粒子追踪模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为“粒子追踪模块”的用户引入了专用于液滴蒸发的特征、更易于使用的定义颗粒材料属性的材料 节点,以及一个新的模拟黏性流体中小颗粒的牛顿,忽略惯性项 公式。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解有关颗粒跟踪特征的更多信息。

液滴蒸发

现在可以使用一个专用的液滴蒸发 节点将模型颗粒视为在周围气体中蒸发的液滴,并根据液滴表面的饱和蒸汽压和液滴蒸汽向周围气体的扩散系数来计算蒸发率。液滴蒸发 节点支持简化的麦克斯韦扩散模型、更详细的 Stefan–Fuchs 模型以及直接指定蒸发常数的选项。

通常,根据周围气体的温度,蒸发的液滴接近稳态温度(称为湿球温度)。如果已知稳态温度,可以直接指定。另外,如果您使用 Stefan–Fuchs 蒸发模型并求解颗粒温度,则可以对液滴加热周期以及稳态蒸发建模。由于加热时间可能占液滴总寿命的很大一部分,因此当周围的空气比释放到空气中的液滴温度高得多时,这非常有用。

水滴分散到盒子内部模拟的周围空气中,较大的水滴为红色,较小的水滴为蓝色。 液滴蒸发示例 水滴在周围空气中蒸发的过程。颗粒大小和颜色表达式与颗粒质量成正比。

来自材料的颗粒属性

流体流动颗粒跟踪 接口中,现在可以从材料 节点获取颗粒材料属性,而不必直接指定。通过这一更改,您可以在颗粒跟踪模型中更有效地使用“材料库”。还可以在多个不同的力使用相同的材料属性时简化操作:您只需指定这个属性一次。

默认情况下,每个流体流动颗粒跟踪 模型都需要指定颗粒密度。根据添加到模型的附加力和其他特征,可能还需要其他材料属性,例如,介电泳力 域条件需要颗粒的相对介电常数和电导率。这些属性将自动取自用于定义颗粒密度的相同材料,您也可以选择自己定义任何材料属性,而不是从“材料库”中获取。使用新的液滴蒸发 节点将模型颗粒视为蒸发液滴时,您也可以从另一个材料 节点获取汽相的属性。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本用户界面,显示了层流混合器模型的“粒子属性”设置,该模型显示在“图形”窗口中。 演示如何从材料库中获取颗粒属性 典型用法,颗粒密度取自材料库中的内置石英玻璃。

用于跟踪流体中小颗粒的新公式

流体流动颗粒跟踪 接口提供一个新的颗粒跟踪公式,称为牛顿,忽略惯性项 公式,它假设曳力抵消了作用在颗粒上的所有其他力,求解颗粒位置的一阶方程。本质上,这忽略了颗粒首次插入流体时的颗粒加速度。

通常,解析流体中颗粒加速度所需的时间步大小与粒径的平方成正比。因此,对非常小的颗粒(大约数十微米或更小,具体取决于流体)进行完全惯性处理需要非常小的时间步,运行研究会变得相当缓慢。新的牛顿,忽略惯性项 公式支持采用更大的时间步,而不会引起任何其他的数值不稳定。您可以在使用介电泳从红细胞中分离血小板层流静态混合器中的颗粒轨迹模型中看到这一新特征的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本用户界面,显示“流体流动颗粒跟踪”接口设置,其中“牛顿,忽略惯性项”公式为选定状态,“图形”窗口显示一个层流混合器模型。 使用“牛顿,忽略惯性项”公式的示例 选中 牛顿,忽略惯性项公式后的物理场接口设置和方程显示。

数密度计算

新的数密度计算 特征可用于通过对每个域网格单元求平均来计算仿真域内的颗粒数密度。

一个 RF 耦合器模型,气体分子显示为黑色球体,数密度显示为红色到绿色渐变的切面图。 RF 耦合器 RF 耦合器中的气体分子。数密度以对数刻度显示为穿过几何形状中间的切面图。最高数密度出现在分子进入几何的左端(红色)。

