多孔介质流模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为“多孔介质流模块”的用户引入了新的多层达西定律 接口、用于为多孔介质中的热湿传递建模的新接口和特征,以及针对现有稀物质传递多孔介质传热 接口的改进特征。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解这些更新。

“多孔弹性,多层壳”多物理场接口

新增的多孔弹性,多层壳 多物理场接口支持模拟每层具有不同材料属性的多层域(纸板、复合材料等),其中添加了多层壳 和新的多层达西定律 接口,以及新的分层多孔弹性 多物理场节点。

在上述多物理场接口中使用的新的多层达西定律 接口可以模拟流体流过分层多孔介质(如纸板、复合材料或胶合板)间隙的流动,这通常是渗透率和孔隙率非常小,且压力梯度是主要驱动力的低速流动和多孔介质流动。

新的多层达西定律接口

新的多层达西定律 接口可用于模拟流体流过分层多孔介质(如纸板、复合材料或胶合板)间隙的流动,这通常是渗透率和孔隙率非常小,且压力梯度是主要驱动力的低速流动和多孔介质流动。

此外,通过新的多孔弹性,多层壳 多物理场接口,您可以对每层具有不同材料属性的多层域(纸板、复合材料等)进行建模,其中添加了多层壳 和新的多层达西定律 接口,以及新的分层多孔弹性 多物理场节点。多层壳 接口需要“复合材料模块”。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面,显示“模型开发器”,其中突出显示了“多层达西定律”接口,还显示了相应“设置”窗口,右侧显示多孔薄层中的压力分布结果。 演示多层达西定律接口 多层达西定律接口模拟的多孔薄层中的压力分布。

新的多孔介质特征

此版本新增的多孔介质处理特征可用于定义不同的相:固体、流体和静止流体。在多孔介质传热 接口中,多孔介质 特征用于管理材料结构,并为每个相(流体多孔基体 和(可选的)静止流体 )提供专门的子特征。这个新的工作流程不仅更加清晰,可以改善用户体验;还以更自然的方式促进多孔介质的多物理场耦合。通过与水分输送多孔介质流动 接口结合使用,多孔介质传热的功能改进支持对多孔介质中的非等温流动和潜热储存进行建模。

以下模型使用了这一新设置:

多孔介质中的热湿传递

此版本新增了接口和特征,用于模拟充满湿空气和液态水的多孔介质中耦合的热湿传递。默认情况下,新的多孔介质中的水分输送 接口提供吸湿性多孔介质 特征,可用于通过蒸汽对流和扩散以及液态水对流和毛细管流动来模拟多孔介质中的水分输送。新接口通过对液体毛细管通量进行建模并添加对重力的支持,可分析由于总压变化引起的液相和气相对流问题。它可以与湿空气 特征结合使用,模拟湿空气流对多孔介质的影响。

传热 接口中,新的含湿多孔介质 域特征分别定义了固体、液态水和湿空气的有效材料属性。湿空气 子节点通过分析湿度来定义材料属性,并计算湿空气中的对流通量和扩散焓通量。液态水 子节点定义液态水饱和度和速度场,可通过热湿 多物理场耦合(如果可用)自动设置。固体属性由多孔基体 子节点处理。这些新功能可用于干燥和蒸发冷却应用。

样例显示为二维矩形,其中流线以彩虹颜色表形式将气流和蒸汽浓度可视化。 潮湿的样品暴露于干燥、温暖的气流中 暴露于干燥、温暖气流中的潮湿样品中的蒸汽浓度和总通量流线。在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本中,多孔介质中的热湿传递新特征简化了模型设置。

稀物质传递的多孔介质特征得到改进

新版本对多孔介质中的稀物质传递 接口进行了改进,以使用新的多孔介质 节点。多孔介质中的稀物质传递 接口中添加了两个新的域特征:多孔介质非饱和多孔介质 节点。您可以使用新的多孔介质 节点为多孔介质中的多个相指派材料属性。新节点具有专门的选项来定义液体、气体和多孔基体的属性。您可以在活性炭芯陶瓷滤水器教学案例中看到此功能的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.6 版用户界面的特写视图,显示了“多孔介质中的稀物质传递”设置,“图形”窗口中显示陶瓷滤水器滤棒模型。 演示更新的多孔介质特征 陶瓷滤水器滤棒中的污染物浓度。

