AC/DC 模块

模拟低频电磁和机电元件

为了分析涉及静态和低频范围的电磁系统和过程,离不开功能强大而灵活的仿真工具。“AC/DC 模块”是 COMSOL Multiphysics® 平台的附加模块,为您提供各种各样的建模特征和数值方法,您可以通过求解麦克斯韦方程来研究电磁场和 EMI/EMC。

借助 COMSOL® 软件的多物理场功能,您可以研究其他物理效应(比如传热、结构力学和声学)对电磁模型的影响。

联系 COMSOL
使用铜线圈和彩虹色芯进行可视化的永磁电机三维模型。

电流

通过模拟直流、瞬变或交流等各种形式的电流,可以有效地分析电阻和导电装置。在静态和低频条件下,当可以忽略磁场时,电流建模足以获得准确的结果,基于欧姆定律计算电势会非常高效。根据产生的势场,可以计算出许多物理量:电阻、电导率、电场、电流密度和功率损耗。

借助“AC/DC 模块”,您可以运行稳态、频域和时域分析,以及小信号分析。在时域和频域中,您还可以分析电容效应。

静电

通过静电计算来分析电容器件和电绝缘体,这种方法适用于没有电流流动,且电场由电势和电荷分布决定的介电结构。有限元法(FEM)和边界元法(BEM)都可以用来求解电势,并能够组合成混合有限元-边界元法。根据计算得到的势场,可以计算许多物理量:电容矩阵、电场、电荷密度和静电能。

静磁学

计算静磁场、寄生电感以及线圈、导体和磁体上的力。您既可以从包含各种非线性磁性材料的大量材料数据库中进行选择,也可以定义自己的非线性材料。根据是否存在电流和/或磁性材料,您可以使用多种不同的公式进行计算。

在没有电流的情况下,有限元法和边界元法都适用于求解静磁问题,不仅如此,您还可以将二者结合使用,变成混合有限元-边界元法。

对于电流和磁性材料同时存在的最通用情况,通过矢量场公式可以定义电势和输入电流,并计算电流密度分布、磁场、磁力、功耗和互感。

您既可以对线圈进行显式建模,计算每根导线内的精确电流分布;也可以进行均质建模,这对于多匝线圈非常有效。通过计算线圈电流分布,可以自动处理复杂的线圈形状。

电磁场

在模拟电缆、导线、线圈、螺线管和其他感应设备时,磁场由导电材料中流动的电流产生。一般来说,对于具有显著感应效应的时变场,电场与磁场之间存在双向耦合。在这些情况下,往往是集肤深度与设备尺寸相当,但波长却大得多,因此需要矢量场公式。

二维和三维中支持频域、小信号分析和时域建模。本模块提供一种专门的公式,尤其适用于具有强非线性 E-J 特性的材料(如超导体)的时域磁建模。

旋转机械

您可以使用旋转机械的内置功能轻松地为电动机和发电机进行建模。举例来说,您可以通过捕获磁体内产生的涡流损耗等方式,研究感应电机或永磁电机的特性。在所有模拟电磁运动的模型中,您都可以研究受磁力和扭矩、感应电流以及机械载荷和弹簧构型影响的刚体或柔体动力学。

通用的动网格功能支持为线性运动建模,这对于理解含柱塞部件(例如磁力开关、螺线管和通用执行器)的工作原理起着至关重要的作用。

电路

创建集总系统来模拟电路中的电流和电压,包括电压和电流源、电阻器、电容器、电感器和半导体器件。电路模型还可以连接到二维和三维的分布式场模型。此外,电路拓扑结构还能以 SPICE 网表格式进行导出和导入。

AC/DC 模块的特征和功能

“AC/DC 模块”包含本页面介绍的各种性能的专用特征和功能。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“线圈”节点;“图形”窗口中显示电感器三维模型。

内置用户界面

“AC/DC 模块”为上面列出的每个电磁领域提供内置的用户界面,以及用于特定建模目的的变体。这些界面都可以定义域方程、边界条件、初始条件、预定义的网格、带有稳态和瞬态分析求解器设置的预定义研究,以及预定义的绘图和派生值。

除此之外,其中还有一些特征可以连接不同的接口,以便用户轻松进行组合建模,这对于电感器、线圈和电机来说非常方便。

“线圈”设置的特写视图,“图形”窗口中显示电力变压器的仿真结果。

线圈

内置的专用特征可用于轻松地模拟线圈,并将电流和电压等集总物理量转换成电流密度和电场等分布物理量。单导线和均匀多匝线圈可以在全三维、二维或二维轴对称模型中定义。零件库具有完全参数化的线圈和磁芯形状,可以在分析变压器、电感器、电机和执行器时更快地建立模型。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“静电,边界元”节点;“图形”窗口中显示可调电容器模型。