对流加热和冷却的功能改进

在求解颗粒温度时,现在有两种不同的方法对颗粒进行对流加热或冷却。首先,您可以直接指定传热系数 h,也可以指定颗粒努塞尔数 Nu 和流体的导热系数 k;然后软件将自动计算传热系数。

质量、温度和其他变量的随机抽样

当您对颗粒辅助因变量进行初始化时,可以确切地抽样它们的初始值,在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本中,也可以随机抽样。使用随机选项时,您可以从内置的正态分布、对数正态分布或均匀分布中抽样。对于流体流动颗粒跟踪 接口,您还可以从这些分布中对初始颗粒质量或直径抽样。在对直径抽样时,有一个内置选项可以输入索特平均直径,这是描述气溶胶颗粒尺寸分布的常用方法。索特平均直径以及其他用于描述颗粒大小分布的新变量也可用于后处理。

代表颗粒的不同大小和色调的红色和蓝色圆圈阵列。 颗粒 颗粒以对数正态直径分布释放。与以前版本的软件相比,在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本中更容易设置这种分布。


从“均匀分布”中抽样操作得到优化

现在,当您将颗粒的辅助因变量初始化后,如果初始值是“均匀分布”抽样,可以指定分布中的最大值和最小值。在此之前,您必须指定平均值和标准差。这也适用于流体流动颗粒跟踪 接口中颗粒质量和直径的初始值。

真空波长、频率和其他变量的随机抽样

当您对颗粒辅助因变量进行初始化时,可以确切地抽样它们的初始值,在 5.6 版本中,也可以随机抽样。使用随机选项时,您可以从内置的正态分布、对数正态分布或均匀分布中抽样。如果光线是多色的,您也可以从波长或频率分布中确切地或随机地抽样。

改进“空间电荷受限发射”多物理场耦合

带电粒子追踪 接口一起使用的空间电荷受限发射 多物理场耦合节点具有显著的稳定性改进和性能升级。与以前的版本相比,此特征使用的自由度更少,并且在二维轴对称模型中此特征的精度也显著提高。您可以在皮尔斯电子枪Child 定律基准模型中看到此功能的应用演示。

热再发射的速度偏移

使分子吸附在表面上,然后释放回具有热速度分布的仿真域的热再发射 节点现在支持设置壁速度。在旋转坐标系中跟踪颗粒时,有一个内置选项可通过参考坐标系速度抵消壁速度,从而有效地使壁相对于惯性(或实验室)坐标系保持静止。您可以在更新的涡轮分子泵模型中看到此特征的应用演示。

电离节点改进

添加到带电粒子追踪 接口的碰撞 节点的电离 节点得到了改进。现在,您可以分别控制每次电离反应后是否释放一次电子、二次电子和电离物质。

粒子碰撞累加器

在使用带电粒子追踪 接口的蒙特卡罗碰撞模型中,您现在可以定义一个域变量(称为累积变量),粒子每次与背景气体发生碰撞时都会对该变量做出贡献。这样您可以有效地追踪整个仿真域中碰撞的数密度。

粒子碰撞累加器的模型,其中有许多灰色正方形和一条穿过这些正方形的彩虹线。 粒子碰撞累加器示例 彩色线表示稀薄背景气体中的一个颗粒;它的颜色表达式与它撞击的气体分子数量成正比。每次发生碰撞时,它都会增加发生碰撞的网格单元中累积变量的值,由灰度字段指示。

新增和更新的教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本的带电粒子追踪 接口引入了新增的“皮尔斯电子枪”教学案例,并为真空系统建模引入了显著改进的“涡轮分子泵”教学案例。

皮尔斯电子枪

皮尔斯电子枪模型,在带有黑线的灰色背景下,电子显示为红色、洋红色、青绿色和蓝色。 皮尔斯电子枪模型 皮尔斯电子枪中的电子从阴极(底部)开始,到达阳极(顶部)时加速。背景等值线(光束内完全水平)显示电势,而流线显示电场的方向。

“案例库”标题:
pierce_electron_gun
从“案例下载”页面下载

涡轮分子泵

一维绘图,蓝色点虚线表示最大压缩率,红色点虚线表示最大速度因子。 涡轮分子泵模型结果 更新后的涡轮分子泵模型显示泵的最大压缩比和速度因子,与更新版本中的文献更加吻合。

“案例库”标题:
turbomolecular_pump
从“案例下载”页面下载

Particle Tracing Module Updates

For users of the Particle Tracing Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 includes a dedicated feature for evaporation of liquid droplets, easier use of the Material node to define particle material properties, and a new Newtonian, ignore intertial formulation to model small particles in a viscous fluid. Read more about the particle tracing features below.

