射线光学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为“射线光学模块”的用户引入了更快、更准确的光线渲染;新增可在稀颗粒介质和粗糙表面上散射光线的专用特征;还引入了新的理想透镜 特征,可快速设置近轴透镜系统,而无需详细的几何形状。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解射线光学特征的新增功能。

更快、更准确的光线渲染

渲染射线轨迹 图时,可以使用新的设置来精确渲染几何形状中光线与表面的所有交点,即使它们与解数据中的输出时间步不对应也是如此。为了完美地渲染每条光线与表面的每个交点,旧的实现方法随着光线数成二次比例缩放,而新的设置随着光线数成线性比例缩放,当光线数非常大时,可能会有很大的加速效果。这也适用于计算光线与球体、半球或平面之间的交点。以下模型演示了这一新特征:

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本用户界面的特写视图,显示了“射线轨迹”设置,其中“数据”和“额外时间步”部分已展开,“图形”窗口中显示阶梯光栅光谱仪模型。 演示渲染射线轨迹的“全部”选项 “射线轨迹”绘图设置中新的“全部”选项使射线可视化更快、更准确。

绘图中的部分透明特征

绘图中的部分透明特征现在可以广泛用于很多应用领域中,但需要注意它在射线光学中的使用,原因是许多绘图中有多层,例如射线轨迹以及周围几何形状中的表面。通过部分透明特征,光线即使在通过相机筒传播时也可以更清晰地显示出来。您可以在以下模型中看到新透明特征的应用演示:

微型相机模组的部分透明模型,以彩虹颜色表显示内部的射线轨迹。 部分透明的相机模组模型 光线在透明透镜系统中绘制为不透明线。

域中的光散射

现在,您可以使用散射域 节点在包含水滴、灰尘、烟雾、气泡或其他小颗粒的域中对光线衰减进行建模。这个新特征可计算散射粒子的消光、散射和吸收横截面,支持瑞利理论、米氏理论以及光学大散射粒子的一些渐近模型。根据米氏理论计算消光和散射截面的函数现在可以作为通用函数使用,并且可以在 COMSOL® 软件中的任何位置使用。光线的消光可以是随机的,或者,如果求解光线强度,每条光线的强度可以连续衰减。

粗糙表面的反射和折射

此版本引入了散射边界 特征,使光线从表面散射的方式更具灵活性。现在,您可以选择散射光线的反射和透射。

表示一个表面的半透明灰色正方形模型,其中的线表示从表面向任一方向散射的光线。 光线从表面散射 散射表面边界条件下,光线可以在两个方向散射。

散射表面边界条件可用于表示更改表面斜率误差对点列图的影响。

理想透镜边界条件

理想透镜 特征可用于对具有已知焦距的近轴表面进行建模,您也可以使用薄透镜和厚透镜公式来指定等效的近轴透镜。

由灰色圆圈和表示光线的红色、黄色和绿色线组成的透镜模型。 理想透镜 理想透镜特征可用于对“完美”透镜建模。

新的基于圆锥体的光线释放:三维中的平锥

现在,在三维模型中,当释放光线锥时,可以选择定义一个光线扇或平锥。您可以将平锥光线束定向为位于任何平面中。此外,其他一些锥形光线释放特征在选择横向时提供了更大的灵活性,这意味着您现在可以更好地控制光线在锥形分布中的确切位置。

灰色双高斯透镜系统模型,光线显示为红色、橙色、黄色和绿色线,箭头指向透镜。 平锥中发出光线的示例 光线在 xy 平面的平锥中释放,并向双高斯透镜系统传播

真空波长、频率和其他变量的随机抽样

当您对光线的辅助因变量进行初始化时,可以确切地抽样它们的初始值,在 5.6 版本中,也可以随机抽样。使用随机选项时,您可以从内置的正态分布、对数正态分布或均匀分布中抽样。如果光线是多色的,您也可以从波长或频率分布中确切地或随机地抽样。

