RF 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为“RF 模块”的用户引入了一个用于渐进分析雷达散射截面 (RCS) 的新物理场接口、一个更快运行端口扫描的研究步骤,还引入了新的教学案例,用于解决 5G 设备、相控天线阵列和虚拟 EMI/EMC 测试中的热结构效应。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解这些新增功能。

快速分析导电凸形物体的雷达散射截面

当散射对象的形状是凸形(例如球形)时,您可以使用新的电磁波,渐近散射 接口来快速研究三维或二维对象对给定背景场的远场响应。渐近散射方法还将为更一般类别的对象提供快速近似答案,使用后处理中执行的 Stratton–Chu 公式为远场转换设置了表面电场背景场。您可以在导电球的快速雷达散射截面渐近分析模型中看到这个新接口的应用演示。

热像仪颜色表中带条纹的球体,其周围是部分透明的 RCS 图样。 分析 RCS 的示例 绘图是入射在 PEC 球表面上的背景场,其中包含部分透明的三维 RCS 图样。

求解快速端口扫描

使用新增的频域源扫描 研究步骤运行频域研究,在端口和集总端口之间扫描,计算全 S 参数 矩阵。此研究步骤的设置与频域 研究步骤的设置相似,并且比传统的端口扫描(需要参数化扫描步骤)简单得多。您可以在 H 弯波导 - 二维模型中看到这个新特征的应用演示。

端口增强

现在可以在二维和二维轴对称模型中使用支持用户定义的电势和接地边界的横电磁 (TEM) 端口类型。此外,无需定义电流的磁场积分线即可计算数值 TEM 阻抗。使用端口边界上的平均功率流计算端口阻抗,并通过电场线积分计算电压。最后,现在可以通过输入功率配置集总端口激励。

增强了特征频率研究的易用性

此版本更新了特征频率研究,以减少建模步骤的数量并提高易用性。在特征频率仿真后 ,软件会自动计算特征频率和 Q 因子,并以表格形式呈现出来。

Signal Microwave 提供的其他零件

RF 零件库中新增四个边缘发射连接器,由 Signal Microwave 提供。

用于 RF 建模的四种不同的连接器几何零件。 边缘发射连接器零件 边缘发射连接器 ELF110-001、ELF110-002、ELFT40-001 和 ELFT40-002。

偏振图类型

偏振 绘图类型描述了周期性结构(例如频率选择性表面或超材料)中不同衍射级的偏振状态。当仿真中包含周期性端口时,这是默认绘图,也可以在后处理时手动添加。您可以在六边形光栅(波动光学)模型中看到这个新绘图类型的应用演示。

绘制了三个衍射级的偏振态,其中的相位以彩虹弧度表示。 偏振图示例 六边形光栅模型中三个衍射级的偏振状态。

模式分析中散射边界条件的斜入射角

对于模式分析,散射 边界条件现在可以使用斜入射角,也就是说,它可以有效地吸收由与边界相切的模式传播常数和剩余的法向分量组成的波矢,这改进了损耗波导模式分析中的损耗计算。您可以在微结构光纤中的漏模模型中看到这个新特征的应用演示。

微结构光纤的四个二维模型,以彩虹颜色表显示切向电场、切向磁场、纵向电场和纵向磁场的不同图样。 微结构光纤模型 图中显示微结构光纤中两种简并 HE11 模式之一的切向和纵向电场和磁场模。

控制高斯光束大小的输入功率

在高斯光束背景场以及散射匹配 边界条件的输入框,可以通过提供输入功率来指定光束的大小。您可以在自聚焦模型中看到这一功能的应用演示。

在彩虹颜色表中建模的高斯光束的电场。 高斯光束大小示例 高斯光束在折射率与强度相关的介质中传播时的归一化电场。强度越高,折射率越大,光束越聚焦。

由通用表达式定义的参考点

现在,用户可以从一般矢量表达式中指定 散射 匹配边界条件的 参考点子特征。这样,在这些边界条件下,可以更加容易地将输入高斯光束的传播方向参数化。

带有红色、白色和蓝色条纹图案的圆,显示高斯光束的可视化效果。

高斯光束

沿任意方向朝着圆心处的焦平面传播的高斯光束。

相关材料属性组之间的材料参数同步

相对介电常数、折射率、损耗角正切和介电损耗材料属性可以使各组之间的材料参数同步。因此,如果添加一种材料并由折射率材料属性组指定,则波动方程,电 节点中的电位移场 设置可以使用上述任何一种材料模型。如果所需参数不能直接在材料中获得,则使用同步规则创建参数。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版本用户界面的特写视图,其中显示 RO4003C 层合板的材料设置。 材料设置 RO4003C™ 层合板材料由所提供的相对介电常数实部 epsilonPrim 和耗散因子 tanDelta 的频率插值函数指定。在这个示例中,波动方程,电特征请求将复相对介电常数作为材料参数,因此,该参数与两个可用的材料参数同步,如 材料属性明细表格的最后一行所示。

