燃料电池和电解槽模块

设计和优化燃料电池和电解槽

“燃料电池和电解槽模块”是 COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件的一个附加产品,可以帮助您深入理解燃料电池和电解槽系统的工作原理,来设计和优化电化学电池。模块适用于研究各种类型的燃料电池和电解槽,包括质子交换膜燃料电池(PEMFC)、氢氧化物交换(碱性)燃料电池(AFC)和固体氧化物燃料电池(SOFC),以及相应的水电解槽系统等。

与 COMSOL 产品库中的每一款产品一样,此模块中也内置了多物理场功能,包括多相流体流动、传热、热力学属性等。

联系 COMSOL
质子交换膜燃料电池模型,其中使用 Rainbow 颜色表显示气体流场。

氢燃料电池

“燃料电池和电解槽模块”针对最常见的氢燃料电池提供了众多功能,用于分析电极、电解质以及集流体和馈线。支持对各种燃料电池类型进行建模,典型示例包括 PEMFC、AFC、PAFC、SOFC、MCFC 和高温质子交换膜燃料电池等。

用户可以使用建模和仿真来预测燃料电池中的电流和电位分布、化学物质分布和温度分布。通过这种方式,您可以根据给定条件,对电池进行设计,以达到最佳的利用率和工作状态。设计中的一个重要的考虑因素是去除水分,并避免电池的利用率不均,因为这可能导致性能下降和寿命缩短。此外,用户还可以研究气体扩散电极和活性层的微观形貌,例如催化剂载量、粒度分布和双孔分布等。

水电解槽

通常,我们可以使用电解槽通过电解水来产生氢气。当电网有需求和容量时,这些氢可以被储存起来,并通过燃料电池转换回电能。

水电解槽的设计与氢燃料电池类似,不同之处在于,与燃料电池相比,其电流方向相反,阴极为负极,阳极为正极。“燃料电池和电解槽模块”中的模型描述了气体扩散电极、活性层、电解质隔膜和带有通道的双极板。

工业电解槽

燃料电池和电解槽模块的功能不仅限于水电解槽,还可以为任何电化学电池或电解槽进行建模,包括描述气体逸出和层流多相流的功能。对于氯酸盐电解和氯碱膜工艺等系统,此模块可以与 CFD 模块相结合,用于处理湍流。

燃料电池和电解槽模块的特征和功能

使用 COMSOL® 软件对燃料电池和电解槽进行分析

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面的特写视图,显示了“添加物理场”和“图形”窗口,其中用彩虹色显示质子交换膜二维模型。

内置用户接口

COMSOL Multiphysics® 为用户提供了各种预定义的用户接口,通常包括相应的方程组,网格、求解器和结果的预定义设置。对于燃料电池和电解槽模块来说,软件提供了氢燃料电池水电解槽 接口。

通过选择氢燃料电池水电解槽 接口,软件自动定义了氧气和氢气扩散电极的传输和反应属性,您只需为电极、电解质、隔膜和气体通道选择相应的域即可。此外,您还可以选择要添加到氧气和氢气扩散电极的化学物质和双反应,如蒸汽或二氧化碳。模型方程求解电极(电子传导)和电解质相(离子传导)电位,以及系统中气体混合物的摩尔分数。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面的特写视图,显示了“模型开发器”和“图形”窗口,其中用彩虹色显示 SOFC 单电池模型。

气体扩散电极

使用“燃料电池和电解槽模块”对气体扩散电极(GDE)建模非常便捷。软件会根据添加的边界条件,在用户界面预定义相应的气相和孔隙电解质中的输运方程;并提供单独的域特征用于定义氢电极和氧电极。软件已提供了预定义的主要电极反应,但用户对反应动力学参数进行修改,并添加双反应和寄生反应。

气相中的物质传递可以与气体通道中的传递实现自动耦合。通过使用 Brinkman 方程为气体通道和多孔结构定义流体流动,可以模拟完全耦合的自由和多孔介质流动。

除此之外,软件还定义了电解质(隔膜)和孔隙电解质(活性层或 GDE 中的电解质)中的电荷平衡,它们通过电化学反应和法拉第定律自动耦合到气相输运方程。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面的特写视图,显示了“模型开发器”和“图形”窗口,其中用彩虹色显示 SOEC 模型。

内置热力学属性库

氢、氧电极中的气体混合物含量可能因工艺和工作条件的不同而有所不同。“燃料电池和电解槽模块”包含一个内置的热力学属性数据库,用于分析氢混合物和氧混合物。氢混合物可以包含氮、水、二氧化碳和一氧化碳作为附加物质,从而实现不仅可以对氢进行建模,还可以模拟重整反应的副产物。氧混合物中也有同样的附加物质。当用户选择组分并定义参考分压后,软件可以计算氢、氧电极反应的平衡电极电位,从而计算出电池的平衡电位。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面的特写视图,显示了“模型开发器”和“图形”窗口,其中显示一次、二次和三次电流分布的一维绘图。

