用于结构分析的有限元分析软件

“结构力学模块”是 COMSOL Multiphysics® 平台的附加专业模块,包含用于固体结构机械特性分析的各种建模功能和工具,可应用于机械工程、土木工程、岩土力学、生物力学和微机电系统等领域。借助于 “结构力学模块”,您可以求解应力和应变水平、变形、刚度和柔度、固有频率、动载荷响应以及屈曲不稳定性等多种问题。

将“结构力学模块”与 COMSOL® 产品套件中的其他模块相结合,可以进一步扩展建模功能,考虑传热、电磁和流体流动等物理效应,实现在一个仿真环境中多种物理效应的耦合分析和求解。

“结构力学模块”支持运行以下各类分析:

  • 稳态
  • 特征频率
    • 无阻尼
    • 有阻尼
    • 预应力
  • 瞬态
    • 直接叠加或模态叠加
  • 频率响应
    • 直接叠加或模态叠加
    • 预应力
  • 参数化
  • 准静态
  • 线性屈曲
  • 模式分析
  • 模态降阶

结构力学模块支持的建模对象

COMSOL Multiphysics® 有限元分析软件提供了一系列预置的物理场接口,接口中包含丰富的专用建模设置,帮助您轻松的完成模型的创建和运行。“结构力学模块”包含了预置的材料模型可供您选择使用,还支持用户自定义材料模型。当与优化模块结合使用时,用户可以对几何尺寸、载荷及材料属性等设计参数进行优化。

请阅读下文,了解有关“结构力学模块”支持的建模对象的更多详细信息。

Did You Know? 物理场接口是预定义的软件包,其中包含用于特定领域物理场仿真的单元公式、材料模型和边界条件。

固体力学 接口提供了最通用的固体结构分析方法,支持三维、二维(平面应力、平面应变和广义平面应变)及二维轴对称分析。结合几何非线性公式,您可以分析任意大角度的旋转和任意大应变的情况。

根据您的具体问题,接口提供了丰富的材料模型来准确描述固体力学问题,您还可以通过 ‘基于方程建模’ 来轻松扩展这些特征,软件支持使用常数、空间变化的表达式或非线性表达式、查找表或各项的组合来自定义材料属性。

接触建模可以考虑静摩擦和动摩擦、粘附及剥离的影响,相互接触的物体可以发生任意大的相对位移。

 

在处理薄结构时,使用壳(三维)和板(二维)单元可以提高建模效率,相应接口支持对厚壳模型中横向剪切变形的分析。当直接在 3D 几何实体中操作时,可以通过指定相对于选定表面法向的偏移量,来确定壳单元的位置;而对于分析所得结果,也可以呈现在两个平行表面上,从而有效实现三维可视化。

薄膜和纤维织物等非常薄的结构需要使用不含抗弯刚度的公式。这可以在 接口中实现,其中三维曲面应力单元用于计算面内和面外位移。在研究这类结构时,普遍的做法是从预应力状态开始分析。

含壳的支架模型示例。 模型中创建了实体-壳连接,以运行支架分析。左图:壳的顶面(黑色)和底面(白色),实体部分显示为银色。右图:彩色图显示支架中的应力。

“结构力学模块”包含专用于梁建模的单元类型,由于梁为细长结构,可以通过面积和惯性矩等横截面属性进行完整描述。模块中的内置公式可用于计算细长梁(Euler-Bernoulli 理论)和厚梁(Timoshenko 理论)。通过预定义的耦合,您可以将梁与其他单元类型混合使用,研究梁对实体和壳结构的加强作用。

接口包含许多内置的横截面类型:

  • 矩形
  • 箱形
  • 圆形
  • 管形
  • H 型
  • U 型
  • T 型
  • C 型
  • 帽型
  • 用户定义

您还可以评估任意二维横截面的属性,并将其用于梁分析过程。

除此之外,“结构力学模块”还支持模拟只承受轴向力的细长结构(桁架)。模块中的这些单元还可用于模拟下垂电缆和加强筯。

 