无界域或大型域

通过使用无限元法对电场和磁场进行分析,可以精确模拟无界或大型的建模域。对于静电和静磁建模,边界元法可以作为模拟大型区域或无限区域的替代方法。不仅如此,您还可以将边界元法和基于有限元法的物理场接口相结合,从而执行混合有限元-边界元仿真。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“多层壳中的电流”节点;“图形”窗口中显示加热电路的电势。

薄结构和多层材料

您可以使用壳公式来模拟非常薄的结构,这些公式可用于直流、静电、静磁和感应仿真。此外,本模块还提供专门的功能用于对多层壳中的直流电流进行建模。电磁壳建模支持使用表面物理属性代替 CAD 模型中薄实体的厚度,从而产生更有效的模型表示。

“安培定律”设置的特写视图,“图形”窗口中显示矢量磁滞模型的磁通密度一维绘图。

非线性材料

您可以从包含铁磁材料、亚铁磁材料、B-H 曲线和 H-B 曲线的大型材料数据库中随意进行选择。

材料属性可以随空间或时间变化、呈各向异性、有损耗、为复值以及不连续。只需很少的额外工作,您便可以轻松扩展仿真的应用范围。您可以使用数学表达式、查找表或两者的组合来定义自己的材料。利用 Jiles-Atherton 材料模型进行准静态参数化建模和全瞬态分析,支持全各向异性磁滞仿真。您甚至可以用 C 代码编译自己的材料模型,并将其作为外部材料进行链接。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“损耗计算”节点;“图形”窗口中显示电机三维模型。

电机和变压器的损耗建模

模拟电机和变压器的叠片铁芯和磁轭的损耗对于预测它们的效率和性能具有重要的意义。

特别是对于层压铁(电工钢),经验性的电磁损耗模型非常重要,这是因为宏观焦耳热或感应加热不能完全描述引起损耗的效应。而且,单独对层合板进行建模往往是不切实际的。

“AC/DC 模块”包含多个著名的经验损耗计算模型,与高保真模型相比,这些模型只需少量计算即可给出非常准确的损耗估计。这包括磁滞和涡流的影响,以及造成损耗的其他现象。

“稳态源扫描”设置的特写视图,“图形”窗口中显示电感矩阵的仿真结果。

寄生电感和参数提取

本模块提供一种专门的计算方法来计算 PCB 中的寄生电感,这对于三维中的大型电感矩阵问题特别有效。磁场,仅电流 接口用于计算开放导体产生的磁场的部分贡献,从而降低建模的复杂性。

在假设所有区域均为非磁性的情况下,使用磁矢势作为因变量来计算电流产生的磁场。也就是说,这些区域具有统一的相对磁导率 "1"。该接口可与稳态源扫描 特征一起使用,以便在一次仿真中扫描多个终端。

低频电磁和多物理场

电磁元件与多种物理现象之间会产生相互影响。在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中,相关的操作与模拟单个物理场问题没有什么区别。

母线板装配的局部放大图,其中显示温度分布。

焦耳热和电阻热1

固体、流体、壳和多层壳中的焦耳热(也称为电阻热)。

钢坯通过三个通电线圈时的温度分布的局部放大图。

感应加热

感应加热以模拟管线感应加热器和金属加工。

磁体在铜管中下落的局部放大图。

电磁力和扭矩

基于有限元和边界元的电磁应力、力和扭矩计算。

扬声器驱动器的局部放大图,其中显示位移大小。

洛伦兹力

电流感应的洛伦兹力作为体结构载荷用于模拟电声换能器等装置。

经过接触开关的电流流线和温度分布的局部放大图。

电接触电阻

在相互接触的金属片之间流动的电流。结合热接触2和机械接触3进行分析。

显示铁电材料磁滞现象的一维绘图。

铁电

铁电功能用于模拟可能表现出磁滞特性的时变极化。

磁致伸缩换能器的局部放大图,其中显示应力和磁场。

磁致伸缩4

磁性材料在磁场作用下发生的形状变化,这对声呐和变压器噪声来说非常重要。

等离子体炬模型的局部放大图,其中显示温度分布。

电感耦合等离子体5

半导体加工中使用的电感耦合等离子体。

单透镜模型的局部放大图,其中显示粒子轨迹和电势。

带电粒子追踪6

由电磁力引起的带电粒子或磁粒子的运动。

DEP 过滤装置的局部放大图,其中显示连续颗粒分离。

介电泳6

由电场梯度引起的中性颗粒的运动。

  1. 需要“AC/DC 模块”
  2. 还需要“传热模块”
  3. 还需要“MEMS 模块”或“结构力学模块”
  4. 还需要“声学模块”、“MEMS 模块”或“结构力学模块”
  5. 还需要“等离子体模块”
  6. 还需要“粒子追踪模块”

