RF 模块

优化微波和毫米波器件

“RF 模块”通过研究高频应用中的电磁波传播和谐振效应等因素,可以帮助您优化产品设计。您可以使用“RF 模块”来了解和预测射频、微波和毫米波行业中使用的器件的性能。

射频和微波器件的设计人员需要确保电磁产品的可靠性和稳定性。通过传统的电磁建模,您可以单独检查电磁波效应,但现实生活中没有任何产品能够在理想的工作条件下运行。为了研究其他物理现象对产品设计的影响,您需要进行多物理场建模,将传统的电磁模型扩展为包含温升和结构变形等多种效应的建模。

借助 COMSOL Multiphysics® 仿真平台的附加“RF 模块”,您可以在理想或多物理场环境下分析包括微波和射频加热在内的各种射频设计,实现在一个软件平台中模拟所有物理现象。

联系 COMSOL
以 Thermal Wave 颜色表显示的汽车模型,封闭在圆顶消声室中。

RF 模块使设计满足当前和未来发展

在快速发展的无线设备行业中,人们使用电磁波分析来进行产品开发,以跟上技术的进步。举例来说,包括滤波器、耦合器、功分器和阻抗匹配电路在内的天线和射频前端都应适应未来的发展,比如 5G MIMO 网络、物联网(IoT)和卫星通信(SatCom),等等。 不仅如此,使用分析软件评估无线通信平台中的射频干扰和兼容性也很重要,只有具备这些功能的产品才可以无缝对接到可穿戴设备、自动驾驶汽车以及最先进的微波和射频产品等各类应用的开发中。

高频电磁分析和求解器

“RF 模块”在很大程度上依赖于经过验证的有限元法(FEM)进行标准的高频电磁分析,还包含用于特定类型分析的替代方法和求解器。“RF 模块”内置的默认求解器可以帮助您确保分析结果的准确性,并通过可靠的数值解为您的设计提供支持。有限元法用于频域和瞬态分析,具有适用于 CAD 表面曲率的 1 阶、2 阶或 3 阶矢量/边单元。我们提供了四面体、六面体、棱柱和金字塔网格单元,以及自动和自适应网格划分。

对于频域分析,您可以通过频率扫描来计算谐振频率、S 参数、近场/远场、Q 因子、传播常数和天线特性。通过采用模型降阶(MOR)技术可以提高计算效率,例如,使用模态方法和基于渐近波形估计(AWE)方法的自适应频率扫描。对于瞬态分析,您可以对非线性材料、信号传播和返回时间、超宽带特性以及时域反射法(TDR)进行建模。

我们还提供了可用于分析传输线方程、显式时域、使用网表的电路建模、渐近散射和边界元法(BEM)等建模方法。

RF 模块支持的建模对象

使用 COMSOL® 软件执行各种射频分析。

A close-up view of a microstrip patch antenna model showing the far-field radiation pattern.

天线和天线阵列

计算天线阵列的反射功率、远场辐射和增益模式。

A close-up view of a waveguide diplexer model showing the electric field and power flow.

传输线和波导

分析微带线、共面波导(CPW)和基片集成波导(SIW)。

Wilkinson 功分器模型的特写视图,其中显示电场。

耦合器和功分器

计算 S 参数,用于分析耦合器和功分器的匹配、隔离和耦合性能。

电路板模型的特写视图,其中显示电场。

EMI/EMC 应用

分析电磁干扰(EMI)和电磁兼容性(EMC),包括串扰和隔离。

微带线环行器模型的特写视图。

亚铁磁性设备

在微波元件中加入磁性材料,例如铁氧体谐振器和环行器。

A close-up view of an RFIC low-pass filter model with a coplanar waveguide.

