COMSOL® 产品库

聚合物流动模块

聚合物流动模块:模拟非牛顿流体的流动

非牛顿流体单相和多相流建模软件

“聚合物流动模块”是 COMSOL Multiphysics 的一个附加产品,用于定义和求解具有黏弹性、触变性、剪切增稠或剪切稀化属性的非牛顿流体问题。您可以将流体的属性作为温度和组分的函数来模拟固化和聚合反应。不仅如此,通过将本模块与 COMSOL Multiphysics 的其他模块结合使用,您还可以模拟全耦合的瞬态流-固耦合问题。

聚合物流动模块支持的建模对象

聚合物、食品、医药、化妆品、家居产品和精细化工等行业的各种过程中都存在非牛顿流体,比如涂料、油漆、酸奶、番茄酱、胶状悬浮液、药物的水悬浮液、乳液、面霜、洗发水、肽和蛋白质的悬浮液等等,都属于非牛顿流体。您可以使用建模仿真来设计和优化涉及这些流体的各种过程,从而确保为最终用户提供高质量的产品。

聚合物熔体、油漆和蛋白质悬浮液

黏弹性流体模型可以分析这类流体的弹性。当流体发生变形时,会有一定的力使流体返回其未变形状态。建模的重要方面包括计算流体随时间的变形,即气-液界面的形状,表面上可能与这些流体相互作用的局部力,以及存在流体流动的系统中的压力损失。这些流体的典型例子包括聚合物熔体、油漆和蛋白质悬浮液。

黏弹性细丝在表面张力作用下的细化过程可视化效果,其中的液滴几乎为球形,并通过变细的线连接。 黏弹性细丝在表面张力作用下细化的基准模型。细丝会形成串珠结构,形态为近似球形的液滴,它们通过以指数倍率变细的线连接。绘图显示了形成流体串珠时的流速。

胶状悬浮液、番茄酱和乳液

胶状悬浮液可能表现出剪切增稠的特性,其黏度随剪切速率显著增加。另一些悬浮液则可能表现出剪切稀化特性,比如糖浆和番茄酱,其黏度会随剪切速率而降低。此外,触变流体还具有时间依赖性,其黏度会随着剪切速率的持续时间而降低。虽然用于描述这些流体的模型都是非弹性的,但它们能够描述高度非牛顿特性。建模仿真的目的与上面的黏弹性流体相似:计算气-液界面的形状、表面上可能与这些流体相互作用的局部力,以及存在流体流动的系统中的压力损失。此外,对温度和组分的依赖性可能对制造工艺的设计非常重要,例如橡胶熔体的固化。

灰色模具在三个不同的时间用浅蓝色橡胶溶液填充的模型,其中最右侧模型的填充量最大。 熔胶溶液充模。该模型使用“幂律”来描述橡胶熔体的特性以及空气流出模具时的牛顿流,并采用相场法来跟踪各相之间的界面。

聚合物流动模块的特征和功能

黏弹性流体模型

“聚合物流动模块”的特点在于提供了多种黏弹性流体模型,描述了各种流体变形与作用力之间的本构关系。Oldroyd-B 模型采用线性关系,可以描述为胡克弹簧在牛顿溶剂中的悬浮液,而另一些模型则描述非线性弹性效应和剪切稀化。

  • Oldroyd-B
  • Gisekus
  • FENE-P
  • LPTT
用白色流线显示血液流动的黑色和红色动脉模型 使用 Oldroyd-B 黏弹性流体模型建模的动脉瘤的血液流动。

无弹性非牛顿模型

除黏弹性模型以外,“聚合物流动模块”还提供广泛应用的无弹性非牛顿模型,其中许多模型都具有通用性,可用于描述剪切稀化和剪切增稠。对于特殊应用,还提供了黏塑性和触变流体模型。

  • 幂律
  • Carreau
  • Carreau-Yasuda
  • 交叉
  • Cross-Williamson
  • Ellis
  • Bingham-Papanastasiou(黏塑性)
  • Casson-Papanastasiou(黏塑性)
  • Herschel-Bulkley-Papanastasiou
  • Robertsson-Stiff-Papanastasiou
  • DeKee-Turcotte-Papanastasiou Houska 触变模型(触变性)
显示四叶斜式桨周围的流动的平底釜模型。 使用“幂律”模型建模的胶状悬浮液。在远离叶轮的位置,黏度急剧增加,从而导致混合器较高位置的混合效果很差。该模型表明,可能需要在更靠近液面的位置再安装一个叶轮。
狭缝式涂布工艺三维模型,其中包含相边界、空气、狭缝模头和非牛顿流体涂布的标注。 通过计算相边界、非牛顿流体涂布的速度场以及系统周围空气的速度场,来了解和优化凝块模涂层工艺。

多相流模型

为了能够在模拟涂层、自由表面和充模时对液-气界面进行建模,“聚合物流动模块”提供了三种不同的基于表面跟踪方法的分离多相流模型。其中水平集 方法通过求解水平集函数的输运方程来跟踪界面位置;相场 方法通过求解相场变量和混合能量密度的两个输运方程来跟踪界面位置;动网格 方法则使用可以改变形状的网格来跟踪界面位置。

中间为蓝色熔胶,外圈为固化橡胶的模具模型,其中使用热像仪颜色表显示温度,并对熔胶、模具出入口和固化橡胶进行了标注。 橡胶熔体在模具中的固化,其中使用热函数来描述固化属性和过程。

温度依存性的热函数

聚合物挤出和充模的常用方法是熔融橡胶或聚合物混合物,然后使混合物在模具内固化。“聚合物流动模块”提供了模拟这些过程所需的热力学模型:阿累尼乌斯、Williams-Landel-Ferry指数 模型。

每个公司、每个仿真需求都是独特的。
欢迎联系我们,以帮助您评估 COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件是否能满足您的需求。我们的销售人员能够为您提供实用信息和建议,并根据您的需求选择最佳的许可形式,为您的产品评估过程提供个性化的协助。

您只需单击“联系 COMSOL”按钮,填写并提交相关信息,我们的销售代表将会尽快与您联系。

下一步:
申请软件演示

The COMSOL® Product Suite

Simulate the Flow of Non-Newtonian Fluids with the Polymer Flow Module

Modeling Software for Single and Multiphase Flows in Non-Newtonian Fluids

The Polymer Flow Module is an add-on to COMSOL Multiphysics that is used for defining and solving problems involving non-Newtonian fluids with viscoelastic, thixotropic, shear thickening, or shear thinning properties. You can account for the properties of the fluids as a function of temperature and composition to model cure and polymerization. In combination with other modules in COMSOL Multiphysics, you can also model fully coupled and time-dependent fluid-structure interactions.

What You Can Model with the Polymer Flow Module

Non-Newtonian fluids are found in a great variety of processes in the polymer, food, pharmaceutical, cosmetics, household, and fine chemicals industries. Examples of these fluids are coatings, paints, yogurt, ketchup, colloidal suspensions, aqueous suspensions of drugs, lotions, creams, shampoo, suspensions of peptides and proteins, to mention a few. Modeling and simulation can be used to design and optimize processes where these fluids are involved, ensuring high-quality products for the end user.

Polymer Melts, Paints, and Protein Suspensions

Viscoelastic fluid models account for the elasticity in these types of fluids. As the fluid is deformed, there is a certain amount of force that works toward returning the fluid to its undeformed state. Important aspects of modeling are to estimate the deformation of the fluid with time, that is the shape of the air–liquid interface, the local forces on the surfaces that may interact with these fluids, and the pressure losses in a system where the fluid flow occurs. Typical examples of these fluids are polymer melts, paints, and suspensions of proteins.

Visualization of the thinning of a viscoelastic filament under surface tension, where the drops are nearly spherical and connected by thinning threads. Benchmark model for the thinning of a viscoelastic filament under the action of surface tension. The filament forms a beads-on-a-string structure with almost spherical drops connected by exponentially thinning threads. The plot shows the flow velocity as the fluid beads are formed.