将第三方软件与 COMSOL Multiphysics® 结合使用

如果您使用的是 MATLAB® 软件,则可以使用 MATLAB® 脚本和函数轻松运行 COMSOL Multiphysics® 仿真。借助 LiveLink™ for MATLAB® 接口产品,您可以直接在 MATLAB® 环境中访问 COMSOL® 操作,并将这些操作与现有的 MATLAB® 代码混合使用。

为了方便您分析 CAD 模型和电子布局的电磁属性,COMSOL 提供了 ECAD 导入模块CAD 导入模块设计模块以及用于衔接主流 CAD 系统的 LiveLink™ 产品,这些接口都包含在我们的产品套件中。

通过使用 LiveLink™ for Excel® 接口产品,您还可以将 Microsoft® Excel® 电子表格数据与 COMSOL Multiphysics® 环境中定义的参数进行同步。

COMSOL 是否能用于解决我的问题?
欢迎联系我们,我们的专业工程师可以协助您评估技术可行性,并根据实际使用场景推荐相应的许可形式。

单击“联系 COMSOL”按钮,填写并提交相关信息,我们的工作人员将会尽快与您联系。

下一步:评估与试用 COMSOL® 软件

产品库

AC/DC Module

Simulate Low-Frequency Electromagnetics and Electromechanical Components

Analyzing electromagnetic systems and processes that encompass the static and low-frequency ranges requires a powerful and flexible simulation tool. The AC/DC Module add-on to the COMSOL Multiphysics® platform provides you with a wide range of modeling features and numerical methods for investigating electromagnetic fields and EMI/EMC by solving Maxwell's equations.

The multiphysics capabilities of the COMSOL® software make it possible to investigate the impact of other physical effects — such as heat transfer, structural mechanics, and acoustics — on an electromagnetics model.

Contact COMSOL
A 3D permanent magnet motor model visualized with copper coils and a rainbow core.

Electric Currents

Analyze resistive and conductive devices efficiently by modeling DC, transient, or AC currents. Under static and low-frequency conditions, and when magnetic fields are negligible, modeling electric currents is sufficient for accurate results. The computations, based on Ohm's law, are made very efficient by solving for the electric potential. Based on the resulting potential field, a number of quantities can be calculated: resistance, conductance, electric field, current density, and power dissipation.

With the AC/DC Module, you can run stationary, frequency-domain, and time-domain analyses, as well as small-signal analysis. In the time and frequency domains, you can also account for capacitive effects.

Electrostatics

Analyze capacitive devices and electrical insulators using electrostatics computations. This approach is applicable for dielectric structures where no currents are flowing and the fields are determined by the electric potential and charge distribution. Both the finite element method (FEM) and boundary element method (BEM) are available to solve for the electric potential, and can be combined for a hybrid finite element–boundary element method. Based on the computed potential field, a number of quantities can be calculated: capacitance matrices, electric field, charge density, and electrostatic energy.

Magnetostatics

Compute magnetostatic fields, parasitic inductances, and forces on coils, conductors, and magnets. You can choose from an extensive material database that includes a wide range of nonlinear magnetic materials, or define your own nonlinear materials. A variety of formulations are available depending on if currents, magnetic materials, or both are present.

Both FEM and BEM are available for magnetostatics in the absence of currents, and can be combined for a hybrid finite element–boundary element method.

For the most general case, where there is both current flow and magnetic materials present, a vector-field formulation allows for electric potential and input currents to be defined, and computes current density distribution, magnetic fields, magnetic forces, power dissipation, and mutual inductances.

Coils can be modeled either explicitly, computing the exact current distribution within each wire, or in a homogenized sense, which is very efficient for coils with many turns. Complex coil shapes are automatically handled by computing the coil current distributions.

