多体动力学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为“多体动力学模块”的用户提供了新的方法来模拟刚体接触和摩擦,引入了间隙关节,并支持自动创建关节。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“多体动力学”的新增功能和其他更新功能。

刚体接触和摩擦

多体动力学 接口中添加了一种新的方法来模拟刚体之间的接触,可用于刚体接触 节点,对标准形状的刚体之间的无网格接触进行建模。在此版本中,该方法支持球-球球-任意 类型的接触,前者允许其中一个球体是空心的,且内部凹边界作为接触面。您可以选择接触公式作为罚函数罚函数,动力学,并使用瞬态研究的平滑且数值稳定的连续摩擦定律对摩擦力进行建模。您可以在新的圆柱滚子轴承的动力学教学案例中查看此功能的应用演示。

圆柱滚子轴承中的刚体接触和摩擦,其中使用绿色箭头显示接触力方向和相对大小。

间隙关节

在现实生活中,关节并不总是完美地配合,而是在两个零件之间有一定的间隙。您可以使用多体动力学 接口中新增的间隙关节 节点对非理想关节进行建模,这种新的关节类型允许在间隙距离内沿所有平动自由度运动,其中使用罚函数法来强制施加距离约束。此外,它还允许沿两个连接件之间的旋转自由度运动,在三维中表现为球关节,在二维中表现为铰链关节。您可以在新的具有关节间隙的曲柄滑块机构教学案例中查看此功能的应用演示。

曲柄滑块机构中的间隙关节建模。在两个连接部件之间可以观察到间隙距离内的相对平移和旋转。

基于几何自动创建关节

现在,您可以基于几何装配自动创建关节,这使得大型多体系统的建模变得更加容易。多体动力学 接口的自动模型设置 栏中添加了新的创建关节 按钮,可用于自动为装配中的几何对象创建关节,并在其间形成一致对。默认情况下,软件会分别为平面、圆柱形和球形边界创建棱柱、铰链和球关节。此外,还支持为特定类型的边界选择其他任何适当的关节。对于以这种方式创建的关节,软件会自动指派源、目标、中心和轴信息。您可以在以下模型中查看此功能的应用演示:

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”和“多体动力学”接口设置(其中选定了“创建关节”选项),“图形”窗口中显示滚子轴承几何。 演示模型中的自动创建关节功能 本例使用 多体动力学接口的 自动模型设置栏中的 创建关节按钮来自动创建铰链关节节点。

集总-结构连接耦合

此版本添加了新的多物理场耦合集总-结构连接,用于将使用集总机械系统 接口建模的集总系统连接到使用任何结构力学接口构建的有限元模型。集总机械系统 接口中的连接可以通过外部源 节点或位移节点 来建立,具体取决于有限元组件包含两个端口还是只有一个端口。您可以在车辆悬挂系统集总模型教学案例中查看此功能的应用演示。

集总机械系统建模增强功能

集总机械系统 建模功能在许多方面得到了改进,现在支持嵌套和参数化子系统。嵌套使较复杂系统的建模变得更加容易,而参数化则允许创建更为通用的子系统模型。新的输入参数 栏已添加到子系统定义子系统实例 节点中,同一模型中的多个子系统实例可以与不同的输入参数一起使用。

关节中的非线性弹簧

新的弹簧类型 选项已添加到多体动力学 接口的所有关节 节点的弹簧阻尼器 子节点中。除了用于指定弹簧常数 的现有选项以外,新的弹簧类型 选项还允许指定力表示为伸长部分的函数。利用此功能,您可以通过将弹簧力编写为伸长部分的函数,模拟连接到关节的非线性弹簧。在具有旋转自由度的关节中,您可以改为指定力矩作为旋转的函数

关节的物理符号

新版本为多体动力学 接口中的所有关节 节点添加了物理符号。每种关节类型使用的物理符号都不相同,这些符号放置在关节中心。此外,软件还支持绘制从关节中心到所有源和目标中心的连接线。