在流体传热中自动检测理想气体材料

各种传热接口中提供的流体 特征已更新,用户可以利用理想气体假设来提高计算效率。流体类型 列表中新增的来自材料 选项可以自动检测每个域选择应用的材料是否为理想气体,并针对每种情况使用相关属性。例如,在计算可压缩非等温流动中的压力功时,这可以加快计算速度。由于 COMSOL Multiphysics® 和“材料库”中提供的气体被模拟为理想气体,许多包含可压缩非等温流动的模型将受益于这一改进。

LED 灯泡模型,使用热像仪颜色表以深蓝色到白色的颜色渐变显示灯泡周围的速度和灯泡内的温度。 使用自动检测理想气体公式的 LED 灯泡模型 LED 灯泡中的温度分布(表面图)和速度(箭头和流线)。在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本中,通过自动使用理想气体公式,计算时间缩短了 10%。

相变界面边界条件

新的相变界面 边界条件与变形几何特征相结合,定义了对应于两个不同相的两个域之间的界面。此边界条件基于 Stefan 条件;它设置相变温度,根据相变潜热定义前沿速度,并指定固体侧和热通量突变计算。此边界条件将相变模拟为尖锐的界面,可用于多种应用,包括纯金属熔化,如锡熔化前沿模型,或者凝固或升华,如冷冻干燥模型。

冷冻干燥的仿真结果,在热像仪颜色表中,固体和蒸汽显示在左侧,温度和总热通量显示在右侧。 冷冻干燥模型 气相和固相(左)以及相变界面、温度和总热通量流线(右)。

新的教学模型和 App

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本的“多孔介质流模块”引入了多个新教学案例。

在微观尺度上分析多孔结构

一个灰色多孔结构模型,其中用浅绿色和深紫色流线表示流动。 多孔结构模型 复杂多孔结构中的流动。

“案例库”标题:
pore_scale_flow_3D

从“案例下载”页面下载

多孔微通道散热器的优化

灰色微通道散热器的模型,其温度以开尔文表示,使用红色到白色的颜色渐变和深蓝色到白色的箭头表示通过散热器的流场。 多孔微通道散热器模型 优化的多孔微通道散热器的温度分布和流场。

“案例库”标题:
porous_microchannel_heat_sink_optimization

从“案例下载”页面下载

Porous Media Flow Module Updates

For users of the Porous Media Flow Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings a new Layered Darcy's Law interface, new interfaces and features for modeling heat and moisture transport in porous media, and revamped features for the existing Transport of Diluted Species and Heat Transfer in Porous Media interfaces. Learn more about the updates below.

Poroelasticity, Layered Shell Multiphysics Interface

The new Poroelasticity, Layered Shell multiphysics interface enables modeling of multilayered domains (paperboards, composites, etc.) having different material properties per layer. The interface adds the Layered Shell and the new Layered Darcy’s Law interfaces, together with a new Layered Poroelasticity multiphysics node.

The new Layered Darcy’s Law interface, which is used in the above multiphysics interface, simulates the fluid flow through interstices in layered porous media, such as paperboards, composites, or plywood. You can model low-velocity flows and porous media flow where the permeability and porosity are very small, and for which the pressure gradient is the major driving force.

New Layered Darcy’s Law Interface

The new Layered Darcy’s Law interface can be used to simulate fluid flow through interstices in layered porous media, such as paperboard, composites, or plywood. You have the ability to model low-velocity flows and porous media flow where the permeability and porosity are very small and for which the pressure gradient is the major driving force.

Additionally, the new Poroelasticity, Layered Shell multiphysics interface allows the modeling of multilayer domains (paperboard, composites, etc.) having different material properties per layer. The interface adds the Layered Shell and the new Layered Darcy’s Law interfaces, together with the new Layered Poroelasticity multiphysics node. The Layered Shell interface requires the Composite Materials Module.

The COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI showing the Model Builder with the Layered Darcy's Law interface highlighted and the corresponding Settings window, as well as the results for the pressure distribution in a thin porous layer to the right. Demonstrating the Layered Darcy's Law interface Pressure distribution in a thin porous layer, modeled with the Layered Darcy's Law interface.

New Porous Medium Feature

A new feature for handling a porous medium is available for defining the different phases: solids, fluids, and immobile fluids. In the Heat Transfer in Porous Media interface, the Porous Medium feature is used to manage the material structure with a dedicated subfeature for each phase: Fluid, Porous Matrix, and optionally, Immobile Fluids. This new workflow provides added clarity and improves the user experience. It also facilitates multiphysics couplings in porous media in a more natural way. Combined with the Moisture Transport and Porous Media Flow interfaces, the heat transfer in porous media improvements enable the modeling of nonisothermal flow and latent heat storage in porous media.