Colloidal Suspensions, Ketchup, and Lotions

Colloidal suspensions may exhibit shear thickening behavior, where viscosity increases substantially with shear rate. Other suspensions may be shear thinning, for example syrups and ketchup, where the viscosity decreases with shear rate. Thixotropic fluids also have a time dependency, where the viscosity decreases with the duration of the shear rate. The models describing these fluids are all inelastic, but they describe highly non-Newtonian behavior. The purpose of modeling and simulation is similar to that for viscoelastic fluids above: estimate the shape of the air–liquid interface, the local forces on the surfaces that may interact with these fluids, and the pressure losses in a system where the fluid flow occurs. Additionally, the dependency on temperature and composition may be important for the design of manufacturing processes, for example, with the curing of rubber melts.

Models of a gray mold being filled with a light blue rubber solution at three different times, where the rightmost model has been filled the most. Mold filling of a molten rubber solution. The model uses the Power Law to describe the behavior of the rubber melt and Newtonian flow for the air flow out of the mold. The phase field method is used to track the interface between phases.

Features and Functionality in the Polymer Flow Module

Viscoelastic Fluid Models

The Polymer Flow Module features a variety of viscoelastic fluid models. These models differ in the constitutive relations describing the deformation and the forces caused by the fluid's deformation. The Oldroyd-B model uses a linear relation, which can be described as a suspension of Hookean springs in a Newtonian solvent, while the others describe nonlinear elastic effects and shear thinning.

  • Oldroyd-B
  • Gisekus
  • FENE-P
  • LPTT
A black and red model of an artery showing the blood flow using white streamlines Blood flow in an aneurism modeled using the Oldroyd-B viscoelastic fluid model.

Inelastic Non-Newtonian Models

In addition to the viscoelastic models, the Polymer Flow Module features a wide range of inelastic non-Newtonian models. Many of the models are generic, used to describe shear thinning and shear thickening. For more specific applications, there are models for viscoplastic and thixotropic fluids.

  • Power Law
  • Carreau
  • Carreau–Yasuda
  • Cross
  • Cross–Williamson
  • Ellis
  • Bingham–Papanastasiou (Viscoplastic)
  • Casson–Papanastasiou (Viscoplastic)
  • Herschel–Bulkley–Papanastasiou
  • Robertsson–Stiff–Papanastasiou
  • DeKee–Turcotte–Papanastasiou Houska thixotropy (Thixotropic)
A flat-bottom tank model showing the flow around the four-blade pitched impeller. Colloidal suspension modeled with the Power Law model. The viscosity increases dramatically away from the impeller yielding very poor mixing higher up in the mixer. The model shows that a second impeller closer to the liquid surface may be required.
A 3D model of the slot die coating process with annotations for phase boundary, air, slot die head, and non-Newtonian fluid coating. The phase boundary, the velocity field in the non-Newtonian fluid coating, and the velocity field in air surrounding the system are computed in order to understand and optimize the clot die coating process.

Multiphase Flow Models

To make it possible to model the liquid–air interface when simulating coatings, free surfaces, and mold filling, the Polymer Flow Module includes three different separated multiphase flow models based on surface tracking methods. The Level Set method tracks the interface position by solving a transport equation for the level-set function. The Phase Field method tracks the interface position by solving two transport equations for the phase field variable and the mixing energy density. The Moving Mesh method tracks the interface position with a mesh that changes shape.

A mold model with blue molten rubber in the center and solidified rubber in the outer circle, where the temperature is shown in the heat camera color table and there are annotations for molten rubber, mold inlet, mold outlet, and solidified rubber. Solidification of a rubber melt in a mold. The curing properties and the curing process are described using thermal functions.

Thermal Functions for Temperature Dependence

A common method of polymer extrusion and mold filling is to melt the rubber or polymer mixture. The mixture is then allowed to cure inside the mold. The Polymer Flow Module includes the thermal models required to model these processes: the Arrhenius, Williams–Landel–Ferry, and Exponential models are all available.

Every business and every simulation need is different. In order to fully evaluate whether or not the COMSOL Multiphysics® software will meet your requirements, you need to contact us. By talking to one of our sales representatives, you will get personalized recommendations and fully documented examples to help you get the most out of your evaluation and guide you to choose the best license option to suit your needs.

Just click on the "Contact COMSOL" button, fill in your contact details and any specific comments or questions, and submit. You will receive a response from a sales representative within one business day.

Next Step:
Request a Software
Demonstration