一次、二次和三次电流分布

与空间相关的电流分布接口可以用来分析欧姆损耗(一次)、欧姆和活化损耗(二次),以及欧姆、活化和质量传递损耗(三次)。对于三次电流分布接口,用户可以定义具有支持电解质、稀释电解质和高浓度电解质的系统。输运方程(即 Nernst-Planck 方程)可以同电中性条件或泊松方程结合使用。

用户可以使用 Tafel 方程、Butler-Volmer 方程或者过电位和化学物质浓度的任意函数来定义电极动力学;并可以在电极表面定义任意数量的反应。

这些电流分布接口可以与多孔电极、气体扩散电极和平面电极结合使用。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面的特写视图,显示了“模型开发器”和“图形”窗口,其中用红色、黄色、蓝绿色和蓝色显示燃料电池阴极模型,并带有黄色箭头。

多相流和单相流功能,分析液态水和水蒸气传递

低温燃料电池和水电解槽中的一种特殊现象是液态水和气态水(蒸汽)同时进行传递。在燃料电池中,流动也需要从电池中去除水分,从而避免电极溢流。同样,在水电解过程中,如果产生的气体传递不充分,可能会使电池的某些部分失活。在这两种情况下,模拟多孔电极和开放通道中的两相流非常重要。

“燃料电池和电解槽模块”包含混合物、气泡流和 Euler-Euler 模型,专门用于对分散多相流和多孔介质相传递进行分析。这些模型可以模拟多孔介质(电极)和开放自由介质(通道)中的多相流。有关这些多相流模型的更多信息,请查看 CFD 模块

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面的特写视图,显示了“模型开发器”和“图形”窗口,其中用 HeatCamera 颜色表显示被动式质子交换膜模型。

热效应

“燃料电池和电解槽模块”包含内置的能量守恒方程,在传热分析中,软件可以自动添加由电化学反应、离子和化学物质传递以及电流传导产生的热源和热沉。不仅如此,用户还可以通过热力学数据库轻松获取用于氢氧电池热管理仿真的输入数据。

COMSOL 是否能用于解决我的问题?
欢迎联系我们,我们的专业工程师可以协助您评估技术可行性,并根据实际使用场景推荐相应的许可形式。

单击“联系 COMSOL”按钮,填写并提交相关信息,我们的工作人员将会尽快与您联系。

下一步:

评估与试用 COMSOL® 软件

Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module

Design and Analyze Fuel Cells and Electrolyzers

The Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module is an add-on to the COMSOL Multiphysics® software for gaining a deeper understanding of fuel cell and electrolyzer systems, which is useful for designing and optimizing the electrochemical cells. The types of systems that may be studied include proton exchange membrane fuel cells (PEMFCs), hydroxide exchange (alkaline) fuel cells (AFCs), and solid oxide fuel cells (SOFCs), as well as the corresponding water electrolyzer systems. The module accommodates all types of fuel cells and electrolyzers.

As with every product in the COMSOL product suite, multiphysics capabilities are built into the software for including multiphase fluid flow, heat transfer, thermodynamics properties, and more.

Contact COMSOL
A wire electrode model visualized in dark blue to white color gradient.

Hydrogen Fuel Cells

The Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module features predefined formulations for the most common types of hydrogen fuel cells and accounts for the electrodes, electrolyte, as well as current collectors and feeders. Examples of fuel cell types that can be modeled are PEMFC, AFC, PAFC, SOFC, MCFC, and high-temperature PEMFC, to name a few.

Modeling and simulation can be used to predict the current and potential distribution, the chemical species distribution, and the temperature distribution in a fuel cell. In this way, the cell can then be designed for the best possible utilization and operation for a given set of conditions. Important aspects are the removal of water and avoiding nonuniform utilization of the cell, which may result in poor performance and decreased lifespan. Additionally, microscopic aspects of the gas diffusion electrodes and the active layers can be studied, such as catalyst loading, particle size distribution, and bimodal pore distribution.

Water Electrolyzers

Electrolyzers can be used to locally produce hydrogen from electricity through water electrolysis. This hydrogen can be stored and converted back to electricity using fuel cells, when there is a demand and capacity in the grid.

The design of a water electrolyzer is similar to that of a hydrogen fuel cell, with the difference being that in comparison to a fuel cell, the current runs in the reverse direction, the cathode is the negative electrode, and the anode is the positive electrode. The models within the Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module involve the description of the gas diffusion electrodes, the active layer, the electrolyte separator, and the bipolar plates with the channels.

Industrial Electrolyzers

The functionality of the Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module is not limited to water electrolyzers: any electrochemical cell or electrolyzer can be modeled. This includes the ability to describe gas evolution and laminar multiphase flow. For systems such as chlorate electrolysis and the chlor-alkali membrane process, the module can be combined with the CFD Module to also treat turbulent flows.

Features and Functionality in the Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module

Perform various analyses for fuel cells and electrolyzers with the COMSOL® software.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Add Physics and Graphics windows for a 2D PEM model in rainbow.