“结构力学模块”提供许多不同的载荷和约束,有助于实现高保真建模。

示例:

  • 域、边界和边上的分布载荷
  • 总力
  • 随动载荷
  • 重力
  • 移动载荷
  • 具有离心力、科里奥利力和欧拉力的旋转坐标系
  • 弹簧和阻尼器
  • 附加质量
  • 指定位移、速度和加速度
  • 周期性边界条件
  • 低反射边界
  • 完美匹配层(PML)
  • 无限元
 

该模块提供多个功能用于特殊类型的建模,如:

  • 刚性连接件
  • 刚性域
  • 螺栓预紧力
  • 螺栓螺纹接触建模
  • 应力线性化
  • 安全系数表达式
  • 载荷工况叠加
使用“结构力学模块”为螺栓预紧力建模的示例。 这个管路连接模型不仅包含螺栓预紧力,还包含应力线性化。

“结构力学模块”提供线弹性、粘弹性和压电材料模型,您也可以添加非线性结构材料模块岩土力学模块,对非线性材料进行建模。

您可以通过多种方式来扩展现有的材料模型,也可以创建自己的材料模型:

  • 在材料属性的输入框中直接输入与其他物理场接口中的应力、应变、空间坐标、时间或场相关的表达式
  • 在频域分析中,您可以输入复数值表达式
  • 您可以添加额外的偏微分方程或常微分方程,加入非弹性应变贡献
  • 还可以使用 C 代码编程的外部函数,在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件中加入您自己的材料模型

材料模型还可以包含热膨胀、吸湿膨胀、预应力和预应变,以及多种类型的阻尼。材料属性可以是各向同性、正交各向异性或完全各向异性。

“非线性结构材料模块”和“岩土力学模块”对“结构力学模块”的功能进行了扩展,其中包含各种各样的非线性材料模型。这些附加产品无缝集成在 COMSOL Multiphysics® GUI 中,可用于纯非线性力学分析,也可以同其他附加产品相结合,用于执行多物理场分析。其中提供超过 75 种不同的材料模型,供您执行结构力学分析。

非线性材料:

  • 弹塑性
  • 超弹性
  • 非线性弹性
  • 粘塑性
  • 蠕变
  • 多孔塑性
  • 形状记忆合金
  • 土壤塑性
  • 混凝土
  • 岩石
  • 用户定义的材料
在结构力学模型中使用粘弹性材料模型的示例。 使用粘弹性材料模型模拟用于结构减振的阻尼器。

You can also analyze thin, layered structures with the addition of the Composite Materials Module. This add-on module employs specialized layered material technology with two variations, layerwise theory and equivalent single layer theory, which each provide their own benefits. This module can be used to model layered composite materials such as fiber-reinforced plastic, laminated plates, and sandwich panels found in aircraft components, spacecraft components, wind turbine blades, automobile components, boat hulls, and more.

Model of a wind turbine composite blade. Stresses in a wind turbine composite blade made up of thick PVC foam as a core material surrounded by several layers of glass fiber composite on each side combined with an external carbon fiber cladding.

您可以使用疲劳模块计算结构的疲劳寿命,它是“结构力学模块”的一个附加模块。“疲劳模块”与 COMSOL Multiphysics® 仿真环境完全集成,可用于进行各种疲劳分析,包括基于应变、应力和能量的疲劳等。

疲劳分析:

  • 高周疲劳
    • 基于应力范围
  • 低周疲劳
    • 基于应变范围或能耗
  • 雨流计数法
  • 累积损伤
  • 基于临界面法的多轴疲劳
  • 振动疲劳
轮辋模型的疲劳分析。 图中显示,在执行高周疲劳分析后,轮辋辐条处的疲劳使用因子最大。

多体动力学模块用于分析多体系统,这是“结构力学模块”的附加模块,其中提供各种功能全面的工具,用于模拟柔性体和刚体混合系统。通过将该模块与固体力学 接口耦合,您便可以访问所有结构力学特征。

多体动力学功能:

  • 10 余种不同的关节可用于二维和三维分析
  • 弹簧和阻尼器
  • 齿轮
  • 静态、瞬态、特征频率和频域分析
  • 集总机械系统
洗衣机的多体动力学模型。 通过对振动洗衣机执行特征频率分析得到了振型,通过瞬态分析得到了相关位移。

添加转子动力学模块,可以模拟旋转电机中的零部件,其中的不对称和旋转可能导致不稳定和破坏性共振。

转子动力学功能:

  • 实体或梁理想化
  • 液体动压轴承
  • 轴颈轴承和推力轴承
  • 滚子轴承
  • 坎贝尔图
  • 轨道
  • 瀑布图和回旋图
往复式发动机曲轴的转子动力学模型。 往复式发动机曲轴作为一个具有液体动压轴承的实心转子进行建模,仿真结果显示了曲轴中的应力以及轴承的流体压力、轴颈轨迹和横向位移。

导入 CAD 几何

为了基于第三方 CAD 软件生成的结构设计运行仿真,您可以选择以下接口产品与 COMSOL Multiphysics® 实现连接。

CAD 导入模块和设计模块

使用 CAD 导入模块可以将各种符合行业标准的 CAD 格式导入 COMSOL Multiphysics® 进行仿真分析。可用特征包括用于修复和清理 CAD 几何的选项,以便进行网格划分和分析;此外,这些特征还支持访问 Parasolid® 几何内核,使您能够使用高级实体选项。设计模块也包含这些特征,除此之外,还支持以下三维 CAD 操作:放样、倒圆角、倒斜角、中面和加厚。

使用 LiveLink™ 接口产品实现连接

您可以从一系列接口产品中选择合适的产品,将设计从 CAD 软件导入 COMSOL Multiphysics®,执行高级仿真。通过使用 LiveLink™ 产品,您可以保留 CAD 原生模型的参数表示,以便在 COMSOL® 软件中执行参数化研究和优化,而无需重构模型参数。

不仅如此,您还可以同时更新 CAD 系统和 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中的几何参数,并基于多个不同的建模参数执行参数化扫描和设计优化。

接口产品支持用于以下软件:

  • SOLIDWORKS®
  • Inventor®
  • AutoCAD®
  • PTC® Creo® Parametric™
  • PTC® Pro/ENGINEER®
  • Solid Edge®
管件模型,其中的几何从外部导入 COMSOL 软件。 在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中导入外部管件几何并进行分析。几何被简化成二维轴对称模型。分析结果显示了钢制接头处的应力和接触点的压力。

实现多物理场耦合,扩展结构力学分析

在许多情况下,结构性能都与其他物理现象紧密耦合。COMSOL Multiphysics® 的一大优点是,您可以轻松地在同一个软件环境中混合分析两种或多种相互作用。该模块针对许多常见的情况提供多个内置的耦合特征,如下所述。对于其他情况,您也可以自己轻松建立耦合。