广泛支持特征频率分析

现在,大多数“AC/DC 模块”接口都支持特征频率 研究:电流壳内电流多层壳中的电流电路静电磁场。除了支持磁场 接口中的全波腔模式分析外,还可以对涉及电路的模型运行特征频率分析。这种特征频率支持主要是为“AC/DC 模块”开发,但提供相关受影响的物理场接口的其他模块也将从中受益。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”、“全局计算”设置(其中展开了“数据”和“表达式”栏),以及 RLC 电路特征频率分析的探针图。 特征频率分析示例 一个简单 RLC 电路的共振峰,其中分析特征频率和 Q 因子,并将结果与解析确定值进行比较。

新增和增强的电路接口功能

电路 接口为瞬态 研究配备了一个“基于事件”的开关 特征,使您可以对电路中某些连接的“瞬时”双位开关进行建模。开关可以由电流、电压或用户定义的布尔表达式进行控制。

此外,新版本还添加了参数化子电路定义,您可以将其与子电路实例 结合使用,从而创建包含较小电路的构建块,并在较大的电路中使用这些构建块的多个参数化变体。最后,状态、事件和求解器的机制也得到了改进,尤其是非线性(半导体)器件的瞬态建模变得更加稳定。

电路的功能改进主要是为“AC/DC 模块”开发的,但其他提供电路 接口的模块也将受益。以下更新的模型演示了这一新功能:

新旋度形函数

现在可以使用第二类 Nédélec 有限元。对于每个场分量,这种单元类型或形函数在所有方向上都具有完整的多项式阶数。这可以为较低阶数的形函数或较粗化网格的某些有限元问题提供解,还可以使后处理中得到的场看起来更平滑。您可以在轨道角动量光束模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

轨道角动量光束的彩虹相位图。 演示新的旋度形函数 轨道角动量光束。使用新的旋度形函数,获得的相位图看起来更平滑。

显示新后处理功能的更新教学案例

“RF 模块”“案例库”中的多个教学案例已更新,引入了更实用的后处理特征。

功能 模型
计算波束宽度 辐射方向图中的半功率波束宽度计算 dipole_antenna
透明子特征 每个绘图分别应用部分透明 dipole_antenna
cavity_filter_5g
图形标记子特征 最大和最小点 cylinder_orientation
Touchstone 导出 使用已保存的解导出的 Touchstone coupled_line_filter
y 两个 y 轴分别缩放的多个绘图 branch_line_coupler

新的教学案例

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本的“RF 模块”引入了多个新的教学案例。

腔体滤波器的热结构效应

适用于 5G 应用的腔体滤波器的部分透明模型,其中将因加热引起的结构变化可视化。 腔体滤波器模型 在毫米波 5G 频段工作的级联腔滤波器的多物理场分析,其结构会随温度发生变化。图中显示了腔壁上的电场 z 分量以及电场的箭头图。腔体由部分透明的颜色表示。

“案例库”标题:
cavity_filter_5g
从“案例下载”页面下载

电路板的基本发射和抗干扰分析

以部分透明的框显示的电路板模型。 电路板模型 ABS 和不完整传导壁构成外壳的样机电路板。一部分传导壁没有包含在内,以清楚地显示内部结构。此图中未显示周围的空气域。

“案例库”标题:
circuit_emiemc
从“案例下载”页面下载

导电球的快速雷达散射截面渐近分析

热像仪颜色表、RCS 和背景电场中带有条纹的球体。 RCS 分析模型 图中将背景电场的 z 分量和分贝标度的双基地雷达散射截面可视化。

“案例库”标题:
rcs_sphere_asymptotic
从“案例下载”页面下载

相控阵天线建模

相控阵天线的模型,其电场模和远场辐射方向图以彩虹颜色表显示。 相控阵天线模型 将算术相位级数设置为最大辐射偏离法向轴 30 度时,绘制的电场模和分贝标度的远场辐射方向图。

“案例库”标题:
microstrip_patch_antenna_periodic
从“案例下载”页面下载

RF Module Updates

For users of the RF Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 introduces a new physics interface analyzing radar cross sections (RCS) asymptotically, a study step that runs a port sweep faster, and new tutorial models addressing thermostructural effects in a 5G device, phased antenna arrays, and virtual EMI/EMC tests. Learn more about the news below.