滤波器

分析微带、CPW 和腔体滤波器的性能,包括热、结构和其他物理现象。

微波炉模型的特写视图,其中显示内部的热量分布。

微波炉

将全波电磁分析与瞬态传热仿真相结合。

MRI 笼式线圈模型的特写视图,其中显示磁场。

生物医学和 MRI

模拟微波治疗以及 MRI 与植入装置的相互作用。

PEC 球体模型的特写视图,其中显示雷达散射截面和背景场。

散射和雷达散射截面

使用全波和渐近方法计算雷达散射截面(RCS)和一般散射场。

开口谐振环模型的特写视图,其中显示一个环的电场。

频率选择表面

模拟频率选择表面和一般周期结构的透射、反射和衍射。

A close-up view of an airplane model showing the electric field.

ESD and Lightning

Address time-varying high-voltage sources and their impact on circuits and airplanes.

射频和微波加热

微波加热在食品加工、医疗技术中都起着非常重要的作用,在移动设备中也受到相当大的关注。最新的 5G 组件会产生比前几代设备更多的热量,这使得热管理变得前所未有的重要。“RF 模块”具有完全集成的电磁热和传热功能,能够处理热传导和对流,以及与温度相关的材料数据。与结构力学模块MEMS 模块结合使用时,还可以计算热变形和应力。通过添加传热模块,您可以在模型中进一步包含热辐射的影响。

天线和辐射

通过使用专门的远场分析在辐射元件(如天线或天线阵列)近场解的基础上计算得到的辐射方向图,您可以根据图示的方向性和增益来方便地表征这些元件的性能。在天线馈源上使用端口条件(用于计算 S 参数),可以很容易地获得与天线输入匹配的属性。

如果辐射装置具有圆柱对称性,二维轴对称分析选项可以使计算速度提高多个数量级。

如果进行显式建模,天线阵列分析对计算资源的要求很高。为了对天线阵列的性能进行快速可行性研究,您可以使用天线阵列因子功能来简化仿真,节省宝贵的计算时间。

对于散射仿真,您可以使用专门的散射场公式将入射波指定为背景场,包括高斯波束、线偏振平面波和用户定义的场。

引入完美匹配层(PML)能够在广泛的频率和入射角范围内吸收出射辐射。

RF 模块的特征和功能

请阅读以下各部分内容,详细了解“RF 模块”的特征和功能。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“电磁波,频域”节点,“图形”窗口中显示偶极天线模型。

内置用户界面

“RF 模块”为上述所有分析类型提供内置的用户界面,其中可以定义域方程、边界条件、初始条件、预定义的网格、带求解器设置的预定义研究,以及预定义的绘图和派生值。所有这些步骤都可以在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 环境中执行。

可供使用的边界条件都与建模的微波元件相对应。“零件库”可以帮助您构建器件的几何形状。软件会自动处理网格划分和求解器设置,并提供多个手动编辑选项。

“加载的零件”设置的特写视图,“图形”窗口中显示 Wilkinson 功分器模型。

CAD 导入和零件库

通过添加 CAD 导入模块,您可以导入各种行业标准的 CAD 格式用于射频分析。导入选项包含修复功能,您可以去除几何特征以准备对几何进行网格划分和分析。设计模块不仅包含这些特征,还支持更多的三维 CAD 操作,包括放样、倒圆角、倒斜角、抽取中面和加厚。

当您直接在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中构建几何时,可以使用“RF 模块”内置的“零件库”,其中包含射频仿真常用的各种复杂形状:连接器、表面贴装器件和波导。这些零件可以用作参数化几何模型,许多射频零件都包含传导边界选择,方便您在设置分析时应用 PEC 边界条件。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,“图形”窗口中显示一维绘图。

频域和时域转换

尽管瞬态分析对于采用 TDR 处理信号完整性(SI)问题非常有用,但许多射频和微波示例都是通过生成 S 参数的频域仿真来分析的。通过在常规的频域研究之后执行频域到时域快速傅里叶变换(FFT),可以执行 TDR 分析。这种类型的分析有助于通过研究时域中的信号波动来确定传输线上的物理不连续性和阻抗失配。