Electromagnetic Fields

When modeling cables, wires, coils, solenoids, and other inductive devices, the magnetic field is generated by electric currents flowing in conductive materials. Generally speaking, for time-varying fields with significant induction effects, there is a bidirectional coupling between electric and magnetic fields. In these cases, a vector-field formulation is needed, typically when the skin depth is of the order of the device size, but the wavelength is much larger.

Frequency-domain, small-signal analysis, and time-domain modeling are supported in 2D and 3D. A specialized formulation is available that is particularly suitable for time-domain magnetic modeling of materials with a strongly nonlinear E-J characteristic, such as superconductors.

Rotating Machinery

Built-in functionality for rotating machinery makes it is easy to model motors and generators. You can, for example, investigate the behavior of induction or permanent magnet motors, particularly by capturing the eddy current losses that occur within the magnets. In any model that is used for simulating electromagnetic motion, you can examine the rigid or flexible body dynamics under the influence of magnetic forces and torques, induced currents, and mechanical load and spring configurations.

A general-purpose moving mesh functionality makes it possible to model linear motion. This is important for understanding the operation of components involving plungers, such as in magnetic power switches, solenoids, and general actuators.

Electric Circuits

Create lumped systems to model currents and voltages in circuits including voltage and current sources, resistors, capacitors, inductors, and semiconductor devices. Electrical circuit models can also connect to distributed field models in 2D and 3D. Additionally, circuit topologies can be exported and imported on the SPICE netlist format.

Features and Functionality in the AC/DC Module

The AC/DC Module contains specialized features and functionality for the various capabilities presented on this page.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Coil node highlighted and a 3D inductor model in the Graphics window.

Built-In User Interfaces

The AC/DC Module provides built-in user interfaces for each of the electromagnetics areas listed above, as well as variations for specific modeling purposes. These interfaces each define sets of domain equations, boundary conditions, initial conditions, predefined meshes, predefined studies with solver settings for steady and transient analyses, as well as predefined plots and derived values.

There are also features that connect the different interfaces, to easily model them together, which can be convenient for inductors, coils, and motors.

A closeup view of the Coil settings and simulation results of a power transformer model in the Graphics window.

Coils

Specialized features are built-in to easily model coils and to convert lumped quantities, like currents and voltages, into distributed quantities, such as current densities and electric fields. Single-conductor and homogenized multiturn coils can be defined in full 3D, 2D, or 2D axially symmetric models. A Part Library, with fully parametric coil and magnetic core shapes, enables a faster model setup when analyzing transformers, inductors, motors, and actuators.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Electrostatics, Boundary Elements node highlighted and a tunable capacitor model in the Graphics window.

Unbounded or Large Domains

For accurate modeling of unbounded or large modeling domains, infinite elements are available for both electric and magnetic fields. For electrostatics and magnetostatics modeling, BEM is available as an alternative method for modeling large or infinite regions. Additionally, you can combine BEM with the FEM-based physics interfaces to perform hybrid FEM–BEM simulations.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Electric Currents in Layered Shell node highlighted and the electric potential of a heating circuit in the Graphics window.

Thin Structures and Layered Materials

For modeling very thin structures, you can use shell formulations that are available for direct currents, electrostatics, magnetostatics, and induction simulations. Additionally, there is specialized functionality for modeling direct currents in shells with multiple layers. Electromagnetic shell modeling makes it possible to replace the thickness of a thin solid in a CAD model with a physical property of a surface resulting in a much more efficient representation.

A closeup view of the Ampère's Law settings and a 1D plot of the magnetic flux density of a vector hysteresis model in the Graphics window.

Nonlinear Materials

You can choose from a large material database that includes ferromagnetic materials, ferrimagnetic materials, B-H curves, and H-B curves.

Materials can be spatially varying, anisotropic, time-varying, lossy, complex-valued, and discontinuous. It is easy to expand the scope of a simulation with little additional work. You can define your own materials using mathematical expressions, lookup tables, or combinations of both. Full anisotropic hysteresis is supported by means of the Jiles–Atherton material model for quasistatic parametric modeling and full transient analysis. You can even compile your own material model in C-code and link to it as an external material.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Loss Calculation node highlighted and a 3D motor model in the Graphics window.

Modeling Losses in Motors and Transformers

Modeling losses in the laminated iron cores and yokes of motors and transformers is important for predicting their efficiency and performance.

In particular, for laminated iron (electrical steel), empirical electromagnetic loss models are important since macroscale Joule heating or induction heating is not able to fully describe the effect causing the losses. At the same time, modeling the laminates individually is often impractical.