一个坐着的人的二维几何侧视图,其中使用红线和绿线来表示关节的连接。 关节连接 本例显示关节的物理符号。这些符号位于关节中心,您可以看到红色和绿色的连接线,它们将源和目标中心连接到关节中心。

动态接触

新的动态接触算法显著改善了瞬态接触事件期间的动量和能量守恒。这意味着,您可以使用远大于先前版本的时间步来精确模拟瞬态接触问题。通过在接触 节点中选择罚函数,动力学增广拉格朗日,动力学 公式,可以使用新方法。您可以在新的两个软环之间的碰撞高尔夫球的冲击分析教学案例中查看此功能的应用演示。

磨损仿真

新版本在固体力学多体动力学 接口的接触 节点下,以新的磨损 节点的形式添加了用于机械磨损建模的方法。磨损率基于广义 Archard 方程进行计算。磨损建模有两种算法:对于一般的磨损,以及由于磨损引起的任意几何变化,可以使用变形几何方法;另一种简化的方法是,将磨损合并到接触间隙的偏移中。您可以在新的盘式刹车片磨损教学案例中查看磨损 特征的应用演示。

盘式刹车片磨损的进展情况(速度箭头仅用于可视化目的)。

用于连接点的弹簧和阻尼器

所有结构力学接口中都添加了一个名为弹簧阻尼器 的新特征,以使用弹簧和/或阻尼器连接两个点。这些点可以是几何上的点,也可以是抽象的点,例如,通过使用连接件或者直接与刚体连接。弹簧可以是物理的,沿两点之间的线施加一个力,也可以通过完整的矩阵进行描述,连接两个点上的所有平动和旋转自由度。此外,该特征还可以连接两个不同物理场接口中的点之间的弹簧。

刚性连接件的功能改进

新版本对刚性连接件 特征进行了多项改进。在 接口中,选择选项已扩展到顶层,分别为边界和边。当旋转中心由点选择定义时,该点不再必须是物理场接口本身的一部分。您可以将来自不同物理场接口的刚性连接件进行耦合,从而定义一种新的虚拟刚性对象类型(此选择位于刚性连接件设置的高级 栏中)。在固体力学 接口中,您可以基于 NASTRAN® 格式的导入文件中的 RBE2 单元自动生成刚性连接件。这可以通过这些接口设置中名为自动建模 的栏进行控制。为了模拟所导入文件中的连接,刚性连接件可以来自多个物理场接口。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本中的“图形”窗口,其中显示灰色实体和橙色螺栓。 刚性连接的螺栓 使用接口建模的螺栓的端点与使用 固体力学接口建模的实体面上的某些边界刚性连接。

已知滑动速度的摩擦

在某些应用中,摩擦力的方向是已知的,这是因为两个物体以给定的相对速度彼此相对滑动。在这种情况下,不需要求解摩擦力,因此可以显著加快求解速度。作为接触 节点下的子节点新增的滑移速度 特征可用于上述情况,其输入类似于摩擦 节点的输入。您可以在新的盘式刹车片磨损模型中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面的特写视图,显示了“模型开发器”、“滑移速度”设置,右侧绘图显示了盘式制动器模型中的摩擦力模。 使用滑移速度特征对摩擦建模 在本例中,由于相对运动可以通过解析方式来表示,因此可以使用 滑移速度节点对制动盘和刹车片之间的摩擦进行建模。表面图显示摩擦力的大小。

用于指定旋转坐标系速度的新选项

此版本在固体力学多体动力学 接口的旋转坐标系 节点中添加了新的刚体 选项。通过此选项,您可以输入一个绕旋转轴的瞬态扭矩,然后通过对刚体运动方程进行积分来计算旋转速度。

接触的功能改进

除了新的动态接触和磨损功能以外,新版本还对接触力学领域进行了其他一些改进。您可以将全耦合求解器与增广拉格朗日接触算法一起使用,从而更轻松地设置求解器序列,并提高某些问题的稳定性和收敛性。除此之外,您还可以在接触 下的摩擦 子节点中选择用户定义 作为摩擦 模型,以直接输入引起任何其他变量滑动的切向力的表达式。最后,针对罚函数法和增广拉格朗日法,提出了多种提供罚因子的新方法。