Quickly Analyze the RCS of a Conductive Convex-Shaped Object

When the shape of a scattering object is convex, such as a sphere, you can use the new Electromagnetic Waves, Asymptotic Scattering interface to run quick studies of the far-field response of a 3D or 2D object to a given background field. The asymptotic scattering method will also give fast approximate answers for more general classes of objects. The physics interface sets up a surface electric background field for the far-field transformation, using the Stratton–Chu formula, performed in postprocessing. You can see this new interface used in the Fast Asymptotic RCS Analysis of a Conductive Sphere model.

A sphere with stripes in the heat camera color table with a partially transparent RCS pattern around it. Example of analyzing RCS The background field incident on the surface of a PEC sphere is plotted with the 3D RCS pattern that is partially transparent.

Solving for Fast Port Sweep

Use the new study step, Frequency Domain Source Sweep, to run a frequency domain study that is sweeping among ports and lumped ports calculating a full S-parameter matrix. The settings for this study step are similar to those for the Frequency Domain study step, and much simpler than the traditional port sweep, which requires a parametric sweep step. You can see this new feature in the H-Bend Waveguide 2D model.

Port Enhancement

The transverse electromagnetic (TEM) port type supporting the user-defined electric potential and ground boundaries is now available in 2D and 2D axisymmetric models. Also, numeric TEM impedance calculation is possible without defining the magnetic field integration line for the current. The port impedance is computed using the average power flow on the port boundary, and the voltage is calculated by the electric field line integration. Lastly, lumped port excitation can now be configured by input power.

Enhanced Usability of Eigenfrequency Study

The eigenfrequency study has been updated to reduce the number of modeling steps and enhance usability. After the eigenfrequency simulation, the eigenfrequencies and Q-factors are automatically evaluated and presented in a table.

Additional Parts from Signal Microwave

Four new edge-launch connectors are added in the RF part library, provided by Signal Microwave.

Four different connector geometry parts for RF modeling. Edge-launch connector parts Edge launch connector ELF110-001, ELF110-002, ELFT40-001, and ELFT40-002.

Polarization Plot Type

The Polarization plot type depicts the polarization state for the different diffraction orders seen in a periodic structure, such as a frequency-selective surface or metamaterial. It is used for default plots when periodic ports are included in the simulation, and can be added manually when postprocessing. You can see this new plot type used in the Hexagonal Grating (Wave Optics) model.

Polarization states plotted for three diffraction orders where the phases are shown in rainbow radians. Polarization plot example Polarization states for three diffraction orders in the Hexagonal Grating model.

Oblique Angle of Incidence for Scattering Boundary Condition in Mode Analysis

For mode analysis, the Scattering boundary condition can now use an oblique angle of incidence. That is, it can efficiently absorb waves with a wave vector composed of the mode's propagation constant directed tangentially to the boundary and a remaining normal component. This improves loss calculation in mode analyses for lossy waveguides. You can see this new feature in the Leaky Modes in a Microstructured Optical Fiber model.

Four 2D models of a microstructured optical fiber, visualizing different patterns in a rainbow color table for tangential electric field, tangential magnetic field, longitudinal electric field, and longitudinal magnetic field. Microstructured optical fiber model This graph shows the norm of the tangential and longitudinal electric and magnetic fields for one of the two degenerate HE11-like modes in a microstructured optical fiber.

Input Power to Control Gaussian Beam Amplitude

For Gaussian beam background fields and input fields to the Scattering and Matched boundary conditions, the amplitude of the beam can be specified by providing the input power. You can view this in the Self-Focusing model.

The electric field of a Gaussian beam modeled in a rainbow color table. Gaussian beam amplitude example The normalized electric field for a Gaussian beam propagation through a medium with an intensity-dependent refractive index. The higher intensity, the larger the refractive index becomes, and the tighter the beam is focused.

Reference Point Defined by a General Expression

The Reference Point subfeature to the Scattering and Matched boundary conditions can now be specified from a general vector expression. This makes it simpler to parameterize the propagation direction of input Gaussian beams for these boundary conditions.

A circle with a red, white, and blue striped pattern visualizing a Gaussian beam. Gaussian beam
A Gaussian beam propagating in an arbitrary direction toward the focal plane at the center of the circle.

Synchronization of Material Parameters Between Related Material Property Groups

The relative permittivity, refractive index, loss tangent, and dielectric loss material properties can synchronize the material parameters between groups. Thus, if a material is added and specified by the refractive index material property group, the Electric Displacement Field setting in the Wave Equation, Electric node can be any of the mentioned material models. If the required parameters are not directly available in the material, the parameters are created using a synchronization rule.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI with the material settings shown for RO4003C laminates. Material settings The RO4003C™ Laminates material is specified by the provided real part of the relative permittivity, epsilonPrim, and the frequency interpolation function for the dissipation factor, tanDelta. In this example, the Wave Equation, Electric feature requests the complex relative permittivity as the material parameter. Thus, that parameter is synchronized from the two available material parameters, as seen in the last row in the Material Contents table.

