AC/DC 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为“AC/DC 模块”的用户引入了新增的磁场,仅电流 接口、经验性损耗模型,并对现有的电路 接口进行了各种改进。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“AC/DC 模块”的新增功能及其他更新。

用于电感矩阵计算的新物理场接口

新增的磁场,仅电流 接口旨在有效地计算复杂三维电路(例如印刷电路板 [PCB] 上常见的电路)的集总电感矩阵,可用于计算由开路(也称为非螺线管导体)产生的磁场部分的贡献。对于需要求解互感矩阵的用户来说,处理开路的能力大大降低了建模复杂性。

该接口使用磁矢势作为因变量,在假设所有区域都是非磁性的情况下(换句话说,它们具有均匀的相对磁导率 "1")计算电流产生的磁场。这个新公式不要求导体电流无散度,在自由空间中,它返回 Biot–Savart 积分的值。该接口支持稳态稳态源扫描 研究步骤,其中后者是扫描许多终端的有效方式。新增的 PCB 线圈的电感矩阵计算教学案例和更新的亥姆霍兹线圈的磁场模型中使用了这一接口。

一组铜制 PCB 线圈,用深蓝色到白色的颜色渐变显示磁通密度模,用箭头显示磁场。 PCB 线圈 PCB 线圈的电感耦合阵列,使用 磁场,仅电流接口进行线圈扫描,所得的 L 矩阵可用于构建 PCB 的集总电路。

电机和变压器中叠片铁芯和轭铁的损耗模型

新增的损耗计算 特征使用经验模型(SteinmetzBertotti用户定义 )来计算磁滞、涡流及其他效应(例如电机和变压器中的叠片铁芯或轭铁)引起的损耗。作为铜等材料的后备选项,它能够提供周期平均电阻损耗。

在“模型开发器”中,损耗计算 可作为安培定律 节点、域线圈 节点、法拉第定律 节点和磁通量守恒 节点的子节点,可用于瞬态频域 研究。对于瞬态 研究,损耗计算 特征设计为与专用的时域到频域损耗 研究步骤结合使用,该研究步骤确定了瞬态解中存在的不同谐波,并将它们插入一个频率相关的经验损耗模型。以下更新的模型演示了这一新特征:

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本用户界面,显示“损耗计算”设置,其中已选择 Steinmetz 损耗模型,“图形”窗口中显示 PM 电机模型。 演示 Steinmetz 损耗模型 经验损耗 Steinmetz 模型用于计算定子叠片轭铁中的周期平均(频率相关)损耗,可以单独分析不同的谐波。

广泛支持特征频率分析

现在,大多数“AC/DC 模块”接口都支持特征频率 研究:电流壳内电流多层壳中的电流电路静电磁场。除了支持磁场 接口中的全波腔模式分析之外,还可以对涉及电路的模型运行特征频率分析。这种特征频率分析主要是为“AC/DC 模块”开发,但提供受此影响的相关物理场接口的其他模块也将从中受益。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”、“全局计算”设置(其中展开了“数据”和“表达式”栏),以及 RLC 电路特征频率分析的探针图。 特征频率分析示例 一个简单 RLC 电路的共振峰,其中分析了特征频率和 Q 因子,并将结果与解析解进行比较。

新增和增强的“电路”接口功能

电路 接口为瞬态 研究配备了一个“基于事件”的开关 特征,这使您可以对电路中某些连接的“瞬时”开关建模。开关可以由电流、电压或用户定义的布尔表达式控制。

此外,新版本还添加了参数化子电路定义,将其与子电路实例 结合使用,您可以创建包含较小电路的构建块,并在较大的电路中使用这些构建块的各种参数化变体。最后,状态、事件和求解器的机制得到了改进,特别是非线性(半导体)元件的瞬态建模变得更加稳定。

电路改进主要是为“AC/DC 模块”开发,但其他提供电路 接口的模块也将受益。以下更新的模型演示了这一新功能:

新增的磁物理场接口的默认绘图

专门开发的新默认绘图支持磁场相关的物理场接口:磁场磁场,无电流旋转机械,磁场 多物理场接口。磁通密度模被绘制为多切面或表面图,用流线或等值线表示场方向。在二维和二维轴对称模型中,流线显示无散度磁场。在可能的情况下,从等值线闭合的意义上说,应包括面外磁矢势的云图,它比流线更精确,而且等值线密度与局部磁通密度成正比。在三维中,磁场被投影到切面,然后绘制流线。生成的图样不一定是无散度的,但仍可以清晰直观地指示三维场的外观。以下模型使用了这一新绘图功能:

拓扑优化的磁路模型,在体积图中以白色到深蓝色的颜色渐变显示磁通密度模。 演示扬声器的新默认绘图 “磁路的拓扑优化”模型中扬声器上的新默认绘图。
发电机二维模型,以白色到深蓝色的渐变颜色显示表面图中的磁通密度模。 演示电机和发电机的新默认绘图 “发电机二维模型”中的电机和发电机上的新默认绘图。

静电中的铁电材料模型

对于静电 接口中的电荷守恒 特征,已使用铁电 材料选项扩展了介电材料模型。铁电材料模型是 Jiles Atherton 磁滞模型的介电等效,它以时变极化代替了时变磁化。您将在新增的铁电材料的磁滞现象教学案例中看到此特征的应用演示。

这种材料模型是新增的铁电弹性 多物理场接口的静电部分,用于分析具有非线性压电属性的铁电材料。铁电 材料选项包含在“AC/DC 模块”中,但是,铁电弹性 多物理场接口还需要“MEMS 模块”或“结构力学模块”。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本用户界面,显示“电荷守恒”特征设置,其中“本构关系 D-E”和“铁电材料属性”栏为展开状态,右侧显示磁滞曲线。 演示铁电材料模型 “铁电材料的磁滞现象”教学案例屏幕截图,显示了使用的材料模型和所得的磁滞曲线。

来自 Bomatec 的磁性材料

AC/DC 材料库进行了扩展,现在包含来自 Bomatec 的磁性材料,其中包括所有 NdFeB 标准等级(“常规”、M、H、SH、UH、EH、AH、BH、/S、M/S、H/S、SH/S、UH/S、EH/S、AH/S、BH/S、H/ST、SH/ST、UH/ST、EH/ST、AH/ST 和 BH/ST);NdFeB(黏合、注塑成型和拉伸);铁氧体(各向同性、各向异性和注塑成型);SmCo(注塑成型);SmFeN(注塑成型);SmCo5 等级;Sm2Co17 等级;以及 AlNiCo(铸造和烧结)。

这些材料包括电磁属性 - 相对介电常数 、回复磁导率 和剩余磁通密度模 ;以及与热建模相关的多个属性:导热系数 、密度 和恒压热容

增强特征:支持斜切的线圈特征

线圈 域特征(用于单导体 模型和均匀多匝 案例)现在支持斜切。通过斜切 设置,您可以放宽用于确定线圈几何形状的约束(它“平均地”而不是局部地应用输入/输出边界约束)。对于电流(或导线)的自然方向与输入或输出法向成一定角度的情况,需要放宽约束。一个典型的示例是螺旋线圈,其中输入/输出边界表示一个周期性平面,如三相双绞线电缆,或完全解析的利兹线或分割导体的情况。您将在更新的电缆系列教学案例中看到这一新特征的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本用户界面,显示为海底电缆模型选择“斜切”选项的“输入”设置,其结果显示在“图形”窗口中。 在电缆模型中演示斜切选项 在三相电缆模型中演示的斜切设置。
COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本用户界面,显示为螺旋线模型选择“斜切”选项的“输入”设置,其结果显示在“图形”窗口中。 在电线模型中演示斜切选项 右图中的电线显示了斜切设置对电流方向的影响。

更快地进行电缆分析:新教学案例

电缆系列教学案例新增了短扭曲周期示例模型,通过这种周期,您可以减少完全解析的三维绞合线模型所需的计算量,从大型集群系统上的数小时减少到笔记本电脑上的约一分钟。这一系列案例详细解释了所使用的周期性背后的逻辑,包括涉及两个以上绞距的情况,例如具有完全解析的分割导体的电缆、绞合屏蔽或双铠装。

绞合线理论和适当的网格划分的使用遵循数值研究的最新进展,适用于大型绝缘海底电缆和脐带电缆、电动汽车充电电缆,完全解析的利兹线以及架空电力线路中使用的裸电缆。此外,该系列案例还讨论了电缆系统的电阻、电容、电感和热属性,以及不同的黏合方案:单点黏合、固体黏合和交叉黏合。您将在更新的电缆系列教学案例中看到这个新特征的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本用户界面,显示三维绘图组设置,其中“数据”、“绘图设置”和“颜色图例”栏为展开状态,“图形”窗口中显示一个双铠装海底电缆模型。 带双铠装的海底电缆模型 显示双铠装的演示模型,直接基于电缆系列教学案例中讨论的设计和理论。(请注意:双铠装模型并未明确包含在该系列案例中,而是直接从中衍生而来。)

新的教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本的“AC/DC 模块”引入了多个新的教学案例。

铁电材料的磁滞现象

显示不同 Vmax 下磁滞回线的点图:蓝色表示 600 V,绿色表示 800 V,红色表示 1000 V,青绿色表示 1600 V。 磁滞回线模型 新增的模型,演示了如何分析铁电材料的非线性极化现象。图中显示在不同的最大外加电压下,经过三个周期后完全建立的磁滞回线。

“案例库”标题:

ferroelectric_hysteresis

从“案例下载”页面下载

高压绝缘体

高压绝缘体电势的彩虹色模型。 高压绝缘体模型 图中显示典型高压绝缘子上的电势分布。绝缘子广泛用于高压输电线路支撑悬挂导线的重量,同时阻止电流通过塔架流向地面。

“案例库”标题:

high_voltage_insulator

从“案例下载”页面下载

均压环的位置优化

显示切向电场的线图:无均压环情况为蓝色;带均压环情况为绿色;最佳位置带均压环情况为红色。 均压环位置优化模型 这是一个新模型,它扩展了高压绝缘体模型,演示如何使用 优化接口确定均压环的最佳位置。图中比较了不同情况下沿从线端开始的前六个屏蔽表面的切向电场的 z 分量

“案例库”标题:

grading_ring_optimization

从“案例下载”页面下载

PCB 线圈的电感矩阵计算

从深蓝色到白色的颜色渐变中的电感矩阵计算。 PCB 线圈的电感矩阵计算模型 一个新模型,演示如何使用 磁场,仅电流接口计算一系列导体的电感矩阵。图中显示了由 12 个独立导体组成的 PCB 的电感矩阵计算结果。

“案例库”标题:

inductance_matrix_pcb_coils

从“案例下载”页面下载

AC/DC Module Updates

For users of the AC/DC Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 offers a new Magnetic Fields, Currents Only interface, empirical loss models, and various improvements to the existing Electrical Circuit interface. Learn about these and other AC/DC Module updates in more detail below.

New Physics Interface for Inductance Matrix Computations

The new Magnetic Fields, Currents Only interface is designed to efficiently compute the lumped inductance matrix of complex circuits in 3D, such as those commonly found on printed circuit boards (PCBs). It can be used to calculate the partial contributions from magnetic fields generated by open conductors, also known as nonsolenoidal conductors. The ability to handle open conductors significantly reduces modeling complexity for users needing to solve for mutual inductance matrices.

The interface uses the magnetic vector potential as the dependent variable, and computes the magnetic fields generated by currents under the assumption that all regions are nonmagnetic (in other words; that they have a uniform relative magnetic permeability of "one"). This new formulation does not require the conductor currents to be divergence-free. In free space, it returns the value of the Biot–Savart integral. The interface supports the Stationary and the Stationary Source Sweep study steps. The latter is an efficient way of sweeping over many terminals. You can see this interface in use in the new Inductance Matrix Calculation of PCB Coils tutorial model and in the updated Magnetic Field of a Helmholtz Coil model.

An array of copper PCB coils showing the magnetic flux density norm in a dark blue to white color gradient and magnetic fields as arrows. PCB coils An inductively coupled array of PCB coils, subjected to a coil sweep using the Magnetic Fields, Currents Only interface. The resulting L-matrix can be used to construct a lumped circuit representation of the PCB.

Loss Models for Laminated Cores and Yokes in Motors and Transformers

The new Loss Calculation feature uses empirical models (Steinmetz, Bertotti, or User defined) to calculate iron loss caused by magnetic hysteresis, eddy currents, and other effects in (laminated) cores or yokes in, for example, electric motors and transformers. As a fallback option for materials like copper, it is able to provide the cycle average resistive losses.

In the Model Builder, Loss Calculation is available as a subnode to the Ampère's Law node, domain Coil node, Faraday’s Law node, and Magnetic Flux Conservation node. It is available for both Time Dependent and Frequency Domain studies. For Time Dependent studies, the Loss Calculation feature is designed to be used in combination with the dedicated Time to Frequency Losses study step. This study step determines the different harmonics present in the time-dependent solution, and inserts them into one of the frequency-dependent empirical loss models. You can see this new feature in these updated models:

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Loss Calculation settings with the Steinmetz loss model selected and a PM motor model in the Graphics window. Demonstrating the Steinmetz loss model The empirical loss model Steinmetz, used to determine the cycle-average (frequency-dependent) losses in the laminated iron of a stator yoke. The different harmonics can be analyzed individually.

Wide Support for Eigenfrequency Analysis

The Eigenfrequency study is now supported for most of the AC/DC Module interfaces: Electric Currents, Electric Currents in Shells, Electric Currents in Layered Shells, Electrical Circuit, Electrostatics, and Magnetic Fields. In addition to supporting full-wave cavity mode analysis in the Magnetic Fields interface, it is possible to run eigenfrequency analyses with models involving electrical circuits. The eigenfrequency support is primarily developed for the AC/DC Module, but other modules that provide one of the affected physics interfaces will benefit from it too.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Model Builder, Global Evaluation settings with the Data and Expressions sections expanded, and a probe plot for the eigenfrequency analysis of an RLC circuit. Eigenfrequency analysis example The resonance peak of a simple RLC circuit. The eigenfrequency and Q-factor are analyzed and compared to analytically determined values.

New and Enhanced Functionality for the Electrical Circuit Interface

For Time Dependent studies, the Electrical Circuit interface has been equipped with an "event-based" Switch feature. This allows you to model the "instantaneous" on-off switching of certain connections in the circuit. The switch can be current controlled, voltage controlled, or controlled by user-defined Boolean expressions.

Furthermore, Parameterized Subcircuit Definitions are added. Together with the Subcircuit Instance, these allow you to create your own building blocks containing smaller circuits, and use multiple parameterized variants of those in your larger circuit. Finally, the state, event, and solver machinery has been improved, especially the transient modeling of nonlinear (semiconductor) devices, which has become more robust.

The circuit improvements are primarily developed for the AC/DC Module, but other modules that provide access to the Electrical Circuit interface will benefit too. You can view the new functionality in these updated models:

New Default Plots for the Magnetic Physics Interfaces

New default plots have been developed specifically for physics interfaces that support magnetic fields: Magnetic Fields, Magnetic Fields, No Currents, and the Rotating Machinery, Magnetic multiphysics interface. The magnetic flux density norm is plotted as a multislice or a surface plot, together with streamlines or contours to indicate the field direction. In 2D and 2D axisymmetric models, the streamlines show a divergence-free magnetic field. Whenever possible, a contour plot of the out-of-plane magnetic vector potential is included, which is more exact than the streamlines, in the sense that the contours are closed, and the contour density is directly proportional to the local magnetic flux density. In 3D, the streamlines follow the magnetic field after it has been projected onto the slice planes. The resulting pattern is not necessarily divergence free, but still provides a clear, intuitive indication of what the 3D field will look like. You can view this new plot functionality in the following models:

A topology optimized magnetic circuit model showing the magnetic flux density norm in a Volume plot in white to dark blue color gradient. Demonstrating the new default plot for loudspeakers The new default plots, as seen for loudspeakers in the Topology Optimization of a Magnetic Circuit model.
A 2D generator model showing the magnetic flux density norm in a Surface plot in white to dark blue color gradient. Demonstrating the new default plot for motors and generators The new default plots, as seen for motors and generators in the Generator in 2D model.

Ferroelectric Material Model in Electrostatics

For the Charge Conservation feature in the Electrostatics interface, the list of dielectric material models has been extended with a Ferroelectric material option. The ferroelectric material model is the dielectric equivalent of the Jiles Atherton magnetic hysteresis model; instead of a time-varying magnetization, it models a time-varying polarization. You can view this feature in the new Hysteresis in Ferroelectric Material tutorial model.

This material model is the electrostatic part of a new Ferroelectroelasticity multiphysics interface, intended for analysis of ferroelectric materials, which exhibit nonlinear piezoelectric properties. The Ferroelectric material option is included in the AC/DC Module. However, the Ferroelectroelasticity multiphysics interface additionally requires either the MEMS Module or the Structural Mechanics Module.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Charge Conservation feature settings with the Constitutive Relation D-E and Ferroelectric Material Properties sections expanded and a hysteresis curve to the right. Demonstrating the ferroelectric material model A screenshot of the Hysteresis in Ferroelectric Material tutorial model, showing both the used material model and the resulting hysteresis curve.

Magnetic Materials from Bomatec

The AC/DC material library has been extended with magnetic materials from Bomatec. This includes all the NdFeB standard grades ("normal", M, H, SH, UH, EH, AH, BH, /S, M/S, H/S, SH/S, UH/S, EH/S, AH/S, BH/S, H/ST, SH/ST, UH/ST, EH/ST, AH/ST, and BH/ST); NdFeB (bonded, injection molded, and extruded); ferrite (isotropic, anisotropic, and injection molded); SmCo (injection molded); SmFeN (injection molded); SmCo5 grades; Sm2Co17 grades; and AlNiCo (cast and sintered).

The materials include electromagnetic properties — relative permittivity , recoil permeability , and remanent magnetic flux density norm — as well as several properties related to thermal modeling: thermal conductivity, ; density, ; and heat capacity at constant pressure .

Enhanced Feature: Coil with Slanted Cut

The Coil domain feature (both for the Single Conductor model and the Homogenized Multiturn case) has been equipped with support for a Slanted Cut. The Slanted Cut setting allows you to relax the constraints used for determining the coil geometry (it applies the input/output boundary constraint "on average" rather than locally). Relaxing the constraint is needed for cases where the natural direction of the current (or the wires) is at an angle with respect to the input or output normal. A typical example is a helical coil, where the input/output boundaries represent a periodicity plane — as is the case for twisted three-phase cables, or fully resolved Litz wires or Milliken conductors. You can see this new feature in the updated Cable Tutorial Series tutorial model.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Input settings with the slanted cut option selected for a submarine cable model whose results appear in the Graphics window. Demonstrating the slanted cut option in a cable model The slanted cut setting, demonstrated in a three-phase cable model.
The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Input settings with the slanted cut option selected for a spiral wire model whose results appear in the Graphics window. Demonstrating the slanted cut option in a wire model The effect of the slanted cut setting on the current direction is illustrated in the wire to the right.

Faster Cable Analysis: New Tutorial Model

The Cable Tutorial series has been updated to demonstrate short-twisted periodicity, a kind of periodicity that allows you to reduce the computational effort required for fully resolved 3D twisted cable models, from hours on large cluster systems to about a minute on a laptop. The logic behind the used periodicity is explained in detail, including cases that involve more than two lay lengths, cables with fully resolved Milliken conductors, stranded screens, or a double armor, for example.

The theory for twisted strands and the use of appropriate meshing follows the latest developments in numerical research, and applies to both large-scale insulated submarine cables and umbilical cables, EV charging cables, fully-resolved Litz wires, and the bare cables used in overhead power lines. Additionally, the series discusses the resistive, capacitive, inductive, and thermal properties of cable systems, as well as different bonding schemes: single-point bonding, solid bonding, and cross bonding. You can see this new feature in the updated Cable Tutorial Series tutorial model.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the 3D Plot Group settings with the Data, Plot Settings, and Color Legend sections expanded, and a double-armor submarine cable model in the Graphics window. Submarine cable model with a double armor A demonstration model showing a double armor, based directly on the design and theory discussed in the Cable Tutorial Series. (Note: The double armor model is not included in the series explicitly, rather, it is directly derived from it.)

New Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings several new tutorial models to the AC/DC Module.

Hysteresis in Ferroelectric Material

A point graph showing hysteresis loops for different Vmax: blue denotes 600 V, green 800 V, red 1000 V, and turquoise 1600 V. Hysteresis loops model A new model demonstrates how to analyze the nonlinear polarization behavior of ferroelectric materials. The image shows the hysteresis loops fully established after three cycles for different values of the maximum applied voltage.

Application Library Title:

ferroelectric_hysteresis

Download from the Application Gallery

High-Voltage Insulator

A rainbow model of the electric potential of a high-voltage insulator. High-voltage insulator model The image shows the distribution of the electric potential of a typical high-voltage insulator. The insulator is widely used in high-voltage power transmission lines to support the weight of suspended conductors without allowing the current to flow through the tower to the ground.

Application Library Title:

high_voltage_insulator

Download from the Application Gallery

Position Optimization of Grading Rings

A line graph showing tangential electric field without gradient rings, blue; with grading rings, green; and with grading rings at optimized positions, red. Grading rings position optimization model A new model that extends the High-Voltage Insulator model and shows how to find the optimum position of grading rings using the Optimization interface. The figure compares the z-component of the tangential electric field along the surface of the first six sheds from the line end in different cases.

Application Library Title:

grading_ring_optimization

Download from the Application Gallery

Inductance Matrix Calculation of PCB Coils

Inductance matrix calculation in color gradient from dark blue to white. Inductance matrix calculation of PCB coils model A new model shows how to compute the inductance matrix of a series of conductors with the new Magnetic Fields, Currents Only interface. The image shows the computed inductance matrix of a PCB composed of 12 independent conductors.

Application Library Title:

inductance_matrix_pcb_coils

Download from the Application Gallery