流-固耦合

该接口用于研究流体与固体结构之间的相互作用,包括流体压力和粘性力。作为流体边界条件的结构变形可以是任意大小。

热应力

使用专用的多物理场耦合来模拟热应力和热弹性阻尼。结构的材料属性也可能与温度场相关。接触应力不仅会影响力学求解结果,还会影响通过接触表面的热通量。

振动、声学和弹性波

通过添加声学模块,可以研究声-结构相互作用;振动;声-壳、固-声和压电-声相互作用;以及弹性波的传播。

地下水流

通过添加地下水流模块,可以引入多孔弹性和多孔介质流动,从而增强固体力学接口的功能。

压电和磁致伸缩

您可以使用固体力学静电 接口之间的内置耦合,精确模拟压电器件。接口中包含许多常用压电材料的材料属性。

通过将 AC/DC 模块与“结构力学模块”相结合,可以耦合固体力学和磁性物理学,根据磁致伸缩原理,为这种类型的传感器和执行器建模。

MEMS 结构和压阻效应

添加 MEMS 模块,用于专门针对 MEMS 的结构仿真。您可以使用内置的耦合功能,轻松分析压阻效应、静电力引起的机电偏向以及电致伸缩。

高频电磁学

这一特征将“结构力学模块”与 RF 模块波动光学模块射线光学模块相结合,用于分析机械变形和应力对射频、微波或光学器件性能的影响。

低频电磁学

该特征将 AC/DC 模块与“结构力学模块”相结合,可以在结构分析中添加电磁效应,例如电磁力引起的变形、焦耳热引起的热膨胀以及电-热-机械接触。

挤压铝制品建模的多物理场示例,其中包含流-固耦合及热应力分析。 在铝挤压工艺仿真中,包含流-固耦合及热应力分析。
压电换能器模型的多物理场示例。 该压电换能器模型求解换能器在电载荷作用下的应力和变形,以及产生的声压。
使用 COMSOL Multiphysics 软件进行非线性磁致伸缩建模的示例。 通过为磁致伸缩换能器进行建模,分析换能器中的应力和位移,以及整个磁场。
使用 COMSOL Multiphysics 软件为 MEMS 结构建模的示例。 在这个预应力微镜示例中,静电力使镜身发生位移,而臂的末端被固定在原位。
结构分析与光学模式分析相结合的示例模型。 通过依次运行结构分析和光学模式分析,演示了光子波导中的应力-光学效应。

仿真 App:定制模型输入输出,简化设计流程

试想一下,如果您不需要再为团队中的其他成员反复运行仿真测试,是不是就能把更多的时间和精力投入到新的项目中?借助 COMSOL Multiphysics® 内置的“App 开发器”,您可以构建仿真 App,在其中限制模型的输入并控制模型输出,使您的同事也能够自行运行分析,从而进一步简化仿真工作流程。

您可以在专用的 App 中轻松地更改几何尺寸或材料属性等设计参数,并根据需要执行多次测试,而无需重新运行整个仿真。您可以借助 App 提高自己的测试运行效率,也可以将 App 分发给团队其他成员供大家运行各自的测试,从而将节省的时间和资源投入到其他项目中。

仿真 App 的构建过程非常简单:

  1. 将结构力学模型转换为专用的用户界面(App)
  2. 为 App 用户选择输入和输出,实现按需定制 App
  3. 使用 COMSOL Server™ 产品对 App 进行分类,使团队其他成员可以访问这些 App
  4. 最终实现您的团队成员在无需任何帮助的情况下,便能够自行运行设计分析

通过构建和使用仿真 App,您可以在整个团队、机构、课堂或客户群中扩展仿真功能。

用于分析管件设计的示例 App。 在这个管道过盈配合 App 中,用户可以编辑管尺寸、重叠区域和摩擦系数,分析它们对管道的有效应力、接触压力以及变形产生的影响。

下一步:
申请软件演示

每个公司、每个仿真需求都是独特的。 为帮助您充分评估 COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件是否能满足您的需求,请联系我们。 通过与我们的销售代表进行交流,您将能得到个性化的建议和完整的案例文档,帮助您在产品评估过程中获取实用信息,并针对您的需求选择最佳的许可证。

您只需单击“联系 COMSOL”按钮,填写您的联系信息和具体的需求并提交,我们的销售代表将会在一个工作日内给您答复。

Perform Mechanical Analyses with the Structural Mechanics Module

FEA Software for Structural Analyses

The Structural Mechanics Module is an add-on to the COMSOL Multiphysics® platform that brings you modeling tools and functionality tailored for analyzing mechanical behavior of solid structures. Application areas include mechanical engineering, civil engineering, geomechanics, biomechanics, and MEMS devices. Using the Structural Mechanics Module, you will be able to answer questions concerning, for example, stress and strain levels; deformations, stiffness, and compliance; natural frequencies; response to dynamic loads; and buckling instability, to name a few.