You can see this new setup in the following models:

Heat and Moisture Transport in Porous Media

There are new interfaces and features for modeling coupled heat and moisture transport in porous media filled with moist air and liquid water. The new Moisture Transport in Porous Media interface provides a Hygroscopic Porous Medium feature by default, and can be used to model moisture transport in porous media by vapor convection and diffusion, as well as liquid water convection and capillary flow. The new interface accounts for convection in both liquid and gas phases due to total pressure variations, by modeling the liquid capillary flux, and by adding support for gravity forces. It can be combined with the Moist Air feature to model the effect of a moist air flow on a porous medium.

In the Heat Transfer interface, the new Moist Porous Medium domain feature defines effective material properties from the solid, liquid water, and moist air properties individually. The Moist Air subnode defines the material properties by taking into account the moisture content, and computes the convective flux and diffusive enthalpy flux in moist air. The Liquid Water subnode defines the liquid water saturation and velocity field, which may be automatically set by the Heat and Moisture multiphysics coupling, if available. The solid properties are handled by the Porous Matrix subnode. These new functionalities can be used for drying and evaporative cooling applications.

A sample is shown as a rectangle in 2D with streamlines visualizing the airflow and vapor concentration shown in a rainbow color table. Moist sample exposed to dry, warm airflow Concentration of vapor and total flux streamlines in a moist sample exposed to a dry and warm airflow. In COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6, the model setup is facilitated by the new features for heat and moisture transport in porous media.

Revamped Porous Media Features for Transport of Diluted Species

The Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media interface is revamped to use the new Porous Medium node. Two new domain features, the Porous Medium and the Unsaturated Porous Medium nodes, are available in the Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media interface. You can use the new Porous Medium node for assigning material properties to the multiple phases in a porous medium. The new nodes have dedicated containers to define the properties for the liquid, gas, and porous matrix. You can see this functionality demonstrated in the Ceramic Water Filter with Activated Carbon Core tutorial model.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.6 UI with the settings shown for Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media and a ceramic water filter candle model in the Graphics window. Demonstrating the updated porous media features Contaminant concentration in a ceramic water filter candle.

Automatic Detection of Ideal Gas Material in Heat Transfer in Fluids

The Fluid feature, available within the various heat transfer interfaces, has been updated to take advantage of the ideal gas assumption to improve computational efficiency. The new From material option of the Fluid type list automatically detects whether the material applied on each domain selection is an ideal gas or not, and uses the relevant properties for either case. This may speed up computation when computing pressure work in compressible nonisothermal flows, for example. Since the gases available in COMSOL Multiphysics® and in the Material Library are modeled as ideal gases, many models with compressible nonisothermal flow are expected to benefit from this improvement.

A model of an LED bulb visualizing the velocity around the bulb in a color gradient from dark blue to white and the temperature in the bulb using the heat camera color table. An LED bulb model that uses automatic detection of the ideal gas formulation Temperature distribution (surface plot) and velocity (arrows and streamlines) in an LED bulb. By using the ideal gas formulation automatically, the computational time is 10% shorter in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6.

Phase Change Interface Boundary Condition

The new Phase Change Interface boundary condition, combined with the deformed geometry feature, defines the interface between two domains corresponding to two different phases. This boundary condition is based on the Stefan condition; it sets the phase change temperature, defines the front velocity from the latent heat of phase change, and specifies the solid side and heat flux jump evaluation. This boundary condition models the phase transformation as a sharp interface and can be used for a number of applications, including pure metal melting, as seen in the Tin Melting Front model, or solidification or sublimation, as seen in the Freeze-Drying model.

Simulation results for freeze-drying, with the solid and vapor shown to the left and temperature and total heat fluxes shown on the right in the heat camera color table. Freeze-drying model Gas and solid phases (left), and phase change interface, temperature, and total heat flux streamlines (right).

New Tutorial Models and Applications

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 brings new tutorial models to the Porous Media Flow Module.

Analyzing Porous Structures on the Microscopic Scale

A model of a gray porous structure with pale green and dark purple streamlines to denote flow. Porous structure model Flow in a complex porous structure.

Application Library Title:
pore_scale_flow_3D

Download from the Application Gallery

Optimization of a Porous Microchannel Heat Sink

A model of a gray microchannel heat sink with temperature shown in Kelvin using a red-to-white color gradient and dark-blue-to-white arrows to denote the flow field through the heat sink. Porous microchannel heat sink model Temperature distribution and flow field for the optimized porous microchannel heat sink.

Application Library Title:
porous_microchannel_heat_sink_optimization

Download from the Application Gallery