重置射线频率或真空波长

现在,当光线在边界上反射时,您可以选择重新初始化它们的真空波长或频率,既可以直接指定新值,也可以从分布中对其进行抽样。

从均匀分布中抽样操作得到优化

现在,当您对光线的辅助因变量进行初始化时,如果初始值是从“均匀分布”中抽样的,可以指定分布中的最大值和最小值(以前必须指定平均值和标准差),这也适用于释放复色光时射线频率或真空波长的初始值。您可以在 Czerny-Turner 单色器模型中看到这个新设置的应用演示。

吸收介电薄膜

现在,您可以通过将沉积射线功率 子节点添加到材料不连续 节点来计算边界上吸收介电薄膜的沉积射线功率。如果反射和折射表面具有复值折射率的薄涂层,那么部分能量将沉积到该表面上。此外,用于处理介电薄膜中复值折射率的符号法则已更新为与域中复值折射率的处理更加一致。

新的几何零件

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本“射线光学模块”的“零件库”提供了一个新的“球面多边形透镜”零件。

类似蜂窝图案的蓝色微透镜阵列的模型,以白色到深蓝色的渐变颜色表示的光线穿过阵列。 在仿真中使用新零件的示例 使用新的“球面多边形透镜”零件的微透镜阵列。

新的教学模型和 App

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本的“射线光学模块”引入了两个新的教学案例。

双高斯透镜图像仿真

双高斯透镜系统,用红色和黄色描绘光线,物面包含 COMSOL 徽标、文本“射线光学模块”和一张狗的照片。 双高斯透镜图像模型 光线基于导入的位图从物面(左)释放,并在穿过透镜系统后聚集在像平面(右)上。

“案例库”标题:

double_gauss_lens_image_simulation

从“案例下载”页面下载

Petzval 透镜几何调制传递函数

Petzval 透镜几何调制传递函数的一维绘图,带有从栅格 1 x、1 y、2 x、2 y、3 x 和 3 y 释放的不同的线。 几何调制传递函数图 Petzval 透镜的几何调制传递函数,使用“App 开发器”中编写的方法计算。

“案例库”标题: petzval_lens_geometric_modulation_transfer_function

从“案例下载”页面下载

Ray Optics Module Updates

For users of the Ray Optics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings faster and more accurate ray rendering, new dedicated features to scatter rays in dilute particle-laden media and on rough surfaces, and a new Ideal Lens feature for quick setup of paraxial lens systems without the need for a detailed geometry. Read more about these and other Ray Optics features below.

Faster and More Accurate Ray Rendering

When rendering a Ray Trajectories plot, a new setting can be used to accurately render all intersection points of rays with surfaces in the geometry, even if they do not correspond to output time steps in the solution data. To perfectly render every intersection point of every ray with a surface, the old implementations scaled quadratically with the number of rays, whereas the new behavior scales linearly with the number of rays, potentially giving a massive speedup when the number of rays is very large. This also applies to the calculation of intersection points between rays and a sphere, hemisphere, or plane. You can see this new feature in the following models:

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Ray Trajectories settings with the Data and Extra Time Steps sections expanded and an échelle spectrograph model in the Graphics window. Demonstrating the All option for rendering ray trajectories The new "All" option in the Ray Trajectories plot settings gives faster and more accurate ray visualization.

Partial Transparency in Plots

While partial transparency in plots can now be used across a wide range of application areas, its usage in ray optics is notable because many plots will have multiple layers, such as ray trajectories together with surfaces in the surrounding geometry. Partial transparency allows the rays to be shown more clearly even as they propagate through the barrel of a camera. You can see the new transparency feature in the following models:

A partially transparent model of a compact camera module showing the ray trajectories inside in a rainbow color table. Partially transparent camera module model Rays are drawn as opaque lines in a transparent lens system.

Optical Scattering in Domains

You can now model ray attenuation in a domain containing water droplets, dust, smoke, bubbles, or other small particles with the Scattering Domain node. This new feature computes the extinction, scattering, and absorption cross sections of the scattering particles. It supports Rayleigh theory, Mie theory, and some asymptotic models for optically large scattering particles. The functions that compute the extinction and scattering cross sections from the Mie theory are now available as general functions, and can be used anywhere in the COMSOL® software. The extinction of rays can be random or, if the ray intensity is solved for, each ray's intensity can be attenuated continuously.