Combining the Structural Mechanics Module with other modules from the COMSOL® product suite allows for further extending your models to include heat transfer, electromagnetics, and fluid flow effects — all within one simulation environment.

The following types of analyses can be run with the Structural Mechanics Module:

  • Stationary
  • Eigenfrequency
    • Undamped
    • Damped
    • Prestressed
  • Transient
    • Direct or mode superposition
  • Frequency response
    • Direct or mode superposition
    • Prestressed
  • Parametric
  • Quasistatic
  • Linear buckling
  • Mode analysis
  • Modal reduced order
  • Response spectrum

What You Can Model with the Structural Mechanics Module

The COMSOL Multiphysics® FEA software comes with predefined physics interfaces with specialized settings, making it easy to set up and run analyses. The Structural Mechanics Module includes both predefined material models to choose from and the ability to enter user-defined material models, depending on the nature of your analysis. You can also optimize the geometric dimensions, loads, and material properties of your designs with the Optimization Module add-on.

View more details on what you can model with the Structural Mechanics Module below.

Did You Know? Physics interfaces are predefined packages containing element formulations, material models, and boundary conditions for a certain field of physics simulations.

The Solid Mechanics interfaces, available in 3D; 2D (plane stress, plane strain, and generalized plane strain); and 2D axial symmetry, provide the most general approach to analyzing solid structures. By using a geometrically nonlinear formulation, you can analyze situations with arbitrarily large rotations and strains.

There is a wide variety of material models to accurately describe your solid mechanics problem, and it is easy to extend these features via equation-based modeling. Define material properties yourself with constant, spatially varying, or nonlinear expressions; lookup-tables; or combinations of these. Elements can be activated and deactivated based on user-defined expressions.

Contact modeling can include static and dynamic friction, adhesion, and decohesion. The objects in contact can have arbitrarily large relative displacements.

 

For thin structures, using shell (3D, 2D axisymmetry) and plate (2D) elements can be very efficient. The formulations allow for the transverse shear deformations needed to model thick shells. You can prescribe an offset in the direction normal to a selected surface, which simplifies modeling where you work with a full 3D representation of the geometry. The results from shell element analyses can be presented on two parallel surfaces, which effectively results in a 3D visualization.

Very thin structures, such as thin films and fabric, require a formulation with no bending stiffness. This is possible in the Membrane interface, in which curved plane stress elements in 3D or 2D axisymmetry are used to compute in-plane and out-of-plane displacements. When studying this type of structure, the ability to start from a prestressed state is used extensively.

An example of a bracket model that includes shells. A Solid-Shell connection is created to run an analysis on a bracket. Left: The top (black) and bottom (white) shell surfaces, with the solid portion shown in silver. Right: The rainbow plot shows the stresses in the bracket.

There are specialized element types for modeling beams, which are slender structures that can be fully described by cross section properties, such as areas and moments of inertia. Formulations for both slender beams (Euler-Bernoulli theory) and thick beams (Timoshenko theory) are available. Predefined couplings allow for mixing beams with other element types to study reinforcements for solid and shell structures.

The Beam interface contains a number of built-in cross section types:

  • Rectangular
  • Box
  • Circular
  • Pipe
  • H-profile
  • U-profile
  • T-profile
  • C-profile
  • Hat
  • User defined

It is also possible to evaluate the cross section properties for arbitrary 2D cross sections and use them as inputs for beam analyses.

Additionally, the Structural Mechanics Module enables you to model slender structures that can only sustain axial forces (trusses). These elements can also be used for modeling sagging cables and reinforcements.

 

The Structural Mechanics Module provides you with a multitude of different loads and constraints, which facilitates high-fidelity modeling.

Examples:

  • Distributed loads on domains, boundaries, and edges
  • Total force
  • Follower loads
  • Gravity
  • Moving loads
  • Rotating frames with centrifugal, Coriolis, and Euler forces
  • Springs and dampers
  • Added mass
  • Prescribed displacement, velocity, and acceleration
  • Periodic boundary conditions
  • Low-reflecting boundaries
  • Perfectly matched layers (PMLs)
  • Infinite elements
 

You will find several features for special types of modeling, such as:

  • Rigid connector
  • Rigid domain
  • Bolt pretension
  • Bolt thread contact modeling
  • Stress linearization
  • Safety factor expressions
  • Superposition of load cases
  • Computation of effective material properties
    • Uses representative volume elements (RVE)
An example of modeling bolt pretension with the Structural Mechanics Module. Bolt pretension is included in this tube connection model that also includes stress linearization.

The Structural Mechanics Module provides linear elastic, viscoelastic, and piezoelectric material models, but you can also access nonlinear materials by adding the Nonlinear Structural Materials Module or the Geomechanics Module.

You have many possibilities to extend the existing material models or create your own:

  • Enter expressions that depend on stress, strain, spatial coordinates, time, or fields coming from another physics interface directly in the input field for a material property
  • In frequency domain analyses, you can enter complex-valued expressions
  • You can add extra PDEs or ODEs to provide inelastic strain contributions
  • It is also possible to include your own material model in the COMSOL Multiphysics® software by programming an external function using C-code

The material models can also accommodate thermal expansion, hygroscopic swelling, initial stresses and strains, as well as several types of damping. Material properties can be isotropic, orthotropic, or fully anisotropic.

The Nonlinear Structural Materials Module and the Geomechanics Module extend the capabilities of the Structural Mechanics Module with a wide range of nonlinear material models. Seamlessly integrated in the COMSOL Multiphysics® GUI, these add-on products can be used for pure nonlinear mechanical analyses or combined with other add-ons for multiphysics analyses. In all, you will find more than 75 different material models for structural mechanics.

Nonlinear materials:

  • Elastoplasticity
  • Hyperelasticity
  • Nonlinear elasticity
  • Viscoplasticity
  • Creep
  • Porous plasticity
  • Shape memory alloys
  • Soil plasticity
  • Concrete
  • Rocks
  • Damage
  • User-defined materials
An example of using viscoelastic material models in a structural mechanics model. A damper used for vibration reduction in structures is modeled with viscoelastic material models.

You can also analyze thin, layered structures with the addition of the Composite Materials Module. This add-on module employs specialized layered material technology with two variations, layerwise theory and equivalent single layer theory, which each provide their own benefits. This module can be used to model layered composite materials such as fiber-reinforced plastic, laminated plates, and sandwich panels found in aircraft components, spacecraft components, wind turbine blades, automobile components, boat hulls, and more.

Model of a wind turbine composite blade. Stresses in a wind turbine composite blade made up of thick PVC foam as a core material surrounded by several layers of glass fiber composite on each side combined with an external carbon fiber cladding.

You can compute the fatigue life of structures using the Fatigue Module, which is available as an add-on to the Structural Mechanics Module. The Fatigue Module allows for a variety of fatigue analyses including strain-, stress-, and energy-based fatigue and is completely integrated with the COMSOL Multiphysics® simulation environment.

Fatigue analyses:

  • High-cycle fatigue
    • Based on stress range
  • Low-cycle fatigue
    • Based on strain range or energy dissipation
  • Rainflow cycle counting
  • Cumulative damage
  • Multiaxial fatigue based on critical plane methods
  • Vibration fatigue
A fatigue analysis of a wheel rim model. The maximum fatigue usage factor is shown in the spoke of a wheel rim after high-cycle fatigue analysis.