Wide Support for Eigenfrequency Analysis

The Eigenfrequency study is now supported for most of the AC/DC Module interfaces: Electric Currents, Electric Currents in Shells, Electric Currents in Layered Shells, Electrical Circuit, Electrostatics, and Magnetic Fields. In addition to supporting full-wave cavity mode analysis in the Magnetic Fields interface, it is possible to run eigenfrequency analyses with models involving electrical circuits. The eigenfrequency support is primarily developed for the AC/DC Module, but other modules that provide one of the affected physics interfaces will benefit from it too.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Model Builder, Global Evaluation settings with the Data and Expressions sections expanded, and a probe plot for the eigenfrequency analysis of an RLC circuit. Eigenfrequency analysis example The resonance peak of a simple RLC circuit. The eigenfrequency and Q-factor are analyzed and compared to analytically determined values.

New and Enhanced Functionality for the Electrical Circuit Interface

For Time Dependent studies, the Electrical Circuit interface has been equipped with an "event-based" Switch feature. This allows you to model the "instantaneous" on-off switching of certain connections in the circuit. The switch can be current controlled, voltage controlled, or controlled by user-defined Boolean expressions.

Furthermore, Parameterized Subcircuit Definitions are added. Together with the Subcircuit Instance, these allow you to create your own building blocks containing smaller circuits, and use multiple parameterized variants of those in your larger circuit. Finally, the state, event, and solver machinery has been improved, especially the transient modeling of nonlinear (semiconductor) devices, which has become more robust.

The circuit improvements are primarily developed for the AC/DC Module, but other modules that provide access to the Electrical Circuit interface will benefit too. You can view the new functionality in these updated models:

New Curl Shape Function

The Nédélec finite element of the second kind is now available. This element type, or shape function, has full polynomial orders in all directions for each field component. This can give a solution to certain finite element problems for lower shape orders, or with coarser meshes, and it can also make the resulting fields look smoother in postprocessing. You can see this new functionality in the Orbital Angular Momentum Beam model.

A rainbow phase plot of an orbital angular momentum beam. Demonstrating the new curl shape function An orbital angular momentum beam. The use of the new curl shape function makes the phase plot look smoother.

Updated Tutorial Models Showing Useful Postprocessing Functionality

Several tutorial models in the RF Module Application Libraries have been updated to introduce useful postprocessing features.

Item Functionality Model
Compute beam width Half power beam width calculation in a radiation pattern plot dipole_antenna
Transparency subfeature Partial transparency separately applied on each plot dipole_antenna
cavity_filter_5g
Graph Marker subfeature Maximum and minimum point cylinder_orientation
Touchstone export Touchstone export using the saved solution coupled_line_filter
Two y-axes Multiple plots with two y-axes scaled separately branch_line_coupler

New Tutorial Models

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings several new tutorial models to the RF Module.

Thermostructural Effect of a Cavity Filter

A partially transparent model of a cavity filter for 5G applications visualizing structural changes due to heating. Cavity filter model Multiphysics analysis of a cascaded cavity filter operating in the millimeter-wave 5G band with temperature-induced structural changes. The electric field z-component on the cavity walls as well as the arrow plot of the electric field are shown. The cavity body is finished by partially transparent colors.

Application Library Title:
cavity_filter_5g
Download from the Application Gallery

Basic Emission and Immunity Analysis of a Circuit Board

A circuit board model shown in a partially transparent box. Circuit board model Mockup circuit board with an ABS enclosure finished by incomplete conductive walls. Some of the conductive walls are not included to show the interior clearly. The surrounding air domain is not shown in this figure.

Application Library Title:
circuit_emiemc
Download from the Application Gallery

Fast Asymptotic Radar Cross-Section Analysis of a Conductive Sphere

A sphere with stripes in the heat camera color table, RCS, and background electric field. RCS analysis model The z-component of the background electric field and dB-scaled bistatic radar cross section are visualized.

Application Library Title:
rcs_sphere_asymptotic
Download from the Application Gallery

Modeling of a Phased Array Antenna

A model of a phased array antenna with the electric field norm and far-field radiation pattern shown in a rainbow color table. Phased array antenna model The electric field norm and dB-scaled far-field radiation pattern are plotted when the arithmetic phase progression is set to have the maximum radiation toward 30 degrees tilted from the normal axis.

Application Library Title:
microstrip_patch_antenna_periodic
Download from the Application Gallery