以小频率步长执行宽带频率扫描可能是一项耗时且繁琐的任务。我们可以通过执行瞬态仿真和时频快速傅里叶变换(FFT)来进行宽带天线研究,例如 S 参数和/或远场辐射方向图分析。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“热膨胀”节点,“图形”窗口中显示腔体滤波器模型。

多物理场分析

为了模拟真实世界的现象,COMSOL Multiphysics®、“RF 模块”和其他附加产品支持各种多物理场分析。热分析和应力变形是滤波器设计的重要考虑因素。例如,腔体滤波器通常由电介质材料和金属材料制成,金属的电导率随温度而变化,从而影响器件的损耗及散发的热量。这种热损耗会导致温度升高,而温度变化会使材料膨胀或收缩。因此,当腔体滤波器承受高功率载荷或极端热环境时,可能会发生带通漂移。多物理场分析将帮助您在器件优化过程中考虑此类影响。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“完美匹配层”节点,“图形”窗口中显示天线及旁边的人体头部几何。

边界条件

为了进行准确的高频电磁建模,您需要使用大量的边界条件选项,例如用于描述金属边界。

“RF 模块”提供以下可供使用的边界条件:

  • 理想电导体和磁导体(PEC 和 PMC)
  • 阻抗(有限电导率)
  • 过渡(有损薄金属板和多层)
  • 周期(Floquet)
  • 吸收边界
  • 电容、电感和电阻集总元件
  • 端口
    • 矩形和圆形波导
    • 同轴电缆
    • 数值(与任意形状匹配的模式)
    • 横电磁(TEM)
    • 集总
    • 带有 Touchstone 文件的二端口和三端口网络系统
“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“材料”节点,“添加材料”窗口显示射频选项。

材料属性

“RF 模块”包含一个具有基板材料属性的库,有助于对射频、微波和毫米波电路板以及非线性磁性材料进行建模。RF 材料库包含以下公司产品的材料属性数据:

  • 罗杰斯公司
  • Isola Group
  • 普立万公司

对于高级建模,您可以通过指定非均匀、各向异性、非线性和色散材料的属性来定制材料。所有属性都可以在空间上变化且不连续。此外,您还可以定义相对介电常数和磁导率。对于有损材料,您可以使用复值属性、电导率或损耗角正切。对于表现出色散的材料,可以使用预置的两种模型:Drude-Lorentz 和德拜。对于涉及磁性材料的更高级分析,您可以指定非线性磁性特性。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“史密斯图”节点,“图形”窗口中显示相应的结果。

数据可视化和提取

使用预定义的电场和磁场、S 参数、功率流、耗散、远场辐射方向图和史密斯图等绘图显示仿真结果。您可以将 S 参数导出为 Touchstone 文件格式;此外,也可以将结果显示为自由定义的物理量表达式,或以表格形式显示通过仿真得到的派生值。

“模型开发器”的特写视图,其中突出显示“衍射级”节点,“图形”窗口中显示六边形光栅模型。

周期性结构

周期性结构是许多工程电磁结构的基础,常用于新型 5G 硬件、亚波长成像和先进雷达技术等应用。在“RF 模块”中,您可以使用 Floquet 周期条件和不同的衍射级对这些结构(包括它们的高阶衍射模式)进行建模,从而精确的设计反射和透射阵天线以及全息表面的元件。

COMSOL 是否能用于解决我的问题?
欢迎联系我们,我们的专业工程师可以协助您评估技术可行性,并根据实际使用场景推荐相应的许可形式。

单击“联系 COMSOL”按钮,填写并提交相关信息,我们的工作人员将会尽快与您联系。

下一步:

评估与试用 COMSOL® 软件

RF Module

Optimize Microwave and Millimeter-Wave Devices

The RF Module helps you optimize designs by investigating effects such as electromagnetic wave propagation and resonance effects in high-frequency applications. Use the RF Module for understanding and predicting the performance of devices used in the RF, microwave, and millimeter-wave industries.

Designers of RF and microwave devices need to ensure that the electromagnetics-based products are reliable and robust. Traditional electromagnetics modeling lets you examine electromagnetic wave effects alone, but no real-world product operates under ideal operational conditions. To see how other physics phenomena affect the design, you need multiphysics modeling, which allows extending your analysis to include effects such as temperature rise and structural deformations.

With the RF Module add-on to the COMSOL Multiphysics® simulation platform, you can analyze RF designs in ideal or multiphysics scenarios, including microwave and RF heating, all within the same software environment.

Contact COMSOL
A car model in the Thermal Wave color table enclosed in a dome-like anechoic chamber.

Design for the Present and Future with the RF Module

In the fast-paced industry of wireless devices, electromagnetic wave analysis is used in product development to keep up with advancements in technology. For example, antennas and RF front ends, including filters, couplers, power dividers, and impedance matching circuits, should be compatible with future developments, such as the 5G MIMO network, internet of things (IoT), and SatCom.

It is also important to use analysis software to evaluate RF interference and compatibility in wireless communication platforms for the seamless operation of your products for developing applications, including wearable devices, autonomous vehicles, and state-of-the-art microwave and RF products.

High-Frequency Electromagnetics Analyses and Solvers

The RF Module relies heavily on the proven finite element method (FEM) for standard high-frequency electromagnetics analyses, and also includes alternate methods and solvers for specific types of analysis. The default solvers built into the RF Module help you feel confident that your analysis is correct and the design is backed up by solid numerical solutions. FEM is used for frequency-domain and transient analysis, with vector/edge elements of order 1, 2, or 3 that adapt to the curvature of CAD surfaces. There are tetrahedral, hexahedral, prismatic, and pyramidal mesh elements, as well as automatic and adaptive meshing.

For frequency-domain analysis, you can compute resonance frequencies, S-parameters, near/far fields, Q factors, propagation constants, and antenna characterization through frequency sweeps. The computation efficiency can be boosted by using model order reduction (MOR) techniques such as modal method and adaptive frequency sweeps based on the asymptotic waveform evaluation (AWE) method. For transient analysis, you can model nonlinear materials, signal propagation and return time, very broadband behavior, and time-domain reflectometry (TDR).

Additional methods and analyses are available for transmission line equations, explicit time domain, electric circuit modeling using netlist, asymptotic scattering, and the boundary element method (BEM).

What You Can Model with the RF Module

Perform various radiofrequency analyses with the COMSOL® software.

A closeup view of a hexagonal antenna array model.

Antennas and Antenna Arrays

Compute reflected power and far-field radiation and gain patterns for antenna arrays.

A closeup view of a waveguide to microstrip line transition model showing the direction of the wave.

Transmission Lines and Waveguides

Analyze microstrip lines, coplanar waveguides (CPW), and substrate integrated waveguides (SIW).

A closeup view of a Wilkinson power divider model showing the electric field.

Couplers and Power Dividers

Compute S-parameters for analyzing matching, isolation, and coupling performance for couplers and power dividers.

A closeup view of a circuit board model showing the electric field.

EMI/EMC Applications

Analyze electromagnetic interference (EMI) and electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), including crosstalk and isolation.

A closeup view of a microstrip line circulator model.

Ferrimagnetic Devices

Include magnetic materials in microwave components such as ferrite resonators and circulators.

A closeup view of a surface mount device model showing the electric field.

Filters

Analyze the performance of microstrip, CPW, and cavity filters, including thermal, structural, and other physical phenomena.

A closeup view of a microwave oven model showing the heat distribution within.

Microwave Ovens

Combine full-wave electromagnetics analysis with time-dependent heat transfer simulations.

A closeup view of an MRI birdcage model showing the magnetic field.

Biomedical and MRI

Simulate microwave treatment as well as MRI interaction with implanted devices.

A closeup view of a PEC sphere model showing the RCS and background field.

Scattering and RCS

Calculate radar cross section (RCS) and general scattering fields using full-wave and asymptotic methods.

A closeup view of a split ring resonator model showing the electric field on one ring.

Frequency-Selective Surfaces

Model transmission, reflectance, and diffraction of frequency selective surfaces and general periodic structures.

RF and Microwave Heating

Microwave heating is important in food processing, medical technology, and of course in mobile devices. The latest 5G components generate more heat than previous generations of devices, making thermal management more important than ever. The RF Module has fully integrated electromagnetic heating and heat transfer functionality, with the capability of handling conduction, convection, and temperature-dependent material data. Together with the Structural Mechanics Module or MEMS Module, you can account for thermal deformation and stresses. By adding the Heat Transfer Module, you can further include the effects of thermal radiation in your models.

Antennas and Radiation

You can readily characterize the performance of radiating elements, such as antennas or antenna arrays, in terms of directivity and gain from its radiation pattern, which is calculated from the near-field solution using a specialized far-field analysis. Antenna input matching properties are readily available by the use of port conditions on the antenna feed, which is used to calculate S-parameters.

In the case where a radiating device has cylindrical symmetry, a 2D axisymmetric analysis option enables orders of magnitude faster computations.

Antenna array analysis is computationally demanding if modeled explicitly. For a quick feasibility study of an antenna array’s performance, you can simplify the simulation by using the functionality for antenna array factors and thereby saving precious computation time.

For scattering simulations, a dedicated scattered-field formulation allows you to specify an incident wave as a background field including Gaussian beam, linearly polarized plane wave, and user-defined fields.

The inclusion of perfectly matched layers (PMLs) enables absorption of outgoing radiation for a wide range of frequencies and incidence angles.

Features and Functionality in the RF Module

Explore the features and functionality of the RF Module in more detail in the sections below.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain node highlighted and a dipole antenna model in the Graphics window.

Built-In User Interfaces

The RF Module provides built-in user interfaces for all of the analysis types listed above. These interfaces define sets of domain equations, boundary conditions, initial conditions, predefined meshes, predefined studies with solver settings, as well as predefined plots and derived values. All these steps are accessed within the COMSOL Multiphysics® environment.

The boundary conditions available all correspond to the microwave components being modeled. Part libraries aid in building the geometry of the component. Meshing and solver settings are handled automatically by the software, with options for manual editing.

A closeup view of the Loaded Part settings and a Wilkinson power divider model in the Graphics window.

CAD Import and Part Libraries

With the addition of the CAD Import Module, you can import a variety of industry-standard CAD formats for your RF analysis. The import options include repair and you can defeature your geometry to prepare it for meshing and analysis. The Design Module includes these features, plus the following 3D CAD operations: loft, fillet, chamfer, midsurface, and thicken.

When building geometries directly in COMSOL Multiphysics®, the RF Module includes a Part Library that contains complex shapes frequently required for RF simulations: connectors, surface-mount devices, and waveguides. The parts are available as parametric geometry models and many of the RF parts include selections for the conductive boundary for applying PEC boundary conditions while setting up the analysis.

A closeup view of the Model Builder and a 1D plot in the Graphics window.

Frequency- and Time-Domain Transformations

While transient analyses are useful for TDR to handle signal integrity (SI) problems, many RF and microwave examples are addressed using frequency-domain simulations that generate S-parameters. By performing the frequency-to-time fast Fourier transform (FFT) after the conventional frequency domain study, TDR analysis is feasible. This type of analysis helps in identifying physical discontinuities and impedance mismatches on a transmission line by investigating the signal fluctuation in the time domain.

Performing a wideband frequency sweep with a small frequency step size could be a time-consuming and cumbersome task. A wideband antenna study, such as an S-parameter and/or far-field radiation pattern analysis, can be obtained by performing a transient simulation and a time-to-frequency FFT.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Thermal Expansion node highlighted and a cavity filter model in the Graphics window.

Multiphysics Analysis

For modeling real-world phenomena, COMSOL Multiphysics®, the RF Module, and other add-on products allow for a variety of multiphysics analyses. Thermal analysis and stress deformation are important considerations for filter designs. For example, cavity filters are typically made out of both dielectric and metallic materials. The conductivity of metals varies with temperature, which affects the losses in the device and dissipates heat. The dissipation of heat leads to a rise in temperature, and a variation in temperature will cause materials to expand or contract. Thus, when a cavity filter undergoes a high power load or an extreme thermal environment, drift may occur. Multiphysics analysis will help you consider such effects in device optimization.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Perfectly Matched Layer node highlighted and a human head geometry next to an antenna in the Graphics window.

Boundary Conditions

For accurate high-frequency electromagnetics modeling, you need access to extensive options for boundary conditions, such as to describe metallic boundaries, for instance.

Notable boundary conditions in the RF Module:

  • Perfect electric and magnetic conductor (PEC and PMC)
  • Impedance (finite conductivity)
  • Transition (thin lossy metallic sheet and multiple layers)
  • Periodicity (Floquet)
  • Absorbing boundaries
  • Capacitive, inductive, and resistive lumped elements
  • Ports
    • Rectangular and circular waveguide
    • Coaxial cable
    • Numeric (mode matched on an arbitrary shape)
    • Transverse electromagnetic (TEM)
    • Lumped
    • Two- and three-port network systems with Touchstone files
A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Materials node highlighted and the Add Material window showing the RF options.

Material Properties

The RF Module includes a library with material properties for substrate materials to assist in modeling RF, microwave, and millimeter-wave circuit boards as well as for nonlinear magnetic modeling. The RF material library contains the material property data from the following companies’ products:

  • Rogers Corporation
  • Isola Group
  • Avient Corporation

For advanced modeling, you can customize the material by specifying properties for inhomogeneous, anisotropic, nonlinear, and dispersive materials. All properties can be spatially varying and discontinuous. Additionally, you can define the relative permittivity and permeability. For lossy materials, you can use complex-valued properties, conductivity, or loss tangents. For materials exhibiting dispersive materials, two models are provided: Drude–Lorentz and Debye. For more advanced analysis involving magnetic materials, you can specify a nonlinear magnetic behavior.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Smith Plot node highlighted and the corresponding results in the Graphics window.

Data Visualization and Extraction

Present simulation results using predefined plots of electric and magnetic fields, S-parameters, power flow, dissipation, far-field radiation patterns, and Smith plots. S-parameters can be exported to the Touchstone file format. You can also display your results as plots of expressions of the physical quantities that you define freely, or as tabulated derived values obtained from the simulation.

A closeup view of the Model Builder with the Diffraction Order node highlighted and a hexagonal grating model in the Graphics window.

Periodic Structures

Periodic structures are fundamental to many engineered electromagnetic structures being developed for applications such as novel 5G hardware, subwavelength imaging, and advanced radar technologies. In the RF Module you can model these structures, including their high-order diffraction modes, with Floquet periodic conditions and varying diffraction orders. Using these features, elements for reflect- and transmitarrays and holographic surfaces can be accurately designed.

Every business and every simulation need is different.

In order to fully evaluate whether or not the COMSOL Multiphysics® software will meet your requirements, you need to contact us. By talking to one of our sales representatives, you will get personalized recommendations and fully documented examples to help you get the most out of your evaluation and guide you to choose the best license option to suit your needs.

Just click on the "Contact COMSOL" button, fill in your contact details and any specific comments or questions, and submit. You will receive a response from a sales representative within one business day.

Next Step

Request a Software Demonstration