根据位移计算旋转

在以位移为自由度的物理场接口中,有时需要研究某个区域的旋转。为此,您可以添加新的平均旋转 节点,该节点使用一组点的位移来生成表示旋转的变量。如果给定的点超过三个,则应用最小二乘法对整个点集进行刚体转动的最佳逼近。此外,还可以计算角速度和加速度。您可以在新的高尔夫球的冲击分析和更新的桁架塔的灵敏度分析教学案例中查看这一新特征的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”和“平均旋转”设置,“图形”窗口中显示高尔夫球杆和球的轮廓。 平均旋转计算示例 选择高尔夫球上的 6 个点,以计算击球后的平均线速度和角速度。

新的教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为“多体动力学模块”引入了三个新的教学案例。

圆柱滚子轴承的动力学

带有保持架部分视图的滚子轴承三维模型;其中滚子以热像仪颜色显示,绿色箭头指向外部。 滚子轴承模型 圆柱滚子轴承中滚子和保持架的速度大小。绿色箭头表示接触力的方向和相对大小。

“案例库”标题:

roller_bearing_dynamics

从“案例下载”页面下载

具有关节间隙的曲柄滑块机构

曲柄滑块机构模型的特写视图,其中以彩虹色显示连接。 曲柄滑块机构模型 曲柄滑块机构中,连杆轴颈相对于滑块的相对位移,其中连杆-滑块关节存在间隙。

“案例库”标题: slider_crank_mechanism_with_clearance

从“案例下载”页面下载

变速箱中的振动和噪声建模:轴承版本

变速箱模型,外壳顶部被切除,以显示内部齿轮和轴;其中使用彩虹色显示应力,用黑色箭头表示轴承力。 带轴承力的变速箱模型 外壳中的应力,以及齿轮和轴中的速度。轴承力用黑色箭头表示。

“案例库”标题:

gearbox_vibration_noise_bearing

从“案例下载”页面下载

Multibody Dynamics Module Updates

For users of the Multibody Dynamics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 includes a new method for modeling rigid body contact and friction, clearance joints, and automatic joint creation. Learn about these and other multibody dynamics updates below.

Rigid Body Contact and Friction

A new method for modeling contact between rigid bodies has been added in the Multibody Dynamics interface. The new method is available through the Rigid Body Contact node and is intended for modeling meshless contact between standard-shape rigid bodies. In this version, it allows Spherical-Spherical and Spherical-Arbitrary types of contact, where the former allows one of the spheres to be hollow with the inside concave boundaries as the contact surfaces. The contact formulation can be chosen as either Penalty or Penalty, dynamic and the friction force is modeled using a smooth and numerically robust continuous friction law that is available for time-dependent studies. You can see this functionality used in the new Dynamics of a Cylindrical Roller Bearing tutorial model.

Rigid body contact and friction in a cylindrical roller bearing with green arrows showing the contact force direction and relative magnitude.

Clearance Joint

In real life, joints do not always fit perfectly, but have some clearance between the two components. To model an imperfect joint as such, you can use the new Clearance Joint node in the Multibody Dynamics interface. This new joint type allows for motion along all translational degrees of freedom within the clearance distance. A penalty method is used to enforce the distance constraint. It also allows for motion along the rotational degrees of freedom between the two connected components and behaves as a ball joint in 3D or a hinge joint in 2D. You can see this functionality used in the new Slider Crank Mechanism with Joint Clearance tutorial model.

Modeling of a clearance joint in a slider crank mechanism. Relative translation within the clearance distance along with the relative rotation can be observed between the two connected components.

Automatic Joint Creation from Geometry

You can now create joints automatically from a geometry assembly, which makes model setup easier for large multibody systems. A new Create Joints button has been added in the Automated Model Setup section of the Multibody Dynamics interface. This button creates joints automatically for geometric objects in an assembly and forms Identity Pairs between them. By default, prismatic, hinge, and ball joints are created for planar, cylindrical, and spherical boundaries, respectively. It is also possible to choose any other appropriate joint for a particular type of boundary. The joints created in this way are automatically assigned source, destination, center, and axis information. You can see this functionality used in the following models:

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Model Builder, Multibody Dynamics interface settings with the Create Joints option selected, and a roller bearing geometry in the Graphics window. Demonstrating automatic joint creation in a model In this example, the hinge joint nodes are created automatically using the Create Joints button available in the Automated Model Setup section of the Multibody Dynamics interface.

