研究和求解器更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本实现了速度更快、内存效率更高的多核和集群计算,并添加了新的域分解 功能和新的特征值求解器,等等。请阅读以下内容,了解有关研究和求解器的所有更新功能。

多核与集群计算的性能提升

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为求解过程引入了多项性能改进。特别需要指出的是,对于雅可比矩阵组装和代数多重网格预条件器,减少了内存需求,这对于多核与集群计算的效果非常显著。此外,多重网格法中使用的最重要的平滑器现在效率更高,集群计算尤其如此。

我们以下面的 Ahmed 类车体 CFD 基准模型(其特征是湍流)为例来说明这项功能改进。与“案例下载”中的版本相比,基准测试中使用的模型具有细化网格,在 16 节点集群上有 630 万个自由度。为进行比较,我们将 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本更新 3 和 5.6 版本安装在每个节点有 48 个核心(2x 英特尔® 至强® 铂金 8260 24 个内核)的集群上。比较中使用的求解器是代数多重网格求解器 (SA-AMG),作为具有对称耦合高斯-赛德尔平滑器(在比较图中表示为 MG)的 GMRES 的预条件器。此外,重叠的域分解 (Schwarz) 方法用作 GMRES 的预条件器,多重网格法用作域求解器(表示为 DD)。下图通过绘制计算时间与节点数的关系图,以及内存使用量与节点数的关系图,显示了性能的提升。

Ahmed 类车体三维模型可视化效果,显示了金属光泽、黄色、绿色、青绿色和蓝色流线,其周围是白色网格。 Ahmed 类车体周围的流线和垂直横截面中的网格。
0 到 1800 秒与 1 到 16 个节点的关系图,蓝线表示 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.5 版本更新 3 的情况,黄线表示 5.6 版本的情况。 优化版 Ahmed 类车体基准模型的挂钟计算时间。
0 到 5000 MB 内存与 1 到 16 个节点的关系图,蓝线表示 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.5 版本更新 3 的情况,黄线表示 5.6 版本的情况。 优化版 Ahmed 类车体基准模型的物理内存使用情况。

域分解的吸收边界条件

在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本中,用户可以为域分解 方法使用的域边界选择吸收边界条件。这对求解亥姆霍兹方程非常有用,对于声学分析尤其如此,并且可用于基于不重叠 Schur 和重叠 Schwarz 的域分解 方法。和以前的版本相比,它能够求解更大的波动问题。这些新方法主要用于集群计算。


汽车车厢模型,其中声场用红色、白色和蓝色显示。 使用 域分解 (Schur) 方法的新 吸收边界条件在 5 kHz 下求解的汽车车厢声学问题。该模型具有 3000 万个自由度,分为 10 个域。当使用 10 个集群节点,每个节点具有 48 个内核(2x 英特尔® 至强® 铂金 8260 24 个内核)时,挂钟计算时间为 2900 秒,内存峰值为 118 GB。

FEAST:新的特征值求解器

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本带来了 FEAST 接口,这是一个用来查找复平面中椭圆轮廓内的特征值的求解器。它支持 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中常见的对称或非对称公式。该方法还支持自动计算轮廓内的特征值数量,这对于提升稳定性和性能非常重要。FEAST 的一个重要方面是沿等值线的每个积分点求解不同的线性方程组,并且这些问题都是独立的。利用集群计算,可以并行使用 FEAST 以提高性能。

新增用于纳维-斯托克斯方程的预条件器

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为 CFD 添加了新的预条件器块纳维-斯托克斯。它基于 SIMPLE 和 SIMPLEC 等经典方法,即使在不可压缩流动的情况下,也可以单独求解速度和压力方程。这反过来又可以将标准的多重网格技术与 SOR 或 SOR Line 平滑器结合使用。与之前的版本相比,CPU 时间可以减少多达 50%。该方法在离散能级上实现,因此可以与包含湍流模型和伪时间步进在内的多种公式一起使用。

GMRES 的新选项:重用 Krylov 空间

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.6 版本为主流的迭代求解器 GMRES 添加了新选项:使用 GCRO-DR。如果激活该选项,当 GMRES 方法重新启动时,它会重用并改进已构建的空间,而不是从空的 Krylov 空间重新启动。这使得该方法在重启动点(收敛之前通常会严重恶化)以外更加有用。现在,可以无缝实现重新启动,并且在典型情况下,重新启动的代价要小得多。使用非线性、参数化或瞬态求解器再次求解时,也可以重用 Krylov 空间。该方法以与 FGMRES 类似的方式存储两倍的矢量,但额外的存储仅在重新启动时起作用。在这一点上,通常值得占用内存开销以获取更可靠的特性。该方法可以看作是一种精简且快速的近似完整 GMRES 方法,或者是 TFQMRBiCGStab 的替代方法,但没有这些方法所共有的某些不可预测的收敛特性。


英特尔和至强是英特尔公司在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

Studies and Solvers Updates

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 includes faster and more memory-lean multicore and cluster computing, new Domain Decomposition functionality, a new eigenvalue solver, and more. Learn about all of the updates relating to studies and solvers below.