Analyze multibody systems with the Multibody Dynamics Module, which is available as an add-on to the Structural Mechanics Module. It provides an extensive set of tools for simulating mixed systems of flexible and rigid bodies. Couplings to the Solid Mechanics, Shell, and Beam interfaces give access to the full range of structural mechanics features.

Multibody dynamics capabilities:

  • More than 10 different joints for 2D and 3D analyses
  • Springs and dampers
  • Gears
  • Static, transient, eigenfrequency, and frequency domain analysis
  • Lumped mechanical systems
A multibody dynamics model of a washing machine. An eigenfrequency analysis of a vibrating washing machine gives the mode shape, and a time-dependent analysis gives the associated displacement.

Add the Rotordynamics Module to model components and parts in rotating machines where asymmetries and rotation can lead to instabilities and damaging resonances.

Rotordynamics capabilities:

  • Solid or beam idealization
  • Hydrodynamic bearings
  • Journal and thrust bearings
  • Roller bearings
  • Campbell diagrams
  • Orbits
  • Waterfall and whirl plots
A rotordynamics model of a reciprocating engine crankshaft. A reciprocating engine crankshaft is modeled as a solid rotor with hydrodynamic bearings to give the stress in the crankshaft and the fluid pressure, journal orbits, and lateral displacement of the bearings.

Import CAD Geometries

In order to produce simulations from structural designs generated with third-party CAD software, you can choose from the interfacing products below to connect with COMSOL Multiphysics®.

CAD Import Module and Design Module

Import a variety of industry-standard CAD formats into COMSOL Multiphysics® for simulation analysis using the CAD Import Module. Available features include options to repair and clean up your CAD geometry to prepare it for meshing and analysis, as well as access to the Parasolid® geometry kernel for advanced solid options. The Design Module also includes these features, plus it lets you perform the following 3D CAD operations: loft, fillet, chamfer, midsurface, and thicken.

Interfacing with LiveLink™ Products

Choose from a line of interfacing products that let you import designs from CAD software into COMSOL Multiphysics® to perform advanced simulations. With the LiveLink™ products, you can keep the parameterization of the CAD-native model so that you can perform parametric studies and optimization in the COMSOL® software, without having to reconstruct model parameters.

You can also simultaneously update geometry parameters in both the CAD system and COMSOL Multiphysics®, as well as perform parametric sweeps and optimization over several different modeling parameters.

Available for use with:

  • SOLIDWORKS®
  • Inventor®
  • AutoCAD®
  • PTC® Creo® Parametric™
  • PTC® Pro/ENGINEER®
  • Solid Edge®
A model of a pipe fitting where the geometry was imported into the COMSOL software. A pipe fitting geometry is imported into COMSOL Multiphysics® for analysis. The geometry is simplified to a 2D axisymmetric model. The resulting analysis shows the stresses in the steel fitting and the pressure at the contact points.

Multiphysics Couplings for Extended Structural Mechanics Analyses

There are many situations where the structural behavior is tightly coupled to other physical phenomena. One of the advantages with COMSOL Multiphysics® is the ease by which you can mix two or more interactions, all within the same software environment. For many common cases, there are built-in coupling features, as described below. For other cases, you can easily set up the couplings yourself.

Fluid-Structure Interaction

Study the interaction between a fluid and solid structure, including both fluid pressure and viscous forces. The deformations of the structure, which act as a boundary condition on the fluid, can be arbitrarily large. The fluid-structure interaction can occur between parts, where the fluid and structures share a mesh, or assemblies, where there does not have to be a common boundary with a shared mesh.

Thermal Stress

Simulate thermal stress and thermoelastic damping with specialized multiphysics couplings. The structure’s material properties can also depend on the temperature field. Contact stresses can affect not only the mechanical solution, but also the heat flux through a contact surface.

Vibrations, Acoustics, and Elastic Waves

Investigate acoustic-structure interaction; vibration; acoustic-shell, solid-acoustic, and piezo-acoustic interactions; and elastic wave propagation by adding the Acoustics Module.