Droplet Evaporation

A dedicated Droplet Evaporation node can now be used to treat the model particles as liquid droplets that evaporate in the surrounding gas. The evaporation rate is computed based on the saturation vapor pressure at the droplet surface and the diffusion coefficient of the droplet vapor into the surrounding gas. The Droplet Evaporation node supports a simplified Maxwell diffusion model, a more detailed Stefan–Fuchs model, and an option to specify the evaporation constant directly.

Usually, evaporating droplets approach a steady-state temperature (called the wet-bulb temperature), based on the temperature of the surrounding gas. If you know the steady-state temperature, you can specify it directly. Alternatively, if you are using the Stefan–Fuchs evaporation model and solving for particle temperature, you can model the droplet heat-up period as well as the steady-state evaporation. This can be useful when the surrounding air is much hotter than the droplets being released into it, since the heat-up time might represent a significant fraction of the total droplet lifetime.

Water droplets dispersing into the surrounding air modeled inside a box, where larger droplets are red and smaller droplets are blue. Droplet evaporation example Evaporation of water droplets as they are carried away in the surrounding air. The particle size and color expression are proportional to the particle mass.

Particle Properties from Material

In the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface, the particle material properties can now be taken from a Material node instead of being specified directly. This change allows the Material Libraries to be used more effectively in particle tracing models. It also gets rid of some redundancy when several different forces use the same material property: You only have to specify this property a single time.

By default, every Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow model requires the particle density to be specified. Depending on what additional forces and other features are added to the model, other material properties might also be required. For example, the Dielectrophoretic Force domain condition requires the particle relative permittivity and electrical conductivity. These will automatically be taken from the same material used to define the particle density. You also have the option to make any material property user defined, instead of getting it from the Material Libraries. When using the new Droplet Evaporation node to treat model particles as evaporating droplets, you can also take the properties of the vapor phase from another Material node.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Particle Properties settings for a laminar mixer model, which is shown in the Graphics window. Demonstrating how to get particle properties from the material libraries Typical usage where particle density is taken from the built-in quartz glass from the Material Libraries.

New Formulation for Tracing Small Particles in Fluids

A new particle tracing formulation is available for the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface. Called the Newtonian, ignore inertial terms formulation, it solves first-order equations for the particle position while assuming that the drag force counterbalances all other forces on the particles. In essence, this ignores the particle acceleration when particles are first inserted into the fluid.

Ordinarily, the time step size you need to resolve particle acceleration in a fluid scales with the square of the particle diameter. As a result, a full inertial treatment of very small particles (around tens of microns or smaller, depending on the fluid) requires extremely small time steps, and running the study can become rather slow. The new Newtonian, ignore inertial terms formulation allows much larger time steps to be taken without incurring any additional numerical instability. You can see this new feature in the Dielectrophoretic Separation of Platelets from Red Blood Cells and Particle Trajectories in a Laminar Static Mixer models.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface settings with the Newtonian, ignore inertial terms formulation selected and a laminar mixer model in the Graphics window. Example using the Newtonian, ignore inertial terms formulation Physics interface settings and equation display when the Newtonian, ignore inertial terms formulation is selected.

Number Density Calculation

The new Number Density Calculation feature can be used to compute the number density of particles within the simulation domain. The density is averaged over each domain mesh element.

An RF coupler model with gas molecules shown as black spheres and the number density visualized as a slice plot in red-to-green color gradient. RF coupler Gas molecules in an RF coupler. The number density is shown as a slice plot through the middle of the geometry, on a logarithmic scale. The highest number density is at the left end (red) where molecules enter the geometry.

Improved Convective Heating and Cooling

When solving for particle temperature, there are now two different ways to apply convective heating or cooling to the particles. First, you can specify the heat transfer coefficient h directly. Alternatively, specify the particle Nusselt number, Nu, and the thermal conductivity of the fluid k; the heat transfer coefficient will then be computed automatically.