Performance Improvements for Multicore and Cluster Computing

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 includes several performance improvements for the solution process. In particular, the memory requirements are reduced for Jacobian matrix assembly as well as for the algebraic multigrid preconditioner. The reduction is significant for both multicore and cluster computing. Furthermore, the most important smoothers used in the multigrid method are now more efficient, in particular for cluster computing.

As an illustration of the improvement, consider the following CFD benchmark of an Ahmed Body featuring turbulent flow. The model used in the benchmark has a refined mesh, as compared to the Application Gallery version, with 6.3 million degrees of freedom on a 16-node cluster. In this comparison, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 update 3 and version 5.6 are installed on a cluster where each node has 48 cores (2x Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8260 24 cores). The solvers used in the comparison are the algebraic multigrid solver (SA-AMG) as a preconditioner to GMRES with the Symmetrically Coupled Gauss-Seidel smoother (denoted MG in the comparison graphs). In addition, the overlapping Domain Decomposition (Schwarz) method is used as a preconditioner to GMRES with the multigrid method as a domain solver (denoted DD). The graphs below show the performance as computation time vs. number of nodes and memory usage vs. number of nodes.

A 3D model of an Ahmed body, visualized with a metallic sheen, and yellow, green, turquoise, and blue streamlines, and a white mesh around it. Ahmed body benchmark model Streamlines around the Ahmed Body and mesh in a vertical cross section.
A chart of time from 0 to 1800 seconds vs. number of nodes from 1 to 16 and blue lines for COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.5 update 3 and yellow lines for version 5.6. Wall-clock computation time comparison Wall-clock computation time for a refined version of the Ahmed Body benchmark model.
A chart of memory from 0 to 5000 MB vs. number of nodes from 1 to 16 and blue lines for COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.5 update 3 and yellow lines for version 5.6. Physical memory use comparison Physical memory use for a refined version of the Ahmed Body benchmark model.

Absorbing Boundary Condition for Domain Decomposition

In COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6, it is possible to select Absorbing boundary condition for the domain boundaries used by the Domain Decomposition method. This is useful for solving the Helmholtz equation, in particular for acoustics analysis, and can be used for both the nonoverlapping Schur-based and overlapping Schwarz-based Domain Decomposition methods. It is capable of solving larger wave problems than was possible in previous versions. The new methods are foremost intended for cluster computing.


A car cabin model with acoustic fields represented bu red, white, and blue. Car cabin acoustics model Car cabin acoustics analysis for 5 kHz solved with the new Absorbing boundary condition for the Domain Decomposition (Schur) method. The model has 30 million degrees of freedom, which are split into 10 domains. The wall-clock computation time is 2900 sec. and the memory peak is 118 GB when using 10 cluster nodes each with 48 cores (2x Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8260 24 cores).

FEAST: A New Eigenvalue Solver

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6 comes with an interface for FEAST, which is a solver designed to find eigenvalues within an ellipse-shaped contour in the complex plane. It supports the usual symmetric or nonsymmetric formulations in COMSOL Multiphysics®. The method further supports automatic estimation of the number of eigenvalues within the contour, important for robustness and performance. One important aspect of FEAST is that different linear systems of equations are solved for each quadrature point along the contour and these problems are independent. Utilizing cluster computing, it is possible to use FEAST in parallel for improved performance.

New Preconditioner for Navier—Stokes Equations

A new preconditioner, Block Navier-Stokes, for CFD is added in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6. It is based on classical methods like SIMPLE and SIMPLEC. The method makes it possible to solve for the velocity and pressure equation separately, even in the case of incompressible flow. This in turn makes it possible to use standard multigrid techniques with SOR or SOR Line smoothers. A reduction of the CPU-time up to 50% can be obtained compared to earlier versions. The method is implemented on the discrete level and can therefore be combined with several formulations including turbulence models and pseudo time stepping.

New Option for GMRES: Reuse of the Krylov Space

The popular iterative solver GMRES has a new option in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.6: Use GCRO-DR. When activated, and when the GMRES method restarts, instead of restarting from an empty Krylov space, the method reuses and improves the space already built up. This makes the method much more useful beyond the restart point, where before the convergence could often deteriorate badly at a restart. Now the restart can be seamless and with a much smaller penalty at restart in a typical situation. The Krylov space is also reused in the case of solving again, for nonlinear, parametric, or time-dependent solvers. The method stores twice as many vectors, in a similar fashion to FGMRES, but the extra storage only comes into play at a restart. At this point, it is typically worth the memory overhead to get a more robust behavior. The method can be seen as a lean and quick approximative full GMRES method or as an alternative to the methods TFQMR or BiCGStab, but without the somewhat unpredictable convergence characteristics that are common for these methods.


Intel and Xeon are trademarks of Intel Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries.