume averages can be used for both density and viscosity. For the viscosity, mass averaging and harmonic mass averaging are also available as options.

A 1D plot with a blue line for volume average, green for Heaviside function, red for harmonic volume average, turquoise for mass average, and magenta for harmonic mass average. Example of averaging Different options for averaging the viscosity across an air–water interface.

New Options for Turbulence Conditions

Three new options are available for the turbulent intensity on inlets and open boundaries: Low (0.01), Medium (0.05), and High (0.1). There is also a new Geometry based default option for the turbulence length scale on inlets. This option automatically calculates the hydraulic diameter of the inlet and sets the turbulence length scale to 0.07 times the hydraulic diameter, which is the recommended value for fully developed turbulent flow in pipes and channels.

The Inlet settings for Turbulent Flow in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6, with the Velocity and Turbulence Conditions sections expanded and a hydrocyclone model in the Graphics window. Demonstrating the turbulence condition options New options for Turbulent Intensity and Turbulence Length Scale shown in the Settings window.

Automatic Handling of Disjoint Selections

For Fully Developed Flow on inlets and outlets, and Mass Flow on inlets, a selection consisting of disjoint boundaries can be handled within a single boundary feature. This new default option adds one equation for each connected component in a selection. The connected components in a disjoint selection are detected automatically.

A model of a multijet shown as partially transparent for an inside view. Polymerization multijet model The polymerization_multijet model has been updated with the new option for disjoint selections. Separate equations are added for the two types of inlets.

New Porous Medium Feature

A new feature for handling a porous medium is available for defining the different phases: solids, fluids, and immobile fluids. In the Heat Transfer in Porous Media interface, the Porous Medium feature is used to manage the material structure with a dedicated subfeature for each phase: Fluid, Porous Matrix, and optionally, Immobile Fluids. This new workflow provides added clarity and improves the user experience. It also facilitates multiphysics couplings in porous media in a more natural way. Combined with the Moisture Transport and Porous Media Flow interfaces, the heat transfer in porous media improvements enable the modeling of nonisothermal flow and latent heat storage in porous media.

You can see this new setup in the following models:

The Porous Medium feature settings in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 with the Effective conductivity options shown and Reciprocal average highlighted. The settings for the Porous Medium feature A porous material with a fluid, a solid, and an immobile fluid combined with the Porous Medium feature in the Heat Transfer in Porous Media interface. The Settings window shows the selection of the model defining the effective thermal conductivity from the different phases in the porous medium.

Automatic Detection of Ideal Gas Material in Heat Transfer in Fluids

The Fluid feature, available within the various heat transfer interfaces, has been updated to take advantage of the ideal gas assumption to improve computational efficiency. The new From material option of the Fluid type list automatically detects whether the material applied on each domain selection is an ideal gas or not, and uses the relevant properties for either case. This may speed up computation when computing pressure work in compressible nonisothermal flows, for example. Since the gases available in COMSOL Multiphysics® and in the Material Library are modeled as ideal gases, many models with compressible nonisothermal flow are expected to benefit from this improvement.

A model of an LED bulb visualizing the velocity around the bulb in a color gradient from dark blue to white and the temperature in the bulb using the heat camera color table. An LED bulb model that uses automatic detection of the ideal gas formulation Temperature distribution (surface plot) and velocity (arrows and streamlines) in an LED bulb. By using the ideal gas formulation automatically, the computational time is 10% shorter in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6.

Heat and Energy Balance

The postprocessing variables for energy and heat balance definition have been extended to cover new configurations. Specifically, the variables are for nonisothermal flow, to account for out-of-plane heat sources; for the work of volume forces, viscous dissipation, and pressure; for boundary stresses; and for enthalpy flux in cases of nonzero normal velocity on internal walls. The postprocessing variables or energy and heat balance definition have also been extended to layered materials. Energy and heat balance provide an alternative criterion to the solver error estimate to check the simulation accuracy. You can see this functionality demonstrated in the Electronic Chip Cooling model.

The COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 UI with the Global Evaluation settings shown for a cross-flow heat exchanger model, which is shown in the Graphics window in a color gradient from dark red to white to indicate temperature in degrees Kelvin. Demonstrating the postprocessing variables for heat and energy balance Verification on the energy balance in the cross-flow heat exchanger model. The total net energy rate entering at the hot inlet is compared with the energy balance for the entire model.

Easier Setup for Phase Field and Level Set Models

The Level Set and Phase Field interfaces have been restructured: Two Initial Values nodes are now added by default, and the previously used Initial Interface feature has been removed. Instead, the initial interface is automatically placed at the boundaries between the two Initial Values nodes with different initial phases.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the settings for Initial Values, Fluid 2 and the geometry of a droplet breakup model in the Graphics window. Initial values settings, geometry
The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the settings for Initial Values, Fluid 2 and a 3D droplet breakup model, with surroundings reflected in the droplets, in the Graphics window. Initial values settings, 3D model results

Settings for the Initial Values, Fluid 2 feature. Note that the Initial Interface feature is no longer needed. The initial distribution of the level set or phase field function is solved for in the Phase Initialization study step.

New Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings several new tutorial models to the CFD Module.

Droplet Rising Through a Suspension

An orange droplet rising through a gray suspension in a column. Droplet rising through a suspension model An oil droplet rising through a dense suspension located between two clear-fluid layers.

Application Library Title:
droplet_rising_through_a_suspension
Download from the Application Gallery

Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Electrolyzer

A model of an electrolyzer with the volume fraction of oxygen visualized in a dark blue to white color gradient. Polymer electrolyte membrane electrolyzer model Volume fraction of oxygen in a polymer electrolyte membrane electrolyzer.

Application Library Title:
polymer_electrolyte_membrane_electrolyzer
Download from the Application Gallery

Dam Breaking on a Column, Shallow Water Equations

A model of a gray square column with blue water breaking on the column. Dam breaking on a column model Shallow water equations simulation of the impact of a water wave on a column.

Application Library Title:
dam_break_column_sw
Download from the Application Gallery

Tsunami Runup onto a Complex 3D Beach, Monai Valley

A model of a gray beach and blue water representing tsunami runup. Tsunami runup model Shallow water equations simulation of tsunami runup onto a beach.

Application Library Title:
monai_runup
Download from the Application Gallery