Built-In User Interfaces

COMSOL Multiphysics® provides users with prebuilt user interface combinations that define a set of equations together with settings for mesh generation, solvers, and results. For the Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module, this includes hydrogen fuel cells and water electrolyzers.

By selecting any of the Hydrogen Fuel Cell and Water Electrolyzers interfaces, the transport and reaction properties for the oxygen and hydrogen gas diffusion electrodes are defined automatically. You only need to select the domains for the electrodes, electrolyte, separator, and gas channels. You can also select chemical species and bireactions to add to the oxygen and hydrogen gas diffusion electrodes, such as steam or carbon dioxide. The model equations solve for the electrode (electronic conduction) and electrolyte phase (ionic conduction) potentials as well as for the mole fractions of the gas mixtures in the system.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder and Graphics windows for an SOFC unit cell model in rainbow.

Gas Diffusion Electrodes

Modeling gas diffusion electrodes (GDEs) in the Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module is very straightforward. The transport equations in the gas phase and in the pore electrolyte are automatically defined in the user interface based on the boundary conditions added. The software contains separate domain features for defining the hydrogen and oxygen electrodes. The main electrode reactions are predefined, but you can change the kinetics and add bi- and parasitic reactions.

The transport of species in the gas phase is automatically coupled with the transport in the gas channels. The fluid flow is defined for the gas channel and for the porous structure using the Brinkman equations to model fully coupled free and porous media flow.

The charge balance in the electrolyte (separator) and the pore electrolyte (the electrolyte in the active layer or in the GDE) are also defined. They are automatically coupled to the transport equations in the gas phase through the electrochemical reactions and Faraday's law.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder and Graphics windows for an SOEC model in rainbow.

Built-In Thermodynamics

The content of the gas mixtures in the hydrogen and oxygen electrodes may vary for different processes and different operating conditions. The Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module contains a built-in thermodynamic properties database for hydrogen mixtures and oxygen mixtures. The hydrogen mixture may contain nitrogen, water, carbon dioxide, and carbon monoxide as additional species in order to model byproducts from reforming reactions in addition to hydrogen. The same additional species are available for the oxygen mixture. When the composition is selected and the reference partial pressures are defined, the software can compute the equilibrium electrode potential for the hydrogen and oxygen electrode reactions, thereby also the equilibrium potential for the cell.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder and Graphics windows for a 1D plot of primary, secondary, and tertiary current distribution.

Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Current Distribution

The space-dependent simulations (1D, 2D, and 3D) can account for ohmic losses (primary); ohmic and activation losses (secondary); as well as ohmic, activation, and mass transport losses (tertiary). For tertiary current distributions, it is possible to define systems with supporting electrolyte, dilute electrolytes, and concentrated electrolytes. The transport equations, the Nernst–Planck equations, can be combined with the electroneutrality condition or Poisson's equation.

The electrode kinetics can be defined using the Tafel equation, the Butler–Volmer equation, or with arbitrary functions of the overpotential and the concentration of chemical species. Multiple reactions may be defined on an electrode surface (an arbitrary number).

The current distribution interfaces can be used in combination with porous electrodes, gas diffusion electrodes, and planar electrodes.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder and Graphics windows for a fuel cell cathode model in red, yellow, turquoise, and blue with yellow arrows.

Multiphase and Single-Phase Flow in Free and Porous Media

One of the specific phenomena in low-temperature fuel cells and water electrolyzers is the concurrent transport of liquid and gaseous water (steam). In fuel cells, the flow needs to drive water out of the cell as well, to avoid flooding of the electrodes. Similarly, in water electrolysis, inadequate transport of the produced gas may render parts of the cell inactive. In both cases, it is important to model two-phase flow in the porous electrodes and in the open channels.

The Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module features the mixture, bubbly flow, and Euler–Euler models for dispersed multiphase flows, as well as phase transport in porous media. They allow for the modeling of multiphase flow in porous media (electrodes) as well as in open free media (channels). For more information on these multiphase flow models, view the CFD Module.

A closeup view of the COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder and Graphics windows for a passive PEM model shown in the heat camera color table.

Heat Transfer

The definition of the energy balance is built-in when using the Fuel Cell & Electrolyzer Module. Heat sources and sinks originating from electrochemical reactions, transport of ions and chemical species, as well as current conduction can be added automatically in a heat transfer analysis. Additionally, the thermodynamic database makes it easy to obtain input data for the simulations of thermal management of hydrogen-oxygen cells.

Every business and every simulation need is different.

In order to fully evaluate whether or not the COMSOL Multiphysics® software will meet your requirements, you need to contact us. By talking to one of our sales representatives, you will get personalized recommendations and fully documented examples to help you get the most out of your evaluation and guide you to choose the best license option to suit your needs.

Just click on the "Contact COMSOL" button, fill in your contact details and any specific comments or questions, and submit. You will receive a response from a sales representative within one business day.

Next Step

Request a Software Demonstration

Product Suite