Lumped-Structure Connection Coupling

The new multiphysics coupling Lumped-Structure Connection has been added for connecting lumped systems modeled using the Lumped Mechanical System interface to the finite element models built using any structural mechanics interface. The connection in the Lumped Mechanical System interface can be made either using an External Source node or a Displacement Node, depending on whether the finite element component has two ports or only one port. You can see this functionality used in the Lumped Model of a Vehicle Suspension System tutorial model.

Lumped Mechanical System Modeling Enhancements

The Lumped Mechanical System modeling functionality has been improved in many aspects. Nested and parametric subsystems are now supported for lumped mechanical systems. Nested subsystems make it easier to model more complicated systems, while parametric subsystems allow for creating more general-purpose subsystem models. A new Input Parameters section has been added to the Subsystem Definition and Subsystem Instance nodes. Several subsystem instances can be used with different input parameters in the same model.

Nonlinear Spring in Joints

A new Spring type option has been added to the Spring and Damper subnode of all Joint nodes in the Multibody Dynamics interface. The Spring type option allows for specifying the Force as function of extension in addition to the existing option of specifying a Spring constant. You can use this to model a nonlinear spring attached to a joint by writing the spring force as a function of the extension. In joints having rotational degrees of freedom, you can instead specify Moment as function of rotation.

Physics Symbol for Joints

Support for Physics Symbols has been added for all the Joint nodes, which are available in the Multibody Dynamics interface. The physics symbol used is different for each joint type and is placed at the center of the joint. In addition, connector lines are drawn from the joint center to all of the source and destination centers.

A sideview of a 2D geometry of a seated human being with red and green lines illustrating the connection of joints. Connection of joints In this example, physics symbols for joints are shown. The symbols are placed at the center of the joint and the connector lines (red and green colors) can be seen connecting source and destination centers to the center of joint.

Dynamic Contact

New algorithms for dynamic contact provide a significant improvement of the conservation of momentum and energy during transient contact events. This means that you can accurately model transient contact problems with significantly larger time steps than in previous versions. The new methods are accessed by selecting either the Penalty, dynamic or Augmented Lagrangian, dynamic formulation in the Contact node. You can see this functionality in the new Impact Between Two Soft Rings and Impact Analysis of a Golf Ball tutorial models.

Simulation of Wear

Methods for modeling mechanical wear have been added in the form of a new Wear node, a subnode under Contact, available in the Solid Mechanics and Multibody Dynamics interfaces. The wear rate is based on a generalized Archard equation. There are two algorithms for wear modeling. For general wear, and arbitrary geometry changes due to the wear, a deformed geometry approach is used. There is also a simplified approach in which the wear is incorporated into the offset in the contact gap. You can see the Wear feature in the new Disc Brake Pad Wear tutorial model.

Development of wear in a disc brake pad (the velocity arrows are just for visualization purposes).

Springs and Dampers Connecting Points

In all structural mechanics interfaces, a new feature called Spring-Damper has been added to connect two points with a spring and/or damper. The points can be geometrical points, but they can also be abstract, for example, through the use of attachments or direct connections to rigid bodies. The spring can either be physical, with a force acting along the line between the two points, or described by a full matrix, connecting all translational and rotational degrees of freedom in the two points. The feature also makes it possible to connect a spring between points in two different physics interfaces.

Rigid Connector Improvements

The Rigid Connector features have multiple improvements. In the Shell and Beam interfaces, the selection alternatives have been extended to the top level, that is, boundaries and edges, respectively. When the center of rotation is defined by a point selection, the point no longer has to be part of the physics interface itself. You can couple rigid connectors from different physics interfaces, thus defining a new type of virtual rigid object (this selection resides in the Advanced section of the settings for the rigid connector). In the Solid Mechanics, Shell, and Beam interfaces, you can automatically generate rigid connectors from RBE2 elements in an imported file in the NASTRAN® format. This is controlled from a section named Automatic Modeling in the settings for these interfaces. Rigid connectors can belong to several physics interfaces, in order to mimic the connections in the imported file.