Reflection and Refraction at Rough Surfaces

A Scattering Boundary feature has been introduced to allow for more flexibility in how rays are scattered from surfaces. You can now choose to scatter rays in reflection and transmission.

A model of a semitransparent gray square representing a surface and lines representing rays scattering off the surface in either direction. Rays scattering from a surface Rays can be scattered in both directions with the Scattering Surface boundary condition.

A Scattering Surface boundary condition can be used to show the effect of changing surface slope error on spot diagrams.

Ideal Lens Boundary Condition

An Ideal Lens feature can be used to model a paraxial surface with a known focal length. You can also use thin and thick lens formulations to specify the equivalent paraxial lens.

A lens model made up of gray circles and red, yellow, and green lines to represent the rays. Ideal lens The Ideal Lens feature can be used to model a "perfect" lens.

New Cone-Based Ray Release: Flat Cone in 3D

In 3D models, when you release a cone of rays, you can now choose to define a ray fan or a flat cone. You can orient the flattened cone of rays so that it lies in any plane. Additionally, some other conical ray release features offer more flexibility in choosing the transverse direction, meaning that you now have more control over the exact placement of rays in the conical distribution.

A gray double Gauss lens system model with rays visualized as red, orange, yellow, and green lines with arrows pointing toward the lens. Example of rays released in a flat cone Rays are released in a flat cone in the xy-plane and propagate toward a double Gauss lens system.

Random Sampling of Vacuum Wavelength, Frequency, and Other Variables

When you initialize auxiliary dependent variables on particles, you can sample their initial values deterministically or, new with version 5.6, randomly. When using the random option, you can sample from built-in normal, lognormal, or uniform distributions. You can also sample deterministically or randomly from a wavelength or frequency distribution if the rays are polychromatic.

Reset Ray Frequency or Vacuum Wavelength

When rays are reflected at a boundary, you can now choose to reinitialize their vacuum wavelength or frequency. You can specify a new value directly or sample it from a distribution.

Easier Sampling from Uniform Distributions

When you initialize auxiliary dependent variables on particles, if the initial values are sampled from a uniform distribution, you now specify the maximum and minimum value in the distribution. Previously, it was necessary to specify a mean and standard deviation. This also applies to initial values of the ray frequency or vacuum wavelength when releasing polychromatic light. You can see this new setting in the Czerny-Turner Monochromator model.

Absorbing Thin Dielectric Films

You can now compute the deposited ray power in absorbing thin dielectric films on boundaries by adding the Deposited Ray Power subnode to a Material Discontinuity node. If the reflecting and refracting surface has a thin coating with a complex-valued refractive index, then some energy will be deposited onto the surface. Additionally, the sign conventions for handling complex-valued refractive indices in thin dielectric films have been updated to be more consistent with the treatment of complex-valued refractive indices in domains.

New Geometry Parts

In COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6, the Part Library for the Ray Optics Module offers a new Spherical Polygonal Lens part.

A model of a blue microlens array resembling a honeycomb pattern with rays going through the array in a white to dark blue color gradient. Example of using the new part in a simulation Microlens array using the new Spherical Polygonal Lens part.

New Tutorial Models and Applications

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings two new tutorial models to the Ray Optics Module.

Double Gauss Lens Image Simulation

A double Gauss lens system with rays depicted in red and yellow and the object plane containing the COMSOL logo, text reading Ray Optics Module, and a photo of a dog. Double Gauss lens image model Rays are released from the object plane (left) based on an imported bitmap and are collected on the image plane (right) after passing through the lens system.

Application Library Title:

double_gauss_lens_image_simulation

Download from the Application Gallery

Petzval Lens Geometric Modulation Transfer Function

A 1D plot of the geometric modulation transfer function for a Petzval lens with different lines for Release from Grid 1 x, 1 y, 2 x, 2 y, 3 x, and 3 y. Geometric modulation transfer function plot The geometric modulation transfer function for a Petzval lens, computed using methods written in the Application Builder.

Application Library Title:

petzval_lens_geometric_modulation_transfer_function

Download from the Application Gallery