Random Sampling of Mass, Temperature, and Other Variables

When you initialize auxiliary dependent variables on particles, you can sample their initial values deterministically or, new with COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6, randomly. When using the random option, you can sample from built-in normal, lognormal, or uniform distributions. For the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface, you can also sample the initial particle mass or diameter from these distributions. When sampling the diameter, there is a built-in option to enter the Sauter mean diameter, a common way to describe the size distribution of aerosol particles. The Sauter mean diameter, along with other new variables for describing the particle size distribution, are also available in postprocessing.

An array of red and blue circles of varying sizes and hues, representing particles. Particles Particles are released with a lognormal diameter distribution. Such distributions are much easier to set up in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 than in previous versions of the software.


Easier Sampling from Uniform Distributions

When you initialize auxiliary dependent variables on particles, if the initial values are sampled from a uniform distribution, you now specify the maximum and minimum value in the distribution. Previously, it was necessary to specify a mean and standard deviation. This also applies to initial values of particle mass and diameter in the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface.

Random Sampling of Vacuum Wavelength, Frequency, and Other Variables

When you initialize auxiliary dependent variables on particles, you can sample their initial values deterministically or, new with version 5.6, randomly. When using the random option, you can sample from built-in normal, lognormal, or uniform distributions. You can also sample deterministically or randomly from a wavelength or frequency distribution if the rays are polychromatic.

Improvements to the Space Charge Limited Emission Multiphysics Coupling

The Space Charge Limited Emission multiphysics coupling node, used with the Charged Particle Tracing interface, has significant stability improvements and performance upgrades. This feature uses fewer degrees of freedom compared to previous versions, and the accuracy of this feature is also significantly improved in 2D axisymmetric models. You can see this functionality in the Pierce Electron Gun and Child's Law Benchmark models.

Velocity Offset for Thermal Re-Emission

The Thermal Re-Emission node, which causes molecules to be adsorbed onto a surface and then released back into the simulation domain with a thermal velocity distribution, now allows you to set a wall velocity. When tracing particles in a rotating frame of reference, there is a built-in option to offset the wall velocity by the reference frame velocity, effectively making the wall stationary with respect to the inertial (or laboratory) frame. You can see this feature in the updated Turbomolecular Pump model.

Ionization Node Improvements

The Ionization node, which is added to the Collisions node in the Charged Particle Tracing interface, has been improved. You can now separately control whether or not the primary electron, secondary electron, and ionized species are released following each ionization reaction.

Accumulators on Particle Collisions

In Monte Carlo collision models using the Charged Particle Tracing interface, you can now define a domain variable (called an accumulated variable) that the particles contribute to every time they undergo a collision with the background gas. This effectively lets you track the number density of collisions throughout the simulation domain.

A model of a particle collision accumulator, with a number of gray squares and a rainbow line moving through them. Example of accumulators on particle collisions The colored line shows a particle in a rarefied background gas; its color expression is proportional to the number of gas molecules it has hit. Every time it undergoes a collision, it increases the value of an accumulated variable in the mesh element where the collision took place, indicated by the grayscale field.

New and Updated Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings a new "Pierce Electron Gun" tutorial for the Charged Particle Tracing interface and a significantly improved "Turbomolecular Pump" tutorial for modeling vacuum systems.

Pierce Electron Gun

A model of a Pierce electron gun with electrons shown in red, magenta, turquoise, and blue against a gray background with black lines. Pierce electron gun model Electrons in the Pierce electron gun start at the cathode (bottom) and accelerate as they reach the anode (top). The background contours (perfectly horizontal within the beam) show the electric potential while the streamlines show the direction of the electric field.

Application Library Title:
pierce_electron_gun
Download from the Application Gallery

Turbomolecular Pump

A 1D plot showing the maximum compression rate in a blue dotted line and maximum speed factor in a red dotted line. Turbomolecular pump model results The updated turbomolecular pump model showing the maximum compression ratio and speed factor of the pump, which agree better with the literature in the updated version.

Application Library Title:
turbomolecular_pump
Download from the Application Gallery