The Graphics window in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 showing a gray solid and an orange bolt. A rigidly connected bolt The end point of a bolt modeled using the Beam interface is rigidly connected to some boundaries on the face of a solid, modeled using the Solid Mechanics interface.

Friction with a Known Sliding Velocity

In some applications, the direction of the friction force is known, because two objects are sliding on each other with a given relative velocity. In this case, it is not necessary to solve for the friction forces, which can significantly speed up the solution. The new Slip Velocity feature, added as a subnode under the Contact node, can be used for these cases. The inputs for this node are similar to those of the Friction node. You can see this new feature in the new Disc Brake Pad Wear model.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI with the Model Builder, Slip Velocity settings, and a plot showing the friction force norm in a disc brake model to the right. Modeling friction with the Slip Velocity feature In this example, the friction between the brake disc and the brake pad can be modeled using the Slip Velocity node, since the relative motion can be expressed analytically. The surface plot shows the magnitude of the friction force.

New Option for Prescribing Rotating Frame Speed

In the Rotating Frame node in the Solid Mechanics and Multibody Dynamics interfaces, a new Rigid body option has been added. With this option, you enter a time-dependent torque around the axis of rotation, and the rotational velocity is computed by integration of the rigid body equation of motion.

Contact Improvements

In addition to the new dynamic contact and wear functionality, there are several other improvements in the field of contact mechanics. You can use a fully coupled solver together with the augmented Lagrangian contact algorithm, making it easier to set up solver sequences and improving stability and convergence for some problems. Also, in the Friction subnode under Contact, you can select User defined as the Friction model to directly enter an expression for the tangential force that causes sliding in terms of any other variables. Lastly, there are several new ways of providing penalty factors, both for the penalty method and for the augmented Lagrangian method.

Computing Rotation from Displacements

In physics interfaces that have displacements as degrees of freedom, it is sometimes necessary to study the rotation of a region. To do that, you can add the new Average Rotation node, which uses the displacements of a set of points to generate variables representing the rotation. If more than three points are given, a least squares scheme is applied to make the best approximation of a rigid body rotation for the entire set of points. Additionally, angular velocities and accelerations can be computed. You can view this new feature in the new Impact Analysis of a Golf Ball and updated Sensitivity Analysis of a Truss Tower tutorial models.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Model Builder, Average Rotation settings, and an outline of a golf club and ball in the Graphics window. Example of computing average rotation Selection of 6 points on a golf ball, in order to compute average linear and angular velocities after the impact.

New Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings three new tutorial models to the Multibody Dynamics Module.

Dynamics of a Cylindrical Roller Bearing

A 3D model of a roller bearing with a partial view of the cage; the rollers are shown in heat camera and green arrows point outward. Roller bearing model Velocity magnitude of rollers and cage in a cylindrical roller bearing. Green arrows show the direction and relative magnitude of the contact forces.

Application Library Title:

roller_bearing_dynamics

Download from the Application Gallery

Slider Crank Mechanism with Joint Clearance

A closeup view of a slider crank mechanism model showing the connection in rainbow. Slider crank mechanism model Relative displacement of the connecting rod journal with respect to the slider in a slider crank mechanism having a clearance on the connecting rod-slider joint.

Application Library Title:

slider_crank_mechanism_with_clearance

Download from the Application Gallery

Modeling of Vibration and Noise in a Gearbox: Bearing Version

A gearbox model with the top of the housing cut out to show the internal gears and shafts; the stress is shown in rainbow and the bearing forces are shown with black arrows. Gearbox model with bearing forces Stress in the housing and velocity in the gears and shafts. Bearing forces are shown using black arrows.

Application Library Title:

gearbox_vibration_noise_bearing

Download from the Application Gallery