Subsurface Flow

Add the Subsurface Flow Module to enhance the solid mechanics interfaces with poroelasticity and porous media flow.

Piezoelectricity and Magnetostriction

Piezoelectric devices can be accurately modeled using a built-in coupling between the Solid Mechanics and Electrostatics interfaces. Material properties for many popular piezoelectric materials are available.

Combine the AC/DC Module with the Structural Mechanics Module to couple solid mechanics and magnetic physics to model a wide range of sensors and actuators, based on the principles of magnetostriction.

MEMS Structures and Piezoresistivity

Add the MEMS Module for structural simulations that are specific to MEMS. The built-in couplings make it easy to analyze piezoresistivity, electromechanical deflection due to electrostatic forces, and electrostriction.

High-Frequency Electromagnetics

Combine the Structural Mechanics Module with the RF Module, Wave Optics Module, or Ray Optics Module for analyses where mechanical deformation and stress affect the performance of RF, microwave, or optical devices.

Low-Frequency Electromagnetics

Combine the AC/DC Module with the Structural Mechanics Module to add electromagnetic effects to your structural analyses, such as deformation due to electromagnetic forces, thermal expansion from Joule heating, and electro-thermo-mechanical contact.

A multiphysics example of modeling aluminum extrusion accounting for FSI and thermal stresses. In the aluminum extrusion process, both fluid-structure interaction and thermal stresses are taken into account.
A multiphysics example of a piezoacoustic transducer model. This piezoacoustic transducer model solves for the stress and deformation in the transducer from the electric load, as well as the generated acoustic pressure.
An example of modeling nonlinear magnetostriction with the COMSOL Multiphysics software. A magnetostrictive transducer is modeled to simulate the stress and displacement in the transducer, as well as the magnetic field throughout.
An example of modeling MEMS structures with the COMSOL Multiphysics software. In this prestressed micromirror example, the electrostatic force displaces the body, while the arm ends are fixed in place.
An example model that combines structural and optical mode analyses. The stress-optical effect is demonstrated in this photonic waveguide by running a structural analysis followed by an optical mode analysis.

Simulation Apps: Customize Your Model Inputs and Outputs for a Streamlined Design Process

Think of the time and energy you would be able to devote to new projects if you did not have to run repetitious simulation tests for other people on your team. With the Application Builder, included in COMSOL Multiphysics®, you can build simulation apps that further simplify the simulation workflow by enabling you to restrict the inputs and control the outputs of your model so that your colleagues can run their own analyses.

With specialized apps, you can easily change a design parameter, such as a geometrical dimension or material property, and test it as many times as you need without having to rerun the entire simulation. You can use apps to run your own tests more quickly or distribute apps to other members of your team to run their own tests, further freeing up your time and resources for other projects.

The process is simple:

  1. Transform your structural mechanics model into a specialized user interface (an app)
  2. Customize the app to your needs by selecting inputs and outputs for the app users
  3. Use the COMSOL Server™ product to catalogue apps and make them accessible to other team members
  4. Enable your team to run their own design analyses without further assistance

You can expand the capabilities of simulation throughout your team, organization, classroom, or customer base by building and using simulation apps.

An example app for analyzing pipe fitting designs. In this interference pipe fitting application, a user can edit the pipe dimensions, overlap region, and friction coefficient to see their effect on the effective stress, contact pressure, and deformation of the pipes.

Next Step:
Request a Software
Demonstration

Every business and every simulation need is different. In order to fully evaluate whether or not the COMSOL Multiphysics® software will meet your requirements, you need to contact us. By talking to one of our sales representatives, you will get personalized recommendations and fully documented examples to help you get the most out of your evaluation and guide you to choose the best license option to suit your needs.

Just click on the "Contact COMSOL" button, fill in your contact details and any specific comments or questions, and submit. You will receive a response from a sales representative within one business day.