The AC/DC Module includes several well-known empirical loss calculation models that give very good loss estimates for only a fraction of the computational effort that a high-fidelity model would take. This includes the effects of magnetic hysteresis and eddy currents, as well as other phenomena that contribute to the losses.

A closeup view of the Stationary Source Sweep settings and simulation results of an inductance matrix in the Graphics window.

Parasitic Inductance and Parameter Extraction

A specialized computational method is available for computing parasitic inductances in PCBs, and is especially efficient for large inductance matrices in 3D. The Magnetic Fields, Currents Only interface is used to calculate the partial contributions from magnetic fields generated by open conductors, reducing modeling complexity.

The magnetic vector potential is used as the dependent variable to compute the magnetic fields generated by currents under the assumption that all regions are nonmagnetic. That is, that the regions have a uniform relative magnetic permeability of "one". The interface can be used with the Stationary Source Sweep feature to sweep over many terminals in one simulation.

Low-Frequency Electromagnetics and Multiphysics

Electromagnetic components affect and are affected by multiple physics phenomena. In COMSOL Multiphysics®, this is no different than modeling a single-physics problem.

A detailed view of a busbar assembly showing the temperature distribution.

Joule Heating and Resistive Heating1

Joule heating (also known as resistive heating) in solids, fluids, shells, and layered shells.

A detailed view of the temperature distribution in a steel billet as it passes through three energized coils.

Induction Heating

Induction heating to model inline induction heaters, and metal processing.

A detailed view of a magnet falling through a copper tube.

Electromagnetic Force and Torque

Finite-element- and boundary-element-based computation of electromagnetic stress, force, and torque.

A detailed view of a loudspeaker driver showing the displacement magnitude.

Lorentz Forces

Current-induced Lorentz forces used as volumetric structural loads for modeling electroacoustic transducers and more.

A detailed view of the electric current streamlines through a contact switch and the temperature distribution.

Electric Contact Resistance

Currents flowing between metallic pieces brought into contact. Combine with thermal2 and mechanical3 contact.

A 1D plot showing hysteresis in a ferroelectric material.

Ferroelectricity

Ferroelectricity functionality used to model a time-varying polarization that may exhibit hysteretic behavior.

A detailed view of a magnetostrictive transducer showing the stress and magnetic field.

Magnetostriction4

Changes to the shape of magnetic materials when subjected to a magnetic field, important for sonar and transformer noise.

A detailed view of a plasma torch model showing the temperature distribution.

Inductively Coupled Plasma5

Inductively coupled plasmas used in semiconductor processing.

A detailed view of an einzel lens model showing particle trajectories and electric potential.

Charged Particle Tracing6

The motion of electrically charged or magnetic particles due to electromagnetic forces.

A detailed view of a DEP filter device showing continuous particle separation.

Dielectrophoresis6

The motion of neutral particles due to electric field gradients.

  1. Does not require the AC/DC Module
  2. Additionally requires the Heat Transfer Module
  3. Additionally requires one of the MEMS Module or Structural Mechanics Module
  4. Additionally requires one of the Acoustics Module, MEMS Module, or Structural Mechanics Module
  5. Additionally requires the Plasma Module
  6. Additionally requires the Particle Tracing Module

Using Third-Party Software with COMSOL Multiphysics®

If you use the MATLAB® software, you can easily drive COMSOL Multiphysics® simulations with MATLAB® scripts and functions. The LiveLink™ for MATLAB® interfacing product lets you access COMSOL® operations directly within the MATLAB® environment and blend them with your existing MATLAB® code.

To make it easy for you to analyze electromagnetic properties of CAD models and electronic layouts, COMSOL offers the ECAD Import Module, CAD Import Module, Design Module, and LiveLink™ products for leading CAD systems as part of our product suite.

You can also synchronize Microsoft® Excel® spreadsheet data with the parameters you define in the COMSOL Multiphysics® environment via the LiveLink™ for Excel® interfacing product.

Every business and every simulation need is different.

In order to fully evaluate whether or not the COMSOL Multiphysics® software will meet your requirements, you need to contact us. By talking to one of our sales representatives, you will get personalized recommendations and fully documented examples to help you get the most out of your evaluation and guide you to choose the best license option to suit your needs.

Just click on the "Contact COMSOL" button, fill in your contact details and any specific comments or questions, and submit. You will receive a response from a sales representative within one business day.

Next Step

Request a Software Demonstration

Product Suite